??!
1 photo
Vax VWC

Vax VWC

MPN: VAX-VWC
2.6 from 38 reviews

See the Best Barrel Vacuum Cleaners in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(6)
(5)
(10)
(2)
(15)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (0) · No (3)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (0%) · No (100%)
  • Build Quality
    2.3 (4)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    3.0 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.3 (3)
  • Product is used:
    • Weekly (2)
    • Rarely (2)
  • Noise Level
    2.7 (3)
  • Pet OwnerYes (1) · No (2)

Alex

Alex

  • 2 reviews

Perfect for its price.

published

I was terrified to read what other people had experienced with this vac. I bought it a year ago for $69 at Harvey Norman, used it weekly at my 1 bedroom unit.
It just works: not too noisy, lightweight, suction is reasonable, easy to clean the filters and empty the dust barrel.
Other people mentioned problems with wheels coming off, smell, burnt motor and so on.... l have not had any of that stuff (fingers crossed).

Purchased in December 2018 at Harvey Norman for $69.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Linoleum
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

TERRIBLE DESIGN FLAW

published

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers
Kimmy Simmons

Kimmy SimmonsRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Dont buy blew up after about the 10th use

published

Terrible product I have timber floors so only needed a vac for at least once every 6 weeks as always used the broom. It blew up this morning despite filters cleaned every time it has been used. Do not buy it will not last. Unfortunately as i dont use often also out of Warranty suprise suprise.

Purchased in November 2017 at Harvey Norman for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Rarely
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Ranine Chen

Ranine ChenMid North Coast, NSW

Save your money and buy something else

published

Purchased in February 2018 at Harvey Norman for $135.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Product is used: Rarely
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

Grimace

GrimaceBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great value for money

published

I recently purchased this vacuum to replace my Phillips vacuum. I find the VAX one to have more sucking power, it was cheaper and the wheel didn't fall off on the first use. Its easy to empty and stores away neatly. The filters are also very easy to clean. Great value.

Date PurchasedJan 2019

UnHappy

UnHappyPerth

  • 2 reviews

Do not buy

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017

  • Verified purchase

Fiter cover on wheel keeps coming off

published

Suction is great but I cant stop the wheel filter cover from popping off.Does anybody know why it is doing this? I event turned it down onto a lower speed.I also noticed it heats up really fast.Easy to clean .Do wish the cord was also a little longer.Use it on mainly floor boards.

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Why did I give up my old bag vacuum for this?

published

Worst vacuum I’ve ever had. Needs cleaned after every use which involves emptying multiple chambers - very dirty. Getting a burning smell when in use and now I’ve read these reviews I’m afraid it’s going to spontaneously combust. Don’t waste your money this is a poorly designed product, spend more and get one that works.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Crooks6

Crooks6AU

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Vacuum 5 months old - was good till wheel fell off!

published

This vacuum cleaner is not subjected to heavy use but it is in a house with young students. Was working really well until the wheel fell off! I didn't find it as noisy as some of the other Reviewers and I'm thinking there could be a problem with a particular batch. Seems to have good suction and it's easy to manoeuvre. The hose is a little too long in that which can make it a little hard to manage at times. Overall worth the money but only if I get the wheel replaced or get a new vacuum cleaner!!

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Hsin

HsinMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

So powerful and really good deal

published

Bought this from Harvey Norman at a really good deal (less than $150 if i'm not wrong) and it's working wonderful.
It's so powerful and so easy to clean!
On a side note, it looks good too!
It's also really light so makes the job pretty easy when you're vacuuming the entire house.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Ken

KenMELBOURNE

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Too bad

published

Vax VWC 2000W bagless vacuum is something not wasting your money on. The only thing that is good about it is that it looks good. The suction is fine at 2000W. It's not very noisy nor is it quiet. It's hard to maneuver, very hard to clean the dirt barrel - it involves a few steps to empty the barrel. A generic ordinary vacuum just involves taking the barrel, opening the lid and emptying it, but not this one. The suction hose and the beginning of the barrel is curved on the inside, so dirt gets stuck easily. It clean carpeted and hardwood areas. I have some 5-6 rooms to clean, so maneuvering should have been easy. Overall, for the price it offers nothing more, in fact, usability is bad. Avoid this one.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Snake

SnakeGold Coast

  • 7 reviews

Could be better

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Rita

RitaNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

It caught fire

published

The side cover kept falling off when vacuuming and today the vacuum cleaner caught fire where the cover used to be!! Luckily I was vacuuming tiles and not carpet. Replacing the lid after removing it for cleaning was my partner's job as I could not do it. It is very loud but for $89 it was ok for my small unit ... until today when it caught fire.

Date PurchasedMay 2016

The Chaddys

The ChaddysMurray Bridge

  • 8 reviews

Not bad

published

This is not a bad vaccum but i feel its only good for hard surfaced areas. I have floor boards and tiles and also carpet but it doesnt work.as good on the carpet as i would like.
This is very quiet and light and easy to put away.
For the price we paid not a bad vacuum but wont buy again

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Chris S

Chris SAU

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

So far - So good

published

Bought this at Target for $99 after our rechargeable stick vacuum failed. Only read the reviews afterwards, so was a bit concerned. So far we have had no problems, and it does a reasonable job everywhere we use it (hard floors, bedroom carpets, and outdoor carpet on our deck). After having two rechargeables fail, and new ones costing an arm and a leg and most needing an ugly recharge station, we decided to give this little unit a go. Only real complaint, is as others have said, it is very loud. We do not use it for a great length of time and so far, have not had it overheat or fail. If it keeps going it will be good value.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
2 comments
Chris S
Chris S

Update. Still going great. Collects a great deal of dirt. Make sure you clean it regularly including the filter. Has been a good buy.

Chris S
Chris S

Still going strong

Bron M

Bron MSydney

Don't waste your time or money

published

Thought Vax would be a reputable brand & seemed like a bargain for $99 at Target... well I thought wrong.
First off- it is so loud, like consider wearing ear muffs. Suction started ok but then deteriorated which wasn't helpful in picking up dirt let alone dog hair. And then the motor blew! I only have a 1br flat so it was hardly working overtime.
I don't really rate their customer service & the repair centres are inconveniently located. I didn't feel it was worth my while bothering for a 4 month old vacuum.
Bought a new vac with turbo pet hair heads from Kmart for the same price & it is 100 times better.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Frustrated

published

Can't even put the lid back on after cleaning out filters? Impossible going to have buy a decent one that I can at least put the top back on ...
Who designed to make cleaning even more drugery I twist it up down all around I give up seriously had enough

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Calen

CalenQld, 4131

  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

Ok

published

Im happy with the performance but it could improve on the suction its fairly heavy but still easy to use ive used this in my house and to vaccum out my car theres better vaccums out there but for the price it works great amd will get the job done easily

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Tenderfoot

TenderfootSouth Australia

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Horrible, straight out of the box

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017

Gebby

GebbyNsw, 2424

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Ok

published

It is a $99 worth of vacuum, its suck a lot of dust like its said and do what its supposed to , its bagless so it is very easy to clean, just open the bottom, great look, easy manuver, good value for money I guess if you dont have pet.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Catrin

Catrinasked

The wheel lid with the vacuum keeps popping off, I a must ver my years warranty. Can I use it without the lid or is there a way to put it back on securely ( maybe duct tape)?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Vax representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.