1 photo
Vax VX22

Vax VX22

MPNs: 35905525 and 609
2.4 from 23 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Steam Mops & Hard Floor Cleaners in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Vax? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.9 (8)
  • Value for Money
    2.1 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    2.9 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.7 (6)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
stop the goats
stop the goatsperth
  • 41 reviews
  • 18 likes

Engineered to fail.

published

When its working, its great to use. Trouble is, its not durable enough for long term use. The handle where it connects to the rod that attaches to the body is only on 3 sides. They inbuilt weakness, so it will fail after so many pushes. The detergent bottle is also made of material that will break down after using detergent. Mad! I think there are better options. Avoid this one.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in July 2018 at The Good Guys for $200.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
2/5
CCALDWELL
CCALDWELLSouth East Queensland, QLD

Waste of Money

published

A waste of Money ! It died within 12 months I would give it NO stars 150 bucks for less than 12 months ???? don't even bother for that cost 150.00 ! awful .

Purchased in January 2020 at Harvey Norman for $149.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Peter B.
Peter B.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Broken

published

I purchased a VX22 several years ago and it did a good job till it stopped working. Took it back to retailer and they replaced it. Great, the second one lasted 14 months. Vax not the slightest bit interested. Told me to buy a new filter ($12) will fix problem. Shouls have known better, new filter mqade no difference. VX22 now in rubbish bin.

Purchased for $130.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Haleh
HalehMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Terrible! Not recommended!

published

The floor left completely wet after cleaning. The handle is not comfortable at all, and very heavy. It's not easy to move forward and backward. Lots of pressure on my wrist and hand while using and I seriously never recommend this product to anyone.

Purchased in July 2020 at The goodguys for $150.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Steam Mops & Hard Floor Cleaners

Find out how Vax VX22 compares to other Steam Mops & Hard Floor Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

VX22 Steamer

published

Absolute piece of not fit for purpose and a great waste of my time. Bought one on recommendation of review , well that lasted 6 months and took it back for a replacement. Yes more time wasted the ting would punch out stream. Picked up new replacement and that lasted 5 months yes same thing would blow steam. So really not fit for domestic works at all using it once a week on tiles floors.

Purchased in August 2019 for $125.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Dee
DeeSydney, NSW
  • 11 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified

Steam mop

published

The vax steam mop is convenient and comes with 2 extra pads. It also comes with detergent that you can add with water or you can just simply use water on its own. As you press the button on the handle, the water heats up and sanitizes your floor instantly. It could also be used on carpet.

Purchased in December 2019 at Bing Lee for $210.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Jenny
Jenny
  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Amazing

published

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys for $149.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Related Articles

Previous
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
Fridge and Dishwasher Awards for 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the top fridges and dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
fridge-and-dishwasher-awards-for-2020
Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Pam P
Pam PSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Bad Choice

published

Bought the Vax steampro to clean my tiles throughout the house but after only using this product half a dozen times, the handle fell off, leaks water and does not clean my floor to a good standard. Leaves smear marks and leaves alot of water on the floor. I decided to throw it before I got electrocuted from it. Didn't bother going back to where I purchased as I got what I paid for......Bad Choice!!

Purchased in January 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $149.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5

Handle breaks easily

published

The handle broke after using less than 10 times. VAX refuse to replace as just out of warranty period of 1 year (and was quite blunt and unapologetic in emails). Replacement part is minimum $84 online. Buy something more reliable, and ideally not a VAX. BTW, before it broke, not much better than using an old fashioned mop.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Steam Mops & Hard Floor Cleaners

Find out how Vax VX22 compares to other Steam Mops & Hard Floor Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Andrew
AndrewGosford
  • 3 reviews

Expensive spare parts.

published

I bought this steam mop around 3-4 yrs ago as I have a lot of tile and timber floor. It’s been a great steam mop until it broke down which things do. The problem I have is I need just a 2-3inch hose but Vax want to sell me other parts with that hose which is detachable from the other parts for $98

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Mark
MarkMelbourne
  • Verified

Great steam mop, until the plastic handle broke clean off

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Dsay
DsayBayswater
  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

Works well

published

Yes satisfied with the cleaning power. It is easy to use with all its manual instructions. The only problem is during refilling of water. It needs refilling of water immediately. You need to be quick using the steaming.
the only problem is the refilling of water. I found it more time consuming,

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Steam Mops & Hard Floor Cleaners

Find out how Vax VX22 compares to other Steam Mops & Hard Floor Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pedro Gomes
Pedro GomesPeel, WA
  • 8 reviews
  • 8 likes

When a steam mop ... becomes a dry mop.

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Artep
ArtepSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not a steam cleaner

published

Contrary to a steam cleaner, this steam mop only produces steam intermittently. It was bought in May 2017 and has problems with producing too much water now, contrary to what it should do where the floor basically dries immediately after the steam clean. The cord is in your way when you mop and the handle is not telescopic, so one needs to bend over during the clean. Will not purchase again!

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Brent Lloyd
Brent LloydPerth
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

VX22 Steam Mop

published

Brought it in May 2016 from The Good Guys
I use it once it not twice a week.
Today when I was using it, it blew up and caught fire and tripped the fuse box!!!
Luckily I was not hurt.

Spoke to The Good Guys from where I purchased it and this is what they said, "Sorry it only has a 12 month warranty"

Date PurchasedMay 2016
Brent Lloyd
Brent Lloyd

An update, last week Vax looked at the steam mop and have now replaced it with a new one.
Still not happy with the response we received from The Good Guys

Questions & Answers

Natasha C
Natasha Casked

Can Vax 22 be used on timber floor?

3 answers
Sam
Sam

It is not recommended on timber and I never used on my timber floors, only tiled areas.

Arno Besse
Arno Besse

Given timbers ability to soak up water I would avoid using a steam mop on it other than at the lowest setting if at all

Maggs
Maggs

Vax says it can be used only on SEALED hard floors, timber included. I would suggest steam cleaning in an inconspicuous area first to see how it goes.

Rebecca
Rebeccaasked

Could you run the steam with just water ?

2 answers
stop the goats
stop the goats

Yes you could. Tap water will work fine. But over time deposits may build up and eventually block the steam jet. If you don't care about the longevity, just use tap water. I use de mineralized.

Ellie
Ellie

Yes, I do it all the time. The unit does come with a hard water filter so this deals with some of the deposits from tap water. If you can get demineralised water cheaply it is recommended.

ianfayman
ianfaymanasked

How much does the vax detergent cost per litre & how much do you use per tank?

1 answer
Ellie
Ellie

The detergent costs about $15 for over a litre and you use 50ml per detergent tank refil (the steam water is separate). One detergent tank refil lasts me 3 or more floor cleans and that is for roughly 160sqm of tile each wash. I run my detergent light.

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategorySteam Mops & Hard Floor Cleaners
Weight3kg
Price (RRP) $149
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • MPN: 35905525 and 609
  • GTIN13: 9316452083463

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.