1 photo
Vax VX40

Vax VX40

MPNs: 3114, VAX-VX40 and VX40
3.6 from 15 reviews · View Statistics

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

Previous
Next
Bob C
Bob CBrisbane
  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Much better value and more efficient than some big priced items like Dyson.

published

We had an expensive piece of garbage than just stopped about a month out of warranty. To even evaluate it for repair would have cost over $100 ("These are very difficult to fix") were the exact words so we went to Bunnings and purchased the Vax and haven't looked back. We had a Vax previously and it lasted 10 years but my wife was talked into an expensive one that not only was useless but also hurt your back. The moral is "if you find a reliable product stick with it and don't listen to the hype of salesmen oops salespersons.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Palerang
PalerangSouth-Eastern Region, NSW
  • 26 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified

Plain and simple, and it works

published

I bought this vacuum cleaner after using the same type at our ski lodge. and because I absolutely hated my horrible Hoover Pet one, which was (and still is) useless.

You can actually use this without the dust bag and I tried that, but decided it's probably better with a bag. Have been working through the bags at Bunnings, but so far no luck, but you can get these bags on eBay for less than the official price.

It's noisy but not too bad, it sucks up stuff including off a hard floor (which stumped the Hoover) and I can use the Hoover's attachments too, but haven't bothered yet. Nice long cord, very portable (I have lots of steps), and it WORKS.

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
james
jameswangan
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

no frills power

published

this vaccum is good value for money, plenty of power makes easy going for hard floors and carpet. the unit sounds like a jet aircraft and is quite noisy to operate.hoses and wand tubes are flimsy and the replacement bags are expensive but for under a hundred dollars it's pretty good

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Vax VX40 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
cos lettuce
cos lettuceFrankston
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great extension. cant live without.

published
Kylie
Kylie
  • 6 reviews

It's great... except for one thing

published

This vacuum is great, I use it everyday
But there is one thing I didn't really like & that is the vacuum head, both tube & head is plastic & the head doesn't do very good on carpet because of the fantastic suction it just doesn't move, but other then that it is a great vacuum, :)

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
Nat. W
Nat. WMurray Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Fantastic suction!

published

Great vac compared to the bagless ones I have used. Excellent suction, lightweight and easy to move around. Picks up cat hair no problem. Only negative is that this model only comes with cheap plastic non adjustable wand which can fall apart while vacuuming if you don't keep pushing it back in. Am considering purchasing a steel adjustable wand.

Date PurchasedJune 2016
Pixie37
Pixie37IPSWICH
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Vax wet/dry vacuum

published

The Vax VX40 wet/dry vac is a brilliant little drum type vacuum. Has great suction and capacity. Is also very easy to manoeuvre around the house. In my opinion, I think the only thing that lets down this model of Vax is the plastic vacuum tube. It has a tendency to warp whilst vacuuming which makes getting through thick pile carpet a little time consuming because you don't want to put too much pressure on the vacuum tube.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
See all Vax VX40 reviews

Questions & Answers

rashid.sadiqi911
rashid.sadiqi911asked

What size paper dust bag goes in it?

No answers
Allan H.
Allan H.asked

Can u get shampoo option like first vax

No answers
Wilson
Wilsonasked

My VAX VX40 isn’t sucking at all. The outer filter keeps dropping of in the barrel when I have emptied it. Anybody know why

No answers
See all Vax VX40 questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryBarrel Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $99.00
Bin Capacity20 L
HEPA FilterYes
Weight5.1 kg
TypeBagged
Cord Length8 m
Power1,250 W
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
ManualDownload manual
  • MPN: 3114, VAX-VX40 and VX40
  • GTIN13: 9322191340156

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.