??!
1 photo
VAX VX53

VAX VX53

MPN: VAX-VX53
3.4 from 16 reviews

See the Best Stick Vacuum Cleaners in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(3)
(7)
(2)
(1)
(3)
  • Build Quality
    2.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    2.7 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.0 (3)
  • Product is used:
    • Weekly (2)
    • Several times a week (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (3)
  • Pet OwnerYes (0) · No (3)
  • Battery Life
    2.3 (3)


Ipsita K.

Ipsita K.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

the product performance is satisfactory

published

The Vax vacuum cleaner I purchased six months ago and I have had no trouble with it. It is easy to use and well suited for a small house like mine. The size is not very bulky and easy to store. I am satisfied with the product.

Purchased in January 2019 at Harvey Norman for $129.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers

Jack

JackSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

bad bad bad

published

12 months old and the battery wont charge. this machine has given poor performance for the time used (it is only a second use vac for the small jobs at home) the cylinder head doesnt revolve any more beecause the battery doesnt provide enough power. called the vax line for a replacement, poor performance from customer service reps, onlty wanted to pass the buck and send me back to the retailer, even thought the product is still within warranty period. no help whatsoever. better to spend the extra for the dyson i think.

Purchased in February 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
See all answers
Fraser N.

Fraser N.

  • 10 reviews

Poor suction and construction. No response to online message. Poor warranty service and conditions

published

Only 4 months old. Poor suction, debris remains attached to the outside of floor tool. Flimsy construction with flex in all connections. Hard floor tool has rubber "wiper" that serves to drag debris across floor with potential for scratching. Not recommended for polished wooden floors. Plastic trash bin retaining clip broke (flimsy); now has to be taped up to operate vacuum cleaner. Warranty service required 40 minute drive each way with no guarantee issue would be covered. Courier only available if over 50km from a service centre. Cannot in any way recommend the product or after sales "service". Online message to Vax remains unanswered over 2 weeks after being sent.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
See all answers
Tina

TinaPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Not bad so far

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Bill

BillMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Great vacuum

published

We recently bought the vax vx53 and are quiet pleased with our purchase. I have used other stick vacuums in the past but I really like how this machine is super light weight and has so many attachments for different surfaces. I mostly use it for hard surfaces and quick clean ups but I am really pleased that I can vacuum a rug or bathroom mats without it being sucked up into the machine. The machine is a little noisy but it is a good indication the remind me to clean out the filter.
Overall a great product for a great price.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

A.B

A.BPerth

Frustrated

published

I was given this as a gift as I wanted a Dyson but this was cheaper option.
I love the idea but mine does not lift much and then when you turn it off half of the dirt falls out.
We have tried everything.
I wonder if I ‘ve had a faulty one.
Cheaper but waste of money .
I keep trying .
Not very time saving for me so very disappointed.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Monique

Monique

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Vax great to start with

published

We purchased this in May by July it had lost it’s sucking power, it was fantastic to start with an easy to clean except when taking out the inn part with the seal this can be a bit tricky to get back on. It was a fantastic vacuum to start but not worth buying for long term use.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Alex P.

Alex P.Adelaide

  • 15 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

Exactly what I was after - very convenient

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
ckeogh74

ckeogh74AU

  • 10 reviews

Great for quick clean ups!

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
JohnStevens

JohnStevens

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified purchase

Excellent cordless vacuum with a few down sides.

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Cindy

CindyPerth

  • 4 reviews

It cordles

published

I got it a week ago to use easy to use I find it has goo suction but I dont have carpet but it does great on tiles a Lino it great as I’m in a wheelchair and won’t runover the cord haven’t tried it with the attachments yet but 1 would recommend it

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Chelsea

Chelsea

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great for Inbetween Vacuum's

published

I really like this slim vac, it is perfect for in-between vacuums and to clean up small dirt trails or dog fur! I have a small-medium unit and it can easily vacuum the lounge room with a great result. It is easy to use and very easy to empty out.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

BeaJay

BeaJayAU

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

Wish I had purchased sooner

published

Good little cordless vacuum - it is very easy and convenient to use. I find I easily pull it out to clean up little messes. Doesn't replace a full vacuum but great to tidy up. Good suction and easy to empty. Good battery life. Would have given 5 stars but the head is a little light and swivels too easily. I have seen other machines with more sturdy heads.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Shane

ShaneBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Best cordless vaccum for the price - Made in Aus

published

Recommend and very happy with performance of Total Home and range of attachments. Dyson motor is double the weight and $500 to $600 more and does not have a permanent "On" switch. Little noisy but that comes with the cordless I guess. All packaging was recyclable (except 2 rubber bands) and very happy to support a fully Aus made product. why choose an import!

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Xesoou

XesoouSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Has its pros and cons

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Lazy Dad

Lazy DadGold Coast

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Product

published

Easy to use. Don't have to hold switch down like other similar products (e.g. Dyson). Great to use on carpets and hard floors. Easy to empty. Lightweight compared to other products. Many attachments are supplied. Can be used on stairs, curtains and furniture. Best product I have ever bought. Would recommend this product to anyone.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Questions & Answers

Elle

Elleasked

The battery stops working once the power head is fitted. Any suggestions on how ton fix this? Thank you

No answers

A.B

A.Basked

Any helpful suggestions about this product?
Does not lift very well at all.
We have tried all the usual cleaning of filter etc.
Never has worked great.

3 answers
JohnStevens
JohnStevens

Hi there,
Sorry to hear that, I have never had any problems like this. Is there any suction at all? If not, it could be a problem with a seal. If you are using the power brush, make sure that it is turned on and that it spins freely by removing any hair. I suggest taking it back to where you purchased it from and get them to have a look.

A.B
A.B

Thanks for that
Unfortunately left it too late
Kept hoping it would work.

Disgruntled
Disgruntled

Mine broke after 3 months. Took it back for a refund, the shop said it had to go for repair. Report came back dirt had bypassed the filter and clogged motor. Said this wasn't covered under warranty. I'm currently pursuing case with Vax


Nikki P

Nikki Pasked

Vx53p has anyone bought this just to use on hardwood floors?

1 answer
JohnStevens
JohnStevens

IIt may be a little late now, but I bought this vacuum mainly to do hard floors. It comes with a hard floor tool which is basically a head with squeegees on the sides. I find it works really well, even picking up dirt in between tiles.


Get an answer from our members and Vax representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.