2 photos
Vegepod Raised Garden Bed Kits

Vegepod Raised Garden Bed Kits

4.3 from 170 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Garden Maintenance Products in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Vegepod

Pros

Protects plants from the elements
Easy to assemble
Simple to maintain garden

Reviews

Previous
Clear all
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail

Frame connectors poor quality

published

I have owned the Vegepod for approximately 3.5 years. Whilst the overall design is good the vegecover frame connectors are made of poor quality material and is NOT durable. They started cracking into the 2nd year of use and is now most connectors are no longer usuable requiring replacement. I had it in a partially shaded area. I would have expected better quality given it's price.

Purchased in June 2018.

Incentivised Review No
Vegepod
JamesVegepodSend a private message

Hi Paul, After 4 years some of the older models have been known to crack and they are easily replaced. We have increased the UV stabiliser and thickness of those parts too. Please contact info@vegepod.com.au
thanks

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tess
TessSydney, NSW

Problematic

published

On principle the vege pod looks great. Upon receiving the boxes. Put the frame together found the watering hose missing and the tubes were sent within days great! I say only to find the netting did not fit. Requested replacement which was received but attempts to stretch the cover as advertised in the video was hopeless as it’s application required the strength of superman to fit it in the frame. At this stage there is a gape on two sides.

Not sure how other people get it together.

TS
Nsw

Purchased in May 2021 for $600.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

was hoping for better veggies!

published

Set up my vegepod at my cabin in southwest British Columbia. Didn't need the irrigation line as we get lots!!! of rain.. Herbs grew really well but alas the slugs managed to find their way in and ate my cabbages which initially looked great. Tried some cherry tomatoes but the 2 plants outgrew the large size container.
Nest year will wrap some copper around the legs so the slugs won't climb up and in and will stick to small growing veggies and herbs.. Even though it wasn't a great success it was still fun trying

Purchased in October 2019.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Leahbel
LeahbelSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

LOVE THE CONCEPT BUT THERE ARE A FEW FLAWS

published

Purchased in July 2020 for $600.

Incentivised Review No
Vegepod
JamesVegepodSend a private message

Hi Leahbel thanks for the commentary and sorry to hear wasn't quite perfect. We have also changed the wheels this year to improve anti-rust.
Hope the veg is growing well!
Thanks

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Garden Maintenance Products

Find out how Vegepod Raised Garden Bed Kits compares to other Garden Maintenance Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Deborah H.
Deborah H.Perth, WA
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Disappointed, bugs still eating my plants

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2020 at TVSN (TV Shopping Network) for $538.80.

Incentivised Review No
Vegepod
JamesVegepodSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wary Consumer
Wary ConsumerSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 32 reviews
  • 44 likes
  • Verified

Limited life of some components, flawed design

published

Purchased in February 2016 at Mitre 10 for $349.

Incentivised Review No
Vegepod
JamesVegepodSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Matthew S.
Matthew S.Katamatite
  • 14 reviews
  • 14 likes

Okay product. Quality control needs improvement. Not good in windy areas.

published

Hello I purchased a Medium Vegepod with cover and stand off TVSN and I have some problems. The sprays leak and one is fitted off centre so not all areas of the pod receive water. The other issue is the cover blows off when wind reaches 19 Kilometres per hour. The lid also blows off whilst hinged open when tending to the unit with only minimal wind. Fortunately the hose prevents the lid from blowing away completely. TVSN also shipped to wrong address.

Purchased in February 2019 for $400.

Incentivised Review No
Vegepod
JamesVegepodSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next

Good concept but product quality seems very poor

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Okay but does have a few problems, already showing signs of rust

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Vegepod
JamesVegepodSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Garden Maintenance Products

Find out how Vegepod Raised Garden Bed Kits compares to other Garden Maintenance Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Anna
AnnaSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews

Finally put together the trolley.

published

The instructions are terrible. Had to download the pdf so I could make out the individual items. I returned it to the supplier and received a replacement. Rang the company and by trial and YouTube got it together. 2 issues I had were the nuts (27 instead of 28) and 1 of the angle trolley supports had a lip on the inside castor hole that made it difficult to feed the bolt through. Used tthe allen key to help it lock into place. I persisted and won. Hopefully won't have the same problem with the vegepod unit.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Vegepod
JamesVegepodSend a private message
Anna
Anna
Anna
Anna
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Michele
MicheleSydney

Challenges.

published
Vegepod
JamesVegepodSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
M Adams
M Adams
  • 4 reviews

Not What I Expected

published
Vegepod
JamesVegepodSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Garden Maintenance Products

Find out how Vegepod Raised Garden Bed Kits compares to other Garden Maintenance Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Manny
MannySydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

Great...but

published

We have two small ones and they are great, have grown all sorts of veggies and herbs successfully. However, there are two 'faults'. The product is presented as being pest free but this isn't the case as small insects get in easily through the gap between the canopy and pod itself. I've since put in sticky yellow insect catchers which does work but it is a real pain having to constantly change them as they fill up quickly with dead insects. So, a long way from being pest free. The other issue is that the ends of the canopy frames are rusting, not a good look. It isn't the nuts and bolts as they are plastic.

Vegepod
JamesVegepodSend a private message
Manny
Manny

According to our local nursery, when we took some examples to them, one of the bugs that gets into our pods are cabbage moths.
I will take the replacement poles if they are no charge, thanks

Vegepod
JamesVegepodSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

bolts rusting on legs

published

When I saw Vegepod's in Elsternwick and on TV thought best item i had seen and purchased a few. They are fiddly to put together. The plants with good soil premium works well. The disappointment in first ones is that the leg bolts have rusted and will need to be replaced and Vegepod should supply with recall....

Vegepod
JamesVegepodSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Novice gardener

published

I had a lot of trouble putting it together. The mesh is so tight the frame is a bit bent. I have not been able to secure the lid on properly as the little plastic clips wont stay in the bottom bit. So the lid just sits on top and gets blown off in the wind. I love the idea of the VegePod, have had 1 good crop of leaves and herbs. Its like I need an expert assembler to check mine out so then it will be more user friendly. I bought it when I saw the product on Shark Tank plus as an Avalonian I was keen to support a local business

Vegepod
JamesVegepodSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

AnneP
AnnePasked

My vegepod is not thriving
Tomato leaves turning yellow
Strawberries not fruiting
Spinach not growing
Any ideas?

1 answer
Vegepod
JamesVegepodSend a private message
Proodle
Proodleasked

I cant find a way to prevent build-up of large mats of very fine roots, no matter what I have grown in the soil. This has never happened in my regular garden so I would love to know why it does in the pod and how to deal with that, apart from a huge amount of energy to pull it all out and separate the roots from the soil

1 answer
Vegepod
JamesVegepodSend a private message
Pamela
Pamelaasked

how much is the small size

1 answer
Vegepod
JamesVegepodSend a private message

hi pam
the base unit with canopy is $199.
stands are optional extras
thanks

See all Vegepod Raised Garden Bed Kits questions

Get an answer from our members and Vegepod representatives

Details

Features:

  • The Vegepod Raised Garden Bed Kits are contained, making it easy to control the growth and quality of your veggies away from the ground and pests.
  • It’s self-watering - a wicking system waters the plants from below the bed, letting your greenery last weeks without needing to be watered.
  • A protective polyethylene knitted mesh cover protects your crops from pests and UV, and also regulates temperature by letting water and air get through.
  • An overflow hole helps prevent the flooding of soil, so you’re not left with over-watered plants.
  • This kit comes in a small, medium, and large size.

Points of praise:

  • A number of reviewers reported that the pod’s mesh cover effectively protected their plants from the elements, and particularly helped seedlings survive even in high winds.
  • They also said that the kit was easy to put together, even for gardening and DIY novices.
  • According to reviewers, the pod’s self-watering worked well, which made maintaining their gardens very low maintenance.
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.