1 photo
Victa 25.4cc Swift Start Straight Split Shaft Trimmer

Victa 25.4cc Swift Start Straight Split Shaft Trimmer

MPN: 883226
1.9 from 15 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Petrol Hedge Trimmers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Victa

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (1)
  • Ease of Use
    1.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.0 (1)
  • Safety
    3.0 (1)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
paul
paul
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Not Happy Jan

published

Bought Victa Swift Start line trimmer back in 2019 from Bunnings.
Have tried many times to start it as per instructions. Looked for ideas on the net on how to get going - ones I found were all negative.
On each occasion I managed to get it to run for a few seconds and then its stops.
I ended up buying a Tanaka - a great little machine!!
The Victa now sits in my shed gathering dust as I don't know what to do with it - maybe an anchor for my tinny? So don't waste your money on one of these.
Think Victa should stick to something they do very well - lawn mowers

Purchased in February 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores for $250.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Matt
MattGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Such a good whipper snipper

published

I bought this from Bunnings on the weekend, and very happy with my purchase. I was easy to assemble, fuel was easy to mix and I was up and running within 20 mins. I followed the instructions, and it started first time. I was using the trimmer for about 30 mins to complete my lawn with no problems.
I was reluctant to purchase based on reviews on here, but I purchased based on advice from my brother who also has one.
This is a great whipper snipper !

Purchased in May 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse for $279.00.

Incentivised Review No
toeknee
toekneeFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 26 reviews
  • 25 likes

Priced for home

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores.

Incentivised Review No
toeknee
toeknee
Paul R.
Paul R.Southwest, VIC

Unreliable at best

published

Brought from bunnings and has always had issues cutting out when gets warm. Can use 10mins before overheats. Always hard to start. Unreliable, poor quality. Won't purchase Victa brand again.

Purchased in March 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $230.00.

Incentivised Review No
Petrol Hedge Trimmers

Find out how Victa 25.4cc Swift Start Straight Split Shaft Trimmer compares to other Petrol Hedge Trimmers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lisa
LisaBrisbane
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Don't buy

published

Victa 25.4cc Swift Start Straight Split Shaft Trimmer

What a pity Victa is so different to now to where is came from. Purchased the Whipper Snipper about 11 months ago from Bunnings. Biggest mistake ever. Hard to start, has such low power it is nearly useless, over heats and cuts out/or burns the operator. Victa I am sorry that you have ended up making this cheap rubbish. I bought this product on your reputation and wish I had stuck with the cheap Aldi brand, theirs works as it should

Purchased in March 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores for $279.00.

Incentivised Review No
Pipes
PipesSydney, NSW

Updated model not a pinch on the previous one

published

Heavier, more cumbersome to use than the previous model. The spark plug & lead location on the top of the engine, is of poor design, which causes the operators elbow to regularly knock the lead off the plug, stopping the engine. The previous model was, and still is, much easier to operate. The cartridge type line feed is not economical. The bump feed head wears out rapidly. Unable to ascertain if the bump feed head can be replaced with a single line feed head unit. If so, it may be a little more economically efficient to operate. Only purchased this model as the previous model failed, however, sourced a new carby for the old model, fitted it, and it runs like new. I use it now, and this new model gathers dust in my shed.

Purchased in August 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores for $299.00.

Incentivised Review No
Andy Broto
Andy BrotoSydney
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Bad design, can’t start, used only once

published

Bad design, can’t start doesn’t matter what I do. It could be faulty from the factory. Disappointment, it should be easy and swift start. Tried everything and per instructions without avail

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $239.00.

Incentivised Review No
Dion M.
Dion M.
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Brand new, won't start.

published

Purchased new from Bunnings yesterday. Took it out of the box today and it won't start. I know line trimmers get harder to start with age, but this thing is brand new.

Purchased in July 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $279.00.

Incentivised Review No
rikki d
rikki dfalcon
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Not bad for price

published

I like how everyone is saying used 3 times won't start. As a carby the fuel goes stale in jets, bowl and perishes seals. If you run them dry upon after use you will find you do not have these issues. A little under powererd but I use the edger also and it's mint!! Only had it for 2 weeks so far and I only know 1 speed which is flat out. It suits its purpose for a yard of 700sqm. If you have a farm buy an industrial whipper snipper

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for $199.00.

Incentivised Review No
Petrol Hedge Trimmers

Find out how Victa 25.4cc Swift Start Straight Split Shaft Trimmer compares to other Petrol Hedge Trimmers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Steve S.
Steve S.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

Victa 25.4 Swift start from Bunnings.

published

A waste of money. Very difficult to start, poorly designed catches your finger trying to start. Only had it about 4 months already will now only throttle at max revs. Doesn’t seem to be compatible with standard whipper snipper line. Appears to require a proprietary line so it won’t slip. Won’t touch the Victa brand again.

Purchased in September 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $200.00.

Incentivised Review No
JonF
JonFSouth East Queensland, QLD

Very disappointed, though it would have a place in the market for some people

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $199.00.

Incentivised Review No

rubbish

published

I used 3 times and now it wont start no matter what I try.
The machine is also badly designed and catches on your finger while pull starting.
SWIFT START MY Rs.

Incentivised Review No
Petrol Hedge Trimmers

Find out how Victa 25.4cc Swift Start Straight Split Shaft Trimmer compares to other Petrol Hedge Trimmers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mick
MickGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Victa Swift Start. More like Victa no start

published

If I could give zero stars I would. Will never buy a Victa again. Used five times. It stopped. Now just cannot get it started any more :( :( :(. Very very disappointed customer

Purchased in September 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Incentivised Review No
Grrrrrrr
GrrrrrrrSouth West, WA

Disgraceful

published

Poor old Victa, Used to be an Australian icon built on reliability and loyalty since 1952. Now they can't even design a reliable recoiling pull start. I am sure after a few years it is to be expected that it would fail but for it to fail after the third start just tells me that they are actively designing it to fail. This brings great shame and disgrace to all whom sell and manufacture these abominations. I could give advice on how to run your company to be successful but you already know it and have decided building these pieces of crap is the best for your Briggs & Stratton and Honda brands. I will be keeping clear of your deceptive company.

Purchased in February 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $220.00.

Incentivised Review No
Grrrrrrr
Grrrrrrr

Briggs & Stratton stocks are now $4.60 from a high of $42 soon to be zero. I can't say I'm upset about that, just a pity they dragged down Victa with them.

ztt
zttGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 11 reviews
  • 18 likes
  • Verified

Victa, stick to lawn mowers, Trimmers is not you

published

Questions & Answers

Gordo
Gordoasked

Where can I get a Victa 25.4cc Swift Start Bent / Split Shaft Trimmer serviced in Joondalup?

No answers
David wrigley
David wrigleyasked

I have a victa swift start bent shaft line trimmer, it now needs new line. The only thing I can find is basically a prewound replacement part at around $60 is that the only option

4 answers
Steve S.
Steve S.

No you have to buy a customised Oregon gator line 2.4 mm. It’s designed so you can’t use standard line trimmer. >:-/ you can pick it up at Bunnings.

David wrigley
David wrigley

Well that's a pain. Thanks heaps Steve

Darren R.
Darren R.

gator speed load line costs $10 for 4 metres. So financially it makes sense to remove the speedload head completely, throw it away, then attach a different head. Then you can use your own preferred line (50 metres of saxon 2,4mm is $8)

Get an answer from our members and Victa representatives

Details

CategoryPetrol Hedge Trimmers
Weight6.6 kg
Fuel Tank Capacity550 mL
Engine Displacement25.4 cc
Visit official website
  • MPN: 883226

Other Petrol Hedge Trimmers

Previous
Next
See all Petrol Hedge Trimmers

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.