3 photos
Victa Classic Cut

Victa Classic Cut

MPNs: 881887 and VCS467
3.8 from 108 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Petrol Lawn Mowers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Victa

Pros

  • Cleanly cuts lawn

  • Lightweight and ergonomic

  • Economical to run

Cons

  • Awkwardly placed oil port

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.3 (4)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (4)
  • Ease of Use
    2.8 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.3 (4)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (4)
  • Safety
    3.0 (4)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    2.5 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.3 (4)
Previous
Next
Johno
Johno
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Product not up to expectation.

published

In comparison to the fifty year old Victa that this replaces, it is heavier, of poor quality, difficult to operate and does not cut as well in the same conditions. On the plus side, the engine does start easily and runs well.
In hindsight, I should have left it in the shop.

Purchased in November 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $400.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
John13
John13Perth, WA
  • 63 reviews
  • 65 likes
  • Verified

Caveat Emptor - one needs to be enterprising, and mechanically orientated in order to operate.

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
nyoung
nyoungFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Does the Job, just !

published

Started good, light and maneuverable. If you keep your grass short cuts ok, struggles in long grass due to power. If you cut long grass go to a more powerful Victa. Started hunting after 20/30 ??, have to see if it does that next week. Overall yes did the job.

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Richard
RichardGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 38 reviews
  • 22 likes

Victa's value compromise

published

The fact a lot of people think this is a great mower speaks to Australia's low expectations of quality.
It's functional, but obvioulsy very cheaply made - my concern is that Victa have gone below a fit-for-purpose standard in saving cost on this line. For example, the flimsy plastic throttle control that breaks off when you use it - how hard can it be to make a simple part like that?
When using it I heard a lot of rattling and metallic bumping such that it felt like it was going to fly apart; not very confidence inspiring. And no, it didn't cut very well (underpowered) or catch very well.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
3/5
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Victa Classic Cut compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Vic
Vic
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

As of March 2019, they are made in China

published

In March 2019, production of the Bunnings Victa Mowers changed - they are now made in China, instead of being made in Australia.

They look similar, but this is how you can tell the difference:
The old Aussie built ones have the Handlebar screwed to the top of the chassis, while the Chinese ones have the bottom of the handlebar screwed to the sides of the chassis. Chinese one has a rubber grip on the handlebar, Aussie ones you're grabbing the bare metal handlebar.

The Chinese model also has cheaper wheels, it's too early to tell about the Paintwork quality/ if it will rust out.

If I need a new mower, I will either buy a Victa 2-Stroke or buy an Aldi Gardenline Mower for $139 when they go on sale every October/November.

Purchased in June 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Incentivised Review No

Victa Classic Cut - Slow but reliable

published

I bought the “Victa classic cut” $399 from Bunnings yesterday, I wanted to buy a victa 2 stroke but was told victa don’t make 2 stroke anymore ?? What do I notice, yes starts easily and the motor is SLOW especially when your used to a 2 stroke. I used to power through with my 2 stroke but and now with my 4 stroke it is like an old steam engine. Yes reliable and cut the grass which hasn’t been cut for 4 months, got the job done.
Feels like a quality albeit slow.
PS: the lovely guy at Bunnings put it together for me.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
  • Verified

Rubbish

published

What a piece of crap. Might be alright for the 5 metre strip on the driveway or retirement home square but anything more it is crap. Leaves most of the grass on the lawn. The small hole from blade to catcher blocked up in seconds and from then on grass stayed where it was. Don't mow near buildings or leave the door open to said building. Grass splats up the side of the house, over footpaths, in open doorways. Going past the skip my $500 lawnmower got chucked in there. Caused an argument about my attitude that lasted for days.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Related Articles

Previous
Is artificial grass the right choice for my lawn?

With spring in full swing and yard owners tending to their greenery more, some are looking to ditch the lawn mowing altogether in favour of artificial grass. We go through the pros and cons of installing a synthetic lawn so that you can decide what’s right for your turf.

Clara V.
Clara V.21 Sept 2021
is-artificial-grass-the-right-choice-for-my-lawn
Should I get a petrol or battery lawn mower?

Battery lawn mowers are advertised as having the power to rival that of their petrol counterparts - without the noise, hassle, and fumes. We compare the two to help you decide which type of push mower is right for your yard.

Clara V.
Clara V.13 Oct 2021
should-i-get-a-petrol-or-battery-lawn-mower
Next
jpnpatel
jpnpatelmelbouene
  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

SUPER FAST

published

This mover is very fast and quite low in sound too.
I like its look and not too heavy like other old movers.
it has very good variation of height to control how far you would like to cut your grass.
very affordable and can be service with low maintenance.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
robbo
robboPreston
  • 4 reviews

Victa summer classic

published

It cuts ok but it blocks up at the back if the grass is little wet it's only good if it's dry.and it's hard to maneuver its pretty heavy and if you want to change the blades really hard to take off I gave up on it it's a crappy mower broke down first day.

November 12th 2017 Update: This is the worst mower I used doesn't like picking up moist grass

When I bought it the wheels fell off the coil was faulty. After 5 months it stopped completely due to faulty coil.it doesn't like picking up moist grass at all it's rubbish if you ask me and too much maintenance on it spark plug don't last long don't buy sponge filter gets dirty pretty quickly

Date PurchasedOct 2015
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Victa Classic Cut compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
annieexplorer
annieexplorerWide Bay-Burnett, QLD
  • 39 reviews
  • 25 likes

Not as good as previous model

published

Bought this to replace the previous model which I donated to family. Wish I had kept the previous model as started first time every time. Had a fuel primer and worked each time. This model does not have the fuel primer and takes about 3 attempts to get to work which is disappointing. Mows ok when finally working and good catcher

Date PurchasedMar 2017
fredlet02
fredlet02Gippsland, VIC
  • 15 reviews
  • 3 likes

Trouble some bit of junk sometimes

published
Date PurchasedNov 2015

What else is going to fall off

published

I purchased another Victor mower after my old Victor died, and I was very disappointed with the quality of the mower and the cut. Plastic hub caps keep falling off, doesn't throw the grass to the back of the catcher (loads the front of the catcher) the wheels are just a blown plastic (not solid like the old ones) the crappy trim on the catcher didn't fit properly (required the flash trimming (excess plastic from moulding process)) I have to mow the grass at a snails pace to get a reasonable cut (old mower I could almost jog (well walk fairly quickly)). The build quality just doesn't seem to be there anymore for such an iconic mower.

Date PurchasedJuly 2016
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Victa Classic Cut compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
PWR64
PWR64Southern and Hills, SA
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified

Not a Good Start

published

Had a Victa for mower for 15 years and it has been indestructible. So purchased the classic cut from Bunnings today. Put it together filled with oil, started first time, great. After about 10 minutes of light use, oil is being pushed out of the side of the engine. Obviously the engine hadn't been torqued enough and not sure it had been tested by quality control, very disappointing!

PWR64
PWR64

Bunnings swapped it for a new one straight away, the new one has been brilliant so far

PWR64
PWR64

Had the replacement for 4 months now. I think I was unlucky with the first one, this one is going to be as good as my old one. See you in another 15 years Victa when I am ready for another one.

So far so good. Brand new out of box the mower started first pull.

published

The mower looks good. Clean and powerfull. First mow it may be cutting uneaven. I've been told it could be assembled poorly. I will investagate more into this. Over all it's a good budget mower.

Questions & Answers

Russ
Russ asked

I have asked many questions and your members do not answer. It is a hoax.

3 answers
The Reviewer
The Reviewer

We are not Victa members. Why ask a review site when you can get exact answers from Victa or Bunnings directly ?

Russ
Russ

Why call it a review site then.

Coxy
Coxy

Because this is where people who bought a product can review it and offer their opinion.
It is not a site where people who work for or sell particular products come to answer questions.
Occasionally someone from Victa, or from a retailer who sells Victa might be here but mostly it's just us people who bought one.

Russ
Russ asked

Why don't your victa members answer.

No answers
Russ
Russ asked

Are bunnings victa mowers made in nsw kemps creek,or china. Do they have ballbearing wheels and pressed steel chassis,as victa dealers say they are rubbish and won't touch them.

1 answer
Coxy
Coxy

The one I bought a couple of months ago seems to have been assembled in China. I would guess the actual pressed steel mower body was made in China. It seems to be powder coated. Compared to the Rover I had for the last 20 years, that rusted through after about 5 years and I repaired by bolting on various pieces of steek and aluminium for the next 15 years, I'd guess this one might last about the same (with similar repairs).

The mower handle is not as sturdy as my old Rover, but I guess I could make a new one if it dies.

I'm assuming of course that the little Briggs and Stratton 500e might last 20 years like the B & S Quantum 5 did!

Overall, this one feels like it might, and the Easy Start function works nicely.
Press the primer bulb 3 times to flood the carby.
Set the throttle to half way.
Pull the starter cord Gently, once to get some fuel vapour into the cylinder.
Pull the starter cord Gently again to ignite the fuel vapour.
Very occasionally - I might need to pull the cord Gently a third time, usually if I do something stupid like try to start it with the blade in deepish grass.

See all Victa Classic Cut questions

Get an answer from our members and Victa representatives

Details

Features:

  • The Victa Classic Cut Push Mower has a Briggs & Stratton quiet 4-stroke engine and 6.8Nm of torque to power through your lawn.
  • It has RapidStart™ technology that makes getting your machine going quick and simple.
  • The mower has a dual-blade cutting systems, with 2 swing-back blades that make a clean cut on all types of grass.
  • It can make cuts between 11 to 70mm high, letting you easily mow to your desired length.
  • Ergonomic soft-grip handles on the mower mean you can manoeuvre it around your lawn comfortably.
  • The unit comes with a 5-year limited warranty.

Points of praise:

  • Most reviewers found that the Victa Classic Cut could achieve a clean cut on all types of grass - even grass that’s wet, high, or quite thick.
  • They also found that it was lightweight, ergonomic, and compact, and so was easy to manoeuvre around their yard. Reviewers particularly enjoyed the comfortable grips on the handle.
  • Reviewers also noted that the mower was efficient in its fuel consumption, saying that it was economical to run for a petrol-powered machine.

A point of pain:

  • Some reviewers noted that the oil port was in an awkward spot, with reviewers disliking that they had to tip the engine in order to do an oil change.
CategoryPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $419.00
Power SourcePetrol
FeaturesQuick-Start Motor
Catcher Type Rigid
Cutting Deck MaterialSteel
Cutting Width457 mm
Height of Cut11 mm to 70 mm
Number of Blades2
Weight26 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameBriggs & Stratton 500E Series
Engine Type4-Stroke and OHV (Overhead Valve)
BrandBriggs & Stratton
Engine Displacement140 cc
Visit official website
  • MPN: 881887 and VCS467

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.