3 photos
Victa Classic Cut

Victa Classic Cut

MPNs: 881887 and VCS467
3.8 from 108 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Petrol Lawn Mowers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Victa

Pros

  • Cleanly cuts lawn

  • Lightweight and ergonomic

  • Economical to run

Cons

  • Awkwardly placed oil port

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.9 (11)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (11)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (11)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (11)
  • Safety
    4.1 (11)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    3.7 (10)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.2 (10)
Previous
Next
Johno
Johno
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Product not up to expectation.

published

In comparison to the fifty year old Victa that this replaces, it is heavier, of poor quality, difficult to operate and does not cut as well in the same conditions. On the plus side, the engine does start easily and runs well.
In hindsight, I should have left it in the shop.

Purchased in November 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $400.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
John13
John13Perth, WA
  • 63 reviews
  • 65 likes
  • Verified

Caveat Emptor - one needs to be enterprising, and mechanically orientated in order to operate.

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Angie
AngieMid West, WA
  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

VICTA Classic Cut Lawnmower

published

Purchased in August 2021 for $200.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
BobE
BobE
  • 3 reviews

Another happy camper

published

I’m now 72 and been using Victa lawn mowers since a teenager. This one is the best ever. Lightweight, easy start, quiet, excellent easy to remove and attach catcher. Well priced. Ideal for my 200m2 sloping buffalo lawn. Clean cut. Comfortable grips. Simple controls and easy to manoeuvre. Thanks Victa.

Purchased in May 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores for $399.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Victa Classic Cut compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
aaron.r.garner
aaron.r.garnerSouth East Queensland, QLD

This actually works really well with taller grass and decent sized lawns

published

I don't know what old mate in the past review was talking about, maybe they tried the mow straight after rain?

I have a pretty big yard and the grass was getting fairly unruly as well when I first used this mower and it did a very commendable job!

It didn't chug through the fuel quickly, it didn't conk out with the taller grass, the catcher only had to be emptied a couple of times on the mow, and it was really easy to use.

If you have acreage you might want to pick up a more expensive lawn mower/ride-on mower, but for most anything else that can be done with a lawn mower, this one will be more than acceptable!

I even bought this second hand too so it was a real score on my part!

Purchased for $200.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Russ
Russ Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

This is a great mower light easy to manouver and catcher or mulch is great to. Excellent mower for 400.00

published

Classic cut is light easy to manouver and start. Great allround mower. 5year warranty is best mower for 400.00. Easy to assemble and choice to mulch or catch is incredible.

Purchased in January 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores for $399.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Amber Penney
Amber PenneyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Great

published

Great mower well worth the price! Used on wet high thick grass and cut with no problem at all. Plastic catcher is a great feature, awesome size and easy to empty

Purchased in May 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Related Articles

Previous
Is artificial grass the right choice for my lawn?

With spring in full swing and yard owners tending to their greenery more, some are looking to ditch the lawn mowing altogether in favour of artificial grass. We go through the pros and cons of installing a synthetic lawn so that you can decide what’s right for your turf.

Clara V.
Clara V.21 Sept 2021
is-artificial-grass-the-right-choice-for-my-lawn
Should I get a petrol or battery lawn mower?

Battery lawn mowers are advertised as having the power to rival that of their petrol counterparts - without the noise, hassle, and fumes. We compare the two to help you decide which type of push mower is right for your yard.

Clara V.
Clara V.13 Oct 2021
should-i-get-a-petrol-or-battery-lawn-mower
Next
Dominic
DominicCentral Queensland, QLD

Not bad eh

published

Bought from bunnings. Paid $399 for it. I have a 800 square meter block that's almost all yard/lawn. I can do both front and back yard on one tank. Happy with that. Quality so far is very good. Starts first pull every time for me. well worth the money paid.

Purchased for $399.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Richard
RichardGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 38 reviews
  • 22 likes

Victa's value compromise

published

The fact a lot of people think this is a great mower speaks to Australia's low expectations of quality.
It's functional, but obvioulsy very cheaply made - my concern is that Victa have gone below a fit-for-purpose standard in saving cost on this line. For example, the flimsy plastic throttle control that breaks off when you use it - how hard can it be to make a simple part like that?
When using it I heard a lot of rattling and metallic bumping such that it felt like it was going to fly apart; not very confidence inspiring. And no, it didn't cut very well (underpowered) or catch very well.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
3/5
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Victa Classic Cut compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Andrew
AndrewGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Tough workhorse

published

This mower I bought to replace my 36 year old 2 stroke Victa. I wanted a 4 stroke. This is so much quieter and easier to push. Starts 1st go and cute well. So far very reliable.. it's a Victa!

Purchased in August 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Miller
MillerSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews

Great machine

published

Great machine very easy to manoervure and simple to operate

Great for a flat land or gentle slops not so good on a very high slop

Battery isn’t as good as i was told by the sales person

Cather is a decent size for a residential home use

next time i would buy same brand but the petrol one

Very happy with it

Purchased in September 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $499.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Meza
MezaFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Loving it..

published

We got this victa lawn mower the other week. And we are loving it. For a smaller size it goes really well. There is a peep hole, to see how far the grass is in the catcher, which is really convenient. Also it is nice a light, a starts instantly. We are really happy with this purchase.

Date PurchasedJan 2019
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Victa Classic Cut compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
beachsider
beachsiderSydney, NSW
  • 11 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified

Super Reliable!

published

I bought the Victa classic cut lawnmower from Bunnings two years ago after having experienced breakdown twice with Ryobi mowers and I couldn't be happier. It's super reliable in all conditions with very little maintenance required except oil change every few months, it starts in one or two attempts every time and catcher does a brilliant job. Highly recommended!

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Grimace
GrimaceBrisbane
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

Great Lawn Mower

published

Having used cheaper lawn mowers in the past few years, they all ended up having issues. It was about time I paid a bit more and I wish I did sooner. This victa lawn mower is well built, the quality is excellent, i love the plastic catcher and its great on fuel. Would buy victa again!

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Banjo
BanjoSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 14 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified

You can't beat a victa

published

Have only had this mower a short time but it works perfectly. Starts first go and it's a lot quieter then my last mower although it was about 15 years old. Would have preferred 4 blades but 2 is sufficient. The throttle cable could be somewhat shorter then it is & the oil cap could have been placed elsewhere instead of under the starter cord handle although that is just a very minor problem. Also, you can not drain the oil without tipping the mower on its side as there is no drain valve underneath like there is with my old mower. Overall tho, this is a great mower & worth the money.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Russ
Russ asked

I have asked many questions and your members do not answer. It is a hoax.

3 answers
The Reviewer
The Reviewer

We are not Victa members. Why ask a review site when you can get exact answers from Victa or Bunnings directly ?

Russ
Russ

Why call it a review site then.

Coxy
Coxy

Because this is where people who bought a product can review it and offer their opinion.
It is not a site where people who work for or sell particular products come to answer questions.
Occasionally someone from Victa, or from a retailer who sells Victa might be here but mostly it's just us people who bought one.

Russ
Russ asked

Why don't your victa members answer.

No answers
Russ
Russ asked

Are bunnings victa mowers made in nsw kemps creek,or china. Do they have ballbearing wheels and pressed steel chassis,as victa dealers say they are rubbish and won't touch them.

1 answer
Coxy
Coxy

The one I bought a couple of months ago seems to have been assembled in China. I would guess the actual pressed steel mower body was made in China. It seems to be powder coated. Compared to the Rover I had for the last 20 years, that rusted through after about 5 years and I repaired by bolting on various pieces of steek and aluminium for the next 15 years, I'd guess this one might last about the same (with similar repairs).

The mower handle is not as sturdy as my old Rover, but I guess I could make a new one if it dies.

I'm assuming of course that the little Briggs and Stratton 500e might last 20 years like the B & S Quantum 5 did!

Overall, this one feels like it might, and the Easy Start function works nicely.
Press the primer bulb 3 times to flood the carby.
Set the throttle to half way.
Pull the starter cord Gently, once to get some fuel vapour into the cylinder.
Pull the starter cord Gently again to ignite the fuel vapour.
Very occasionally - I might need to pull the cord Gently a third time, usually if I do something stupid like try to start it with the blade in deepish grass.

See all Victa Classic Cut questions

Get an answer from our members and Victa representatives

Details

Features:

  • The Victa Classic Cut Push Mower has a Briggs & Stratton quiet 4-stroke engine and 6.8Nm of torque to power through your lawn.
  • It has RapidStart™ technology that makes getting your machine going quick and simple.
  • The mower has a dual-blade cutting systems, with 2 swing-back blades that make a clean cut on all types of grass.
  • It can make cuts between 11 to 70mm high, letting you easily mow to your desired length.
  • Ergonomic soft-grip handles on the mower mean you can manoeuvre it around your lawn comfortably.
  • The unit comes with a 5-year limited warranty.

Points of praise:

  • Most reviewers found that the Victa Classic Cut could achieve a clean cut on all types of grass - even grass that’s wet, high, or quite thick.
  • They also found that it was lightweight, ergonomic, and compact, and so was easy to manoeuvre around their yard. Reviewers particularly enjoyed the comfortable grips on the handle.
  • Reviewers also noted that the mower was efficient in its fuel consumption, saying that it was economical to run for a petrol-powered machine.

A point of pain:

  • Some reviewers noted that the oil port was in an awkward spot, with reviewers disliking that they had to tip the engine in order to do an oil change.
CategoryPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $419.00
Power SourcePetrol
FeaturesQuick-Start Motor
Catcher Type Rigid
Cutting Deck MaterialSteel
Cutting Width457 mm
Height of Cut11 mm to 70 mm
Number of Blades2
Weight26 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameBriggs & Stratton 500E Series
Engine Type4-Stroke and OHV (Overhead Valve)
BrandBriggs & Stratton
Engine Displacement140 cc
Visit official website
  • MPN: 881887 and VCS467

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.