3 photos
Victa Classic Cut

Victa Classic Cut

MPNs: 881887 and VCS467
3.8 from 108 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Petrol Lawn Mowers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Victa

Pros

  • Cleanly cuts lawn

  • Lightweight and ergonomic

  • Economical to run

Cons

  • Awkwardly placed oil port

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.9 (18)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (18)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (17)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (18)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (18)
  • Safety
    3.9 (17)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    3.7 (15)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.2 (17)
Previous
Next
Johno
Johno
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Product not up to expectation.

published

In comparison to the fifty year old Victa that this replaces, it is heavier, of poor quality, difficult to operate and does not cut as well in the same conditions. On the plus side, the engine does start easily and runs well.
In hindsight, I should have left it in the shop.

Purchased in November 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $400.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
John13
John13Perth, WA
  • 64 reviews
  • 68 likes
  • Verified

Caveat Emptor - one needs to be enterprising, and mechanically orientated in order to operate.

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Sand
Sand
  • 29 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified

Feeling quietly optimistic

published

Purchased in March 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Angie
AngieMid West, WA
  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

VICTA Classic Cut Lawnmower

published

Purchased in August 2021 for $200.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Victa Classic Cut compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
BobE
BobE
  • 3 reviews

Another happy camper

published

I’m now 72 and been using Victa lawn mowers since a teenager. This one is the best ever. Lightweight, easy start, quiet, excellent easy to remove and attach catcher. Well priced. Ideal for my 200m2 sloping buffalo lawn. Clean cut. Comfortable grips. Simple controls and easy to manoeuvre. Thanks Victa.

Purchased in May 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores for $399.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
aaron.r.garner
aaron.r.garnerSouth East Queensland, QLD

This actually works really well with taller grass and decent sized lawns

published

I don't know what old mate in the past review was talking about, maybe they tried the mow straight after rain?

I have a pretty big yard and the grass was getting fairly unruly as well when I first used this mower and it did a very commendable job!

It didn't chug through the fuel quickly, it didn't conk out with the taller grass, the catcher only had to be emptied a couple of times on the mow, and it was really easy to use.

If you have acreage you might want to pick up a more expensive lawn mower/ride-on mower, but for most anything else that can be done with a lawn mower, this one will be more than acceptable!

I even bought this second hand too so it was a real score on my part!

Purchased for $200.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Greg
Greg
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Value for Money Cuts Well

published

Purchased in February 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse for $400.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Is artificial grass the right choice for my lawn?

With spring in full swing and yard owners tending to their greenery more, some are looking to ditch the lawn mowing altogether in favour of artificial grass. We go through the pros and cons of installing a synthetic lawn so that you can decide what’s right for your turf.

Clara V.
Clara V.21 Sept 2021
is-artificial-grass-the-right-choice-for-my-lawn
Should I get a petrol or battery lawn mower?

Battery lawn mowers are advertised as having the power to rival that of their petrol counterparts - without the noise, hassle, and fumes. We compare the two to help you decide which type of push mower is right for your yard.

Clara V.
Clara V.13 Oct 2021
should-i-get-a-petrol-or-battery-lawn-mower
Next
Russ
Russ Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

This is a great mower light easy to manouver and catcher or mulch is great to. Excellent mower for 400.00

published

Classic cut is light easy to manouver and start. Great allround mower. 5year warranty is best mower for 400.00. Easy to assemble and choice to mulch or catch is incredible.

Purchased in January 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores for $399.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Steve
SteveMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Mine was bulletproof

published

Purchased in November 2016 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Victa Classic Cut compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Amber Penney
Amber PenneyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Great

published

Great mower well worth the price! Used on wet high thick grass and cut with no problem at all. Plastic catcher is a great feature, awesome size and easy to empty

Purchased in May 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Danielle
DanielleWestern Australia
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Affordable, does the job.

published

A smooth running mower, it’s our first brand new mower and it’s worth the money. I have a huge amount of lawn and every 60-90 meters I have to empty the catch. Sometimes I just leave it off if the grass isn’t too long.
This takes Petrol. I wish the tank was slightly bigger as I have to fill it every time I mow the lawn, but not a big deal in the scheme of things.

Purchased in November 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Dominic
DominicCentral Queensland, QLD

Not bad eh

published

Bought from bunnings. Paid $399 for it. I have a 800 square meter block that's almost all yard/lawn. I can do both front and back yard on one tank. Happy with that. Quality so far is very good. Starts first pull every time for me. well worth the money paid.

Purchased for $399.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Victa Classic Cut compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Richard
RichardGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 38 reviews
  • 23 likes

Victa's value compromise

published

The fact a lot of people think this is a great mower speaks to Australia's low expectations of quality.
It's functional, but obvioulsy very cheaply made - my concern is that Victa have gone below a fit-for-purpose standard in saving cost on this line. For example, the flimsy plastic throttle control that breaks off when you use it - how hard can it be to make a simple part like that?
When using it I heard a lot of rattling and metallic bumping such that it felt like it was going to fly apart; not very confidence inspiring. And no, it didn't cut very well (underpowered) or catch very well.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
3/5
Andrew
AndrewGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Tough workhorse

published

This mower I bought to replace my 36 year old 2 stroke Victa. I wanted a 4 stroke. This is so much quieter and easier to push. Starts 1st go and cute well. So far very reliable.. it's a Victa!

Purchased in August 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ray C
Ray CSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

So far, so good

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

george.johns.9400984
george.johns.9400984asked

What size Engine does the Victa classic cut 18" have?

1 answer
John13
John13

It's fitted with a 140cc 4-stroke Briggs and Stratton 500E Series Engine..

Russ
Russ asked

I have asked many questions and your members do not answer. It is a hoax.

3 answers
The Reviewer
The Reviewer

We are not Victa members. Why ask a review site when you can get exact answers from Victa or Bunnings directly ?

Russ
Russ

Why call it a review site then.

Coxy
Coxy

Because this is where people who bought a product can review it and offer their opinion.
It is not a site where people who work for or sell particular products come to answer questions.
Occasionally someone from Victa, or from a retailer who sells Victa might be here but mostly it's just us people who bought one.

Russ
Russ asked

Why don't your victa members answer.

No answers
See all Victa Classic Cut questions

Get an answer from our members and Victa representatives

Details

Features:

  • The Victa Classic Cut Push Mower has a Briggs & Stratton quiet 4-stroke engine and 6.8Nm of torque to power through your lawn.
  • It has RapidStart™ technology that makes getting your machine going quick and simple.
  • The mower has a dual-blade cutting systems, with 2 swing-back blades that make a clean cut on all types of grass.
  • It can make cuts between 11 to 70mm high, letting you easily mow to your desired length.
  • Ergonomic soft-grip handles on the mower mean you can manoeuvre it around your lawn comfortably.
  • The unit comes with a 5-year limited warranty.

Points of praise:

  • Most reviewers found that the Victa Classic Cut could achieve a clean cut on all types of grass - even grass that’s wet, high, or quite thick.
  • They also found that it was lightweight, ergonomic, and compact, and so was easy to manoeuvre around their yard. Reviewers particularly enjoyed the comfortable grips on the handle.
  • Reviewers also noted that the mower was efficient in its fuel consumption, saying that it was economical to run for a petrol-powered machine.

A point of pain:

  • Some reviewers noted that the oil port was in an awkward spot, with reviewers disliking that they had to tip the engine in order to do an oil change.
CategoryPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $419.00
Power SourcePetrol
FeaturesQuick-Start Motor
Catcher Type Rigid
Cutting Deck MaterialSteel
Cutting Width457 mm
Height of Cut11 mm to 70 mm
Number of Blades2
Weight26 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameBriggs & Stratton 500E Series
Engine Type4-Stroke and OHV (Overhead Valve)
BrandBriggs & Stratton
Engine Displacement140 cc
Visit official website
  • MPN: 881887 and VCS467

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.