??!

Push Mowers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of push mower would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(7)
(5)
(1)
(1)
(2)

    catcher is crap

    published

    I have just purchased commando 675 motor is ok but my problem is the catcher only half fills up and it starts dropping grass every were and when you pull the catcher out there is always grass stuck under the mower and it goes every were im not impressed i have gone back to using my 30 year old that was still going just thought and upgrade would be better but the mowers from then are much better in my opinion

    Date PurchasedDec 2018
    Krusty

    KrustySydney, NSW

    • 12 reviews
    • 1 like

    very reliable

    published

    I am 48 and had 2 lawn mowers so far,both Victa's,both 1000sq mtr blocks,The 2 strokes give a tighter,cleaner cut with torque running a lot higher,Why is it so hard to find 2 strokes now and if you do you need to mortgage the home,I would buy nothing but a VICTA.Cheer's Krusty.

    Date PurchasedMay 2003
    Azz

    AzzBrisbane

    • 5 reviews
    • 1 like

    Starts so easy, no dramas

    published

    This mower comes with a Honda engine, it starts first time every time. I’ve had no issues with the mower except a small issue with the handle has slightly bent from the foldaway function not being locked properly when extended. I expect this mower to run forever being a Honda engine.

    Date PurchasedJan 2018
    Petrol Lawn Mowers

    Find out how Victa Commando compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Turbine3

    Turbine3Melbourne

    • 4 reviews
    • 1 like

    Very Good Lawnmower

    published

    I am very happy overall with this model from Victa. We have a fairly large backyard that grows grass quite unevenly due to the drainage so there are quite long bits together with shorter. This just chomps through it all without worrying. It definitely has enough power to get the job done. It always starts first go and I like the mulching of the grass. My only complaint is that the chute chokes up from time to time but all mowers can do that. Its strong, reliable and works well.

    Date PurchasedFeb 2017
    shopper101

    shopper101Sydney

    • 5 reviews

    nice unit

    published

    this mower is better then the rest i think
    nice motor with lots over power and cuts grass perfect when blades are new
    re shute is nice and wide to collect grass
    very easy to start and easy to push when mowing
    would differently recommend other people to buy .

    Date PurchasedMay 2015
    Shelley.b.

    Shelley.b.

    • 5 reviews

    Great product

    published

    As I have a large yard with a large area to now I needed a mower that was light enough for me to use myself and easy enough to operate.I highly recommend this mower .the cutting results are great and it certainly met all my needs and expectations and exceeded my expectations.I no longer pay a mower service and would recommend this mower .

    Date PurchasedJan 2018
    Mower

    MowerWollongong

    Ticks all the boxes

    published
    Date PurchasedDec 2017
    Vik

    VikMelbourne.

    • 8 reviews
    • 2 likes

    First impressions

    published
    Date PurchasedAug 2017
    thphan22

    thphan22

    • 7 reviews

    Mows down the opposition

    published

    Bought this for my dad, since his old mower wouldn't start anymore. This mower does a fine job of cutting the grass and keeping the lawns neat and tidy. It's easy to push around the yard and is a sturdy machine. Sometimes my dad needs help starting it, but after that it runs smoothly and easily. Maintenance is simple too.

    Date PurchasedOct 2016
    Petrol Lawn Mowers

    Find out how Victa Commando compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Karen

    KarenAU

    • 2 reviews

    So far so good

    published

    Used first time yesterday. Very happy. Lawn is neat, the catcher picks up everything. Used mulcher attachment on part of lawn & looks like I didn't (no loose cuttings). Very manouverable, started easily first pull, & easy to hose down after when cool, to clean. Hope it continues this way.

    Date PurchasedMar 2017
    Pat J

    Pat JAdelaide

    • 4 reviews
    • 4 likes

    I love this 2 stroke Mulching Mower

    published
    Date PurchasedJan 2016

    worst grass catching mower ever

    published

    Leaves grass everywhere ,with the catcher attached front right wheel is smashed by grass you have to mow twice worst mower I have ever owned it moves well ,but that' it starts after 4 pulls,I will be asking for a refund it is not a mower4 older people mowing once is bad enough not twice

    Graham Ferguson

    Graham FergusonAU

    • 3 reviews
    • 4 likes

    Not good

    published

    Purchased a 2 stroke commando early 2015 - Cut grass 'unevenly' from day one. Also left 'trail' of grass from catcher. My son's old victa does a better job. After numerous complaints and providing pics, the store eventually took it away, checked all heights, etc. changed blades and altered max revs. Was a little better but still appears to be uneven cut. Also 'spits' grass out in all directions. Very disappointing. Only bought this due to previous good experience with Victa.

    dougpetrie

    dougpetrie

    • 3 reviews
    • 5 likes

    victa

    published

    the victa 2 stroke I have has never let me down engine has heaps of grunt to cut through long grass, it leaves a great cut, found that engine seems to over rev when sitting stationary, and hinge assembly with the catcher door seems to vibrate loose making me have to stop mower to re-attach, but all in all very good mower for a 2 stroke, found replacement parts a little steep in price if you buy victa brand.

    Waste of Money

    published

    Live on a 1/4 acre block but have to mow a certain part weekly because of the septic. After 12 months of use it started to vibrate bad. End up being a bent crankshaft and also a bent conrod. Not covered under warranty as that is wear and tear. Engine is now a vibrating smoke machine an completely useless.
    Pros? Could use it for a paper weight?
    GCV motor is rubbish. Air cleaner at engine with no snorkle. Fragile.

    2 comments
    Victa
    Joe c.Victa
    Alan511
    Alan511

    Exactly so if you want something decent that will last more than just 12 months buy something else and stay far away from this model. $600, what a joke.

    Petrol Lawn Mowers

    Find out how Victa Commando compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    WendyL

    WendyLCairns

    • 6 reviews
    • 3 likes

    Great mower for 60+ female

    published
    Date PurchasedMar 2017

    Questions & Answers

    Takis

    Takisasked

    Commando CMS462 (2 Stroke)

    The disc blade is stuck, what part do I need to replace

    No answers
    DavidH

    DavidHasked

    Commando VCMD484 (Self-Propelled)

    I want an owners manual for the VCMD484 Self-Propelled mower. I've searched for a while with no result. Can anyone help, please?

    No answers
    Erika C

    Erika Casked

    Commando CMS485 (700, 4 Stroke)

    I have an arm injury which stops me using a pull-start mechanism on a lawn mower. Is there a Victa which has a button start mechanism or other start mechanism (not involving the pull action)? We have a medium to large-sized lawn and have ruled out an electric mower.
    Thanks

    1 answer
    Krusty
    Krusty

    G,day Erica,Victa do have a good selection of battery start up mowers,Have a look at their website and do a little research before heading to a shop,How big is your yard?Do you prefer two or four stroke engines?The technology for battery run models has come a long way but are suited to smaller level lawns,Select carefully as I have had my Victa two stroke for almost 20yrs,Cheer's Krusty.

    Get an answer from our members and Victa representatives

    ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.