??!

See the Best Petrol Lawn Mowers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
16
4 star
13
3 star
8
2 star
9
1 star
8

TTT

TTTCanberra

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good

published

It is a decent lawn mower that functions exactly as described, it is easy to push and turn however it definitely does not have the most powerful engine in the market. It struggles significantly when being pushed through long grass, wet or dry. The catch could be slightly larger then currently

Date PurchasedSep 2014

Brad61

Brad61Perth, Western Australia

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great cutter. Dodgy clutch.

published

Always used a Victa. Thought I would try a self propelled version. It does the cut and collect/mulch very well. Cuts long stuff easy. After 9 months the clutch started to stick. A couple more mows and it stayed stuck on. Always in drive. Took it back to the supplier for a warranty fix. If this happens again out of warranty, I will convert it back to a push mower.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

This best mower I ever had lasts long

published

Victor mowers cuts easily and there's no mechanical problems with it. It lasts for a long time. I recommend vista mowers to anyone and everyone. It's easy to maintain just a rinse with the hose and it's ready for the next job. And it's way to manoeuvre in any direction.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Fritznsauce

Fritznsauce

  • 19 reviews
  • 17 likes

Poor Quality Mower With a Good Quality Engine

published
Build Quality
Value for Money

MNBEGG

MNBEGGSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Not very happy customer

published

Bought mine trimmer a year and half ago and it's not recommend at all, spent $200 but not much help to be honest. I have to spend too many kicks on it to start and if I am lucky it starts otherwise I have to leave it for another day for it to work. Would not recommend victa to anyone

Date PurchasedJan 2015

Barra

Barra

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Hoe-Hum

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017

Chola

CholaWollongong

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Powerful good engine, very poor build quality

published

The mower works well. You need to maintain this. However bits just keep falling off, firstly issues with the throttle cable, then the air filter case broke, one of the wheels is at a really weird angle and now the primer button has popped off. Sourcing spare parts is near impossible.

Date PurchasedMar 2010

david

davidShepparton

  • 7 reviews

Really good mower, cuts well

published

Don't have any issues with this mower. Cuts the lawn pretty well and is easy to start.
Our old mower was heavy and loud but this is nice and quiet, easy to have around the yard and looks nice as well.
Would recommend this mower again for a residential house

Date PurchasedApr 2017
mkba

mkbaMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

just ok

published

I have never felt strongly enough about anything to get a bad review, but i am really ticked off about buying this mower, I was bitterly disappointed in it and please do yourself a favour, dont buy this one , I am still waiting to see if the problem will be rectified.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Manvir

ManvirPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

I am tradesman

published

I have gardening business. Victa make very good quality tools.
I got lawn mower from them use every day since 2 years.
Powerful motor. Easy reach to blades. Very easy to remove and sharp.
Just need sharpen every week because of hi use.
Company provides very good customer service.
Thanks

Date PurchasedMay 2015

id burn it if it hadnt cost me $400

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016

Victa Corvette 18" cut

published

I bought a Victa Corvette two years ago, Briggs and Straton engine..engine starts first pull every time...BUT then I noticed a lot of free movement in the handle and in closer inspection found the handle mount to the body has almost rusted out on both sides. I returned the mower to my original place of purchase and was advised by the this particular distributor that he had already replaced/returned 9 mowers for the same fault. I was also advised the company was aware that 700 units had not been under coated before painting but still released to the distributors??? Not good.
The Hills Hoist and Victa are Australian icons?? ...so should I buy Australian products..
I am still waiting to see if the problem will be rectified.

Date PurchasedMar 2015

Giddles

GiddlesAU

  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

Powerful and compact with mulch option

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
1 comment
Giddles
Giddles

Mr Happy

Mr HappySydney

Great mower

published
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Niko

NikoPerth

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very Unhappy with Self Propelled function

published

The mower seems to cut okay but the self propelled drive belt failed during first mow on fairly light/Medium load. Completed mowing in push mode which is not it's best feature.. After warranty repairs, received the mower yesterday and tried to mow lawn again (same setting so only a week's growth to cut) and within 5 - 10 mins, the drives fails again. This time, I get my old Subaru/Ryobi to finish the Job. What is happening here? Not looking like a great buy at the moment. Back to shop on Monday. Not good for my leather interior. Based on my experiences so far with my Mower, I cannot Recommend this Model.. Cheers

CamPoole

CamPooleNewcastle, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Requires heavy modification to function as intended.

published

Mark

MarkMelbourne

5 Stars

published

I bought my Corvette in 2005 and it's still kickin on! So pleased with how long it has lasted and the blades are still in excellent condition and are still cutting well. There are so many different settings on it which is great for me as I like my grass as short as possible! I find it really quite easy to maneuver and not to heavy to push - my young daughter can even mow the lawns easily by herself! Overall I'm super happy with this mower, especially how long it has lasted me.


Dean

DeanNorthern NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 13 likes

11 years and still running strong, but had started cutting uneven despite new blades

published

Won't get second time around

published

My Corvette lasted six years. After first few mows the plastic top cover kept falling off, so tossed it. Pushing up slope of lawn over years handles snapped off numerous times. We just welded it back on with metal plates in place. The mower frame has snapped off base to wheels couple times also. Thank heavens hubby is a welder! Cheap inferior materials.


steelmill

steelmillPerth, WA

  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

Victa Corvette 725

published

Victa Corvette 725ex is fairly good mover, but after 8 months old, it pouring white smoke and oil out of the exhaust, without any warning, it got me very scared, it I have to buy another lawnmower in the near future, it will be definite a Honda engine lawnmower.
Victa Corvette 725 Series 19" 4-stroke steel chassis mower 190cc Ready start. No priming/no choke for easy starting with Mulch & Catching Capabilities. 725 Series 190cc Ready Start 4 Stroke Engine,Aero grip handles for easy use,18 " Edge to Edge Cutting Steel Chassis,Mulch & Catching Capabilities,Large 8" Dual Bearing Wheels,Rigid plastic catcher, 3 year engine/chassis warranty.


Page 2 of 3

Questions & Answers

Allan Dinnar

Allan Dinnarasked

Corvette GCS484 (450, 4 Stroke)

What fuel is used please?

No answers

Shane D.

Shane D.asked

Corvette GCS482 (600, 2 Stroke)

What size mower blades are required please? The handles have broken off as well. Am I able to be a replacement handle?

Thank you.

1 answer
Shane D.
Shane D.

Sorry. I meant buy replacement handles.


Richie

Richieasked

Wat is the most common fault for starting the mower have spark fresh gas n many pulls no go

1 answer
bjr
bjr

Check air filter next. Make sure it’s not clogged, dirty, blocked etc


Get an answer from our members and Victa representatives

Details

Victa Corvette GCS484 (600, 4 Stroke)
  • Discontinued

Victa Corvette GCS484 (600, 4 Stroke)

No reviews
Victa Corvette VGMD484 (Self-Propelled with QPT, 4 Stroke)
  • Discontinued

Victa Corvette VGMD484 (Self-Propelled with QPT, 4 Stroke)

No reviews
Victa Corvette GMS484 (725, 4 Stroke)
  • Discontinued

Victa Corvette GMS484 (725, 4 Stroke)

3 reviews
Victa Corvette VGMS464 (300, 4 Stroke)

Victa Corvette VGMS464 (300, 4 Stroke)

10 reviews
Victa Corvette VGMS488 (500, 4 Stroke)
  • Discontinued

Victa Corvette VGMS488 (500, 4 Stroke)

1 review
Victa Corvette VGCS464 (100, 4 Stroke)

Victa Corvette VGCS464 (100, 4 Stroke)

3 reviews
Victa Corvette GCS484 (450, 4 Stroke)
  • Discontinued

Victa Corvette GCS484 (450, 4 Stroke)

1 review
Victa Corvette GCS466 (200, 4 Stroke)

Victa Corvette GCS466 (200, 4 Stroke)

10 reviews
Victa Corvette GCS468 (100. 4 Stroke)
  • Discontinued

Victa Corvette GCS468 (100. 4 Stroke)

No reviews
Victa Corvette VGMA484 (Cast Alloy, 4 Stroke)

Victa Corvette VGMA484 (Cast Alloy, 4 Stroke)

1 review
Victa Corvette VGMS487 (500, 4 Stroke)
  • Discontinued

Victa Corvette VGMS487 (500, 4 Stroke)

No reviews
Victa Corvette GMA488 (Commercial, 4 Stroke)
  • Discontinued

Victa Corvette GMA488 (Commercial, 4 Stroke)

No reviews
Victa Corvette GMD488 (Self Propelled, 4 Stroke)
  • Discontinued

Victa Corvette GMD488 (Self Propelled, 4 Stroke)

3 reviews
Victa Corvette VGKS484 (Key Start, 4 Stroke)
  • Discontinued

Victa Corvette VGKS484 (Key Start, 4 Stroke)

2 reviews
Victa Corvette GMS468 (400, 4 Stroke)
  • Discontinued

Victa Corvette GMS468 (400, 4 Stroke)

No reviews
Victa Corvette GCS482 (600, 2 Stroke)
  • Discontinued

Victa Corvette GCS482 (600, 2 Stroke)

2 reviews
Victa Corvette VGBD484 (Ultimate, 4 Stroke)

Victa Corvette VGBD484 (Ultimate, 4 Stroke)

No reviews
Victa Corvette VGMS486 (400, 4 Stroke)

Victa Corvette VGMS486 (400, 4 Stroke)

6 reviews
Victa Corvette VGMA489 (Cast Alloy, 4 Stroke)

Victa Corvette VGMA489 (Cast Alloy, 4 Stroke)

3 reviews
Victa Corvette VGMD489 (19", 4 Stroke)

Victa Corvette VGMD489 (19", 4 Stroke)

4 reviews
CategoryPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $469$549$749$429$459$399$759$649$799$749$749$529$899$599$829$899
Power SourcePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
FeaturesMulching CapabilityMulching Capability and Self-PropelledMulching CapabilityMulching CapabilityMulching Capability and Quick-Start MotorMulching CapabilityDeck Clean-out Port, Mulching Capability and Quick-Start MotorMulching CapabilityBlade Brake, Mulching Capability, Quick-Start Motor and Self-PropelledMulching CapabilityMulching CapabilityMulching CapabilityMulching Capability and Quick-Start MotorMulching CapabilityMulching CapabilityMulching CapabilityDeck Clean-out Port, Mulching Capability, Quick-Start Motor and Self-PropelledMulching Capability and Quick-Start MotorMulching Capability
Catcher Type RigidRigidRigidRigidRigidRigidRigidRigidRigidRigidRigidRigidRigid
Cutting Deck MaterialSteelSteelSteelSteelSteelSteelSteelSteelSteelAluminium AlloySteelSteelSteelSteelSteelAluminium AlloyAluminium Alloy
Cutting Width480 mm483 mm480 mm480 mm480 mm460 mm420 mm420 mm420 mm483 mm480 mm480 mm480 mm480 mm420 mm480 mm483 mm483 mm480 mm480 mm
Height of Cut11 mm to 75 mm15 mm to 72 mm11 mm to 75 mm11 mm to 75 mm15 mm to 72 mm11 mm to 75 mm11 mm to 75 mm11 mm to 75 mm11 mm to 75 mm11 mm to 75 mm15 mm to 72 mm11 mm to 75 mm11 mm to 75 mm15 mm to 72 mm11 mm to 75 mm11 mm to 75 mm15 mm to 72 mm15 mm to 72 mm13 mm to 72 mm11 mm to 75 mm
Number of Blades42424444
Weight31 kg26 kg35 kg32 kg35 kg33 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine Displacement163 cc190 cc163 cc163 cc140 cc140 cc140 cc163 cc163 cc166 cc150 cc161 cc163 cc190 cc190 cc
BrandBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & Stratton
Engine Type4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke2-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke and OHV (Overhead Valve)4-Stroke4-Stroke
Engine NameBriggs & Stratton 625Briggs and Stratton 725 EXi QPTBriggs and Stratton 725EXBriggs and Stratton 500Briggs & Stratton 750 DOV I/CBriggs and Stratton 500EBriggs & Stratton 450Briggs & Stratton 140cc 550EXBriggs & Stratton 140cc 500EBriggs & Stratton 163cc 725EXi SeriesBriggs & Stratton 725EXi QPTBriggs & Stratton 850 I/CBriggs & Stratton 750 DOV I/CBriggs and Stratton 725EXBriggs & Stratton 625EXVicta VEX160Briggs and Stratton 740iSBriggs & Stratton 725EXi 4-stroke OHV EngineBriggs and Stratton 190cc 4-strokeBriggs & Stratton 850I/C Commercial

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.