??!
1 photo
Virgin Comprehensive Car Insurance

Virgin Comprehensive Car Insurance

1.5 from 19 reviews · View Statistics

How to compare car insurance to find the best policy for you

With so many car insurance providers and policies on the market, dipping into the policy pool can be confusing. Use this guide for tips on how to find the car insurance that's ideal for you.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    2.4 (17)
  • Customer Service
    2.1 (18)
  • Timeliness
    1.9 (18)
  • Job Satisfaction
    1.9 (10)
  • Transparency
    2.2 (17)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (2)
    • 1-2 weeks (1)
    • 2-4 weeks (1)
    • 1-2 months (2)
    • 3+ months (3)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (5) · No (5)
Previous
Next
Doda

DodaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

They failed to proceed to renew my insurance

published

I was with them for 2 years, I wanted to renew the policy and called 1 day before expire. The rate was very low, which made me very happy. However, after I have spoken to the call center, they assured me it is renewed and all taken care off. It wasn't. One day after the police ended, I noticed no email nor SMS to confirm the renewal, my credit card wasn't charged either. So I called and inquired, they confirmed it was not renewed. I am not happy. Many other things happened after, my complaint on the hotline went unanswered, the call back from the manager did not happen. Many strikes were made. I have now signed up for another insurance, more expensive, but I feel looked after.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelHolden Astra BK (Hatchback)
See all answers
KylieD

KylieD

  • 3 reviews

Penalizing people for having a no fault accident!

published
Customer Service
Timeliness
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJune 2020
See all answers

Went to add a policy and they suspended my primary car insurance!

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelMazda 3
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how Virgin Comprehensive Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Reb

RebMid North Coast, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Fantastic

published

Good value for money, I had an accident (NAF) the insurance company were fast at getting my details done and very friendly customer service, I got a hire car fast as well.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelMitsubishi Mirage
See all answers
Mini

MiniGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Don't take out car insurance with Virgin

published

Someone ran into my parked car. Everyone accepted I was in no way at fault. One month later and I am so sick of telephone calls to Virgin arguing about when it will be repaired, who will repair it and how long I can have the hire car. It has been one long headache.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMazda 2
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateSeptember 2020
See all answers

Deceptive

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota
Claimant is the policy holderYes
See all answers
Shane

ShaneSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Virgin Insurance (Legal & General) has refused to repair minor accident damage to a safe standard.

published

Ive been with Virgin for over 4 years without a claim. Virgin Insurance (Legal & General) has now refused to repair minor accident damage to a safe standard. So however cheap it is, its not worth a cent. On top of this, we have an insurer refusing to safely repair vehicles to their previous standard. This looks to be an issue with their assessor's lack of understanding of the vehicle, but has implications not only for it customers, but for the general public, with customers now being shoehorned into driving on public roads, vehicles that have not been repaired to a safe standard. Unbelievable, but true.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelAudi RS3
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Nireka

NirekaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Worst insurance provider! 6 months down yet to have the claim resolved for very minor accident!

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Jill S.

Jill S.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Worst customer service ever

published

We had a small accident in January 2020, Virgin Insurance admitted that we were not at fault
Tried to get information in regard to what was happening with our claim phone calls, emails they did not provide any information in regard to following up the other party ,we paid our excess to get our car fixed there has been no contact from them., meant they did not have to pay out much for the repairs. We also had to hire a car. This is the worst car insurance company ever just a rip off

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how Virgin Comprehensive Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sam

Sam

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Do Not Go With Virgin - They Will Rip You Off Too!!

published

Car came back from a service center damaged in multiple locations (almost every panel). Damage could not be determined if it happened on the tow truck or service center as no condition report was done. Tried to claim comprehensive insurance and was told "existing damage" for things like tiny stone chips that had nothing to do with the major damage to paint and panel that had occurred. Do not go with these people - they will rip you off too!!

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Insane Premium Price Hike After 1 Claim I Made In 8 Years With Them With Paid Rating 1 Protection!

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMazda 3 BL
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Bill

BillSouth East Queensland, QLD

Slow and dodgy

published

My car was hit by another car changing lanes. It was undoubtedly the other driver’s fault, his tyre left a black mark down the length of my vehicle so he was obviously turning his wheel. Even the panel beaters said without a doubt it was the other driver’s fault. The driver was 85 years old, had medical conditions listed on his driver’s licence, and wore coke bottle glasses. After 7 months, Virgin said they couldn’t tell who was to blame and decided “Each bear own”. I lost my $800 excess and my no claims discount. If I didn’t think the other driver was at fault I would have fixed the damage myself and saved my no claims discount. I’ve been insured with them for several years and have never made a claim.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Cisco

CiscoSydney, NSW

  • 60 reviews
  • 26 likes

Prices are reasonable. Claims process is smooth

published

Made a first claim after getting into a no-fault accident in December. Process was pretty smooth over the phone, but fixing the minor damage a little slow because of a busy period for claims resulting from recent floods. I would recommend

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelSubaru Liberty
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Kayles

KaylesGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Can’t rely on the roadside assistance

published

I have been insured with Virgin for about 5 years & this is the first time l had to use their roadside assist. It’s a clear beautiful day so there should be no reason why there is a long wait but l called them 2 & a half hours ago & am still waiting. They obviously don’t have enough mechanics servicing Melbourne. I will seriously be looking at changing after this. It’s unacceptable.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelHonda HR-V
See all answers
Michael

MichaelGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Quite poor and refused to renew policy

published

I live in Victoria Australia, in two years I had to claim twice for a windscreen due to separate unfortunate circumstances (rock chips)
My premiums cost $2500 yearly and I always pay extra for windscreen cover
Recently, days before my renewal date I received a letter claiming virgin money wold not re-insure me

Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelVolvo XC60
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how Virgin Comprehensive Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John

John

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Disgusting Servce

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHolden Commodore VY
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateDecember 2019
See all answers
Etienne

Etienne

  • 6 reviews
  • 11 likes

Great until you have an issue..

published

Cheaper price than the other big names, decent online management portal but all goes to downhill if you have a query that takes someone more than 10 seconds to answer. Offshore call centre and all the problems that come with it..

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Cost effective but not great when you make a claim

published

The cost was reasonable, but when it came to making a claim, there were very limited options for repairers - had to travel around 25 minutes to the nearest repair centre with all of the associated Uber costs etc. The repair was fine, but long wait times for their call center so not a great overall experience.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

One Star cause I had to

published

So... I got rear ended by an UBER driver, got all his required details and had to make a claim.

I had to pay $77 for forgetting to disclose a not at fault claim 3.5 years ago (fair enough I guess) and also $24.73 for a traffic history report. I did all the running around for them and still no repair in sight.

They are based in South Africa and their service is absolutely horrible.

I have immediately changed back to my previous insurer at a higher rate. The only reason I change to Virgin was for the Velocity points bonus and cheaper insurance.

But please, do not go with these people!

They will do EVERYTHING possible to get out a claim.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
See all Virgin Car Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Virgin Comprehensive Car Insurance but you can read 2 questions about Virgin Car Insurance.

Get an answer from our members and Virgin Money representatives

Details

Compare all 3 Virgin Car Insurance
CategoryRoadside Assistance Providers and Car Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Home and Contents, Income, Life and Travel
Coverage TypeComprehensive
UnderwriterAuto & General Services
Legal Liability Cover Included up to $20 million
Roadside Assistance Not Offered
Reduced or Zero Excess Windscreen CoverReduced Excess Optional Extra
Choice of RepairerOptional Extra
After Accident Care
Hire Car after an Incident

Optional, up to a maximum of 14 days or until the your claim is paid, whichever occurs first

Emergency Transport & Accommodation$100 per day, up to $300 in total
Towing Costs Included
Hire Car after a No Fault Accident

Included, up to a maximum of 14 days or until the your claim is paid, whichever occurs first

Essential / Emergency RepairsIncluded up to $500
Benefits
Pay As You Drive / Fixed Kilometre DiscountNot Applicable
Hire Car after Theft

If you claim has been agreed upon to be paid for the theft of the car, you will be reimbursed the reasonable cost of hiring a similar car from the date the claim was lodge until:

  • the car is recovered undamaged and any necessary repairs have been completed
  • until the claim is paid
  • up to a maximum period of 14 days

whichever occurs first

Lock and Key ReplacementIncluded up to $1,000
Transit Cover Not Applicable
Trailer & Caravan CoverIncluded up to $500
Child Safety Seats and PramsIncluded, up to $500
New-for-old Car Replacement

Included, the earlier of 2 years of 40,000 km from original registration

Personal Property CoverIncluded up to $250
Uninsured Motorist Benefit Not Applicable
Accidental Loss or Damage
Malicious Damage / VandalismIncluded
FireIncluded
CollisionIncluded
Natural EventsIncluded
Theft or Attempted TheftIncluded
Compare all 3 Virgin Car Insurance

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.