??!
1 photo
Volkswagen Amarok 2H (2011-Present)

Volkswagen Amarok 2H (2011-Present) (page 2 of 7)

3.4 from 122 reviews

See the Best Utes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
51
4 star
18
3 star
11
2 star
17
1 star
25

WILL

WILLADELAIDE

Good to drive longevity question

published

300,000 kms second motor, the first motor was fixed by vw but the second I'm waiting on a response but doesn't look promising...Its had the aftermarket cover over the timing belt however the sepentine belt (only 10,000kms old) still managed to get in behind the timing cover and destroy the head..

BodyCab Chassis
CabDual
Drive400
BadgeTDI400
LineTrendline
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2012

David S

David SBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love it! But not again

published

Fantastic vehicle to drive. More comfortable to drive than the other main competitors in that market that i drove. Pretty good on fuel. Out competed a hilux and patrol when i went off roading in northern nsw. however, capped price servicing is super expensive and im apprehensive when the warranty runs out as a few items have needed to be replaced and the cost was quite high, If i had my time again i would have gone a vehicle with cheaper servicing and parts (hilux). But i still think the amaroks the best to drive.

BodyUte
CabDual
Drive4WD
BadgeTDI400
LineCore Edition
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015

Clutch blown up 65 000 ks

published

Never towed any thing heavy only box trailer to the tip dual clutch bad noises very expensive to replace 65
Ooo ks just a joke vw service very bad sub standard should be warranty job absolutely annoyed, if you look on the net some vehicles don't even make it to 15'ooo ks before this happens

BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle
DriveRWD
BadgeTDI340
LineHighline
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2013
Hilly

HillySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 13 likes
  • Verified purchase

Amarok V6 Highline

published
BodyUte
CabDual
Drive4WD
BadgeTDI 550
LineHighline
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2017

Best vehicle I have owned

published

Absolutely love the amarok, had it since new and now 3 years on. It feels like you are driving a car not a large 4x4. I have driven our work utes (hilux, ranger and navara) and they feel exactly like work utes. The amarok feels very refined all round and have not had any issues with it. Even without a low range box, the automatic gearbox was great on the beach, even in very soft and powdery sand. Also comes with an E locker standard which is very handy when four wheel driving. I would definitely buy another but I think I will hold on to mine for a very long time.

BodyUte
CabDual
Drive4WD
BadgeTDI420
LineCore Edition
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015

Oil consumption

published

The vehicle it self is a good Ute my concern is the amount of oil they use A new car should not use this amount of oil 2 litres of oil 8000k vw tell you it acceptable to use 500 ml every 1000k crap they should for a new car this is not acceptable I also have a ticking noise in motor I have in contact with dealer with no response

BodyUte
CabDual
Drive4WD
BadgeTDI420
LineHighline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018

clem

clem

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best truck on the market

published

After reading those bad reviews about the amarok i almost changed my mind buying one. I still bought one cause i love the look of it and its my 5th vw car i heard a lot of people extremely happy with the brand and some hate it. Is it a gamble to buy one? I m not sure but for me its a very affordable german car with no issues and every cars have problems i dont think parts are too hard to find probably not as easy as an hilux but i guess its the price to stand out in the crowd! Very happy with mine. If you like it buy it!

BodyUte
CabSingle
DriveRWD
BadgeTSI300
LineTradie
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2014

Strutty

StruttyPerth

Love it!!

published
BodyUte
CabDual
Drive4WD
BadgeTDI400
LineLimited Edition
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2012
Shazam

ShazamSydney

Dpf problems

published

Thought it was the best. Car just got towed because apparently once a month you need to take it on a freeway and drive for 30mins @100km/h. Because that's so easy to do in Sydney apparently. Really annoyed me when they looked at u in service centre like u were in the wrong.

BodyCab Chassis
CabDual
Drive4WD
BadgeTDI400
LineUltimate
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
jjjjj

jjjjj

  • 30 reviews

Unless you have deep pockets avoid.

published

My brother went out and got sucked into buying a 2015 Amarok bi turbo demonstrator money pit.

Now Im always sceptical about people car reviews because you dont know how bad people treat the vehicle or if they actually service it or drive it thru the ocean for example

BodyCab Chassis
CabDual
Drive4WD
BadgeTDI420
LineHighline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015

Sarahhh345

Sarahhh345AU

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published

Great car, really spacious on the inside, comfy to drive, great handling!!!! Average cost to run the care (fuel wise), great to take away on holidays with the family as there is so much room, great for 4wd, work utes, out on the farm it has a great durability. Recommend!

BodyUte
CabDual
Drive4WD
BadgeTDI340
LineHighline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Jake

JakeSouthern Highlands, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 24 likes

Let down by lack of customer service

published

Started out great but after a few thousand k's it started using oil, approx 2 litres per 5,000k's, now I have a loud ticking noise coming from the engine.
It has 11,000k's on the clock now, it is still using oil and the dealership are not interested in looking at the ticking noise coming from the motor.
I have had a bad experience with VW in the past and swore I would never buy another one - I can't believe I went and bought another one of their faulty vehicles!!!

BodyUte
CabDual
Drive4WD
BadgeTDI550
LineSportline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

VW Amarok Transmissions..BEWARE

published

The positives: You do get good fuel mileage for a big car but at the cost of stinking diesel fumes. As soon as you start the car you want to reverse it out of the garage asap otherwise they will stink up the garage and make its way inside quicksmart. We have to drive with the recirculation button on all the time to minimize the fumes.
Negatives: TRANSMISSION...Have done a transmission at 100K and for 11K a transmission it is a no brainer to steer clear!

HOT TIP... If you intend on buying one of these for towing even with a very light load do a pre-purchase test reversing up an incline and JUST LISTEN to the tranny/engine under no load (test drive) and then imagine what it would be like reversing with a trailer.

BodyCab Chassis
CabDual
Drive4WD
BadgeTDI420
LineCore Edition
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2015

h.s

h.sQueensland, Australia

  • 16 reviews

The future of 4x4 pickup trucks

published
BodyUte
CabDual
Drive4WD
BadgeTDI420
LineCanyon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015
chilli

chilliBroome

  • 11 reviews
  • 14 likes

Amazing V6 Highline

published

I had to trade in my much loved 2 litre Amarok, it was a manual, my left knee was giving me what'o so I traded it for this v6 Auto Highline Amarok with 3500 towing capacity.
A couple of months in, I totally love this car with the V6 diesel 8 speed auto it drives amazing, the guys at Duttons were great, I drove the Ranger and BT50 all on the same day, I'm really happy with my choice and glad I paid the extra to have the space, power and comfort. Towing is sensational!!
If you're considering a twin cab do yourself a favour and drive one of these, in my opinion it leaves the other twin cabs hand down,

BodyUte
CabDual
Drive4WD
BadgeV6
LineHighline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Loz

LozSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

So far appears to be a good car

published

Drives and rides well even with a big load, cant hardly tell its there !. Comfortable enough & Smooth, roomy & enough power. Gearing is good. Tyre wear appears negligent after 22000Kms, so really good in that regard. Though for $60K, would have liked to have a few more modern aids such as blind spot warning side mirrors a few other bits and bobs.

BodyUte
CabDual
Drive4WD
BadgeTDI420
LineDark Label
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016

Just fine

published

Owned my 2015 4x2 Amarok for just on 2 years now and have done 55,000kms. This is my work work car however it has also done over 10,000kms towing our 2.5t caravan as well. To date not 1 single issue to report and fuel economy is great, at times down to 6.5 litres per 100 to and from work. The van has been towed in 40 degree temps and the Amarok still doesn’t complain, even when oil temp hits around 125. Very comfy even for bottom of the range.

BodyCab Chassis
CabDual
DriveRWD
BadgeTDI420
LineCore Edition
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016

Ness

NessSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Love/Hate relationship

published
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual
Drive4WD
BadgeTDI340
LineHighline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2013

Chocco

ChoccoGeelong

Terrible

published

Worst car I have bought. Done 70,000 blown a hole in the block. 2013 model just out of warranty. I’ve had the car for 11 months. Drivers door lock needs replacing now have a $12,600 repair bill. Terrible. Anyone else had this issue. Second hand engine is $11600 fitted. Surely has to be a manufacturing fault.

BodyCab Chassis
CabDual
Drive4WD
BadgeVw
LineHighline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Great car no issues

published

Love the dash. Very easy to use all 4x4 switches. Long distance driving great. Would have loved more storage under seats including back seat. Spare tyre not easy to drop down or replace. Replacement pares very slow to turn up such as new key or tyre change gear sold in separate pieces NOT IN A KIT ..Mmm probably the dealers fault. Over all love the Amarok ute 4x4

BodyUte
CabDual
Drive4WD
BadgeTDI420
LineHighline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2015

Page 2 of 7

Questions & Answers

Adam

Adamasked

2ltr Amarok auto or manual thanks Adam

No answers

Michelle K

Michelle Kasked

2018 Volkswagen Amarok TDI420 Core Plus - Purchased vehicle at 310km's April'19 it has now done 3000km's June'19 and fault light keeps coming on and gets stuck in 3rd gear and goes into limp mode. VW Service team found wire wasn't connected in the fuse box, body earth was not properly connected and body control module was replaced - this was a brand new car. After everything replaced and fixed, Volkswagen says can't find fault but the issues are still happening but now are not showing up in the history when back at Volkswagen, while VW have dismissed my issues stating nothing wrong. Has anyone else had the same issues as so disappointed with the Amarok and feel very unsafe considering the car goes into limp mode.

1 answer
Lyn M
Lyn M

Amarok 2014 similar issues. VW say might be mecatronics $6000 then might also be transmission a further $12800. VW won't take responsibility. Recall on Audi and VW transmission but Amarok not included. Sounds like the same issues.


Frankly Speaking

Frankly Speakingasked

Can anyone make some recommendations on size and weights of caravan suitable for towing with 2 liter Amarok dual cab auto 2015. Looking at over all performance.
Thank you.

1 answer
Dawn
Dawn

It depends which model but with the factory towbar is 2.8 to 3 tonne.the towbar down weight is 250 kilos,depending on which towbar is fitted.
We have been towing a 2.2 tonne Kimberly Karavan for thousand of kilometres while outback and have had no problems.Averaging 15 litres per 100 kilometres.


Get an answer from our members and Volkswagen representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.