??!
5 photos
2007-2014 Volkswagen Eos

2007-2014 Volkswagen Eos

3.6 from 22 reviews

Reviews

(9)
(6)
(1)
(2)
(4)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    5.0 (1)
  • Handling
    5.0 (1)
  • Braking
    5.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    5.0 (1)
  • Features
    4.0 (1)


Michael

MichaelSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Second hand diamond

published

Purchased in October 2018 for $5,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
See all answers

Kaz

KazSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Fun car with oomph

published

I wanted a convertible for a long time. When I began researching I found the Eos was affordable, had lower insurance costs than other higher end brands. The top unfolds with the touch of a button in around 10 seconds. It’s full leather interior is comfortable. It seats four though the rear seats are a bit small for people taller than 5’8 or so. It has great response on the road with turbo drive and smooth DSG gear shift. The only downside, like all higher performing cars is that it’s expensive as a run around. On long distances it’s fuel economy is better. Other than that this is a great car all year round

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Dee

DeeMelb

The most fun I have ever had driving any car

published
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2015
Thanos

ThanosSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

I Love my EOS

published

Purchased new in August 2011 when received it was a MY12 version. Now 2018 the only thing I would say is that it consumes more oil than any other car that I have had in the past. Its a great drive, bright and airy; and FUN. Running costs which includes petrol, insurance, rego and servicing for us is about 6K per year, we are close to a train line and about 20 minutes from city. If there is one thing I would have changed if I could go back would be to get electric seats - the rest is perfect.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2011

Good car

published

Mine is 2008. It’s been perfect. Roof has leaked in the past but only in torrential rain and it was when the car had been just sitting in the rain and so some kind of puddle must have formed on the roof. It’s not like it’s raining and the rain just comes in. This has happened twice. It was easily fixed by taking roof back then back on again. Great car. I drive it far distances and have always had it serviced on time etc. Definitely recommend

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2013

Jon

Jon

  • 6 reviews

We love this car

published

Did a lot of research before buying this. If your nervous about going convertible, this is the one. The hard top means full security and low driving noise when it’s up. Roof down, and it’s fun, still quiet, a pleasure to drive. Heaps of grunt, quality interior (really quite premium). No issues with reliability so far- ours is a 2012. Highly recommended.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

David

DavidPerth

  • 8 reviews

It's not perfect, but good

published

As a 2hand car, I was worry about it would break down on road. After more than 1 year, finally I have gotten a
positive answer.

Driving is a really fun, although mixed some noises inside. Fuel cost around 9L/ 100KM, engine oil need to add 1L/5000KM+. Fortunately,I have been never hurted by DSG, it works well.

I tried to replace new edition gateway twice,but failed. If the gateway can't be renewed, that means I can't upgrade a new CD player due to old gateway leakage when it uses for new player. But I have to say the speakers of Eos are great.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Wendyh

Wendyh

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Loved the car

published
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2009
userid42

userid42Sydney, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 14 likes

A wonderful lifestyle car

published
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedFeb 2015

Perfect on the outside, not so perfect on the inside.

published

I absolute love the look of my car but having bought it second hand I have had to clean up all the issues. Roof leakages, airbag fault problems and computer issues. I now have a coolant leak and also have had issues with the car blowing warm air constantly. I also had to replace one headlight and that costed me $283 to replace a globe.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2014

Susie

SusieMelbourne

  • Verified purchase

A lemon of a car

published
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2009

Courtney

CourtneyBrisbane

Do not buy

published
TransmissionAutomatic

Eso

EsoAU

South Ybarra Volkswagen amazing service & amazing cars

published

I've had Volkswagen cars for over 10 years, two brand new beetles & an eso
All have been amazing cars, u will always have a hiccup here & there but that's with anything. However in saying that Volkswagen always re pair it without any issues. The eso has been an amazing car, regardless of the weather or road conditions I've never had any issue & if anything compared to other European cars its far the best when it comes to value for dollar. No other European company has a hard top convertible with sunroof for the same figure.
Overall, an amazing car !


loocee0

loocee0

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Bad

published

What a great looking car. It is a shame that it has these problems because I will never buy another one. You pay all that money and expect more.
It looks great and has good power.
It has been back to vw so many times for water building up in the doors. When it has been raining and you open the doors you get your feet soaking wet. I am now told that they all do this (I have a friend that has one and hers does not leak). DSG gearbox chugs on take off frequently and also rolls backwards on hill starts.

A Disappointment

published

The Worst Car I Have Ever Brought!

published

Within six months of buying the car the computer failed and the car had to be towed. Since then the radiator has been replaced not once but twice, the roof has leaked and has been repaired. It burns through the tyres, because the shock absorbers don't put enough downward pressure on the back tyres resulting in uneven and early wear. Whilst the dealership has been excellent in trying to help with the issues, I have not so much as had an apology from the complaints department of the Australian head office. I will never buy another VW.
Engine has great power and it has great fuel efficiency
Very poor quality and reliability, no decent customer care from VW Australia

TransmissionAutomatic

TrueBlue

TrueBlueGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 11 likes

Terrible

published
1 comment
Olga
Olga

I've had an EOS for 2 years and have had no problem at all. It's a beautiful piece of design. Beware frustrated people who write reviews in capital letters


ibidonstuff

ibidonstuffsdfe, 3455, British Virgin Islands

  • 84 reviews

Excellent

published

This is a great car to drive. I tried the 2.0 liter FSI and with the top down this is just great fun, especially driving down the Great ocean road or in the outback in the bush. Its very responsive and full of go. The motor seems to purr when you put your foot down. The hardtop is quick to fold in or out which is a fortunate thing given victorias notorious four seasons in a day kind of weather. The hard top also means you have the best of both worlds, a convertible in the warmer months and a coupe in the cooler months. oh did i mention that this is one ggreat looking car; because it is.
Great looking car. Has the go as well as the show. The best of both worlds, a convertible or a coupe. Very responsive engine.


geoffa1

geoffa1Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent

published

Its a far better car than anything it competes with price wise,(BMW ! series, Audi A1, Astra, Focus, Megane, 308CC and a far cheaper car than anything it competes with quality/driving experience/engineering wise (SAAB 9-3, Volvo C70)Mine is 2 years old and had been perfect - if anyone is looking for a hardtop convertible, go for an Eos, you won't be dissapointed
Great looking, super economical (diesel), fun to drive, a real 4 seater


Beautiful car to drive in any conditions

published

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Isobel M.

Isobel M.asked

I had the airbags replaced under product recall. When I dropped the car off at VW Ringwood the roof worked perfectly well.
They called me to pick up car after replacing airbags and told me the roof was not functioning.
Can they have done something to affect roof opening. It doesn't open all the way and malfunctions awkwardly mid function.

2 answers
Dee
Dee

I had my airbag replaced and no issue with roof so I would advise speaking to vw dealership who did this replacement.

Michael
Michael

I would say the dealership needs to read the error codes and possibly reset. Failing this disconnect the battery to reset the vehicle.


RAC

RACasked

per km running cost?

1 answer
Michael
Michael

In what respect fuel economy?
7k per litre


Bridget K.

Bridget K.asked

I'm buying my first car and was wondering if this would be a good car. The roof issue shouldn't be a problem with me as it will be in a garage, but the safety components of the car is what I would really like to know about. Has anyone had any major safety issues with the car?

1 answer
Michael
Michael

Great little car, just make sure you read all the reviews and do your homework on what to look for when buying.


Get an answer from our members and Volkswagen representatives

Other Convertibles

Previous
Mazda MX-5

Mazda MX-5

4.3
(32)
BMW M3

BMW M3

4.7
(15)
Audi TT

Audi TT

4.3
(10)
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.