??!
7 photos
Volkswagen Golf Mk.7 Hatchback

Volkswagen Golf Mk.7 Hatchback (2013-2017)

90TSI, 92TSI, GTI, etc...
3.9 from 96 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.9

96 reviews
5
(49)
4
(16)
3
(15)
2
(5)
1
(11)
  • Build Quality
    3.4 (12)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.2 (11)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (12)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (11)
  • Handling
    4.2 (12)
  • Braking
    4.2 (11)
  • Suspension
    3.7 (12)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.7 (11)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.9 (12)
  • Interior Design
    3.8 (12)
  • Boot Size
    3.8 (12)
  • Features
    3.8 (12)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (12)
Previous
Next
Sammy32

Sammy32South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Car is decent however Volkswagen Customer Service is extremely poor

published

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Devesh D.

Devesh D.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great small car

published

Bought it in 2015 from vw kloster newcastle.tuns smooth as a whistle . Never had any trouble so far.done more than 100k . Worth every cent . Pickup is excellent along with fuel efficiency. Maneuverability is a class of it's own

Purchased in January 2015 for A$35,250.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Meredith Gibson

Meredith GibsonSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Unreliable. Extremely expensive. Had 2 new gearboxes and 2 new clutches. Transmission extremely unsatisfactory.

published

Commuting, used everyday. Have only ever had this car serviced by VW, has never been late for a service. Always something wrong with it. Extremely expensive to maintain. Only one owner.

Purchased in February 2013.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Handling
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Hatchbacks

Find out how Volkswagen Golf Mk.7 Hatchback compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Steve F.

Steve F.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

VW 'lemon ' golf

published

my golf tsi turbo was initially a satisfying purchase , even over the warranty period i had multiple repairs recalls issues clutch gearbox blue motion high oil usage etc , hopefully things have improved in the last year or so

Purchased in January 2015 at vw waverley .

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ervina Kouris

Ervina KourisPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Expensive maintenance issues

published

Purchased in March 2015 at DVG Melville for A$27,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Kayla H.

Kayla H.Sydney, NSW

Cheap Budget Parts - Warning!

published

Purchased in February 2016 for A$50,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Robert

RobertGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Volkswagen Golf Highline R line

published

Second Golf purchased this one with a higher spec R Line sports package. Drives amazingly and it handles great. These Golfs are quality builds everything feels very soiled and well made, have never had an issue

Harley

HarleyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Performance and comfort. So fun!

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Volkswagen Dealers for A$26,850.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Tom C.

Tom C.North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic car all around

published

I have owned my car for 2 years now and done 40,000km and it hasn't missed a beat. The fuel economy is excellent, usually around 6.5l/100km in town and 5.5l/100km highway driving. I also use it to tow my boat (500kg) and it does it with ease. I would recommend this car to anyone who wants an affordable yet comfortable hatch that is brilliant to drive.

Purchased in June 2017 for A$27,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Hatchbacks

Find out how Volkswagen Golf Mk.7 Hatchback compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Atechy

AtechyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Good city car with some minor issues

published
Pablo

PabloMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 12 reviews
  • 14 likes

Fantastic

published

My wife and I bought a used mk7 Golf GTI with 134,000 km on it! (manual). It still looks, feels and drives like a new car. Our family with 2 kids are very tall and we find this a fantastic, and fun, primary car. It tows well too.
With the addition of a roof pod there is lots of luggage space for holidays.
The only problem we've had is a flat battery.

Purchased in August 2018 for A$18,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sam D

Sam D

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

VW Golf 90Tsi constant issues.

published

Purchased in August 2009.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Steffannie V

Steffannie VAU

  • 3 reviews

Sporty quick and fun

published

Bought brand new, I have modified it freely and I truly love the performance of this car, added features leather seats sun roof premium sounds system all worth the extra I paid.
Bought in black is my only downfall it is hard to keep clean but otherwise this car has been a great investment tbh

BodyHatch
BadgeGTI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedMay 2017
markvb77

markvb77AU

  • 19 reviews
  • 10 likes

A quality car in almost every way

published
BodyHatch
Badge103TSI Highline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Miggy.o

Miggy.o

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Wish i bought a Toyota

published

I use my gti mk7 as a everyday car with modifications and iv been having issues not with my sport modifications but with simple yet expensive standard features such as corner light sensors and cruise control systems. The car just doesn't feel like a high end car after 1 yr. Feels like a old abused car although i take care of it and get it serviced. Wish i had bought a Toyota.

BodyHatch
BadgeGTI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Hatchbacks

Find out how Volkswagen Golf Mk.7 Hatchback compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
C.lee

C.leePerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car but needs better QC

published

MK7 GTI owner, best hatchrocket ever driven, slick design and beautiful interior. However, continuously rattling keep bothers me so now I'm switch to a higher level brand than VW, the engine mount needed strengthen, it vibrates in an abnormal way under hard acceleration which is what this car designed for.

BodyHatch
BadgeGTI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Jeff

Jeff

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not the most reliable car

published
BodyHatch
Badge92TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Vince

VinceMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 16 reviews
  • 25 likes

absolutely loving this car

published

bought my golf in Aug 17 and absolutely loving it.
it feels sporty and powerful. Interior feels very quality and comfort.
so far I have had any issue with it other than car key battery life is bit short. within a year, I have both batteries replaced for both keys.
Start is just a little bit sluggish but I guess coz of turbo engine. it is not as quite as I expect on a bit of bumpy roads but on high way it breezes thru.

BodyHatch
Badge110TSI Highline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.8
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Julz

Julz

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car - not perfect but I love it.

published
BodyHatch
Badge110TSI Highline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedMar 2016
George

GeorgeSydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

Biggest mistake of my life.

published

After getting promoted, I celebrated by buying a new Golf R, I spared no expense and was bowled over by the many test drives I completed. Everything was going well until the first service, keep in mind I’m a trained mechanic and pilot, but had to use them for warranty reasons - for the next year it was in and out, new turbos, new parts, leaks, electronics that would freeze and stutter and then it flat out wouldn’t start. Fair to say they don’t like the Aussie heat much, even so, rubbish car for the price.

BodyHatch
BadgeR
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Page 1 of 5
See all Volkswagen Golf reviews

Questions & Answers

Deah C

Deah Casked

Golf Mk.7 Hatchback (2013-2017)

Hi I'm looking at purchasing a 2014 Highline TDI mk 7. It's immaculate inside and out, one owner, I can tell the car has been well loved and looked after. I've never had a euro car before, but am looking for something that is high tech, and economical. The golf seems to tick those boxes but I hear mixed reviews.. Can anyone shed some light on your experience with these cars?

1 answer
Liam H.
Liam H.

I can only answer from my own experience of my Golf, purchased new in Sept 2015. It's done 107,000km and been serviced regularly (7 times). Has been a fantastic little car, fun to drive, economical yet nimble. That being said, much comes down to how it's looked after (clean oil, quality fuel, fresh air) all goes a long way to having the car serve a long, useful life - but my experience is a thumbs up and enjoy these cars!

Mr. Fix it

Mr. Fix itasked

Golf Mk.7 Hatchback 110TDI (2013-2017)

Has anyone had a remote control car key die and found any alternative to paying the $620 VW want for a new one please? My car is a 2016 Golf TDI, auto Mark 7
Thank you, John.

2 answers
Meredith Gibson
Meredith Gibson

Good luck John. In my experience, VW are not helpful and are very expensive. My golf does not have a remote key but you would think they would have a battery that could be replaced as other remote devices do. Maybe that’s just another way VW makes more money.

Mr. Fix it
Mr. Fix it

Thanks Meredith but I have changed the battery and it still doesn't work. Looks like it needs a new internal PCB.
Thanks anyway, regards John.

Sandra D

Sandra Dasked

Golf Mk.7 Hatchback 110TDI (2013-2017)

My car is a 2016 TDI Golf hatchback Highline. Could you please tell me if it is a mrk 6 or 7 and also the windscreen dimensions? Thanks.

2 answers
Fired Up
Fired Up

Logically check your manual or sales doco first

Mr. Fix it
Mr. Fix it

Hi Sandra. I have just needed to find an answer to the same question. I've been through all the documentation including service book, sales dockets etc. and came up blank. A good Google search provided the answer. The easy answer is ... if you have rounded tail lights, it's Mk 6, if they are sharp edged design, Mk 7. Mark 7 also has the sophisticated "Infotainment System" with GPS and lots of other choices (radio, car, menu etc.) in the middle of the dash.
Regards, John.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.