??!
1 photo
Volkswagen Golf Mk.7 Hatchback 90TSI

Volkswagen Golf Mk.7 Hatchback 90TSI (2013-2015)

4.1 from 30 reviews

Reviews

4.1

30 reviews
5
(18)
4
(3)
3
(6)
2
(1)
1
(2)
  • Build Quality
    1.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.5 (2)
  • Noise Level
    2.5 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    2.5 (2)
  • Handling
    2.0 (2)
  • Braking
    3.0 (2)
  • Suspension
    1.5 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    1.5 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    2.5 (2)
  • Interior Design
    2.0 (2)
  • Boot Size
    1.0 (2)
  • Features
    2.0 (2)
  • Comfort
    2.5 (2)
Previous
Next
Ervina Kouris

Ervina KourisPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Expensive maintenance issues

published

Purchased in March 2015 at DVG Melville for A$27,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sam D

Sam D

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

VW Golf 90Tsi constant issues.

published

Purchased in August 2009.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Barb

BarbSydney

  • 2 reviews

Love my golf

published

I own a 2015 golf. Purchased it brand new from the dealer and have never had a better car. Was my first time downsizing since the kids moved out and very happy to have such a reliable and quality small car. Much easier to get around than the big station wagon I used to own.

BodyHatch
Badge90TSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedMay 2015
Hatchbacks

Find out how Volkswagen Golf Mk.7 Hatchback 90TSI compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tim

TimGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

2015 tsi. Unacceptable turbo lag and bizarre reverse camera screen

published
BodyHatch
Badge90TSI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.6
Date PurchasedOct 2015
meg

megAdelaide

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

2014 VW Golf is pretty good

published

Ive been happy so far with the 2014 VW golf. Petrol version. Drives powerfully, comfortable, quite cheap to run on long distances. No problems so far, but I am a bit concerned that repairs will be pricey when or if something goes wrong. I think I would go with Toyota or Mazda or Subaru next time.

BodyHatch
Badge90TSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedJun 2014
frogger

froggerSydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Feature Packed but Unreliable

published
BodyHatch
Badge90TSI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedFeb 2014
matts

mattsPerth

  • 4 reviews

One of the best cars ive driven.

published

I have a 2015 golf comfort line, manual. What a great car! very smooth on the road, great on fuel and a fantastic interior with all the gadgets you could need. running costs are fairly low with capped price servicing for the first 3 years.Plenty of boot room and space at the rear seats.

BodyHatch
Badge90TSI Comfortline
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.2
Date PurchasedJan 2015

Fantastic Car!! (90TSI 6S Manual)

published

- The engine feels very responsive.
- Haven't had any issues with the motor yet (40,000kms)
- Interior is easily best in class. Especially when comparing against the Focus and Mazda 3.
- Fuel efficiency is fantastic even with a lead foot. Average l/100 is 7.1 for a majority of peak hour stop and start traffic.
- One downside is the need for 95 Unleaded however.
- One major disadvantage of VW's in general is the ridiculous fees that are charged for servicing them at a VW service centre.

BodyHatch
Badge90TSI Comfortline
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Snocap2028

Snocap2028berndr@highway1.com.au

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

From a dream car to a lemon within 4 years

published

Overall the driving experience has been fantastic with super quick acceleration from a stop at traffice lights. However in the last months of the warranty the DSG gearbox failed and was replaced under warranty but there was still some whining noise coming from the engine bay while driving and recently got worse with severe knocking noise.
The last straw was when a GEARBOX ERROR message appeared on the dash and nearly stalled the car mid driving. Took it back to my local VW dealer who advised that there was a major flaw with the Mechtronics which controlled the gears and mentioned that the whole gear box will need to replaced now. This has soured my taste for VW and will probably go back a reliable Toyota again.

BodyHatch
Badge90TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedOct 2013
1 comment
Snocap2028
Snocap2028

I have since had the gearbox replaced under warranty..thank god for that otherwise I would've been $10K out of pocket, but I still feel uneasy driving the Golf now since the exchange.

Hatchbacks

Find out how Volkswagen Golf Mk.7 Hatchback 90TSI compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nick

NickMurray Region, NSW

  • 18 reviews
  • 12 likes

Wonderful Car is most respects, except reliability.

published
BodyHatch
Badge90TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedSep 2015
vanessa

vanessa

  • 3 reviews

perfect car

published

very good shape and outside inside look ,easy handle,perfect size for me and my boyfriend, easy parking, saving petrol;quiet to drive, very stable at highway good quality and very safety to drive,the disadvantage is the market price is quite out of my budget, I can only afford second-hand Volkswagen Golf

BodyHatch
Badge90TSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Pete C

Pete CColac

Perfect for high mileage highway driving

published
BodyHatch
Badge90TSI
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedOct 2015
1 comment
Pete C
Pete C
Meat tray

Meat trayPottsville

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it!

published
BodyHatch
Badge90TSI
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.2
Date PurchasedDec 2016

Engine noise

published

Bought new in late 2015 . After 18000 kms engine had a squealing noise from the engine on and off which sounded like the AC belt and started to increase. Agent diagnosed as clutch issue to be replaced by a superseded clutch. Clutch replaced.

Did not expect a major repair from a new car such as the Golf with good reviews!

BodyHatch
Badge90TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedNov 2015
Michael

MichaelShellhabour

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Going, Going, gone....

published
BodyHatch
Badge90TSI Comfortline
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Engine Size1.4
Hatchbacks

Find out how Volkswagen Golf Mk.7 Hatchback 90TSI compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Buy the 6 speed manual

published

Manual Box the best I have ever driven. I average 44.2 MPG. 80% Suburbs..20% out of Town. The basic Golf ... manual Air Con controls...no Sat Nav..no Reversing Camera.... much less to go wrong ! After market Rev. beepers $ 125 fitted....Garmin Sat Nav $135. Updates free via Net.
No Alloy Wheels to damage on kerbs.
My second Mk V11 ,,first one a write off, my fault. Replacement from Insurance one year after. Air bags and crumple zones do work 100%!!!
Both driven 8000Ks per year and faultless. Switched Insurance to Shannons, hundreds of Dollars saving from the rest. Green Slips and Comp.

BodyHatch
Badge90TSI
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2015
Engine Size1.4 Turbo

Driving is great not reliable car stay away

published

Had the car for two years and the clutch had changed twice already; Can not imagine how much will cost in the long run when out of from warranty. power winder does not operate properly
service is hopeless. Blue tooth some time does not want to work. Stay away from VW.

BodyHatch
Badge90TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Kendall

KendallSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 10 likes

Best hatchback

published
BodyHatch
Badge90TSI Comfortline
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedMay 2013
newstead_doreen

newstead_doreen

  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great Car BUT DSG gearbox and clutch problems persist

published
BodyHatch
Badge90TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4 Turbo
johnny

johnnyThe Mallee, VIC

  • 3 reviews

we love our 2015 comfortline

published

Great car very solid feel had no problems so far had it the car for 3 months ad done about 4000km and love the economy of it. The idle stop start and hill hold assist take some getting use to. The dsg is silky smooth, I just hope that it is reliable. i am very annoyed that it doesn't not have ipod connectivity especially after my dealer sold me a cord that they said would connect my iphone to the car. my 2012 cruise had ipod connectivity!. But the Bluetooth works perfectly

BodyHatch
Badge90TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
1 comment
johnny
johnny

Just an update still going great excellent economy still love the car

Page 1 of 2
See all Volkswagen Golf reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Volkswagen Golf Mk.7 Hatchback 90TSI (2013-2015) but you can read 36 questions about Volkswagen Golf.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.