??!
4 photos
Volkswagen Golf Mk7.5 Hatchback

Volkswagen Golf Mk7.5 Hatchback (2017-2020)

Also referred to as: Volkswagen Golf Mk7.5 Hatchback 2019 and Volkswagen Golf Mk7.5 Hatchback 2021. 110TSI, GTI, R, 110TDI
4.6 from 38 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.6

38 reviews
5
(28)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(0)
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (9)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (9)
  • Noise Level
    4.4 (9)
  • Acceleration / Power
    5.0 (8)
  • Handling
    4.9 (7)
  • Braking
    5.0 (7)
  • Suspension
    4.6 (7)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.9 (8)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.6 (8)
  • Interior Design
    4.6 (7)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (7)
  • Features
    4.6 (7)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (8)
Previous
Next
John J.

John J.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Best car ever owned

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
James

JamesSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

The car is amazing. The dealer experience not so much.

published

Purchased in June 2020 at Volkswagen Dealers for A$55,100.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Harry S.

Harry S.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Perfect, high milage car

published

Had this baby for about two years now. Had a prang and panel easily fixed by the beater. Great for roadtrips, a full tank I can get over 1,000km of highway driving.

Cons: Only negative is it takes 95 fuel. Service through dealer kind of expensive but can use any other centre for decent price

Purchased in May 2018 at VW dealer for A$22,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Hatchbacks

Find out how Volkswagen Golf Mk7.5 Hatchback compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
GeeJay

GeeJaySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Servicing intervals

published

I’m an old bloke. Use my My 7.5 110tsi golf regularly and am pedantic about regular servicing.
Am I not reading the book correctly? There doesn’t appear to be advice on when to change fluids like brake and coolant, and I can’t find when the timing belt should be replaced.
VW advise to have the timing belt replaced at recommended interval. What are the recommended intervals? Does anyone know?
I think it’s naughty of VW not to give this info. A timing belt failure for example, can have catastrophic results.

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
See all answers
Nel

NelGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Comfortable car

published

This is my second VW golf. I traded in my old VW golf when the odometer read 220,000 kms. The car is very comfortable to drive and I feel the car is safe as well. Good size for me. I have trouble finding just the right size for me with other brands. Went test driving Merc B series, Volvo V40 but still liked golf the best.

Purchased in September 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Comfort
See all answers
carfan84

carfan84

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great car - Issues with DSG though

published

Excellent size car, lots of space. Drives and handles really well. Some plastic parts eg vents can break easily. Very comfortable seats and good vision. Fuel consumption averages about 7L/100kms. 4.5 stars - would be 5 if not for DSG issues.

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
JessC

JessCSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent little car

published

Bigger than it looks, spacious, comfortable to drive in and very responsive. This is my second Golf and it has out performed the previous 2016 model so far. Good design and is an excellent car.

Purchased in December 2019 for A$30,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
grnow

grnowSydney

  • 20 reviews
  • 8 likes

Brilliant car - great perceived quality

published

After 9 years with Tiguan TSI, it was time to upgrade/downgrade to a Golf. We were happy with the Tiguan, but didnt need the AWD and wanted something more economical.
The Golf is practical, fuel efficient, safe, quick, comfortable and a great perceived quality (everything just feels good quality). And when it comes with 5 years warranty, it just sealed the deal for us.
The service cost is more than a Toyota Corolla, but at least we do not need to visit the service centre every 10,000km

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ray

Raymelbourne

  • 16 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great small car

published

looks professional, smart and trended. great performance with a turbo engine and fuel-saving stop-start technology. the most important, it has 5 stars safety rating. you can feel the difference from the Korean car by closing the doors.

Purchased in June 2018 for A$25,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Hatchbacks

Find out how Volkswagen Golf Mk7.5 Hatchback compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
WeWantValue

WeWantValue

  • 13 reviews
  • 15 likes

A bit below expectations for a 2018 car

published
BodyHatch
Badge103TSI Highline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedDec 2018
Donna P

Donna PNewcastle

My first VW Golf

published

I have been the owner of a golf comfortline since July and I must say it’s just a beautiful car. I have had a Mazda 3 and a Subaru Impreza in the past but the golf outdoes these 2 cars easily. The interior is a step up I feel from my past 2 cars although I have had manuals all my life so getting use to an automatic has been interesting. It drives lovely and super impressed with it.

BodyHatch
Badge118TSI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedJul 2018
duesseldorf67

duesseldorf67Sydney, NSW

  • 29 reviews
  • 23 likes

Das Auto

published
BodyHatch
Badge118TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Jace Hall

Jace HallSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car !

published

Very impressed and this is such a great car to drive around especially the long trips I usually take! I was a little unsure with getting VW but was defiantly worth it !! Would purchase this car again if i had to. such an awesome little car to get around.

BodyHatch
Badge103TDI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedJan 2014

My first German vehicle and I’m VERY impressed

published
BodyHatch
BadgeTrendline
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedJul 2018
Leo Podwaldien

Leo PodwaldienCanberra

  • 14 reviews
  • 10 likes

Grrrreat!

published

Upgraded from a 2016 Polo GTI to the Grid edition of the R (alacantra seats, analog dash) and I am very impressed. Much more space than the Polo, especially in the boot, and a real pleasure to drive. Very good performance yet can be tamed to be a comfortable commuter. I also got the driver assist pack and the sunroof, which both enhance the driving experience greatly. Only 1500 kms on the clock, so just broken in, but so far so good!

BodyHatch
BadgeR
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedSep 2018
Hatchbacks

Find out how Volkswagen Golf Mk7.5 Hatchback compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sarah Aitken

Sarah Aitken

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

LOVE my Golf!!

published

I have had my Golf for about six months now and I love it! Its attractive, drives beautifully, and is super comfortable. I had originally driven a work GTi but could only afford the base TSI for my personal purchase, but I haven't been disappointed. It lacks a bit of a the grunt of the GTi, but for someone like me who is mostly doing the commute in traffic, that doesn't matter at all.

The CarPlay can be a bit buggy, but I'm hoping this will fix with a future Apple iOS update down the track.

Can recommend the Golf!

BodyHatch
Badge110 TSI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.6
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Emma

Emma

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great little car

published

It goes like a bat outta hell, spacious, smooth ride. Reliable, and stylish. was a brilliant car to learn it, was very easy to drive and easy to control. Great electronics system through the car, air con system could be a bit better and a way to get it into the backseat is needed.

BodyHatch
BadgeGTD
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.6
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Richard L

Richard LAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

GTI an amazing car

published

pros:
1) stylish and modern. but still has the classic golf body
2) gti is uper fast and zippy on the road. very little turbo lag
2) interior is fantastic especially if you choose the leather option. gives it a real luxury feel.

cons:
1) boot space is a bit small. however enough for couples and young family.
2) later models only have leather option with sunroof. this is costly.

BodyHatch
BadgeGTI
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Steph

StephMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

LOVE GOLF! Quality car

published

Recently purchased my first golf brand new and i absolutely love it! I was looking for a good quality nice European car that was reliable and this car is fantastic! Great price for an upper class car! Purchased in Sydney because i couldn't get one in Melbourne for the same price

BodyHatch
Badge110TSI Highline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.2
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Dee

DeeBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

BEST CAR IN THE WORLD

published
BodyHatch
BadgeComfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.6
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Page 1 of 2
See all Volkswagen Golf reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Volkswagen Golf Mk7.5 Hatchback (2017-2020) but you can read 36 questions about Volkswagen Golf.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.