??!
28 photos
Volkswagen Golf

Volkswagen Golf (page 2 of 16)

Mk.5, Mk.6, Mk.7, Mk7.5
3.8 from 297 reviews

Reviews

3.8

320 reviews
5
(158)
4
(60)
3
(29)
2
(23)
1
(50)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (45)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (45)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (44)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (43)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (43)
  • Handling
    4.5 (43)
  • Braking
    4.5 (42)
  • Suspension
    4.1 (43)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.1 (42)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (44)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (42)
  • Boot Size
    4.1 (42)
  • Features
    4.2 (42)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (43)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Sebling

SeblingSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

2010 TSI 118 was good until the engine failed, then a write off.

published

Purchased in October 2016 for A$16,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
grnow

grnowSydney

  • 20 reviews
  • 8 likes

Brilliant car - great perceived quality

published

After 9 years with Tiguan TSI, it was time to upgrade/downgrade to a Golf. We were happy with the Tiguan, but didnt need the AWD and wanted something more economical.
The Golf is practical, fuel efficient, safe, quick, comfortable and a great perceived quality (everything just feels good quality). And when it comes with 5 years warranty, it just sealed the deal for us.
The service cost is more than a Toyota Corolla, but at least we do not need to visit the service centre every 10,000km

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Kayla H.

Kayla H.Sydney, NSW

Cheap Budget Parts - Warning!

published

Purchased in February 2016 for A$50,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ray

Raymelbourne

  • 15 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great small car

published

looks professional, smart and trended. great performance with a turbo engine and fuel-saving stop-start technology. the most important, it has 5 stars safety rating. you can feel the difference from the Korean car by closing the doors.

Purchased in June 2018 for A$25,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Grant

Grant

  • 3 reviews
  • 15 likes

75000km and then take it to the junkyard

published

2011 model. Beautiful to drive.....reconditoned engine needed at 67000km ($6000). New water pump 74000km...($1200). Other random coolant leaks....a dog. Seems these problems are pretty common, read the other reviews! Was never driven hard. I'll never buy a VW again. Don't buy one of these second hand.

Purchased in January 2012.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Robert

RobertGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Volkswagen Golf Highline R line

published

Second Golf purchased this one with a higher spec R Line sports package. Drives amazingly and it handles great. These Golfs are quality builds everything feels very soiled and well made, have never had an issue

Harley

HarleyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Performance and comfort. So fun!

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Volkswagen Dealers for A$26,850.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Emily R.

Emily R.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Owner and driver of 4 years~!

published

Have owned my mrk6 GTI for almost 4 years and done 110,000kms since buying, only major issues I've had owning it has been the water pump needed replacing @ 60,000kms (which is VERY common) and new coil packs @ 100,000kms (also common VW issue), other than that, its ran perfect! No gearbox issues, very reliable on fuel doing over 700kms to a 55L tank. Very quick daily, good to have power when you need it and don't get stuck in trouble getting out of places. Love my little red rocket to the moon and back!

Purchased in September 2015 for A$28,600.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Andrew-Morisset Park

Andrew-Morisset ParkSydney

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Android Auto is unreliable and full of bugs

published

The idea is great and (when it works properly) it's terrific BUT it is so full of bugs. Every second time I plug my OnePlus 6 Android phone into the Android Auto USB it's hit or miss as to whether it will work... often it works for a while, then starts to wig out, e.g. won't read or take SMS messages, screen goes blank, stops functioning altogether. Have tried the new version and still same issues. Have removed the app and reloaded - no better. VW couldn't offer any help. Hopefully CarPlay works better for Apple users. These days I just use Bluetooth for music and forget about the other features.

Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tom C.

Tom C.North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic car all around

published

I have owned my car for 2 years now and done 40,000km and it hasn't missed a beat. The fuel economy is excellent, usually around 6.5l/100km in town and 5.5l/100km highway driving. I also use it to tow my boat (500kg) and it does it with ease. I would recommend this car to anyone who wants an affordable yet comfortable hatch that is brilliant to drive.

Purchased in June 2017 for A$27,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Atechy

AtechyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Good city car with some minor issues

published
Samir C.

Samir C.Gippsland, VIC

  • 2 reviews

excellent car.

published

normal daily use.
Often on short trips and less for long trips.
no issues as yet and do not expect any. A pleasure to drive . very smooth responses. Excellent features overall.

Purchased in March 2019 at Berwick Motor Group.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
pomhall

pomhallGold Coast

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

But its not a Golf GTI, mine is....

published

Car has commuted, school run, family holiday, camping, you name it we have Golfed to it. The car is used daily and the DSG has not missed a beat in 11 years. The car I used daily and is fantastic to drive, quick when required, comfortable sporty I love this car. Serviced initially by VW then by EMW it continue to go past 150K KMS. Its starting to get an oil leak and other problems on a ball joint but what service she has given me.

Purchased in June 2008 at James Frizelle's Automotive Group for A$50,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Mr_coz1

Mr_coz1

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Exceptional customer service from VW Australia

published

Purchased in January 2019 for A$15,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Pablo

PabloMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 12 reviews
  • 14 likes

Fantastic

published

My wife and I bought a used mk7 Golf GTI with 134,000 km on it! (manual). It still looks, feels and drives like a new car. Our family with 2 kids are very tall and we find this a fantastic, and fun, primary car. It tows well too.
With the addition of a roof pod there is lots of luggage space for holidays.
The only problem we've had is a flat battery.

Purchased in August 2018 for A$18,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Grumpy

GrumpySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car, poor manufacturer backup

published

Purchased in October 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sam D

Sam D

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

VW Golf 90Tsi constant issues.

published

Purchased in August 2009.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Economic and powerful

published

Ive used this 2007 tdi Sportline manual model for 4 years now, and I do 60K kms per year.
Apart from the normal wear and tear, its been a rock.
Only use premium fuels in VWs as I believe the hi spec engines need it.
The now outdated CD navi system packed it in a couple of years ago, but big deal.
Quality of interior is in a class on its own compared to its japanese/ korean competitors.
And I live only 300 meters from the beach, and no sign of any rust.
Im buying another one......

Purchased in July 2016 for A$10,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Aj A.

Aj A.South East Queensland, QLD

Should have bought this in the first place

published

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Dmac

DmacSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Slow off the mark

published
  • +1

Purchased in August 2017 for A$34,999.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Page 2 of 16
See all Volkswagen Golf reviews

Questions & Answers

Karen B.

Karen B.asked

Golf Mk.7 (2013-2017)

I purchased my Golf SE mk7 over 2 years ago. The infotainment system stopped working 29th June2020 my warranty ran out on 4th July, problem was I was in lock down in Spain due to Corona virus and could not get a ferry crossing until 15th July. I called Volswagon in Vera Spain and earliest appointment was 10th July. They did the second service, 18000 miles on clock and investigated infotainment system. Paid 93 euros for service and was given a quote for 1,985 euros to replace the broken system as it was over the warranty. I called the volkswagen dealer where I bought the car they said to take it to my local dealer in Shrewsbury which I did as it needed its first mot. They agreed it was broken and needed replacing. Even though it was impossible to get back before the warranty expired the would only give me 20% off the bill and I would have to pay £1600 to have it replaced. Do u think this is fair?

No answers
George

Georgeasked

Golf Mk.5 (2004-2010)

2007 got sport TDI VW golf 2ltre turbo.
What does it mean when engine light comes on, than coil light flashes and exhaust light comes on???
Also since then my turbo stopped working

No answers
Deah C

Deah Casked

Golf Mk.7 Hatchback (2013-2017)

Hi I'm looking at purchasing a 2014 Highline TDI mk 7. It's immaculate inside and out, one owner, I can tell the car has been well loved and looked after. I've never had a euro car before, but am looking for something that is high tech, and economical. The golf seems to tick those boxes but I hear mixed reviews.. Can anyone shed some light on your experience with these cars?

1 answer
Liam H.
Liam H.

I can only answer from my own experience of my Golf, purchased new in Sept 2015. It's done 107,000km and been serviced regularly (7 times). Has been a fantastic little car, fun to drive, economical yet nimble. That being said, much comes down to how it's looked after (clean oil, quality fuel, fresh air) all goes a long way to having the car serve a long, useful life - but my experience is a thumbs up and enjoy these cars!

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.