??!
28 photos
Volkswagen Golf

Volkswagen Golf (page 2 of 17)

Mk.5, Mk.6, Mk.7, Mk7.5
3.8 from 306 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.9 (53)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (53)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (52)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (51)
  • Braking
    4.4 (50)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.1 (51)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (50)
  • Suspension
    4.1 (51)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (52)
  • Handling
    4.4 (51)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (50)
  • Boot Size
    4.1 (50)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (51)
  • Features
    4.1 (50)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Meredith Gibson

Meredith GibsonSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Unreliable. Extremely expensive. Had 2 new gearboxes and 2 new clutches. Transmission extremely unsatisfactory.

published

Commuting, used everyday. Have only ever had this car serviced by VW, has never been late for a service. Always something wrong with it. Extremely expensive to maintain. Only one owner.

Purchased in February 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Lina F.

Lina F.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Extremely Disappointed!

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Mike

MikeMelbourne

  • 18 reviews
  • 24 likes

Poorly engineered to fail

published

Purchased in April 2012 at Brighton Volkswagen for $47,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Steve F.

Steve F.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

VW 'lemon ' golf

published

my golf tsi turbo was initially a satisfying purchase , even over the warranty period i had multiple repairs recalls issues clutch gearbox blue motion high oil usage etc , hopefully things have improved in the last year or so

Purchased in January 2015 at vw waverley .

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Kaz

KazGeelong

  • 14 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great Pereformance with practicality

published

The VW Golf R Wagon is the perfect family car with great performance. I've had mine for 6 months now and have zero complaints. It's got plenty of space for my two kids in the back. The car packs loads of technology (i.e. digital cockpit, apple carplay, safety tech).

Purchased in September 2019 for $55,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Ervina Kouris

Ervina KourisPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Expensive maintenance issues

published

Purchased in March 2015 at DVG Melville for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
JessC

JessCSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent little car

published

Bigger than it looks, spacious, comfortable to drive in and very responsive. This is my second Golf and it has out performed the previous 2016 model so far. Good design and is an excellent car.

Purchased in December 2019 for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Fiona R.

Fiona R.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Run for the hills #lemon

published

Purchased in July 2017 at NZ for $15,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Happy Camper

Happy CamperGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews

This car is simply perfect

published

Great car all round. Handling, performance, styling (inside and out) and liveability are all the facets that make this car a great daily driver, and a little 'fun' when you want to. Driving in Race mode, and sports shift is where its at, but will hit your fuel economy. IF you drop back to Comfort mode or Eco, you can get economy down to 6-7L per 100km on the open road. The only downside is that i cant hook up a towball due to the AWD and exhaust system at the back end, but i have a second car that tows anyway. Will def buy again!

Purchased in March 2017 at Jackson Motor Company for $60,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sebling

SeblingSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

2010 TSI 118 was good until the engine failed, then a write off.

published

Purchased in October 2016 for $16,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
grnow

grnowSydney

  • 21 reviews
  • 8 likes

Brilliant car - great perceived quality

published

After 9 years with Tiguan TSI, it was time to upgrade/downgrade to a Golf. We were happy with the Tiguan, but didnt need the AWD and wanted something more economical.
The Golf is practical, fuel efficient, safe, quick, comfortable and a great perceived quality (everything just feels good quality). And when it comes with 5 years warranty, it just sealed the deal for us.
The service cost is more than a Toyota Corolla, but at least we do not need to visit the service centre every 10,000km

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Kayla H.

Kayla H.Sydney, NSW

Cheap Budget Parts - Warning!

published

Purchased in February 2016 for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Ray

Raymelbourne

  • 16 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great small car

published

looks professional, smart and trended. great performance with a turbo engine and fuel-saving stop-start technology. the most important, it has 5 stars safety rating. you can feel the difference from the Korean car by closing the doors.

Purchased in June 2018 for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Grant

Grant

  • 3 reviews
  • 16 likes

75000km and then take it to the junkyard

published

2011 model. Beautiful to drive.....reconditoned engine needed at 67000km ($6000). New water pump 74000km...($1200). Other random coolant leaks....a dog. Seems these problems are pretty common, read the other reviews! Was never driven hard. I'll never buy a VW again. Don't buy one of these second hand.

Purchased in January 2012.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Robert

RobertGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Volkswagen Golf Highline R line

published

Second Golf purchased this one with a higher spec R Line sports package. Drives amazingly and it handles great. These Golfs are quality builds everything feels very soiled and well made, have never had an issue

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Harley

HarleyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Performance and comfort. So fun!

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in June 2018 at Volkswagen Dealers for $26,850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Emily R.

Emily R.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Owner and driver of 4 years~!

published

Have owned my mrk6 GTI for almost 4 years and done 110,000kms since buying, only major issues I've had owning it has been the water pump needed replacing @ 60,000kms (which is VERY common) and new coil packs @ 100,000kms (also common VW issue), other than that, its ran perfect! No gearbox issues, very reliable on fuel doing over 700kms to a 55L tank. Very quick daily, good to have power when you need it and don't get stuck in trouble getting out of places. Love my little red rocket to the moon and back!

Purchased in September 2015 for $28,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Andrew-Morisset Park

Andrew-Morisset ParkSydney

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

Android Auto is unreliable and full of bugs

published

The idea is great and (when it works properly) it's terrific BUT it is so full of bugs. Every second time I plug my OnePlus 6 Android phone into the Android Auto USB it's hit or miss as to whether it will work... often it works for a while, then starts to wig out, e.g. won't read or take SMS messages, screen goes blank, stops functioning altogether. Have tried the new version and still same issues. Have removed the app and reloaded - no better. VW couldn't offer any help. Hopefully CarPlay works better for Apple users. These days I just use Bluetooth for music and forget about the other features.

Tom C.

Tom C.North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic car all around

published

I have owned my car for 2 years now and done 40,000km and it hasn't missed a beat. The fuel economy is excellent, usually around 6.5l/100km in town and 5.5l/100km highway driving. I also use it to tow my boat (500kg) and it does it with ease. I would recommend this car to anyone who wants an affordable yet comfortable hatch that is brilliant to drive.

Purchased in June 2017 for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Atechy

AtechyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Good city car with some minor issues

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Page 2 of 17
See all Volkswagen Golf reviews

Questions & Answers

Rabi

Rabiasked

Golf Mk.7 Hatchback 103TSI (2013-2015)

What should I pay for a VII-MY14 Golf (highline), built 2013, Odometer 88,000 km

1 answer
Justo
Justo

I’ve just paid $17999 with 81,000 km

Karen B.

Karen B.asked

Golf Mk.7 (2013-2017)

I purchased my Golf SE mk7 over 2 years ago. The infotainment system stopped working 29th June2020 my warranty ran out on 4th July, problem was I was in lock down in Spain due to Corona virus and could not get a ferry crossing until 15th July. I called Volswagon in Vera Spain and earliest appointment was 10th July. They did the second service, 18000 miles on clock and investigated infotainment system. Paid 93 euros for service and was given a quote for 1,985 euros to replace the broken system as it was over the warranty. I called the volkswagen dealer where I bought the car they said to take it to my local dealer in Shrewsbury which I did as it needed its first mot. They agreed it was broken and needed replacing. Even though it was impossible to get back before the warranty expired the would only give me 20% off the bill and I would have to pay £1600 to have it replaced. Do u think this is fair?

No answers
George

Georgeasked

Golf Mk.5 (2004-2010)

2007 got sport TDI VW golf 2ltre turbo.
What does it mean when engine light comes on, than coil light flashes and exhaust light comes on???
Also since then my turbo stopped working

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 21 Volkswagen Golf
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and WagonsCars and WagonsCars and Wagons
Starting Price $38,990$38,490$31,690$35,750
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
Fuel Consumption5 L/100km5 L/100km5.6 L/100km6.8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L50 L55 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.04 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.8L
Max Power110kW @ 4000rpm110kW @ 4000rpm110kW @ 6000rpm132kW @ 6200rpm
Max Torque340Nm @ 1750-3000rpm340Nm @ 1750-3000rpm250Nm @ 1500-3500rpm280Nm @ 1350-4500rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Safety Features
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Compare all 21 Volkswagen Golf

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.