??!
28 photos
Volkswagen Golf

Volkswagen Golf (page 3 of 17)

Mk.5, Mk.6, Mk.7, Mk7.5
3.8 from 306 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.9 (53)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (53)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (52)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (51)
  • Braking
    4.4 (50)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.1 (51)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (50)
  • Suspension
    4.1 (51)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (52)
  • Handling
    4.4 (51)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (50)
  • Boot Size
    4.1 (50)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (51)
  • Features
    4.1 (50)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Samir C.

Samir C.Gippsland, VIC

  • 2 reviews

excellent car.

published

normal daily use.
Often on short trips and less for long trips.
no issues as yet and do not expect any. A pleasure to drive . very smooth responses. Excellent features overall.

pomhall

pomhallGold Coast

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

But its not a Golf GTI, mine is....

published

Car has commuted, school run, family holiday, camping, you name it we have Golfed to it. The car is used daily and the DSG has not missed a beat in 11 years. The car I used daily and is fantastic to drive, quick when required, comfortable sporty I love this car. Serviced initially by VW then by EMW it continue to go past 150K KMS. Its starting to get an oil leak and other problems on a ball joint but what service she has given me.

Mr_coz1

Mr_coz1

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Exceptional customer service from VW Australia

published
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pablo

PabloMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 12 reviews
  • 14 likes

Fantastic

published

My wife and I bought a used mk7 Golf GTI with 134,000 km on it! (manual). It still looks, feels and drives like a new car. Our family with 2 kids are very tall and we find this a fantastic, and fun, primary car. It tows well too.
With the addition of a roof pod there is lots of luggage space for holidays.
The only problem we've had is a flat battery.

Grumpy

GrumpySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car, poor manufacturer backup

published
Sam D

Sam D

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

VW Golf 90Tsi constant issues.

published

Economic and powerful

published

Ive used this 2007 tdi Sportline manual model for 4 years now, and I do 60K kms per year.
Apart from the normal wear and tear, its been a rock.
Only use premium fuels in VWs as I believe the hi spec engines need it.
The now outdated CD navi system packed it in a couple of years ago, but big deal.
Quality of interior is in a class on its own compared to its japanese/ korean competitors.
And I live only 300 meters from the beach, and no sign of any rust.
Im buying another one......

Aj A.

Aj A.South East Queensland, QLD

Should have bought this in the first place

published
Dmac

DmacSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Slow off the mark

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +1Thumbnail
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
zknight

zknightSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 32 reviews
  • 31 likes

European car built for Europe

published
agsdevelop

agsdevelopGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Best car i have owned yet!

published

Bought this car while ive been renovating a house for more transport capacity. Has been amazing and never missed a beat. I'm up to 200k kms and still going strong! Will be buying another soon.

Henry McK

Henry McKSydney, NSW

Car turned into a lemon overnight

published
1 comment
Henry McK
Henry McK

It seems this is a common problem for Golfs of that era. You would think that VW Australia would do the right thing and compensate buyers of this model for what is quite clearly not worthy of the VW brand.

Smith

Smith

  • 3 reviews

Love them, best car I have ever owned

published

I own the volkswagen golf r32 and it is an amazing car. I like that it came with leather seats as a standard accessory. My golf it spec'd up with sat nav, parking sensors, sun roof and Bluetooth. For me, I like the sound, performance and handling of this car. I'm not impressed with the newer golfs though.

Kevin Hu

Kevin HuGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very unstable and problematic gearbox

published

We just use the car for a regular commuting to work and home. 8 years only 60K km. But the gearbox has been mulfunctioned for a few times. Recently got a very serious problem

GemmaG

GemmaGSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

The TSI 1.4litre manual Golf 2010 brought brand new - complete engine failure in Feb 2019

published
1 comment
GemmaG
GemmaG

Further to this: Under Australian consumer law any product, including vehicles are expected to last the reasonable life time for that type of product.

Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
WeWantValue

WeWantValue

  • 13 reviews
  • 15 likes

A bit below expectations for a 2018 car

published
BodyHatch
Badge103TSI Highline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedDec 2018

Golf VII 1.2 TSI 110CV

published
BodyHatch
BadgeEdition
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.2
Date PurchasedOct 2015
Donna P

Donna PNewcastle

My first VW Golf

published

I have been the owner of a golf comfortline since July and I must say it’s just a beautiful car. I have had a Mazda 3 and a Subaru Impreza in the past but the golf outdoes these 2 cars easily. The interior is a step up I feel from my past 2 cars although I have had manuals all my life so getting use to an automatic has been interesting. It drives lovely and super impressed with it.

BodyHatch
Badge118TSI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Steffannie V

Steffannie VAU

  • 3 reviews

Sporty quick and fun

published

Bought brand new, I have modified it freely and I truly love the performance of this car, added features leather seats sun roof premium sounds system all worth the extra I paid.
Bought in black is my only downfall it is hard to keep clean but otherwise this car has been a great investment tbh

BodyHatch
BadgeGTI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Keith

KeithHunter Region, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 17 likes

MK6 GTi, the perfect little hatch

published
BodyHatch
BadgeGTI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Page 3 of 17
See all Volkswagen Golf reviews

Questions & Answers

Rabi

Rabiasked

Golf Mk.7 Hatchback 103TSI (2013-2015)

What should I pay for a VII-MY14 Golf (highline), built 2013, Odometer 88,000 km

1 answer
Justo
Justo

I’ve just paid $17999 with 81,000 km

Karen B.

Karen B.asked

Golf Mk.7 (2013-2017)

I purchased my Golf SE mk7 over 2 years ago. The infotainment system stopped working 29th June2020 my warranty ran out on 4th July, problem was I was in lock down in Spain due to Corona virus and could not get a ferry crossing until 15th July. I called Volswagon in Vera Spain and earliest appointment was 10th July. They did the second service, 18000 miles on clock and investigated infotainment system. Paid 93 euros for service and was given a quote for 1,985 euros to replace the broken system as it was over the warranty. I called the volkswagen dealer where I bought the car they said to take it to my local dealer in Shrewsbury which I did as it needed its first mot. They agreed it was broken and needed replacing. Even though it was impossible to get back before the warranty expired the would only give me 20% off the bill and I would have to pay £1600 to have it replaced. Do u think this is fair?

No answers
George

Georgeasked

Golf Mk.5 (2004-2010)

2007 got sport TDI VW golf 2ltre turbo.
What does it mean when engine light comes on, than coil light flashes and exhaust light comes on???
Also since then my turbo stopped working

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 21 Volkswagen Golf
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and WagonsCars and WagonsCars and Wagons
Starting Price $38,990$38,490$31,690$35,750
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
Fuel Consumption5 L/100km5 L/100km5.6 L/100km6.8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L50 L55 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.04 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.8L
Max Power110kW @ 4000rpm110kW @ 4000rpm110kW @ 6000rpm132kW @ 6200rpm
Max Torque340Nm @ 1750-3000rpm340Nm @ 1750-3000rpm250Nm @ 1500-3500rpm280Nm @ 1350-4500rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Safety Features
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Compare all 21 Volkswagen Golf

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.