??!
28 photos
Volkswagen Golf

Volkswagen Golf (page 4 of 16)

Mk.5, Mk.6, Mk.7, Mk7.5
3.8 from 297 reviews

Reviews

3.8

320 reviews
5
(158)
4
(60)
3
(29)
2
(23)
1
(50)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (45)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (45)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (44)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (43)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (43)
  • Handling
    4.5 (43)
  • Braking
    4.5 (42)
  • Suspension
    4.1 (43)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.1 (42)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (44)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (42)
  • Boot Size
    4.1 (42)
  • Features
    4.2 (42)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (43)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Emz

EmzSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 likes

Love it little zippy r32

published

Always been skeptical of vws due to bad reviews from others. However I love my little hatch it's a powerful zippy bug, put your foot down and this thing roars! Keep the services up to date and up should have no issues. Dsg gearbox needs to be serviced every 60,000 kms which is a headache, but great car.

BodyHatch
BadgeR32
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size3.2
Date PurchasedSep 2018

Terrible!

published

Had this car for 6 months and the gearbox started to shudder going between 1-2 gears. The dual clutch system was diagnosed to be faulty and was quoted 5k to fix!! Also blew a lot of oil from the turbo! Would never buy from Volkswagen again as they refused to fix either of the problems!

BodyHatch
Badge118TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Emma

Emma

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great little car

published

It goes like a bat outta hell, spacious, smooth ride. Reliable, and stylish. was a brilliant car to learn it, was very easy to drive and easy to control. Great electronics system through the car, air con system could be a bit better and a way to get it into the backseat is needed.

BodyHatch
BadgeGTD
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.6
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Richard L

Richard LAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

GTI an amazing car

published

pros:
1) stylish and modern. but still has the classic golf body
2) gti is uper fast and zippy on the road. very little turbo lag
2) interior is fantastic especially if you choose the leather option. gives it a real luxury feel.

cons:
1) boot space is a bit small. however enough for couples and young family.
2) later models only have leather option with sunroof. this is costly.

BodyHatch
BadgeGTI
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedDec 2017
John M.

John M.Melbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Repairs, Repairs and then more repairs

published

My Golf was fantastic to drive right up to 4years old and 100,000 kms THEN it all started. Radiator, Timing Chain, Horn, Brake Master Cylinder, Clutch Master Cylinder and the list goes on and on. Its just gone in for a new clutch today. Always serviced on time, driven by 40+ yo parent adult.

Complained to VW but they wont answer any questions (5+ emails over several months).

BodyConvertible
Badge118TSI
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedApr 2012
Steph

StephMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

LOVE GOLF! Quality car

published

Recently purchased my first golf brand new and i absolutely love it! I was looking for a good quality nice European car that was reliable and this car is fantastic! Great price for an upper class car! Purchased in Sydney because i couldn't get one in Melbourne for the same price

BodyHatch
Badge110TSI Highline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.2
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Dee

DeeBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

BEST CAR IN THE WORLD

published
BodyHatch
BadgeComfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.6
Date PurchasedNov 2016
DodgyD

DodgyD

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

DSG mechatronic and clutch pack issues are real

published

VW have scandalously got away with sub standard quality on the transmission on these vehicles and the ACCC seem to be toothless in forcing them to stump up for repairs.

Our model had all the recall work done on it and yet the mechatronic still failed and cost me $4000 to repair. VW offered me a complementary service ~ $450...

Now there is the shuddering at pull-off from standstill. Don't know if this means the already replaced clutch packs (under recall) are gone again or not. VW want $187 to do a road test on it! That's customer service for you! NOT.

Why is Ford being slugged $10M yet VW getting away scott free? Go figure....

I think the key here seems to be get rid of a new VW before warranty expires.

BodyHatch
Badge90TSI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedApr 2015
R Livsey

R LivseySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Very nice car

published

Commuter vehicle 12000k per year. Very comfortable. Surprisingly good acceleration. Nippy.
Big inside, the back is excellent for the size. Economical. Lots of headroom. Big boot
Reliable, not like the Mark6 118 I had before that was dreadful. So bad I got an I30, very happy to return to VW though I did pay for an extended warranty.
PROBLEMS - not too bad.
Feeble reversing lights, they are the tiny frosted strips in the cluster. Therefore the reversing camera is hopeless at night, when it might be useful.
Has some stupid software with the camera interfering with normal use.
Jumpy from start with the stop/start function.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2015
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jeff

Jeff

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not the most reliable car

published
BodyHatch
Badge92TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedMay 2016
MattAdore

MattAdore

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car for the money

published
BodyWagon
BadgeComfortline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Vince

VinceMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 15 reviews
  • 25 likes

absolutely loving this car

published

bought my golf in Aug 17 and absolutely loving it.
it feels sporty and powerful. Interior feels very quality and comfort.
so far I have had any issue with it other than car key battery life is bit short. within a year, I have both batteries replaced for both keys.
Start is just a little bit sluggish but I guess coz of turbo engine. it is not as quite as I expect on a bit of bumpy roads but on high way it breezes thru.

BodyHatch
Badge110TSI Highline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.8
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Julz

Julz

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car - not perfect but I love it.

published
BodyHatch
Badge110TSI Highline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Keiko Appleby

Keiko Appleby

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Most reliable car I ever owned

published

My husband bought me a MK5 Golf Hatchback (Pacific) for my birthday and I am absolutely pleased with this car being so reliable, tough, economical and good looking. I love the torque that she's got, DSG gearbox and the way she handles. I would keep this car as long as I can :) Thanks VW!!!

BodyHatch
Badge110TDI Highline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedNov 2012
Bernskiez

BernskiezSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

Wouldnt buy anything else.

published

There is a sense of quality with this car . Just something about how the door thuds/closes , the brakes are sound, all the plastics are in the right place, the acceleration is great They've got a customer for life in us I reckon. A step above all the competitors besides maybe the mazda 3 but still our fav over that one.

BodyHatch
Badge90TSI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
George

GeorgeSydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

Biggest mistake of my life.

published

After getting promoted, I celebrated by buying a new Golf R, I spared no expense and was bowled over by the many test drives I completed. Everything was going well until the first service, keep in mind I’m a trained mechanic and pilot, but had to use them for warranty reasons - for the next year it was in and out, new turbos, new parts, leaks, electronics that would freeze and stutter and then it flat out wouldn’t start. Fair to say they don’t like the Aussie heat much, even so, rubbish car for the price.

BodyHatch
BadgeR
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Benw89

Benw89Ipswich

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car, drives well and is good on fuel.

published

The performance of this car is amazing, for a 4 cylinder 1.4L turbo car it is very zippy, the only downside I have found performance wise is the car is a bit slow to respond when you put your foot on the accelerator. The interior of the car looks and feels streamline and has easily accessible features whilst driving. The value for money in regards to fuel is good, roughly 800km out of a tank on premium fuel.

BodyHatch
Badge103TSI R Line
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Fed up

Fed upMelbourne

Useless Apple CarPlay

published

Bought a new 2017 VW Trendline last June. Have had difficulty connecting Apple CarPlay from day one. Often comes on but there is no sound. Often won’t connect at all. Car has been in four times for this problem. At first I was told the problem was with iPhone 5. Have subsequently changed to iPhone 7 but this hasn’t solved the problem. VW have advised that the IOS 11.1 is too high for the Apple CarPlay. How can they sell a car that is supposed to be compatible with Apple CarPlay when it doesn’t function properly? Isn’t this misleading and deceptive conduct and/or false advertising?

BodyHatch
BadgeBlueMOTION
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Page 4 of 16
See all Volkswagen Golf reviews

Questions & Answers

Karen B.

Karen B.asked

Golf Mk.7 (2013-2017)

I purchased my Golf SE mk7 over 2 years ago. The infotainment system stopped working 29th June2020 my warranty ran out on 4th July, problem was I was in lock down in Spain due to Corona virus and could not get a ferry crossing until 15th July. I called Volswagon in Vera Spain and earliest appointment was 10th July. They did the second service, 18000 miles on clock and investigated infotainment system. Paid 93 euros for service and was given a quote for 1,985 euros to replace the broken system as it was over the warranty. I called the volkswagen dealer where I bought the car they said to take it to my local dealer in Shrewsbury which I did as it needed its first mot. They agreed it was broken and needed replacing. Even though it was impossible to get back before the warranty expired the would only give me 20% off the bill and I would have to pay £1600 to have it replaced. Do u think this is fair?

No answers
George

Georgeasked

Golf Mk.5 (2004-2010)

2007 got sport TDI VW golf 2ltre turbo.
What does it mean when engine light comes on, than coil light flashes and exhaust light comes on???
Also since then my turbo stopped working

No answers
Deah C

Deah Casked

Golf Mk.7 Hatchback (2013-2017)

Hi I'm looking at purchasing a 2014 Highline TDI mk 7. It's immaculate inside and out, one owner, I can tell the car has been well loved and looked after. I've never had a euro car before, but am looking for something that is high tech, and economical. The golf seems to tick those boxes but I hear mixed reviews.. Can anyone shed some light on your experience with these cars?

1 answer
Liam H.
Liam H.

I can only answer from my own experience of my Golf, purchased new in Sept 2015. It's done 107,000km and been serviced regularly (7 times). Has been a fantastic little car, fun to drive, economical yet nimble. That being said, much comes down to how it's looked after (clean oil, quality fuel, fresh air) all goes a long way to having the car serve a long, useful life - but my experience is a thumbs up and enjoy these cars!

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.