??!
28 photos
Volkswagen Golf

Volkswagen Golf

Mk.5, Mk.6, Mk.7, Mk7.5
3.8 from 305 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.0 (12)
  • Value for Money
    1.3 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.7 (12)
  • Noise Level
    3.1 (11)
  • Braking
    3.2 (11)
  • Acceleration / Power
    2.1 (11)
  • Gear Shifting
    2.5 (11)
  • Suspension
    2.6 (12)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.3 (12)
  • Handling
    3.3 (12)
  • Interior Design
    3.4 (12)
  • Boot Size
    3.3 (12)
  • Comfort
    3.4 (12)
  • Features
    3.2 (12)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Jessica Ishak

Jessica Ishak Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Unreliable car

published

Purchased in December 2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
See all answers
G K.

G K.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Problems since day 2, nearly three years later, finally fixed them all and the are not honoring any additional warranty

published

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Roy

RoyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Rubbish don’t bother

published

Bought the car brand new with 3 yrs warranty, a couple months after warranty finished with only 20,000km on the clock error msg pops up on dash which a a recognised known problem with VW company.
No offer of goodwill to fix at all. Would expect almost brand new car wouldnt start having these issues.
May opt out and sell while still early but won’t be going for VW next

Purchased in February 2017 at Solitaire Hawthorn .

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Don't buy one!!!!!, users oil and I have had to replace the gearbox at 43000kms @ $3500 factory service people useless

published

usage second car
Daily usage
seviced as per log book
not happy Jan, what a shame it is an expensive flop with poor warranty and back up service. this is my 4th vw , no more :(

Purchased in June 2014 for A$33,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Sammy32

Sammy32South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Car is decent however Volkswagen Customer Service is extremely poor

published

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

Don't do it, don't buy VW

published

I've owned VW for a good many years and have some wonderful road trips in North America and Europe but that all ended. I bought a new VW golf in 2013 and it will be the last time I own a VW, the car was a lemon. Dealing with VW Australia was a nightmare as was the dealership and service centre.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Meredith Gibson

Meredith GibsonSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Unreliable. Extremely expensive. Had 2 new gearboxes and 2 new clutches. Transmission extremely unsatisfactory.

published

Commuting, used everyday. Have only ever had this car serviced by VW, has never been late for a service. Always something wrong with it. Extremely expensive to maintain. Only one owner.

Purchased in February 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Ervina Kouris

Ervina KourisPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Expensive maintenance issues

published

Purchased in March 2015 at DVG Melville for A$27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Fiona R.

Fiona R.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Run for the hills #lemon

published

Purchased in July 2017 at NZ for A$15,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sam D

Sam D

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

VW Golf 90Tsi constant issues.

published

Purchased in August 2009.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2009
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Dmac

DmacSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Slow off the mark

published
  • +1

Purchased in August 2017 for A$34,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Henry McK

Henry McKSydney, NSW

Car turned into a lemon overnight

published

Purchased in August 2013 for A$34,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Henry McK
Henry McK

It seems this is a common problem for Golfs of that era. You would think that VW Australia would do the right thing and compensate buyers of this model for what is quite clearly not worthy of the VW brand.

Kevin Hu

Kevin HuGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very unstable and problematic gearbox

published

We just use the car for a regular commuting to work and home. 8 years only 60K km. But the gearbox has been mulfunctioned for a few times. Recently got a very serious problem

Purchased in September 2011.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
GemmaG

GemmaGSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

The TSI 1.4litre manual Golf 2010 brought brand new - complete engine failure in Feb 2019

published

Purchased in June 2010 for A$38,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2010
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
GemmaG
GemmaG

Further to this: Under Australian consumer law any product, including vehicles are expected to last the reasonable life time for that type of product.

Terrible!

published

Had this car for 6 months and the gearbox started to shudder going between 1-2 gears. The dual clutch system was diagnosed to be faulty and was quoted 5k to fix!! Also blew a lot of oil from the turbo! Would never buy from Volkswagen again as they refused to fix either of the problems!

BodyHatch
Badge118TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John M.

John M.Melbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Repairs, Repairs and then more repairs

published

My Golf was fantastic to drive right up to 4years old and 100,000 kms THEN it all started. Radiator, Timing Chain, Horn, Brake Master Cylinder, Clutch Master Cylinder and the list goes on and on. Its just gone in for a new clutch today. Always serviced on time, driven by 40+ yo parent adult.

Complained to VW but they wont answer any questions (5+ emails over several months).

BodyConvertible
Badge118TSI
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedApr 2012
DodgyD

DodgyD

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

DSG mechatronic and clutch pack issues are real

published

VW have scandalously got away with sub standard quality on the transmission on these vehicles and the ACCC seem to be toothless in forcing them to stump up for repairs.

Our model had all the recall work done on it and yet the mechatronic still failed and cost me $4000 to repair. VW offered me a complementary service ~ $450...

Now there is the shuddering at pull-off from standstill. Don't know if this means the already replaced clutch packs (under recall) are gone again or not. VW want $187 to do a road test on it! That's customer service for you! NOT.

Why is Ford being slugged $10M yet VW getting away scott free? Go figure....

I think the key here seems to be get rid of a new VW before warranty expires.

BodyHatch
Badge90TSI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedApr 2015
George

GeorgeSydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

Biggest mistake of my life.

published

After getting promoted, I celebrated by buying a new Golf R, I spared no expense and was bowled over by the many test drives I completed. Everything was going well until the first service, keep in mind I’m a trained mechanic and pilot, but had to use them for warranty reasons - for the next year it was in and out, new turbos, new parts, leaks, electronics that would freeze and stutter and then it flat out wouldn’t start. Fair to say they don’t like the Aussie heat much, even so, rubbish car for the price.

BodyHatch
BadgeR
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedJan 2016
VASMAN

VASMANSydney, NSW

  • 14 reviews
  • 8 likes

I AM VERY UNDERSTANDING TO A POINT.

published
BodyHatch
Badge110TDI Highline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.8
Date PurchasedSep 2015
fdsaj

fdsajAU

  • 26 reviews
  • 23 likes

Rubbish

published

Well let's start with a positive.
It's a very nice car to drive, steers and handles well.
Otherwise we've had nothing but issues since we bought it in 2014.
We had the engine ticking noise which vw refused to admit until I insisted they fix it.
Now, just out of warranty, with only 10,000k we have the DSG/clutch shudder issue, which according to VW Five Dock is not something they will admit exists! Apparently it will cost around $3000 to fix though.
Seriously, don't buy a golf or any VW car with DSG.
And no comments from those who blame the driver please.

BodyWagon
Badge90TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedMay 2014
Page 1 of 3
See all Volkswagen Golf reviews

Questions & Answers

Rabi

Rabiasked

Golf Mk.7 Hatchback 103TSI (2013-2015)

What should I pay for a VII-MY14 Golf (highline), built 2013, Odometer 88,000 km

No answers
Karen B.

Karen B.asked

Golf Mk.7 (2013-2017)

I purchased my Golf SE mk7 over 2 years ago. The infotainment system stopped working 29th June2020 my warranty ran out on 4th July, problem was I was in lock down in Spain due to Corona virus and could not get a ferry crossing until 15th July. I called Volswagon in Vera Spain and earliest appointment was 10th July. They did the second service, 18000 miles on clock and investigated infotainment system. Paid 93 euros for service and was given a quote for 1,985 euros to replace the broken system as it was over the warranty. I called the volkswagen dealer where I bought the car they said to take it to my local dealer in Shrewsbury which I did as it needed its first mot. They agreed it was broken and needed replacing. Even though it was impossible to get back before the warranty expired the would only give me 20% off the bill and I would have to pay £1600 to have it replaced. Do u think this is fair?

No answers
George

Georgeasked

Golf Mk.5 (2004-2010)

2007 got sport TDI VW golf 2ltre turbo.
What does it mean when engine light comes on, than coil light flashes and exhaust light comes on???
Also since then my turbo stopped working

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 21 Volkswagen Golf
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and WagonsCars and WagonsCars and Wagons
Starting Price A$38,990A$38,490A$31,690A$35,750
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
Doors5555
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption5 L/100km5 L/100km5.6 L/100km6.8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L50 L55 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.04 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.8L
Max Power110kW @ 4000rpm110kW @ 4000rpm110kW @ 6000rpm132kW @ 6200rpm
Max Torque340Nm @ 1750-3000rpm340Nm @ 1750-3000rpm250Nm @ 1500-3500rpm280Nm @ 1350-4500rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Safety Features
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Compare all 21 Volkswagen Golf

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.