??!
28 photos
Volkswagen Golf

Volkswagen Golf

Mk.5, Mk.6, Mk.7, Mk7.5
3.8 from 305 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.1 (7)
  • Value for Money
    2.4 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (7)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (7)
  • Braking
    4.6 (7)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.4 (7)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.7 (7)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (7)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.6 (7)
  • Handling
    4.4 (7)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (7)
  • Boot Size
    4.1 (7)
  • Comfort
    4.1 (7)
  • Features
    3.6 (7)
Previous
Next
Ocean

OceanSouth East Queensland, QLD

Great to drive but going wrong a lot and hard to repair yourself

published

Purchased in May 2018 for A$10,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Mike

MikeMelbourne

  • 17 reviews
  • 24 likes

Poorly engineered to fail

published

Purchased in April 2012 at Brighton Volkswagen for A$47,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Steve F.

Steve F.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

VW 'lemon ' golf

published

my golf tsi turbo was initially a satisfying purchase , even over the warranty period i had multiple repairs recalls issues clutch gearbox blue motion high oil usage etc , hopefully things have improved in the last year or so

Purchased in January 2015 at vw waverley .

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sebling

SeblingSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

2010 TSI 118 was good until the engine failed, then a write off.

published

Purchased in October 2016 for A$16,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Kayla H.

Kayla H.Sydney, NSW

Cheap Budget Parts - Warning!

published

Purchased in February 2016 for A$50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Grant

Grant

  • 3 reviews
  • 16 likes

75000km and then take it to the junkyard

published

2011 model. Beautiful to drive.....reconditoned engine needed at 67000km ($6000). New water pump 74000km...($1200). Other random coolant leaks....a dog. Seems these problems are pretty common, read the other reviews! Was never driven hard. I'll never buy a VW again. Don't buy one of these second hand.

Purchased in January 2012.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Andrew-Morisset Park

Andrew-Morisset ParkSydney

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

Android Auto is unreliable and full of bugs

published

The idea is great and (when it works properly) it's terrific BUT it is so full of bugs. Every second time I plug my OnePlus 6 Android phone into the Android Auto USB it's hit or miss as to whether it will work... often it works for a while, then starts to wig out, e.g. won't read or take SMS messages, screen goes blank, stops functioning altogether. Have tried the new version and still same issues. Have removed the app and reloaded - no better. VW couldn't offer any help. Hopefully CarPlay works better for Apple users. These days I just use Bluetooth for music and forget about the other features.

zknight

zknightSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 32 reviews
  • 31 likes

European car built for Europe

published

Purchased in April 2019 for A$47,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Dee

DeeGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Be careful

published

The car is fun to drive, goes quick but i have trouble with my gear box sticking.
The autohold has failed on me a handful of times but not as much as the hand break! That button is faulty, mind you all these problems i am listing both my sisters new golf and they have the same issues.

Reverse camera hardly every works same as apple car play messaging.

Car is very small and the windows drum when you have them down.. horrible noise!
Says it runs at 4 /100kms but more like 7 and no i am not a lead foot.
Good quality seats mind you airconditioning clips have fallen off.

Gets a big fat MEH from me.. already upgraded 10 months on..
More of a first girls car.

BodyHatch
Badge92TSI
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.6
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mick

MickGeelong

Second Clutch second gear selector never again

published

With 3000 km on the clock stuck in south Australia on holidays the clutch failed and gear selector failed vw Australia was very poor in admitting it's a lemon the infortment system was also playing up not working not turning on this took over 12 months to fix. Now 55000 km on the clock we are back where we started. After fighting with Werribee vw the you best friends to sell you a car but when it all goes to crap they don't want to know you typical I would recommend a golf to anyone and as for vw Australia multi billion dollar company where your loyalty to customers wipe me like a piece of crap like you cars.

BodyHatch
Badge118TSI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedOct 2015
Snocap2028

Snocap2028berndr@highway1.com.au

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

From a dream car to a lemon within 4 years

published

Overall the driving experience has been fantastic with super quick acceleration from a stop at traffice lights. However in the last months of the warranty the DSG gearbox failed and was replaced under warranty but there was still some whining noise coming from the engine bay while driving and recently got worse with severe knocking noise.
The last straw was when a GEARBOX ERROR message appeared on the dash and nearly stalled the car mid driving. Took it back to my local VW dealer who advised that there was a major flaw with the Mechtronics which controlled the gears and mentioned that the whole gear box will need to replaced now. This has soured my taste for VW and will probably go back a reliable Toyota again.

BodyHatch
Badge90TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedOct 2013
1 comment
Snocap2028
Snocap2028

I have since had the gearbox replaced under warranty..thank god for that otherwise I would've been $10K out of pocket, but I still feel uneasy driving the Golf now since the exchange.

Yas

Yassydney

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not the best

published

It looks prettier then other options in similar price range but when you are a passenger at the back you do get dizzy, and naseous. The person we bought it from even advised that it is complicated and difficult to drive and warned my father that I had to get some soft of special license before I drove it.

BodyConvertible
BadgeBlueMOTION
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.8
Date PurchasedOct 2013
Ken

KenGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

DSG problem

published
BodyHatch
Badge90TSI Trendline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Ian

IanSYDNEY

Great drive while it lasts...

published

This is a great car to drive. It's comfortable, handles well and has plenty of power. Then the third piston cracks (wish I'd read those forums before I bought it) and it costs $15,000 to replace the engine or $8000 to recondition it.
Do yourself a favor and get something reliable.

BodyWagon
Badge118TSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Josh.

Josh.Adelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

VW Golf MK6 118tsi 7Spd DSG

published
BodyHatch
Badge118TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Engine Size1.4L Twin Charged
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
KellieL

KellieLSydney

  • 28 reviews
  • 8 likes

Hate this car so much .....

published

Words cannot express how much I hate this car - bought it new late last year and it is worst decision I ever made.

The camera does not work properly, Bluetooth cannot connect all the time and that is just two issues.

I was never a fan of the interior of this car but thought the standard equipment and drive would be worth it but the driving experience does not come close to making up for the sub-standard feel.

We are going on holiday at the end of next month for five weeks and the first thing we are doing upon our return is putting the car up for sale.

BodyHatch
BadgeGTI
TransmissionAutomatic
AlexL

AlexLSydney

Not happy with VW Golf MK7 (MY16)

published
BodyHatch
Badge110TSI Highline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4lt
kym17

kym17Perth, WA

  • 10 reviews
  • 12 likes

This is not quality!

published

I always wanted a Golf until I brought one. This is not quality. Under three years old and I've had to have the steering wheel, gear stick and hand break covers replaced - they put a cheap covering on them that looks great when you buy the car but, before long the top layering wears off! They won't replace under warranty or at least you have to really jump through hoops. I never thought I would say it but buy a Mazda or something like it instead. You won't regret it. Golfs are poorly made, lack quality and I just know after three years - you will regret it. Mine was brand new and I'm going back to a Mazda without a doubt! Don't do it.

BodyHatch
Badge90TSI
TransmissionManual

Terrible experience yet again with our 3rd Golf

published

Our car has only done 12,000klms and we had to replace the DSG clutch, rear brakes and shock absorbers. Will not be buying the VW brand or product anymore, don't let the salesperson con you into it.

Engine SizeTSi
TransmissionDSG
Page 1 of 2
See all Volkswagen Golf reviews

Questions & Answers

Rabi

Rabiasked

Golf Mk.7 Hatchback 103TSI (2013-2015)

What should I pay for a VII-MY14 Golf (highline), built 2013, Odometer 88,000 km

No answers
Karen B.

Karen B.asked

Golf Mk.7 (2013-2017)

I purchased my Golf SE mk7 over 2 years ago. The infotainment system stopped working 29th June2020 my warranty ran out on 4th July, problem was I was in lock down in Spain due to Corona virus and could not get a ferry crossing until 15th July. I called Volswagon in Vera Spain and earliest appointment was 10th July. They did the second service, 18000 miles on clock and investigated infotainment system. Paid 93 euros for service and was given a quote for 1,985 euros to replace the broken system as it was over the warranty. I called the volkswagen dealer where I bought the car they said to take it to my local dealer in Shrewsbury which I did as it needed its first mot. They agreed it was broken and needed replacing. Even though it was impossible to get back before the warranty expired the would only give me 20% off the bill and I would have to pay £1600 to have it replaced. Do u think this is fair?

No answers
George

Georgeasked

Golf Mk.5 (2004-2010)

2007 got sport TDI VW golf 2ltre turbo.
What does it mean when engine light comes on, than coil light flashes and exhaust light comes on???
Also since then my turbo stopped working

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 21 Volkswagen Golf
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and WagonsCars and WagonsCars and Wagons
Starting Price A$38,990A$38,490A$31,690A$35,750
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
Doors5555
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption5 L/100km5 L/100km5.6 L/100km6.8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L50 L55 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.04 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.8L
Max Power110kW @ 4000rpm110kW @ 4000rpm110kW @ 6000rpm132kW @ 6200rpm
Max Torque340Nm @ 1750-3000rpm340Nm @ 1750-3000rpm250Nm @ 1500-3500rpm280Nm @ 1350-4500rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Safety Features
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Compare all 21 Volkswagen Golf

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.