??!
28 photos
Volkswagen Golf

Volkswagen Golf

Mk.5, Mk.6, Mk.7, Mk7.5
3.8 from 305 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    2.7 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (2)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (3)
  • Braking
    4.7 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.7 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.7 (3)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.7 (3)
  • Handling
    5.0 (3)
  • Interior Design
    4.7 (3)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (3)
  • Features
    4.3 (3)
Previous
Next
Lina F.

Lina F.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Extremely Disappointed!

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2009
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
WeWantValue

WeWantValue

  • 13 reviews
  • 15 likes

A bit below expectations for a 2018 car

published
BodyHatch
Badge103TSI Highline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedDec 2018
Miggy.o

Miggy.o

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Wish i bought a Toyota

published

I use my gti mk7 as a everyday car with modifications and iv been having issues not with my sport modifications but with simple yet expensive standard features such as corner light sensors and cruise control systems. The car just doesn't feel like a high end car after 1 yr. Feels like a old abused car although i take care of it and get it serviced. Wish i had bought a Toyota.

BodyHatch
BadgeGTI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
C.lee

C.leePerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car but needs better QC

published

MK7 GTI owner, best hatchrocket ever driven, slick design and beautiful interior. However, continuously rattling keep bothers me so now I'm switch to a higher level brand than VW, the engine mount needed strengthen, it vibrates in an abnormal way under hard acceleration which is what this car designed for.

BodyHatch
BadgeGTI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Jeff

Jeff

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not the most reliable car

published
BodyHatch
Badge92TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Fed up

Fed upMelbourne

Useless Apple CarPlay

published

Bought a new 2017 VW Trendline last June. Have had difficulty connecting Apple CarPlay from day one. Often comes on but there is no sound. Often won’t connect at all. Car has been in four times for this problem. At first I was told the problem was with iPhone 5. Have subsequently changed to iPhone 7 but this hasn’t solved the problem. VW have advised that the IOS 11.1 is too high for the Apple CarPlay. How can they sell a car that is supposed to be compatible with Apple CarPlay when it doesn’t function properly? Isn’t this misleading and deceptive conduct and/or false advertising?

BodyHatch
BadgeBlueMOTION
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedJun 2017

good build but disappointing drive at low speed

published
BodyHatch
Badge103TSI Highline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedJun 2015
Tim

TimGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

2015 tsi. Unacceptable turbo lag and bizarre reverse camera screen

published
BodyHatch
Badge90TSI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.6
Date PurchasedOct 2015
den

denSydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

Nice car but don’t get fooled

published

I own 2014 be golf 90 tsi.. bought it brand new from the dealer..Very nice car to drive, superb handling, cosy cabin, everything looks luxurious, big boot, nice touch screen, however, it has numerous issues: 1) turbo lag. Especially city driving 2) expensive to fix problems I terms of parts 3) expensive service annually around $400 minimum, 4) big issue with DSG..and if your has transmission filaure while your warranty is over then it would be really exp to fix.( mine had issue in transmission after 2 year..)Hence, I wouldn’t recommend especially any second hand purchase as well as brand new..hope this helps and I don’t work for any car companies..

BodyHatch
Badge92TSI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
frogger

froggerSydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Feature Packed but Unreliable

published
BodyHatch
Badge90TSI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Denis

DenisMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

good car but it does have its problems

published

Have had this car for a while now, and i can see why the dsg transmission is sucha problems for these.

Everything else is very good, ride quality, confort, space inside the car, petrol consumption anbd overall quality of trim.

The only problem is the DSG. taking of uphill and going at low speeds it is very stuttering and does not seem to know when to shift into 1st and 2nd gear. sometimes feels like it stalls the engine.
Also never leave it parked ona steep hill with not much fuel as you wilkl have problems starting the engine!

Other than the transmission, mechanically it is a very sound car. Perhaps get a manual instead or one after the dsg issue has been fixed.

BodyHatch
Badge90TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.2
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Nick

NickMurray Region, NSW

  • 18 reviews
  • 12 likes

Wonderful Car is most respects, except reliability.

published
BodyHatch
Badge90TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedSep 2015
jlsta

jlstaMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Let down.

published
BodyHatch
Badge118TSI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.6
Date PurchasedJul 2013

Major engine failure - golf repaired for free

published

Major engine failure on my 118 TSI petrol manual golf. Piston failure. Complete engine replacement - <50K on clock. Golf came to the party on 100% parts and labour despite car being 1.5 yrs out of warranty. Driven around town only. One 500km round trip longest drive. Full service history in time limits undertaken by golf dealers

BodyHatch
Badge118TSI Comfortline
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedNov 2011

Good car but BECOMES expensive

published

2 warranty recalls, 1 warranty repair (and a snow trip cut short in the middle of the trip), in 6 years and 60,000 km, left indicator replaced (AUD 450), rear hood light stopped working (not worth spending AUD 265 to fix it), and clutch replaced (AUD 2,560), none of them related to aggressive driving (there was never any). The maths - cheaper to fix the car than buy another one! Does it make you happy though? No.!!

BodyHatch
Badge118TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedNov 2010
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
howard g

howard gSydney, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 17 likes

VW Golf 92TSI Comfortline (MY2017) with Driver Assistance Package option,....a mixed bag.

published

Purchased in January 2017 at VW Artarmon for A$31,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Mr. Fix it

Mr. Fix itVictoria

  • 22 reviews
  • 24 likes

Quite a mixed bag!

published

Purchased in June 2016 for A$36,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Michael

MichaelShellhabour

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Going, Going, gone....

published
BodyHatch
Badge90TSI Comfortline
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Engine Size1.4
Page 1 of 2
See all Volkswagen Golf reviews

Questions & Answers

Rabi

Rabiasked

Golf Mk.7 Hatchback 103TSI (2013-2015)

What should I pay for a VII-MY14 Golf (highline), built 2013, Odometer 88,000 km

No answers
Karen B.

Karen B.asked

Golf Mk.7 (2013-2017)

I purchased my Golf SE mk7 over 2 years ago. The infotainment system stopped working 29th June2020 my warranty ran out on 4th July, problem was I was in lock down in Spain due to Corona virus and could not get a ferry crossing until 15th July. I called Volswagon in Vera Spain and earliest appointment was 10th July. They did the second service, 18000 miles on clock and investigated infotainment system. Paid 93 euros for service and was given a quote for 1,985 euros to replace the broken system as it was over the warranty. I called the volkswagen dealer where I bought the car they said to take it to my local dealer in Shrewsbury which I did as it needed its first mot. They agreed it was broken and needed replacing. Even though it was impossible to get back before the warranty expired the would only give me 20% off the bill and I would have to pay £1600 to have it replaced. Do u think this is fair?

No answers
George

Georgeasked

Golf Mk.5 (2004-2010)

2007 got sport TDI VW golf 2ltre turbo.
What does it mean when engine light comes on, than coil light flashes and exhaust light comes on???
Also since then my turbo stopped working

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 21 Volkswagen Golf
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and WagonsCars and WagonsCars and Wagons
Starting Price A$38,990A$38,490A$31,690A$35,750
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
Doors5555
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption5 L/100km5 L/100km5.6 L/100km6.8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L50 L55 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.04 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.8L
Max Power110kW @ 4000rpm110kW @ 4000rpm110kW @ 6000rpm132kW @ 6200rpm
Max Torque340Nm @ 1750-3000rpm340Nm @ 1750-3000rpm250Nm @ 1500-3500rpm280Nm @ 1350-4500rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Safety Features
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Compare all 21 Volkswagen Golf

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.