??!
28 photos
Volkswagen Golf

Volkswagen Golf

Mk.5, Mk.6, Mk.7, Mk7.5
3.8 from 304 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    5.0 (25)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (25)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (25)
  • Noise Level
    4.5 (24)
  • Braking
    4.9 (24)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.7 (25)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.7 (24)
  • Suspension
    4.6 (24)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.6 (25)
  • Handling
    4.9 (24)
  • Interior Design
    4.8 (23)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (23)
  • Comfort
    4.7 (24)
  • Features
    4.7 (23)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Beardy Bonce

Beardy BonceSydney, NSW

  • 20 reviews
  • 11 likes

Performance and practicality ...love it

published

Bought privately in Jan 2020 when the car was c 18 mths old.
This is primarily a commuter car (c40 kms per day during the week) with a bit more fun and spirited driving at the weekends. The service intervals are annually ( just had the 3 year service completed)...but i intend to get an interim oil change at the 6 month mark.
OEM Bridgestone tyres lasted 34000kms.
Ive had the infotainment screen replaced under warranty without any fuss from the dealer.
The stop/start system is a bit hit and miss...sometimes it works , sometimes not....but this seems to be a common issue across VW group cars with this emission reducing function.
After owning the car for a year, it still makes me smile :)

Purchased in January 2020 at private purchase for A$26,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Johnny

JohnnyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

The best all-rounder hatch on the market.

published

Purchased in March 2018 for A$16,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
John J.

John J.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Best car ever owned

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Devesh D.

Devesh D.Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great small car

published

Bought it in 2015 from vw kloster newcastle.tuns smooth as a whistle . Never had any trouble so far.done more than 100k . Worth every cent . Pickup is excellent along with fuel efficiency. Maneuverability is a class of it's own

Purchased in January 2015 for A$35,250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Harry S.

Harry S.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect, high milage car

published

Had this baby for about two years now. Had a prang and panel easily fixed by the beater. Great for roadtrips, a full tank I can get over 1,000km of highway driving.

Cons: Only negative is it takes 95 fuel. Service through dealer kind of expensive but can use any other centre for decent price

Purchased in May 2018 at VW dealer for A$22,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

Super cute

published

Bought about a year ago and have had no issues! Love it so much and is sooo zippy and good on fuel. Best hatch on the market by far and would recommend to everyone

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Vanessa

Vanessa

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Brilliant small car

published

Diesel engine goes forever. Easy to park and feels as safe as a tank. Great city or country drive. Has plenty of power over taking. Even survived kangaroo encounters on country roads. Brilliant car. 10/10

Purchased in February 2010 for A$37,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2010
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Nel

NelGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Comfortable car

published

This is my second VW golf. I traded in my old VW golf when the odometer read 220,000 kms. The car is very comfortable to drive and I feel the car is safe as well. Good size for me. I have trouble finding just the right size for me with other brands. Went test driving Merc B series, Volvo V40 but still liked golf the best.

Purchased in September 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Comfort
See all answers
Kaz

KazGeelong

  • 14 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great Pereformance with practicality

published

The VW Golf R Wagon is the perfect family car with great performance. I've had mine for 6 months now and have zero complaints. It's got plenty of space for my two kids in the back. The car packs loads of technology (i.e. digital cockpit, apple carplay, safety tech).

Purchased in September 2019 for A$55,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JessC

JessCSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent little car

published

Bigger than it looks, spacious, comfortable to drive in and very responsive. This is my second Golf and it has out performed the previous 2016 model so far. Good design and is an excellent car.

Purchased in December 2019 for A$30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Happy Camper

Happy CamperGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews

This car is simply perfect

published

Great car all round. Handling, performance, styling (inside and out) and liveability are all the facets that make this car a great daily driver, and a little 'fun' when you want to. Driving in Race mode, and sports shift is where its at, but will hit your fuel economy. IF you drop back to Comfort mode or Eco, you can get economy down to 6-7L per 100km on the open road. The only downside is that i cant hook up a towball due to the AWD and exhaust system at the back end, but i have a second car that tows anyway. Will def buy again!

Purchased in March 2017 at Jackson Motor Company for A$60,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
grnow

grnowSydney

  • 21 reviews
  • 8 likes

Brilliant car - great perceived quality

published

After 9 years with Tiguan TSI, it was time to upgrade/downgrade to a Golf. We were happy with the Tiguan, but didnt need the AWD and wanted something more economical.
The Golf is practical, fuel efficient, safe, quick, comfortable and a great perceived quality (everything just feels good quality). And when it comes with 5 years warranty, it just sealed the deal for us.
The service cost is more than a Toyota Corolla, but at least we do not need to visit the service centre every 10,000km

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Ray

Raymelbourne

  • 16 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great small car

published

looks professional, smart and trended. great performance with a turbo engine and fuel-saving stop-start technology. the most important, it has 5 stars safety rating. you can feel the difference from the Korean car by closing the doors.

Purchased in June 2018 for A$25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Robert

RobertGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Volkswagen Golf Highline R line

published

Second Golf purchased this one with a higher spec R Line sports package. Drives amazingly and it handles great. These Golfs are quality builds everything feels very soiled and well made, have never had an issue

Harley

HarleyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Performance and comfort. So fun!

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Volkswagen Dealers for A$26,850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Emily R.

Emily R.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Owner and driver of 4 years~!

published

Have owned my mrk6 GTI for almost 4 years and done 110,000kms since buying, only major issues I've had owning it has been the water pump needed replacing @ 60,000kms (which is VERY common) and new coil packs @ 100,000kms (also common VW issue), other than that, its ran perfect! No gearbox issues, very reliable on fuel doing over 700kms to a 55L tank. Very quick daily, good to have power when you need it and don't get stuck in trouble getting out of places. Love my little red rocket to the moon and back!

Purchased in September 2015 for A$28,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Tom C.

Tom C.North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic car all around

published

I have owned my car for 2 years now and done 40,000km and it hasn't missed a beat. The fuel economy is excellent, usually around 6.5l/100km in town and 5.5l/100km highway driving. I also use it to tow my boat (500kg) and it does it with ease. I would recommend this car to anyone who wants an affordable yet comfortable hatch that is brilliant to drive.

Purchased in June 2017 for A$27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Samir C.

Samir C.Gippsland, VIC

  • 2 reviews

excellent car.

published

normal daily use.
Often on short trips and less for long trips.
no issues as yet and do not expect any. A pleasure to drive . very smooth responses. Excellent features overall.

Purchased in March 2019 at Berwick Motor Group.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
pomhall

pomhallGold Coast

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

But its not a Golf GTI, mine is....

published

Car has commuted, school run, family holiday, camping, you name it we have Golfed to it. The car is used daily and the DSG has not missed a beat in 11 years. The car I used daily and is fantastic to drive, quick when required, comfortable sporty I love this car. Serviced initially by VW then by EMW it continue to go past 150K KMS. Its starting to get an oil leak and other problems on a ball joint but what service she has given me.

Purchased in June 2008 at James Frizelle's Automotive Group for A$50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2008
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Mr_coz1

Mr_coz1

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Exceptional customer service from VW Australia

published

Purchased in January 2019 for A$15,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Page 1 of 8
See all Volkswagen Golf reviews

Questions & Answers

Rabi

Rabiasked

Golf Mk.7 Hatchback 103TSI (2013-2015)

What should I pay for a VII-MY14 Golf (highline), built 2013, Odometer 88,000 km

No answers
Karen B.

Karen B.asked

Golf Mk.7 (2013-2017)

I purchased my Golf SE mk7 over 2 years ago. The infotainment system stopped working 29th June2020 my warranty ran out on 4th July, problem was I was in lock down in Spain due to Corona virus and could not get a ferry crossing until 15th July. I called Volswagon in Vera Spain and earliest appointment was 10th July. They did the second service, 18000 miles on clock and investigated infotainment system. Paid 93 euros for service and was given a quote for 1,985 euros to replace the broken system as it was over the warranty. I called the volkswagen dealer where I bought the car they said to take it to my local dealer in Shrewsbury which I did as it needed its first mot. They agreed it was broken and needed replacing. Even though it was impossible to get back before the warranty expired the would only give me 20% off the bill and I would have to pay £1600 to have it replaced. Do u think this is fair?

No answers
George

Georgeasked

Golf Mk.5 (2004-2010)

2007 got sport TDI VW golf 2ltre turbo.
What does it mean when engine light comes on, than coil light flashes and exhaust light comes on???
Also since then my turbo stopped working

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 21 Volkswagen Golf
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and WagonsCars and WagonsCars and Wagons
Starting Price A$38,990A$38,490A$31,690A$35,750
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
Doors5555
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption5 L/100km5 L/100km5.6 L/100km6.8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L50 L55 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.04 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.8L
Max Power110kW @ 4000rpm110kW @ 4000rpm110kW @ 6000rpm132kW @ 6200rpm
Max Torque340Nm @ 1750-3000rpm340Nm @ 1750-3000rpm250Nm @ 1500-3500rpm280Nm @ 1350-4500rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Safety Features
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Compare all 21 Volkswagen Golf

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.