??!
3 photos
Volkswagen Passat B6 MK6

Volkswagen Passat B6 MK6 (2006-2011)

3.5 from 30 reviews

Reviews

3.5

30 reviews
5
(13)
4
(5)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(7)
  • Build Quality
    2.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.7 (3)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (3)
  • Handling
    4.3 (3)
  • Braking
    4.0 (3)
  • Suspension
    3.7 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    2.7 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.7 (3)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (3)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (3)
  • Features
    3.7 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.7 (3)
Previous
Next

Terrible transmission Very expensive to fix

published

I had the Passat for 1 year and it was nothing but trouble from the start. Transmission problems, EPC lights coming on and other issues too. Costs an arm and a leg to fix and not all mechanics touch European cars and even auto-electricians shy away from VW's.

Interior is nice, with quality touches here and there but overall a very bad experience. Probably wont ever buy a VW or Audi in future.
Terrible!

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Zoot

ZootPerth, WA

I will NEVER purchase another VW (Passat or sny VW for that matter)

published

Purchased in March 2011 at Volvo dealership for A$30,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Jason

JasonPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews

Automatic transmission is a money pit

published

Purchased in July 2014 at AHG (Automotive Holdings Group) for A$21,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sedans

Find out how Volkswagen Passat B6 MK6 compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Don't!

published
BodyWagon
Badge130TDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Not Reliable Emission Software Downgrade the performance

published
BodySedan
Badge125TDI
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedJun 2009
John A

John AGold Coast

  • 8 reviews

The best car I have ever owned.

published

I bought my Passat Highline 2 litre diesel wagon in 2010 and have had 7 years of wonderful service from it. The car is so comfortable, powerful and yet frugal. It has been very reliable, never letting me down once. The only issue I have had is the air conditioning compressor which has been replaced twice but all done under warranty.

BodyWagon
Badge125TDI Highline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedMay 2010
BlackPeter

BlackPeterCanterbury, New Zealand

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

2006 TDi - great to drive, lots to break and dear to fix

published
BodyWagon
Badge2.0 TDi
TransmissionMaunal
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Grommit

GrommitSouthwest, VIC

  • 11 reviews

Don't Buy a Passat

published
BodySedan
Badge125TDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedOct 2008
Steve H

Steve HMid North Coast, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Jekyll and Hyde

published

1200km+ on average per tank of diesel. Comfort and handling great. Noise quiet but do not use run flat or puncture-proof tyres...they are extremely noisy. Like all VWs the "sword of damacles" lies in the expensive repairs ie $4,000 DSG6 transmission/gearbox replacement, lousy dealer and service, expensive parts and servicing, company denial of faults.

BodySedan
Badge103TDI
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedSep 2014
Sedans

Find out how Volkswagen Passat B6 MK6 compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Hasie

HasieGold coast

  • 2 reviews

Trouble free motoring

published

A comfortable saloon. Easy handling and good fuel economy. Interior controls are well organised and comfortable when driving, After all these years NO problems and never let me down. Maintenance cost are reasonably within the budget. serviceing dealers are within easy reach . Servicing costs are within budget. Satified owner and driver.

BodySedan
Badge46000.00
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedMay 2006
Scotty

ScottyCanberra

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent all round vehicle with maximum safety and reliability

published

Owned a 2010 2.0 125TDI Highline Wagon since new and have now done 90,000km.
Couldn't speak highly enough of it.
Ultra reliable, very strong engine, super smooth auto DSG gearbox.
Not one single breakdown or issue.
Super quiet on the road (Continental tyres)
Handles superbly, great power.
Very very economical; under 5.0 l/p 100 km hwy and 7 - 8 l / p100 around town.
If buying, just ensure good service history.
I've helped two friends find excellent used examples and they have both proven to be excellent used cars fro 15 - 20 k

BodyWagon
Badge125TDI Highline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size2.0
CanberraNat

CanberraNatAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

3.2V6 4-Motion. Best wagon I have ever owned - brilliant

published

After many many wagons including 4 BMWs (that in the main were problematic & under-powered) I decided to give the VW Passat V6 a try. What a car! Powerful, superb handling, very well appointed & comfortable. 6 spd DSG is faultless & I have had ZERO issues. Just a brilliant piece of German engineering. It's a shame the 3.2 V6 has been discontinued as it is a great engine. When I next change cars I will certainly be looking to get a VW again.

BodyWagon
BadgeV6
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size3.2
Chris

ChrisNSW, 2114

  • 9 reviews

Great Performance Sedan

published
BodySedan
BadgeR36
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size3.6
Date PurchasedMay 2011
ryballs

ryballsWA, 6168

  • 10 reviews

2010 Volkswagen Passat 147TSI Wagon: Powerful yet sophisticated and a pleasure to drive.

published
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionDSG
Badge147TSI
BodyWagon
1 comment
ryballs
ryballs

Turns out the turbo was the culprit. Got a new turbo and now the car doesn't use any oil at all.

Volkswagen Passsat TDI 2007

published

Great family car. Reliable,fuel efficient,solid on the road easy and cheap to maintain .It is a luxury car with all the prestigious trimmings. I would have to Question people that speak badly about this car. Are they sales people for other brands?. If money is tight for use your local garage, there is nothing technical about these cars.6.6l/100klms and 4.8l/100klms on highway. Hand brake switch is only $90 from main dealer and a DIY job. Sold ours recently with 245,000klms on clock from new, trouble free. bought new model. Take care of your car and it will take care of you.
Fuel,Reliable,Comfort,Cheap and easy maintain.Value for money
Under estimated

TransmissionDSG
Engine Size2.0
BodySedan
1 comment
Mcb
Mcb
Sedans

Find out how Volkswagen Passat B6 MK6 compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Brillant until it breaks down!

published
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionDSG
BodySedan

Brilliant Buy

published

I have owned this car for nearly two years and it has not missed a beat. I have the diesel wagon which has outstanding fuel economy and terrific acceleration both from a standing start and in overtaking situations. It is a refined and quiet vehicle that is a pleasure to drive over long distances.
Fuel efficiency, comfort, legroom

Engine Size2.0
TransmissionDSG
BodyWagon
Badge125TDI

Avoid-Rubbish Car, Rubbish Service. 2007 Model, 2.0 Diesel, 6 Speed DSG.

published
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionDSG
BodyWagon
5 comments
surferret
surferret

I am currently have a nightmare/bungle/slimy purchase experience with Tweed Heads VW and when I eventually get my car I am very reluctant to take it to them or lismore for service. Can you tell me who is the expert in Capalaba.

Arnold Marsupial
Arnold Marsupial

Try Alba European. I haven't been to him, but he sounds like he knows what he's talking about. Bryan Byrt VW in Capalaba have been problematic, but have at least been trying to help.

Arnold Marsupial
Arnold Marsupial

Now driving 5hr return trip to Coffs Harbour for servicing at Geoff King. Seem to know what they're doing.

OK

published

TDI Model - It is a good car but the turbo lag is dangerous. Make sure you have a good test drive and really suss out this issue.
Great fuel economy
1.Turbo Lag - Its a real problem and VW service don't like hearing about it - Put your foot down and wait 2-3 seconds for a response it not good enough these days2. Turning Indicator is on the wrong (European) side3. Speed indicator is red on a black backgroud so if our one of the 20% of males that has some red colourblindness, it is impossible to read most of the time.

TransmissionDSG
2 comments
Paul13
Paul13

What issue..as I have had mine for three years and don't understand what your talking about

A W
A W
stepback68

stepback68

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Excellent

published
BadgeV6
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size3.2
Page 1 of 2
See all Volkswagen Passat reviews

Questions & Answers

Nick

Nickasked

Passat B6 MK6 (2006-2011)

Hi Steve,
I'm not if my question directly to you last night would have reached you, so thought I'd also do as a question to your review. Apologies up front if you read my question twice....

I have a 2009 Passat TDI 125kw with DSG6. Done 205,000 km and I've had since start 2014 with 80,000km.

Been a great car and had no issues since 2014. But then all of a sudden the gearbox decided to die three weeks ago. Flashing gear selector on the dash, and only going into first gear.

Took it to the auto transmission mechanic who suggested after doing a scan that it needed changing of one of the solenoids for $950 fitted. Presume this is one of the solenoid a in the mechatronic. This didn't fix problem. So they said $4500 for new mechatronic unit or take car to wreckers for $500.

Have since taken car to small mechanic who is looking for second hand DSG to install.

I see you replaced DSG. Can you please share any advice, such as where to source. Auto Trans man told me I can't do it.

2 answers
Rob
Rob

Hi Nick ... I was sent your query in error I think as it is addressed as Hi Steve and I am Rob ... Sorry I can't assist ....hope you get the issue resolved.

Nick
Nick

Hi Rob,
Thanks for your reply and this advice.
I will try to see if I can this query again, but to Steve.
Regards,
Nick.

A Avtamat Kalashnikov K

A Avtamat Kalashnikov Kasked

Passat B6 MK6 (2006-2011)

Hi, which dsg gearbox oil the best for vw passat b6 .2006 .2.0tdi diesel?

1 answer
Steve H
Steve H

checkout runautoparts on ebay for VW gearbox oil and filters. I source most other genuine vw parts from e-bock in Europe to sidestep VW dealerships and exorbitant prices for VW spares in Australia.

cp24

cp24asked

Passat B6 MK6 (2006-2011)

Does anyone else drive a VW in country areas? We have a 2012 Passat Wagon, and it draws in dust like nothing else. Does anyone have an Alltrack, and does it draw in dust?? Thanks....

2 answers
Joanne06
Joanne06

Hi, we drive mainly in city areas and if you are talking about the vehicle throwing up dust behind it as it's being driven, we do notice the rear becomes dirty in less than 10 days after washing it where as the rest of the car is relatively clean. If you are talking about dust being drawn into the cabin whilst driving (without windows open, of course), this is unusual and not meant to happen, I'd be taking it up with Volkswagen. We haven't driven on a dirt track of any substantial length in ours to know if it happens to our car. The only other thing that occurs to me is that we notice the chassis will flex slightly at low speed when manoeuvring diagonally over changes in gradient (e.g. cross-overs that are steep compared to the road, or curbs or sharp speed bumps) causing the doors to move slightly and I can hear the 'pop' as the seals release and then re-engage, maybe this is happening on dirt roads?

cp24
cp24

Thanks Joanne, yes, I've noticed the 'flex' thing happening too! Good word for it, as I never knew how to describe it ;) We live on a farm, so it's doing a fair bit of dirt driving. Awesome handling, just a dust sucker. Have taken it up with VW, new seals etc etc, and lots of photos taken, door tightened, however, it never really fixes the problem. I'm scared we'll inherit the same problem if we get another Passat or the Alltrack :( Hence putting this question out there :)

Get an answer from our members

Other Sedans

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.