??!
11 photos
Volkswagen Polo

Volkswagen Polo (page 2 of 5)

MK5.II 6R, MK5.I 6R, MK4 9N, AW
3.6 from 91 reviews

Reviews

3.6

91 reviews
5
(37)
4
(17)
3
(13)
2
(8)
1
(16)
  • Build Quality
    3.3 (6)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.4 (5)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (6)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (5)
  • Handling
    4.2 (5)
  • Braking
    4.6 (5)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.2 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.6 (5)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (5)
  • Boot Size
    4.2 (5)
  • Features
    3.6 (5)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (5)
Previous
Next
jme

jme

  • 4 reviews

little car that is a pleasure to drive

published

although it may look small on the outside, the inside is quite spacious for a person that is 6ft. it is really good on petrol, only 6L/100km which saves me alot of money in the long run. it handles really well in all conditions, even off road. the inside is very luxurious and feels alot more expensiv than it really is. the speaker system works better than most other cars i have been in.

Badge81TSI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.4L Turbo Petrol
Doors5
Date PurchasedMay 2010
Lindsay5710

Lindsay5710Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 11 reviews
  • 11 likes

Awesome small car!

published

Bought the POLO for my wife after HEAPS of research. The Polo came out tops so we took the plunge and bought new. Went for all options, Driver comfort package and very impressed. Love the once/year servicing ( every 10 months with the k's my wife does ). Fixed price servicing is good also. Very economical getting around 700 k's to the tank (around $40). One or two annoying rattles that should get sorted at next service. Now looking to upgrade to new model early this year.

Badge81TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Doors5
Date PurchasedOct 2015
Atara

AtaraSydney

  • 4 reviews

Best car on the market and fuel efficient

published

This car is so smooth and quiet while driving.
I love how great the acceleration and breaks work with ease. It is no noisy at all and you barely hear the engine on.

The car is perfect size for city living and easy to park.

It fits a car seat comfortably and fits a small family. However would not suit ab obese family as space is quit small.

Badge66TSI Trendline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.4L Petrol
Doors5
Date PurchasedJun 2015
Hatchbacks

Find out how Volkswagen Polo compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chrissy

ChrissyMelbourne

  • 8 reviews

Zippy car

published

Very good and responsive car. Used to drive a honda civic and this car has changed my driving experience. Great engine for the size of the car.
Could do with better speakers. You'll need to pump at least unleaded 95 but I find a full tank usually lasts me for 2 weeks and I drive around ~650km for work.

BadgeGTI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2015
RJames

RJamesMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Perfect city car

published

Excellent excellent excellent! After months of research I purchased this. The look and feel is top notch given the price range. Android auto works great for those long drives. The sports mode on the car is exceptional. Howver the best is the fuel usage..a full tank covers around 700 km

Badge81TSI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Kasey

Kasey

  • 7 reviews

Great car to drive

published
Badge66TSI Trendline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.2L Turbo Petrol
Doors5
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Rebecca

RebeccaGold Coast

  • 3 reviews

Great little car

published

I purchased my polo in January this year and it has been a great little car so far, very small engine but when the turbo kicks in has more than enough power. Have had one fault with the A/C but once fixed under warranty hasn't been fine. It has the new Apple car play connectivity which I love, modern interior and super fuel efficient $59 to fill and I'm getting 2 weeks from a tank, very economical. One negative is the stop start engine feature, I turn this off every time I get in the car but that is just a personal preference. Overall very happy with my purchase.

Badge66TSI Trendline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.2L Turbo Petrol
Doors5
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Great to drive. An absolute pain to own.

published
Badge81TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.2L Turbo Petrol
Doors5
Date PurchasedJan 2016
1 comment
davros
davros
Ming

MingBrisbane

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Not bad ~

published

The driving experience was very good the interior is not bad, but couple of months later the car engine start to have a really really loud sound when going down the hill. I thought it is normal and didn't really pay attention. UNTIL one day i realized my garage had a full leakage of my coolant. I went and get my car serviced and my radiator was broken. i was told that i am just very unlucky and it cost be a fortune to get it fixed. other than that the car is very cost effective to fun.

Badge81TSI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016
Doors5
Hatchbacks

Find out how Volkswagen Polo compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Shell

ShellCairns

  • 5 reviews

The BEST car

published

My Polo is my baby! It’s such a beautiful car to drive, really good fuel economy, the turbo is always fun - surprisingly quiet too. I just love my polo! There isn’t anything I don’t like about it. The interior is lovely, all the centre console is slight angled towards the driver which is cool. Plenty of boot space & enough long room in the back! I don’t think I’ll even get another brand of vehicle ever!

Badge77TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4L Turbo Petrol
Doors5
Date PurchasedJun 2012
Kimt

KimtGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews

2011 VW Polo 1.6tdi nightmare

published
Badge66TDI Comfortline
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.6L Turbo-Diesel
Doors5
Date PurchasedJan 2015
Jaysun

JaysunSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great zippy car

published

I purchased this car as my daily as I didn't want to many km on the car i use for work

Servicing is a tad high, but that is the price of going European. Even though it looks small on the outside it is roomy which is pleasing. I got both upgrade options on the Polo GTI

it is zippy & easy to drive, highly recommended.

BadgeGTI
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Saz_26

Saz_26Sydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews

Love it

published

Had this car for 2 years now. Not cheap on servicing but so worth it. Amazing fun to drive and never had an issue. Definitely recommend. Didn't bother with the extras like reverse cameras and do not think they are needed. Still not sold on the ugly pattern on the seats though. Wish I could have got standard black.

BadgeGTI
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedJul 2015
Morgzz

MorgzzRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 16 reviews

Great light car.

published
BadgeTDI
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Mia U.

Mia U.

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love it!

published

Bought this second hand car a year ago and its still drives like a dream! It's a 2012 VW Polo TDI with the sports package and comfort package with panoramic sunroof. People mistake it as a Golf all the time... AND YES DIESEL! It has not failed me at all, even after the emission recall. Its zippy, practical and comfortable for city driving. Cannot fit five adults though - very crammed! Other than that, I am going to be keeping the car for a long while :)

Badge66TDI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.6L Turbo-Diesel
Doors5
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Hatchbacks

Find out how Volkswagen Polo compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lois

Lois

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my car

published

I bought this car with the driver assist package and it is awesome. It practically drives itself. It is quiet, zippy and comfortable to drive. Head rests could be improved. They are not particularly comfortable. It is very reliable and cheap to run. Also they use fancy oil so you only have to have one service a year. All the modern features make driving a pleasure. The only problem is it does not have a GPS, due to an incompatibility with the sound system.

BadgeGTI
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedAug 2015
Shirely Sze

Shirely SzeBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good small car

published

bought this car one year ago everything been great but the radiator breakdown after 6 months driving it. The service guy said that a small rock has hit the radiator and the overheated the car. They said this is very rare that will happen and i am just unlucky that it happened on a brand new car. I also found that when i go down hill the engine creates a really loud sound. Other than that the small car been great and it is great on fuel cost. I use approx $50/week - runs at 500km.

Badge81TSI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Jessie

JessieMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

It's perfect for me

published

As a young adult on my P's having a Volkswagen Polo makes me feel very safe and secure. It uses very little petrol. Around $50 can last more than a week and its service fees are also very cheap (only once a year). I believe that is also has a very strong engine, it can reach the speed you'd like to go at a very quick rate of time.

BadgeGTI
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.2L Turbo Petrol
Doors3
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Intheend

IntheendAU

  • 6 reviews

Zippy little car

published
Badge66TSI Trendline
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2016
MLZA

MLZASydney

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic small car

published

I've got the Polo Trendline 66TSI 1.2L and it's super easy to drive, very fuel efficient and I love the features- such as plug in USB for music, ignition switch off at traffic lights, hooks for shopping bags.
It's a bit small though if you have got kids and need to lug around strollers/scooters/bikes and the like.
It's a pretty responsive and powerful car given its only 1.2L and it goes up hills beautifully.

BadgeTrendline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.2L Turbo Petrol
Doors5
Date PurchasedSep 2015
See all Volkswagen Polo reviews

Questions & Answers

Judi W.

Judi W.asked

Polo

Hi I have a 2010 TDI and recently when I start the car the clock has been going back to zero, so has the KM readings and also today the cruise control ha stopped working. Any ideas on what the problem could be? Your suggestions greatly appreciated.

1 answer
Nugget
Nugget

No idea on what would cause that. But if it was my car I would take it to a VW service centre.

Janet W.

Janet W.asked

Polo

My niece bought a VW Polo in 2015 and had issues with the AC during the warranty period. Its now out of warranty and the service centre is now admitting to the problem (after having it back to them several times this year to fix AC) being a major one. We would be very interested to hear if anyone else has had similar issues as we think VW should be responsible for this repair.
Thanks
Janet

1 answer
Nugget
Nugget

It sounds as if it's a Warranty matter. If the AC problem occurred during the Warranty period, was brought to the dealers attention at the time, and was not then fixed I think it remains a Warranty issue. That arguement is strengthened if the dealer now concedes that the problem is the one they were told about under Warranty.

David

Davidasked

Polo

Are the polo diesel 2012 dpf?

1 answer
Fired Up
Fired Up

Ask VW

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.