??!
1 photo
Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 103TDI

Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 103TDI (2008-2012)

3.4 from 34 reviews

Reviews

(7)
(12)
(5)
(6)
(4)
    MrSkinner

    MrSkinnerGold Coast

    • 7 reviews
    • Verified purchase

    German engineering at its best!!

    published

    We use the Tigaun as a family car, it's very spacious and comfortable! Plenty of room for 5 people and our puppy, serviced every 10,000 kilometers. Mechanic said this is a very reliable and fuel efficiency is excellent! We love the turbo diesel and will definitely be purchasing a future model

    Badge103TDi
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Date PurchasedDec 2018
    Angus S

    Angus SSydney, NSW

    • 6 reviews
    • 5 likes

    Great Car

    published

    Recently purchased a used 2008 TDi model for my son. Came with a near new tow bar and the full sun roof. A one owner well maintained car.
    I am really impressed with this car. Good solid well build German engineering. Runs on the smell of an oily rag. Happy to recommend this as a great family car.

    Badge103TDi
    TransmissionManual
    Date PurchasedJul 2018
    1 comment
    Angus S
    Angus S

    in fact so good that we just got our daughter a 2012 TSI Pacific model with only 36,000kms and full leather interior.
    A really nice car indeed.

    NiL C

    NiL CAU

    • 7 reviews
    • 1 like

    Nice car

    published

    Can carry many goods when I need. has been driven the car over 6 years and never had a big problem. it is now 180km and as good as new., always do the job. i think the upgrade one is now even better and will consider to get a new one soon.

    Badge103TDi
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Date PurchasedDec 2009
    Midsize / Medium SUVs

    Find out how Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 103TDI compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all

    Might run good for a while but when there is a problem, you're stuck!

    published

    Stick to Japanese eg. Toyota, mitsubishi, honda etc or Korean eg. Hyundai, Kia. If you buy a VW, when a problem occurs (and inevitably it will), parts and servicing are EXTREMELY expensive. It's a European car!! My Tiguan just died one day. Wouldn't start at all. Got stranded in the middle of the night. Nrma couldn't even tow it because it has an electronic handbrake so this had to be disengaged first. What a nightmare! An intermittent electrical fault is the issue. Way to hard a job for your local mechanic without the specialised diagnostic equipment. Off to the VW dealer. Several weeks and a few thousand dollars later and still no fix. VW Tiguans really are the motorists worst nightmare! Don't risk it. Stay away from VW like the plague.

    Badge103TDi
    TransmissionManual
    Date PurchasedJun 2015
    Disgruntled VW Owner

    Disgruntled VW OwnerAdelaide, South Australia

    VW rubbish

    published

    First the diesel emissions debacle, then the air con packed it in, now have a coolant n oil leak on a car with less than 64k km on the clock.
    My suggestion, stay away.
    The old VY Commodore I had was a better more reliable drive n infinitely cheaper n easier to fix.

    Badge103TDi
    TransmissionManual
    Date PurchasedDec 2012
    Adz

    AdzFremantle

    • 7 reviews
    • 5 likes

    TDI is excellent.

    published
    Badge103TDi
    TransmissionDSG
    Date PurchasedApr 2017
    Gazza

    GazzaGippsland, VIC

    • 7 reviews

    Great car.

    published

    It's hard to believe I've had this car for 7 years. I'm about to click over 170,000.
    Whilst there has been some expensive fixes ( main belt , and faulty aircon) , I have been quite happy with this diesel car.
    My tow bar is handy , and the all wheel drive puts you totally at ease and in control . I'd buy another one,
    Cheers.

    Badge103TDi
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Date PurchasedSep 2010
    vwtiguan

    vwtiguanbrisbane

    Unreliable $40K car

    published

    I bought this VW Tiguan 2011, 103 TDI model. We were weighing between Subaru forester and VW Tiguan and I chose the obvious wrong one.
    Pros: Stable car with no blind spots.
    Cons: 1. interior rear cup holder broke in first year.
    Air con malfunctioning in the 2nd year.
    Was part of 2 recalls.
    DSG broke down in 5 years time.
    now faulty steering rack.
    Lucky nothing ontowards happened to my family but I would not buy a Unreliable car for $40k next time. I hope you do not make the same mistake I did.

    Badge103TDi
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Date PurchasedMar 2011
    NatnLuke

    NatnLuke

    • 2 reviews

    Really love the car, but the engine design is seriously problematic!

    published
    Badge103TDi
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Date PurchasedJul 2015
    Midsize / Medium SUVs

    Find out how Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 103TDI compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    JJ41

    JJ41Southwest, VIC

    • 41 reviews

    OK but another brand next time

    published
    Badge103TDi
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Date PurchasedSep 2010
    Michael P

    Michael P

    • 2 reviews
    • 6 likes

    Top Tig 1

    published
    Badge103TDi
    TransmissionAutomatic

    2011 Tiguan 103 TDI

    published
    Badge103TDi
    TransmissionDSG

    Pleasure to Drive but a worry

    published
    Badge103TDi
    TransmissionDSG
    Peejay

    PeejayCaloundra

    2009 Tiguan 103tdi

    published
    Badge103TDi
    TransmissionAutomatic
    3 comments
    Peejay
    Peejay
    Peejay
    Peejay
    Peejay
    Peejay

    OK except for electrical gremlins.

    published
    Badge103TDi
    TransmissionDSG
    Midsize / Medium SUVs

    Find out how Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 103TDI compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    aj2251

    aj2251Central Coast

    • 30 reviews
    • 23 likes

    When I drive, I often still think of how much I love this car!

    published
    Badge103TDi
    TransmissionManual
    ozmuth

    ozmuthSouth East Queensland, QLD

    • 8 reviews

    The car runs well, as long as there is no repair service required.

    published
    Badge103TDi
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Mike

    MikeNewcastle

    • 3 reviews
    • 6 likes

    ECU Issues

    published

    Apart from a problem with the ECU which put the car into limp mode and it was off the road for two days, we have really liked the vehicle. Handles well, fuel usage is excellent, good pulling power (I tow a camper). Found selling dealer had less than good customer handling practices so gave them the flick.

    Transmission can be tricky. Try driving up a steep driveway to connect to a trailer, tap the brake and then go back to the accelerator and it just rolls forward like its in neutral! Very tricky and dangerous!

    TransmissionDSG
    Badge103TDi
    VW-Never Again

    VW-Never AgainLake Macquarie

    • 2 reviews
    • 11 likes

    I've sworn off VW for life after my Tiguan experience

    published
    Badge103TDi
    TransmissionManual
    4 comments
    VW-Never Again
    VW-Never Again
    BARRA
    BARRA

    transmisson &torbo oil leaks 2013 tiguan been @service depart over the part 14 months for 24 days

    VW-Never Again
    VW-Never Again

    Great handling, no-fuss driving

    published
    Badge103TDi
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Page 1 of 2

    See all Volkswagen Tiguan 5N reviews

    Questions & Answers

    Sorry, there are no questions about Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 103TDI (2008-2012) but you can read 19 questions about Volkswagen Tiguan 5N.

    Get an answer from our members and Volkswagen representatives

    Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

    Previous
    Next

    ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.