??!
Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 103TDI

Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 103TDI (2008-2012)

3.4 from 34 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

Previous
Next
MrSkinner

MrSkinnerGold Coast

  • 7 reviews

German engineering at its best!!

published

We use the Tigaun as a family car, it's very spacious and comfortable! Plenty of room for 5 people and our puppy, serviced every 10,000 kilometers. Mechanic said this is a very reliable and fuel efficiency is excellent! We love the turbo diesel and will definitely be purchasing a future model

Badge103TDi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
Angus S

Angus SSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great Car

published

Recently purchased a used 2008 TDi model for my son. Came with a near new tow bar and the full sun roof. A one owner well maintained car.
I am really impressed with this car. Good solid well build German engineering. Runs on the smell of an oily rag. Happy to recommend this as a great family car.

Badge103TDi
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2018
1 comment
Angus S
Angus S

in fact so good that we just got our daughter a 2012 TSI Pacific model with only 36,000kms and full leather interior.
A really nice car indeed.

NiL C

NiL CAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Nice car

published

Can carry many goods when I need. has been driven the car over 6 years and never had a big problem. it is now 180km and as good as new., always do the job. i think the upgrade one is now even better and will consider to get a new one soon.

Badge103TDi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2009
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 103TDI compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Might run good for a while but when there is a problem, you're stuck!

published

Stick to Japanese eg. Toyota, mitsubishi, honda etc or Korean eg. Hyundai, Kia. If you buy a VW, when a problem occurs (and inevitably it will), parts and servicing are EXTREMELY expensive. It's a European car!! My Tiguan just died one day. Wouldn't start at all. Got stranded in the middle of the night. Nrma couldn't even tow it because it has an electronic handbrake so this had to be disengaged first. What a nightmare! An intermittent electrical fault is the issue. Way to hard a job for your local mechanic without the specialised diagnostic equipment. Off to the VW dealer. Several weeks and a few thousand dollars later and still no fix. VW Tiguans really are the motorists worst nightmare! Don't risk it. Stay away from VW like the plague.

Badge103TDi
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2015
Disgruntled VW Owner

Disgruntled VW OwnerAdelaide, South Australia

VW rubbish

published

First the diesel emissions debacle, then the air con packed it in, now have a coolant n oil leak on a car with less than 64k km on the clock.
My suggestion, stay away.
The old VY Commodore I had was a better more reliable drive n infinitely cheaper n easier to fix.

Badge103TDi
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2012
Adz

AdzFremantle

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

TDI is excellent.

published
Badge103TDi
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Gazza

GazzaGippsland, VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great car.

published

It's hard to believe I've had this car for 7 years. I'm about to click over 170,000.
Whilst there has been some expensive fixes ( main belt , and faulty aircon) , I have been quite happy with this diesel car.
My tow bar is handy , and the all wheel drive puts you totally at ease and in control . I'd buy another one,
Cheers.

Badge103TDi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2010
vwtiguan

vwtiguanbrisbane

Unreliable $40K car

published

I bought this VW Tiguan 2011, 103 TDI model. We were weighing between Subaru forester and VW Tiguan and I chose the obvious wrong one.
Pros: Stable car with no blind spots.
Cons: 1. interior rear cup holder broke in first year.
Air con malfunctioning in the 2nd year.
Was part of 2 recalls.
DSG broke down in 5 years time.
now faulty steering rack.
Lucky nothing ontowards happened to my family but I would not buy a Unreliable car for $40k next time. I hope you do not make the same mistake I did.

Badge103TDi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2011
NatnLuke

NatnLuke

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Really love the car, but the engine design is seriously problematic!

published
Badge103TDi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 103TDI compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JJ41

JJ41Southwest, VIC

  • 43 reviews
  • 22 likes

OK but another brand next time

published
Badge103TDi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2010
Michael P

Michael P

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Top Tig 1

published
Badge103TDi
TransmissionAutomatic

2011 Tiguan 103 TDI

published
Badge103TDi
TransmissionDSG

Pleasure to Drive but a worry

published
Badge103TDi
TransmissionDSG
Peejay

PeejayCaloundra

2009 Tiguan 103tdi

published
Badge103TDi
TransmissionAutomatic
3 comments
Peejay
Peejay
Peejay
Peejay
Peejay
Peejay

OK except for electrical gremlins.

published
Badge103TDi
TransmissionDSG
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 103TDI compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
aj2251

aj2251Central Coast

  • 30 reviews
  • 23 likes

When I drive, I often still think of how much I love this car!

published
Badge103TDi
TransmissionManual
ozmuth

ozmuthSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 19 likes

The car runs well, as long as there is no repair service required.

published
Badge103TDi
TransmissionAutomatic
Mike

MikeNewcastle

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

ECU Issues

published

Apart from a problem with the ECU which put the car into limp mode and it was off the road for two days, we have really liked the vehicle. Handles well, fuel usage is excellent, good pulling power (I tow a camper). Found selling dealer had less than good customer handling practices so gave them the flick.

Transmission can be tricky. Try driving up a steep driveway to connect to a trailer, tap the brake and then go back to the accelerator and it just rolls forward like its in neutral! Very tricky and dangerous!

TransmissionDSG
Badge103TDi
VW-Never Again

VW-Never AgainLake Macquarie

  • 2 reviews
  • 12 likes

I've sworn off VW for life after my Tiguan experience

published
Badge103TDi
TransmissionManual
4 comments
VW-Never Again
VW-Never Again
BARRA
BARRA

transmisson &torbo oil leaks 2013 tiguan been @service depart over the part 14 months for 24 days

VW-Never Again
VW-Never Again

Great handling, no-fuss driving

published
Badge103TDi
TransmissionAutomatic
Page 1 of 2
See all Volkswagen Tiguan 5N reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 103TDI (2008-2012) but you can read 24 questions about Volkswagen Tiguan 5N.

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 18 Volkswagen Tiguan 5N
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price A$35,990
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT) and Manual
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDiesel
Wheels16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Doors5
Seats5
Fuel Consumption6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 64 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power103kW @ 4200rpm
Max Torque320Nm @ 1750-2500rpm
Country of ManufactureGermany
Safety Features
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
Extra Features
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2008
Discontinuation dateDec 2012
Compare all 18 Volkswagen Tiguan 5N

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.