??!
1 photo
Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 132TSI

Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 132TSI (2011-2016)

3.6 from 10 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.6

10 reviews
5
(5)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(2)
  • Build Quality
    3.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (3)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (3)
  • Braking
    4.0 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.7 (3)
  • Suspension
    3.3 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.3 (3)
  • Handling
    4.3 (3)
  • Interior Design
    3.7 (3)
  • Boot Size
    3.7 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (3)
  • Features
    3.7 (3)
Previous
Next
nessjez

nessjez

  • 41 reviews
  • 29 likes

Almost 100% happy

published

Purchased in June 2020 for A$56,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

Best SUV I've owned

published

Absolutely love it!
Very well built, comfortable and economical SUV that has the edge on many other similar priced vehicles. Handling is excellent and ride is very good and quiet.
Ive driven a lot of SUV's of this size and price and I reckon the Tiguan 2 ltr turbo petrol is as good or better than most. Had no issues whatsoever. Love this piece of German engineering!

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Fair Go

Fair GoFair Suck, Of The Saveloy

  • 17 reviews
  • 339 likes

OVER PRICED RUBBISH

published

We purchased a 2014 132 TSI Pacific, 7 speed DSG with only 58,000km's five months ago and have had nothing but problems with it.
Initially, our insurer advised us that Tiguans are really over priced in the used car sector so be careful what you buy.
In five months, the car has been back to the dealer for leaking oil at the bottom of the engine near the timing chain, timing chain tension replacement, transmission problems and sunroof jamming.
$20,000 down the drain if you ask me when you have this many problems. Should have bought a Hyundai or Kia I think.

Purchased in June 2019 for A$19,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Fair Go
Fair Go
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 132TSI compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Susan S

Susan SSouthbank

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

So much better and roomier than the previous generation

published

We love our Tiguan, it has all the benefits of the Golf but with a great ride hide and comfort. We had the previous Tiguan and found while good, it lacked the space to be a true family SUV. The current Tiguan is just perfect in so many ways, the size, power and features.

Badge132TSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015
Raz

RazSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

2012 VW Tiguan 132 TSI Pacific

published

I had this car since new and have nothing but praise did about 110K and was issue free and the engine was powerful and very smooth to drive and the quality was top notch, It has been in 3 hail storms on highway still not a mark...now thats what I call quality, Sadly had to sell it as we were after 7 seater and VW allspace didn't have enough room for our requirement.
miss our little tiguan.

Badge132TSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2012
Rob

RobPoint Cook

132Tsi oil consumption

published
Badge132TSI
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedSep 2012
MEYSAM GHANBARI

MEYSAM GHANBARISydney

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Excellent, Strong

published

I've had my car since 2012 and I bought it new. Gorgeous internally and externally. I love this car, it doesn't say no to whatever you want from it. Braking system works really well. At least in 3 different circumstances, the car stopped and saved perfectly millimetres away from the other car in front of me.

Badge132TSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2012
rit

ritSydney, NSW

  • 30 reviews
  • 7 likes

Creature comforts included

published

It is a very comfortable car to drive - there's no bumps on the road driving through the burbs. It has the modern media functions - in-car call features and instantly taps to the android or iphone. But with the fancy assist parking and rear camera, it is still a beast to park, especially since it is a wider car. I have been avoiding parking spaces where I would have parked with our other car. And I have had problems with this car - the catalytic converter indicator came up - had to take it to the dealer, they plugged it into the laptop and turned the light off, and recently it started kangaroo hopping which needed a service.

Badge132TSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2014
V..ery W..orried

V..ery W..orriedSouth West, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

2013 VW Tiguan OIL USEAGE

published
Badge132TSI
TransmissionManual
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 132TSI compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Solid built, no issues

published

Have a Jan 2013 132TSI, automatic, non-DSG. Fully optioned, great car. Interior is great, well laid out and high quality. No issues whatsoever. Handles great with plenty of power and excellent brakes. Servicing can be a bit expensive and the fuel usage is around the 12L/100km. Country drives see it drop to around 9L/100km.

Badge132TSI
TransmissionAutomatic
See all Volkswagen Tiguan 5N reviews

Questions & Answers

Joanne

Joanneasked

5N 132TSI (2011-2016)

What does the MY15 and MY16 mean with the 2015 models

1 answer
Larry
Larry

One is my2015 made 2015 model and my16 could be 2015 made 2016 model or 2016 made 2016 model

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 18 Volkswagen Tiguan 5N
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price A$36,990
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT) and Manual
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels17" Alloy
Doors5
Seats5
Fuel Consumption8.8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 64 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power132kW @ 4300rpm
Max Torque280Nm @ 1700rpm
Country of ManufactureGermany
Safety Features
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
Extra Features
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2011
Discontinuation dateDec 2016
Compare all 18 Volkswagen Tiguan 5N

Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.