??!
6 photos
Volkswagen Tiguan 5N

Volkswagen Tiguan 5N (2008-2021) (page 2 of 8)

Also referred to as: Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 2020 and Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 2022. 103TDI, 132TSI, 147TSI, etc...
3.6 from 160 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.2 (29)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (27)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (27)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (27)
  • Braking
    4.3 (27)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (28)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.1 (26)
  • Suspension
    3.7 (26)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.7 (27)
  • Handling
    4.3 (26)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (26)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (26)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (26)
  • Features
    4.2 (26)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
GHI

GHISouth East Queensland, QLD

Tiguan 162 TSI RLINE 2019

published

Bought this to replace a Passat as easier to get in and out of at my age. Is very easy to drive and very comfortable to travel in.
Has adjustable suspension settings for Sport or Comfort etc
Is very well appointed and has a myriad of electronic functions.
We just use it for occasional running around and the odd trip of 100km or more.
Is reasonably economical but uses 95 octane so a little more expensive to run
Only had it for 5 months and no problems so far

Purchased in March 2019 for $57,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Sarah

SarahSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Economical and a joy to drive

published

Purchased in March 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Xin Hui

Xin HuiGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

FEEL LIKE I HAVE DONE THE BEST PURCHASE EVER

published

I just purchased this car about a month ago. It is mainly used for daily commute - for work.

My family and I just love how spacious this Allspace edition Tiguan is. It is a 7-seater but when you do not need that extra two seats (mostly meant for children), you get a bigger boot space!

We are happy with the luxury, driving assistance and sound and vision packs too. These packs make driving a more pleasant thing to do and it helps heaps with the parking too! The panoramic sunroof is another bonus to the car!

I would definitely recommend people to get this car if they want something that is not too expensive yet feels expensive!

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Volkswagen Tiguan 5N compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Aaron A.

Aaron A.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Best Car I've Owned

published

This is our weekend car. Its used mostly by my partner. We have already had the screen replaced under warranty and had the Panoramic Sunroof harness changed under a service campaign. But the car is great. Made in Germany.

Purchased in May 2018 at Kevin Denis VW for $54,750.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Peter

PeterSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best bang for your buck.

published

Best bang for your car vehicle. I purchased the r-line option and it looks great. It is great external and internal and has a punchy engine. No better car for the price tag.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
See all answers
kristian.karov

kristian.karovPerth, WA

  • 13 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good, quick and and mostly reliable car

published

Got the 2010 125kW TSI Tiguan some 9 years ago. Good acceleration (best among SUV), car like dynamics (compared to other SUV). Average city mileage. Not without flaws. Battery changed when 5 yo. Tyres changed at only 40K. A major issue was the water pump when 8 year old (an expensive $1400 service). Quite thirsty in town(11/100), economy increases greatly (8/100) on the freeway. Supercharger getting noisy lately. Would i buy another? If handling and road manners are important, then yes, if luxury and cabin comfort are more important, than my wife's CRV feels/ looks better.

Purchased in June 2010.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2010
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Kane

KaneGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 25 reviews
  • 26 likes

Volkswagen Tiguan 5N Highline Worst car Ive owned very disappointing.

published

Purchased in June 2018 for $66,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Bijay

BijaySouth East Queensland, QLD

Intake manifold problem

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Dealer for $10,125.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Anni

AnniAU

  • 10 reviews

Love It

published

I bought my 2017 Tiguan froma gentleman who had owned it for about 12 months. It is lovely to drive, very comfortable and has all the features you would expect.
I like the way it handles and the reversing camera. perhaps I was easy to please I had previously owned a Polo which was a wondeful car too. The Tiguan has great seating positions so is very comfortable for a long drive.

Purchased in January 2018 at Private Seller.

Build Quality
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Volkswagen Tiguan 5N compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Paul

PaulThe Mallee, VIC

  • 50 reviews
  • 58 likes

I just LOVE my New VW Tiguan Special Edition Wolfsburg 4WD SUV!!!!

published

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
pcaman2003

pcaman2003Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 20 reviews
  • 13 likes

GREAT VALUE SUV

published
Badge132 TSI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
DriveAWD
mayon

mayonGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Perfect for small family

published

After doing lot of research bought tiguan 118 tsi..it s perfect suv for small family with young kids,for every day use ..i m getting 8 l /100..
Good mileage in summer than winter . haven't had any problem yet .

Purchased in November 2014 for $31,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Yoyo

YoyoBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent car

published

Love this car, come with any additional, safety we want, luxury comfort vehicle. Love the driving assistance, panorama sunroof, leather seats, keyless entry and engine start. The most important thing is auto drive, especially on the motorway, the car is driving itself, which is realisable. Love the shape and sporty look with 4 motion drive.

Badge132 TSI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
Steensmatt214

Steensmatt214Sydney

  • 3 reviews

Perfect economical family car!!

published

We purchased the VW Tiguan Allspace 6 weeks ago brand new and couldn’t be happier!! It is the perfect size for our family and the extra seats have come in handy on numerous occasions. We purchased the 2.0L Turbo Diesel and it fuel efficiency is outstanding!! We use this car for our everyday driving to and from school drop off, work and kids after school activities. So plenty of short local trips done. Have also done a couple of long distance trips to test fuel consumption and couldn’t be happier!! Well done VW you have produced a reliable and economical family car.

Badge140 TDI Highline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
DriveAWD
Toasty

ToastyBlue mountains

Beware new VW buyers. Dishonest. Known common faults on many models. Read our experience

published
Badge147TSI
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedDec 2011
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Volkswagen Tiguan 5N compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MrSkinner

MrSkinnerGold Coast

  • 7 reviews

German engineering at its best!!

published

We use the Tigaun as a family car, it's very spacious and comfortable! Plenty of room for 5 people and our puppy, serviced every 10,000 kilometers. Mechanic said this is a very reliable and fuel efficiency is excellent! We love the turbo diesel and will definitely be purchasing a future model

Badge103TDi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
Susan S

Susan SSouthbank

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

So much better and roomier than the previous generation

published

We love our Tiguan, it has all the benefits of the Golf but with a great ride hide and comfort. We had the previous Tiguan and found while good, it lacked the space to be a true family SUV. The current Tiguan is just perfect in so many ways, the size, power and features.

Badge132TSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015
purplethings

purplethingsGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 31 reviews
  • 2 likes

Lovely car to drive, would like to see some improvements in the newer models

published

Purchased in May 2018 at Ferntree Gully Volkswagen.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
See all answers
Kitty M

Kitty MMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Lovely little car

published

LOVE this car so much! It's such a joy to drive and easy to navigate. There is plenty of space within the car without it being super bulky. It has great speed and great modifications. I am very tall so get very uncomfortable on long drives but the Tiguan is super comfy and added bonus that it looks super smart too. :)

Badge130TDi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Denis G

Denis GGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 4 likes

Best car I've owned

published
Badge110 TDI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Page 2 of 8
See all Volkswagen Tiguan 5N reviews

Questions & Answers

Robyn

Robynasked

Tiguan 5N (2008-2021)

We have a 2017 VW Tiguan 132 Comfortline with 32,000klms recently the water pump has failed & is currently @ VW Dealership awaiting to see if Volkswagen is going to do the repairs under an extended warranty as it is only 2 months out of warranty. Has anyone else had the same problem & what was the outcome. We have been told it will cost $400 for the pump & $600 labour.

1 answer
dzeno
dzeno

Fix it and sell the car if is 2017 model and water pump failed the what to expect whats next

Tony A.

Tony A.asked

Tiguan 5N (2008-2021)

What are the bad faults?

1 answer
dzeno
dzeno

Since I purchased my car I have replaced the following parts which are common issues for lots of people. Cluch kit which cost me more than $3000
The roof was leaking as is sunroof so i`ve put silicon on the plastic tubes,because of the leak roof liner was gone had to replace that, the roof curtain stopped working new one cost more then $1000.00
After that intake manifold replaced it twice as it fails all the time,next fuel injectors replaced then fuel pump failed, after that started leaking so main seal was replaced
I can only say one thing would not recommend this car to worse of enemy

Kyle R.

Kyle R.asked

Tiguan 5N (2008-2021)

Hi, I am interested in purchasing a used tiguan 2012 Pacific 132tsi 6spd auto. It's in immaculate condition, no leaks no issues. Regularly serviced and only ever had ulp petrol. Kept in car garage overnight well looked after. 2 owners

It has 205,000 km on the clock. Am I buying into a money trap if I go ahead with this purchase? ($12000)

2 answers
Lorraine
Lorraine

I hope you didn't buy it. My 2012 Tiguan has 138000 on the clock and has cost $3500 in turbo, ECP and water pump replacement. Issues with front passenger door hinge and fuel actuator problem so I can't get fuel in the car without whacking the fuel door. Now it is going to cost an extra
5000 because with all of the work done the piston issue wasn't diagnosed

Kyle R.
Kyle R.

Ended up with a nissan dualis 2013 with 130,000 on the odo. Only had one owner. Tiguan didnt sound like a good idea

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 18 Volkswagen Tiguan 5N (2008-2021)
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $50,150$51,650$43,150$44,650
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels19" Alloy19" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption8.1 L/100km8.3 L/100km7.5 L/100km7.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L60 L60 L60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power162kW @ 6200rpm162kW @ 6200rpm132kW @ 6000rpm132kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 1600-4200rpm350Nm @ 1600-4200rpm320Nm @ 1500-3940rpm320Nm @ 1500-4387rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyMexicoGermanyMexico
Safety Features
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Intelligent Speed Adaptation (ISA)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,500 kg2,400 kg2,500 kg2,400 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2016Jan 2018Jan 2016Jan 2018
Compare all 18 Volkswagen Tiguan 5N (2008-2021)

Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.