??!
18 photos
Volkswagen Tiguan 5N

Volkswagen Tiguan 5N (2008-2020) (page 2 of 8)

Also referred to as: Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 2019 and Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 2021. 103TDI, 132TSI, 147TSI, etc...
3.6 from 155 reviews

Reviews

3.6

155 reviews
5
(59)
4
(41)
3
(12)
2
(20)
1
(23)
  • Build Quality
    4.2 (24)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (22)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (22)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (22)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (23)
  • Handling
    4.3 (21)
  • Braking
    4.2 (22)
  • Suspension
    3.6 (21)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (21)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (22)
  • Interior Design
    4.1 (21)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (21)
  • Features
    4.1 (21)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (21)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

kristian.karov

kristian.karovPerth, WA

  • 11 reviews

Good, quick and and mostly reliable car

published

Got the 2010 125kW TSI Tiguan some 9 years ago. Good acceleration (best among SUV), car like dynamics (compared to other SUV). Average city mileage. Not without flaws. Battery changed when 5 yo. Tyres changed at only 40K. A major issue was the water pump when 8 year old (an expensive $1400 service). Quite thirsty in town(11/100), economy increases greatly (8/100) on the freeway. Supercharger getting noisy lately. Would i buy another? If handling and road manners are important, then yes, if luxury and cabin comfort are more important, than my wife's CRV feels/ looks better.

Purchased in June 2010.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Kane

KaneGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 19 reviews

Volkswagen Tiguan 5N Highline Worst car Ive owned very disappointing.

published

Purchased in June 2018 for A$66,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Bijay

BijaySouth East Queensland, QLD

Intake manifold problem

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Dealer for A$10,125.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Volkswagen Tiguan 5N compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Anni

AnniAU

  • 8 reviews

Love It

published

I bought my 2017 Tiguan froma gentleman who had owned it for about 12 months. It is lovely to drive, very comfortable and has all the features you would expect.
I like the way it handles and the reversing camera. perhaps I was easy to please I had previously owned a Polo which was a wondeful car too. The Tiguan has great seating positions so is very comfortable for a long drive.

Purchased in January 2018 at Private Seller.

Build Quality
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers
Paul

PaulThe Mallee, VIC

  • 45 reviews
  • 5 likes

I just LOVE my New VW Tiguan Special Edition Wolfsburg 4WD SUV!!!!

published

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
pcaman2003

pcaman2003Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 17 reviews

GREAT VALUE SUV

published
Badge132 TSI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
DriveAWD
mayon

mayonGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Perfect for small family

published

After doing lot of research bought tiguan 118 tsi..it s perfect suv for small family with young kids,for every day use ..i m getting 8 l /100..
Good mileage in summer than winter . haven't had any problem yet .

Purchased in November 2014 for A$31,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Yoyo

YoyoBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent car

published

Love this car, come with any additional, safety we want, luxury comfort vehicle. Love the driving assistance, panorama sunroof, leather seats, keyless entry and engine start. The most important thing is auto drive, especially on the motorway, the car is driving itself, which is realisable. Love the shape and sporty look with 4 motion drive.

Badge132 TSI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
Steensmatt214

Steensmatt214Sydney

  • 3 reviews

Perfect economical family car!!

published

We purchased the VW Tiguan Allspace 6 weeks ago brand new and couldn’t be happier!! It is the perfect size for our family and the extra seats have come in handy on numerous occasions. We purchased the 2.0L Turbo Diesel and it fuel efficiency is outstanding!! We use this car for our everyday driving to and from school drop off, work and kids after school activities. So plenty of short local trips done. Have also done a couple of long distance trips to test fuel consumption and couldn’t be happier!! Well done VW you have produced a reliable and economical family car.

Badge140 TDI Highline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
DriveAWD
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Volkswagen Tiguan 5N compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Toasty

ToastyBlue mountains

Beware new VW buyers. Dishonest. Known common faults on many models. Read our experience

published
Badge147TSI
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedDec 2011
MrSkinner

MrSkinnerGold Coast

  • 7 reviews

German engineering at its best!!

published

We use the Tigaun as a family car, it's very spacious and comfortable! Plenty of room for 5 people and our puppy, serviced every 10,000 kilometers. Mechanic said this is a very reliable and fuel efficiency is excellent! We love the turbo diesel and will definitely be purchasing a future model

Badge103TDi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
Susan S

Susan SSouthbank

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

So much better and roomier than the previous generation

published

We love our Tiguan, it has all the benefits of the Golf but with a great ride hide and comfort. We had the previous Tiguan and found while good, it lacked the space to be a true family SUV. The current Tiguan is just perfect in so many ways, the size, power and features.

Badge132TSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015
purplethings

purplethingsGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 28 reviews

Lovely car to drive, would like to see some improvements in the newer models

published

Purchased in May 2018 at Ferntree Gully Volkswagen.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
See all answers
Kitty M

Kitty MMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Lovely little car

published

LOVE this car so much! It's such a joy to drive and easy to navigate. There is plenty of space within the car without it being super bulky. It has great speed and great modifications. I am very tall so get very uncomfortable on long drives but the Tiguan is super comfy and added bonus that it looks super smart too. :)

Badge130TDi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Denis G

Denis GGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 10 reviews

Best car I've owned

published
Badge110 TDI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Volkswagen Tiguan 5N compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Andy D.

Andy D.Kiama NSW

Nice dry weather car

published

Front sensors and cruise control can cease to operate in light rain. Sales staff say they are unaware of the problem. Our car is early 2017 model and Management were saying at the time they were unaware of the problem, it's happened to us 5 times in 16 months and we know how dry it's been, now there saying refer to the Manual which says it can happen in extreme wet conditions, who reads the manual before they buy a car, and it can happen in any sort of wet conditions. VOLKSWAGON HAS IGNORED ALL OUR COMPLAINTS, AND NOW SAY THE CASE IS CLOSED.

Angus S

Angus SSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great Car

published

Recently purchased a used 2008 TDi model for my son. Came with a near new tow bar and the full sun roof. A one owner well maintained car.
I am really impressed with this car. Good solid well build German engineering. Runs on the smell of an oily rag. Happy to recommend this as a great family car.

Badge103TDi
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2018
1 comment
Angus S
Angus S

in fact so good that we just got our daughter a 2012 TSI Pacific model with only 36,000kms and full leather interior.
A really nice car indeed.

Raz

RazSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

2012 VW Tiguan 132 TSI Pacific

published

I had this car since new and have nothing but praise did about 110K and was issue free and the engine was powerful and very smooth to drive and the quality was top notch, It has been in 3 hail storms on highway still not a mark...now thats what I call quality, Sadly had to sell it as we were after 7 seater and VW allspace didn't have enough room for our requirement.
miss our little tiguan.

Badge132TSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2012
JP roller

JP rollerGordon 2906, ACT

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Tiguan R line

published

We’ve replaced our beloved Amarok with another veedub only because the Amarok didn’t have rear passenger airbags. We are actually glad we’ve made the swap because this model is leap and bounds from the previous model it replaced. The look first and foremost, looks mean and aggressive with its lines and bulges. The R line made this even a head turner with its 20in wheels and smoked lights. The extras we’ve got made this like an autonomous car, car assist and added safety features were most welcomed and works well. It’s definitely a solid build and the only gripe is because it’s so good, I see a lot of it on the road. Lastly, it drives like a petrol, meaning it’s quiet and the torque! It’s awesome.

Badge140 TDI Highline
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedJun 2018
Regular Joe

Regular JoeAU

  • 6 reviews

Frugal featured monster

published

Love this car, economy is 7 or below on 95ion unleaded. Love the sunroof and digital dash. Can’t really fault this car, would of loved the LED updated headlights reserved for the top spec, but this is the base model with and Audi stable engine. Happy motoring guys and girls. Oh and kids love this car due to their own air con, table on the back of front seat chairs, and the seating height.

Badge110 TSI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Page 2 of 8
See all Volkswagen Tiguan 5N reviews

Questions & Answers

Jess

Jessasked

5N 118TSI (2011-2016)

Has anyone brought a tiguan 2011?.

1 answer
I.P. Daily
I.P. Daily

Yes

Frank h

Frank hasked

Tiguan 5N (2008-2020)

km per lt on infotainment system is this after
air con and other usage 2016tiguan

3 answers
Tin N.
Tin N.

Sorry Frank, I don't understand the question.

Frank h
Frank h

Frank h again
The question is (when kms per lt is shown on screen is this the kms you are getting while eccesories in use.
Because eccesories also show usage it looks like ther is no change in kms per lt

Fired Up
Fired Up

Sorry Frank, I don't understand the question.

Poss210

Poss210asked

Tiguan 5N (2008-2020)

Tiguan 2016 110TDI MY2017 comfortline with almost 100000km what problems can I expect?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.