??!
18 photos
Volkswagen Tiguan 5N

Volkswagen Tiguan 5N (2008-2020) (page 3 of 8)

Also referred to as: Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 2019 and Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 2021. 103TDI, 132TSI, 147TSI, etc...
3.6 from 154 reviews

Reviews

3.6

154 reviews
5
(59)
4
(41)
3
(12)
2
(20)
1
(22)
  • Build Quality
    4.2 (24)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (22)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (22)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (22)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (22)
  • Handling
    4.3 (21)
  • Braking
    4.3 (21)
  • Suspension
    3.6 (20)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.1 (20)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (21)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (20)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (20)
  • Features
    4.3 (20)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (20)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Pip

PipWestern District, VIC

  • 4 reviews

Hasn't skipped a beat

published
Badge110 TDI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedDec 2016
A Non.

A Non.AU

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great car

published

The body is sturdy, it’s not a tin box like other cheaper SUVs. It has excellent pickup and responsive braking and steering.

My one criticism is the boot space. It’s barely enough to fit a large stroller. Add shopping to that and you are putting groceries all over your passenger seat and in the foot well. However, it’s a trade off I would take over having a big, slow, ugly SUV or people mover (eek!).

Badge132TSI Pacific
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2012
Alison

AlisonMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

2016 110 TSI Comfortline - Excellent

published

Great to drive, so far no mechanical issues. Servicing with VW at Mile End (SA) I thought would be a pain, as I wanted to do it closer to home, but in the end it was delivered on time & washed. I was happy :-). Reversing light (there's only 1, even though 2 "lights") is a bit of a pain, I thought one of the lights wasn't working! Sometimes the engine takes a while to kick in if you floor it. Fuel economy is great. GPS is excellent. terrific visibility. Love the sun roof. The lips on the front bucket seats are a bit annoying getting in and out. On the whole would buy another one

Badge110 TSI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Volkswagen Tiguan 5N compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

VW Tiguan.. great when working but a nightmare when not!

published

I bought my 2009 Tiguan 3 years ago.. and I have to agree with the others reviews...When a problem occurs (and inevitably it will), parts and servicing are EXTREMELY expensive. It’s a difficult job for your local mechanic without the specialised diagnostic equipment. Off to the VW dealer. Several weeks and a few thousand dollars later and The same type of issue ... different faults. VW Tiguans really are the motorists worst nightmare! Don't risk it. Stay away from this VW like the plague.

Badge130TDi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Bruce

BruceGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 10 reviews

New 2018 Tiguan 110 TSI Comfortline

published
Badge110 TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Email kudi

Email kudiPERTH

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Late 2016 5N2 Tiguan 132 Tsi comfortline 4motion

published
Badge132 TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedMar 2017
NiL C

NiL CAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Nice car

published

Can carry many goods when I need. has been driven the car over 6 years and never had a big problem. it is now 180km and as good as new., always do the job. i think the upgrade one is now even better and will consider to get a new one soon.

Badge103TDi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2009
Miu

MiuCity

  • 5 reviews

This is perfect

published

I bought it when my first child was born. I felt it was not a bad idea to do it with the option.
Different people have different standards, but with two car seats in the back, it's at least too small a chance.
The car itself is not bad, but if you're thinking about having children, you'd better think twice.

BadgeI'm not sure
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2014
Ada7sh

Ada7shSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Excellent car, great value for money.

published
Badge110 TSI Trendline
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedJul 2017
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Volkswagen Tiguan 5N compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
penracer

penracerSydney, NSW

  • 29 reviews
  • 11 likes

Great car

published

Overall a great car. Drives well and feels luxurious. At first it felt a bit high off the ground but easily got used to this. Small turn circle when compared to the golf. Feels only slightly bigger than the golf as i feel the gap between the door and the seat is quite big.

Badge110 TSI Trendline
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Joe

JoeMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Medium budget high class vehicle

published

Overall good choice , strong vehicle, lot of room inside as you looking for medium size family car with full options.
Why you spending 20k for BMW , Audi or Mercedes ?
We choose black colour but white colour more looks good for Tiguan RLine
Best deal and price recommended dealer ship:

Badge155TSI R-Line
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Tre

Tre

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good cae

published
Badge110 TDI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Mary.

Mary.Adelaide

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love the Tiguan

published

Bought a 2015 model a month ago and it is an absolute pleasure to drive. I love it. Smooth and quiet, powerful yet economical. Its roomy inside but not an overly big car. i am apprehensive about the cloth trim on the door armrests - i think they will get grubby in time, but otherwise no complaints at all.

Badge130TDi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017

Best car i have ever driven

published
Badge140 TDI Highline
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Bill K

Bill KAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Base model 118 TSI has all we need

published

Just bought a S/H 2014 base model 118 TSI. With 50,000km, only the reverse camera option, this CUV seems to have been well looked after by previous owner! Easy to drive, plenty of power when needed and enough storage for what we need. Hopefully wont have to spend much more with capped servicing over next couple of years.

Badge118TSI
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Volkswagen Tiguan 5N compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nobody

NobodyPerth, WA

  • 10 reviews

Very happy

published
Badge155TSI R-Line
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014
MEYSAM GHANBARI

MEYSAM GHANBARISydney

  • 9 reviews

Excellent, Strong

published

I've had my car since 2012 and I bought it new. Gorgeous internally and externally. I love this car, it doesn't say no to whatever you want from it. Braking system works really well. At least in 3 different circumstances, the car stopped and saved perfectly millimetres away from the other car in front of me.

Badge132TSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2012
Blister

BlisterSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 14 reviews
  • 18 likes

Oil guzzler

published

I have a 2014 132TSI the first 12 months the car was great, arrange to get it serviced, everything has been great, after its first service 7 months and I'm getting warnings no oil, serviced again drive 5,000km and the engine has already used half of its oil, the oil is dark and dirty, again I contact VW am told the engine has run in and it's normal to use a lot of oil. They then tell me if I want it checked I have to pay $154 for an oil consumption test. This car is still under warranty. so I'm not to expect to get 12 months out of my engine oil. This is disgusting, will never buy another VW

Badge132TSI Pacific
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
1 comment
Blister
Blister
Mimi

MimiSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent quality and stylish! Very comfortable to drive

published

I love the design very stylish and comfortable to drive, fuel efficient. Just right size for a family. I have done 30,000Km and so far no issue and also the service cost is reasonable for a European car. Great value for the functions, style and brand value. It would be nice to have little better stereo system and iPhone interactive connection.

Badge155TSI R-Line
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedJul 2015
Sue-W-17

Sue-W-17SYDNEY

  • 13 reviews
  • 8 likes

VW Tiguan 2014

published

40,000 km on the clock and so far, so good. Coming from (a lemon of) a Jeep Cherokee, this is a dream. Only thing missing is off-road capability. Fuel consumption is great, approx 700-800km/tank, service costs fixed price and reasonable, although more expensive from dealer than local mechanic. This SUV is a good size, comfortable and well finished.

Badge130TDi
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedAug 2015
Page 3 of 8
See all Volkswagen Tiguan 5N reviews

Questions & Answers

Jess

Jessasked

5N 118TSI (2011-2016)

Has anyone brought a tiguan 2011?.

1 answer
I.P. Daily
I.P. Daily

Yes

Frank h

Frank hasked

Tiguan 5N (2008-2020)

km per lt on infotainment system is this after
air con and other usage 2016tiguan

3 answers
Tin N.
Tin N.

Sorry Frank, I don't understand the question.

Frank h
Frank h

Frank h again
The question is (when kms per lt is shown on screen is this the kms you are getting while eccesories in use.
Because eccesories also show usage it looks like ther is no change in kms per lt

Fired Up
Fired Up

Sorry Frank, I don't understand the question.

Poss210

Poss210asked

Tiguan 5N (2008-2020)

Tiguan 2016 110TDI MY2017 comfortline with almost 100000km what problems can I expect?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.