??!
6 photos
Volkswagen Tiguan 5N

Volkswagen Tiguan 5N (2008-2021) (page 3 of 8)

Also referred to as: Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 2020 and Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 2022. 103TDI, 132TSI, 147TSI, etc...
3.6 from 160 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.2 (29)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (27)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (27)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (27)
  • Braking
    4.3 (27)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (28)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.1 (26)
  • Suspension
    3.7 (26)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.7 (27)
  • Handling
    4.3 (26)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (26)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (26)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (26)
  • Features
    4.2 (26)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Andy D.

Andy D.Kiama NSW

Nice dry weather car

published

Front sensors and cruise control can cease to operate in light rain. Sales staff say they are unaware of the problem. Our car is early 2017 model and Management were saying at the time they were unaware of the problem, it's happened to us 5 times in 16 months and we know how dry it's been, now there saying refer to the Manual which says it can happen in extreme wet conditions, who reads the manual before they buy a car, and it can happen in any sort of wet conditions. VOLKSWAGON HAS IGNORED ALL OUR COMPLAINTS, AND NOW SAY THE CASE IS CLOSED.

Angus S

Angus SSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great Car

published

Recently purchased a used 2008 TDi model for my son. Came with a near new tow bar and the full sun roof. A one owner well maintained car.
I am really impressed with this car. Good solid well build German engineering. Runs on the smell of an oily rag. Happy to recommend this as a great family car.

Badge103TDi
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJuly 2018
1 comment
Angus S
Angus S

in fact so good that we just got our daughter a 2012 TSI Pacific model with only 36,000kms and full leather interior.
A really nice car indeed.

Raz

RazSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

2012 VW Tiguan 132 TSI Pacific

published

I had this car since new and have nothing but praise did about 110K and was issue free and the engine was powerful and very smooth to drive and the quality was top notch, It has been in 3 hail storms on highway still not a mark...now thats what I call quality, Sadly had to sell it as we were after 7 seater and VW allspace didn't have enough room for our requirement.
miss our little tiguan.

Badge132TSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2012
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Volkswagen Tiguan 5N compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JP roller

JP rollerGordon 2906, ACT

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Tiguan R line

published

We’ve replaced our beloved Amarok with another veedub only because the Amarok didn’t have rear passenger airbags. We are actually glad we’ve made the swap because this model is leap and bounds from the previous model it replaced. The look first and foremost, looks mean and aggressive with its lines and bulges. The R line made this even a head turner with its 20in wheels and smoked lights. The extras we’ve got made this like an autonomous car, car assist and added safety features were most welcomed and works well. It’s definitely a solid build and the only gripe is because it’s so good, I see a lot of it on the road. Lastly, it drives like a petrol, meaning it’s quiet and the torque! It’s awesome.

Badge140 TDI Highline
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedJune 2018
Regular Joe

Regular JoeAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

Frugal featured monster

published

Love this car, economy is 7 or below on 95ion unleaded. Love the sunroof and digital dash. Can’t really fault this car, would of loved the LED updated headlights reserved for the top spec, but this is the base model with and Audi stable engine. Happy motoring guys and girls. Oh and kids love this car due to their own air con, table on the back of front seat chairs, and the seating height.

Badge110 TSI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Rob

RobPoint Cook

132Tsi oil consumption

published
Badge132TSI
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedSept 2012
Pip

PipWestern District, VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Hasn't skipped a beat

published
Badge110 TDI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedDec 2016
A Non.

A Non.AU

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great car

published

The body is sturdy, it’s not a tin box like other cheaper SUVs. It has excellent pickup and responsive braking and steering.

My one criticism is the boot space. It’s barely enough to fit a large stroller. Add shopping to that and you are putting groceries all over your passenger seat and in the foot well. However, it’s a trade off I would take over having a big, slow, ugly SUV or people mover (eek!).

Badge132TSI Pacific
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2012
Alison

AlisonMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

2016 110 TSI Comfortline - Excellent

published

Great to drive, so far no mechanical issues. Servicing with VW at Mile End (SA) I thought would be a pain, as I wanted to do it closer to home, but in the end it was delivered on time & washed. I was happy :-). Reversing light (there's only 1, even though 2 "lights") is a bit of a pain, I thought one of the lights wasn't working! Sometimes the engine takes a while to kick in if you floor it. Fuel economy is great. GPS is excellent. terrific visibility. Love the sun roof. The lips on the front bucket seats are a bit annoying getting in and out. On the whole would buy another one

Badge110 TSI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Volkswagen Tiguan 5N compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

VW Tiguan.. great when working but a nightmare when not!

published

I bought my 2009 Tiguan 3 years ago.. and I have to agree with the others reviews...When a problem occurs (and inevitably it will), parts and servicing are EXTREMELY expensive. It’s a difficult job for your local mechanic without the specialised diagnostic equipment. Off to the VW dealer. Several weeks and a few thousand dollars later and The same type of issue ... different faults. VW Tiguans really are the motorists worst nightmare! Don't risk it. Stay away from this VW like the plague.

Badge130TDi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Bruce

BruceGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

New 2018 Tiguan 110 TSI Comfortline

published
Badge110 TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Email kudi

Email kudiPERTH

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Late 2016 5N2 Tiguan 132 Tsi comfortline 4motion

published
Badge132 TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedMar 2017
NiL C

NiL CAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Nice car

published

Can carry many goods when I need. has been driven the car over 6 years and never had a big problem. it is now 180km and as good as new., always do the job. i think the upgrade one is now even better and will consider to get a new one soon.

Badge103TDi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2009
Miu

MiuCity

  • 5 reviews

This is perfect

published

I bought it when my first child was born. I felt it was not a bad idea to do it with the option.
Different people have different standards, but with two car seats in the back, it's at least too small a chance.
The car itself is not bad, but if you're thinking about having children, you'd better think twice.

BadgeI'm not sure
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2014
Ada7sh

Ada7shSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Excellent car, great value for money.

published
Badge110 TSI Trendline
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Volkswagen Tiguan 5N compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
penracer

penracerSydney, NSW

  • 29 reviews
  • 12 likes

Great car

published

Overall a great car. Drives well and feels luxurious. At first it felt a bit high off the ground but easily got used to this. Small turn circle when compared to the golf. Feels only slightly bigger than the golf as i feel the gap between the door and the seat is quite big.

Badge110 TSI Trendline
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2017
Joe

JoeMelbourne

  • 8 reviews
  • 8 likes

Medium budget high class vehicle

published

Overall good choice , strong vehicle, lot of room inside as you looking for medium size family car with full options.
Why you spending 20k for BMW , Audi or Mercedes ?
We choose black colour but white colour more looks good for Tiguan RLine
Best deal and price recommended dealer ship:

Badge155TSI R-Line
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Tre

Tre

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good cae

published
Badge110 TDI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Mary.

Mary.Adelaide

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love the Tiguan

published

Bought a 2015 model a month ago and it is an absolute pleasure to drive. I love it. Smooth and quiet, powerful yet economical. Its roomy inside but not an overly big car. i am apprehensive about the cloth trim on the door armrests - i think they will get grubby in time, but otherwise no complaints at all.

Badge130TDi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017

Best car i have ever driven

published
Badge140 TDI Highline
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedJune 2017
Page 3 of 8
See all Volkswagen Tiguan 5N reviews

Questions & Answers

Robyn

Robynasked

Tiguan 5N (2008-2021)

We have a 2017 VW Tiguan 132 Comfortline with 32,000klms recently the water pump has failed & is currently @ VW Dealership awaiting to see if Volkswagen is going to do the repairs under an extended warranty as it is only 2 months out of warranty. Has anyone else had the same problem & what was the outcome. We have been told it will cost $400 for the pump & $600 labour.

1 answer
dzeno
dzeno

Fix it and sell the car if is 2017 model and water pump failed the what to expect whats next

Tony A.

Tony A.asked

Tiguan 5N (2008-2021)

What are the bad faults?

1 answer
dzeno
dzeno

Since I purchased my car I have replaced the following parts which are common issues for lots of people. Cluch kit which cost me more than $3000
The roof was leaking as is sunroof so i`ve put silicon on the plastic tubes,because of the leak roof liner was gone had to replace that, the roof curtain stopped working new one cost more then $1000.00
After that intake manifold replaced it twice as it fails all the time,next fuel injectors replaced then fuel pump failed, after that started leaking so main seal was replaced
I can only say one thing would not recommend this car to worse of enemy

Kyle R.

Kyle R.asked

Tiguan 5N (2008-2021)

Hi, I am interested in purchasing a used tiguan 2012 Pacific 132tsi 6spd auto. It's in immaculate condition, no leaks no issues. Regularly serviced and only ever had ulp petrol. Kept in car garage overnight well looked after. 2 owners

It has 205,000 km on the clock. Am I buying into a money trap if I go ahead with this purchase? ($12000)

2 answers
Lorraine
Lorraine

I hope you didn't buy it. My 2012 Tiguan has 138000 on the clock and has cost $3500 in turbo, ECP and water pump replacement. Issues with front passenger door hinge and fuel actuator problem so I can't get fuel in the car without whacking the fuel door. Now it is going to cost an extra
5000 because with all of the work done the piston issue wasn't diagnosed

Kyle R.
Kyle R.

Ended up with a nissan dualis 2013 with 130,000 on the odo. Only had one owner. Tiguan didnt sound like a good idea

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 18 Volkswagen Tiguan 5N (2008-2021)
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $50,150$51,650$43,150$44,650
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels19" Alloy19" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption8.1 L/100km8.3 L/100km7.5 L/100km7.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L60 L60 L60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power162kW @ 6200rpm162kW @ 6200rpm132kW @ 6000rpm132kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 1600-4200rpm350Nm @ 1600-4200rpm320Nm @ 1500-3940rpm320Nm @ 1500-4387rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyMexicoGermanyMexico
Safety Features
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Intelligent Speed Adaptation (ISA)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,500 kg2,400 kg2,500 kg2,400 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2016Jan 2018Jan 2016Jan 2018
Compare all 18 Volkswagen Tiguan 5N (2008-2021)

Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.