?
? !
2 photos
Vornado 660

Vornado 660

4.4 from 85 reviews · View Statistics

Fan Buying Guide - How to choose the coolest tower or pedestal fan for you

If you’re looking for a way to avoid melting this summer, a fan could help. But with so many types on the market, how do you choose the best fan for your home?

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.4 (5)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (3)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (5)
  • Power
    3.5 (2)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Adsman90

Adsman90North Queensland, QLD

Its just a fan, nothing amazing

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hanl

HanlPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Good fan

published

Good fan, capable of circulating air well. Necessary for summer. At highest setting, it can be a bit loud and annoying. Cleaning it takes a bit of effort. Otherwise, this fan is excellent. The build feels sturdy and quality.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tommy D

Tommy DGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Great fan

published

I am very pleased with this fan. The way it circulates the air around the room is quite impressive. We leave it on low at night and its quiet enough for sleeping - provides good white noise. I would definitely recommend it and will purchase another soon.

Purchased in November 2019 at The Good Guys for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Standalone Fans

Find out how Vornado 660 compares to other Standalone Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chloe

ChloeSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Tornado

published

Don't believe the promises about its quietness. Even on the lowest setting the noise is too annoying to sleep with. Why are product manufacturers still allowed to lie about their product features. Money down the drain. Yes, it's well made. Yes the way it circulates air is clever. But the noise is horrible.

Purchased in January 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $120.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
WildOne

WildOneMelbourne

Bit on the noisey side...

published

Bought this fan yesterday after reading all the reviews. Was looking at having the fan in the bedroom or near to make sleeping easier, unfortunately this fan is too loud even on the low setting. So hard to listen to it in the shops, when purchasing with all the background noise. Its a great fan to circulate the air around quickly.....maybe I should of bought the smaller version for bedroom but I bought the bigger one to use throughout the house when required. Its up to you as they buyer in the end...

Date PurchasedJan 2019
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sweet

SweetThornbury 3071

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good,strong and quiet if set at the lowest wind level

published

Its first impression to me is very sturdy. The lowest wind level is cool enough when the temperature is over 35. It helps air circulation, so you can set the air conditioner at the moderate temperature, and open it at the same time. If you choose the stronger wind level, it will be very noisy during the night. I consider to have another one.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Practical Man

Practical ManBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

Okay but needs improvement given the cost

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
byzance

byzance

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great

published

Im in nth qld,so its humid as hell.have had this for a week and use it with a/c.its great.a little noisy but not overly so.kids have no complaints.going great,but have only had for a week,looking to buy another one,waiting for prices to drop,lol.it has a long warranty which is a plus.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
ElHaych

ElHaychSydney

  • 6 reviews

Great air flow

published

My husband who can't stand the heat keeps the Vornado on the whole night and it helps to make the room less stuffy. It works better than a normal fan as you don't need to have it pointed directly at you to feel the air.
More expensive than other fans but works to keep small rooms cool quite well.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Standalone Fans

Find out how Vornado 660 compares to other Standalone Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ETphonehome

ETphonehomeMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified

Good small fan

published

We purchased 2 Vornado fans for our office as we don't have proper aircon. It provides good circulation and I like that it is able to tilt up to the ceiling. It is powerful and altho it is noisy but we don't pay attention to it. it is small and compact.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
honest100

honest100

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Vornado 660 is very noisy

published

Works well but too noisy when on full blast - at night it's like sleeping on an aeroplane. I have moved it out of the bedroom and replaced with a quieter fan. I only use it during the day now when there is other noise around although have to turn the TV up loud in order to hear it.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
BOZ

BOZ

  • 5 reviews

Strong but very loud

published

Very strong power & good reach in average size room

Very noisy - much louder than a Dyson

Needed a remote - made life very hard without one

I returned it the shop as no remote was a deal breaker

Besides that I was a big fan of a fan

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
ChocolatePudding

ChocolatePuddingSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

not great in an large open plan area

published

I have the smaller 633 Vornado and was impressed with how effectively it moved air around a small bedroom. I bought this larger 660 for an open plan living room and was disappointed. On the highest (and loudest) setting and with the fan pointed just so at the wall you may feel a small breeze. on the lowest setting it does literally nothing. You really need an enclosed area for this fan to work well at circulating air. If the air conditioner is on as well then this fan does a good job of pushing the cold air around but I think the smaller 633 would be just as good at this.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ctang

CtangMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

It surprisingly good

published

The Vornado 660 is surprisingly good given its size. It's a good product and it's cheap.It cools the whole room down all day and night. It is quieter than most fans. It is probably your best bet to use this on a hot day or after exercising to feel the sense of relieve

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mayj

Mayjsydney

  • 9 reviews

A good friend for the hot summer

published

It is good. The price is a bit expensive but it's working efficiently. However, it is very noisy when is set on the high volume. On the low setting is not as powerful as higher settings. But the noise is an important element and effect on the quality of the product.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Standalone Fans

Find out how Vornado 660 compares to other Standalone Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chad.Shearer

Chad.ShearerAdelaide, SA, 5022

  • 8 reviews

I am a big fan of this

published

I am very impressed with the amount of air that this fan blows out. For something so small, I was expecting it to be quite powerless and only blow a bit of air, however I was wrong. It's great for at night time on a desk as it will blow the air around the room rather nicely.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Janet

JanetSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 12 likes

OK but it's not quiet

published

The power of the fan is okay, it is short, so you need to sit it on a bench. However it is moderately noisy, I can't hear the TV with the fan nearby. I bought it because I thought it looked better than the old style floor standing fans and it was cheaper than the Dyson. Maybe I should've paid more to get a Dyson. It is black, so it doesn't look too out of place in the dining room.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mandy page

Mandy pageBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Small fan lots of power

published

The vortex is different to most fans it circulates air around so not just pushing hot air on you like some fans do. Fairly quiet on low leval not as powerful as the bigger model but for the baby of the group it's keeping up with the larger sizes. No remote and doesn't rotate but for a small room it's not needed

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
jimwill

jimwill

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

Noisy, useless, ugly, expensive.

published

OMG! I believed the hype. I'm such a fool. I followed the instructions exactly, nothing. Just a very very loud noise and very little air movement.
Lent it to my neighbour, same. Waste of money. It Maybe useful in America where everyone lives in completely enclosed houses or McMansions in Sydney that run completely on air conditioning but if you like an open window or door in summer, this fan will be absolutely useless. Do not buy. Do not buy. Do not buy.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
C.F.

C.F.Perth

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Noisy and inefficient

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2
See all Vornado 660 reviews

Questions & Answers

Liana Cortijo

Liana Cortijoasked

My vornado is not working. Where can I have it repaired? I live in pymble nsw
Lcortijo@gmail.Com

1 answer
DanielC
DanielC

You CANNOT have it repaired. That's the whole issue with Vornado, they are only a box dropper but have NO service agents in Australia (as I got told via email by them in 12/2020). You may now throw your Vornado in the nearest bin and contribute to global pollution.

Anna L.

Anna L.asked

where is the vornado fan made? which country is it manufactured?

1 answer
TMG
TMG

Made in China. But very well made.
I highly recommend .
Better than any other fan I have had, and I have many.

Cam G

Cam Gasked

Do they also work as a fan if i was to put it on a table shooting directly at me would i get a good flow of air hit me? Im going fifo and i sleep with a fan on me everynight so want something i can travel with

1 answer
baz
baz

Yes but it's not meant to be used like that....you need to direct it to the top corner of the room

See all Vornado 660 questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

Features:

  • The Vornado 660 Air Circulator uses heavily contoured blades to churn the air into a column shape, which ultimately projects air further and helps keep everyone in the room cool
  • Four fan speeds allow you to adjust how gentle or powerful you’d prefer the airflow in a room, while a multi-directional airflow ensures all sections of the room are evenly cooled
  • A detachable grill allows for quick and easy cleaning
  • Its small, compact size is unobtrusive, and allows this standalone fan to be placed largely out of sight, without compromising on the quality of airflow.

Feedback from reviewers:

  • According to reviewers, the most appealing quality of this Vornado model is that it’s a powerful fan that does what it claims and circulates air swiftly around a room
  • Sometimes reviewers found the fan to be too noisy to be left on throughout the night, while others found the noise level acceptable, if the fan is set on the lowest speed. Some even appreciated the white noise that the fan provided.
  • The Vornado 660 Air Circulator costs $259, which is a little pricey for a standalone fan. However, while reviewers acknowledged this, most also expressed that this fan was worth the money.
CategoryStandalone Fans
Price (RRP) $249.00
FeaturesOscillating
Colour / FinishBlack or White
Number of Speed Settings4
Power56 W
TypeDesk
Cord Length1.8 m
Dimensions 380 x 343 x 298 mm
Weight3.3 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
Construction
Blade MaterialPlastic
Number of Blades3
Body MaterialPlastic
Blade Diameter258 mm
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • GTIN12: 043765005422, 043765006542 and 043765009093

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.