??!
1 photo
Vtech VM9900

Vtech VM9900

1.4 from 14 reviews

Baby Monitors Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of baby monitor would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

1.4

14 reviews
5
(0)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(3)
1
(10)
  • Build Quality
    2.1 (13)
  • Value for Money
    1.1 (13)
  • Ease of Use
    1.8 (13)
  • Battery Life
    1.3 (12)
  • Connectivity / Reliability
    1.1 (12)
  • Audio Quality
    2.6 (12)
  • Video Quality
    2.8 (12)
Previous
Next
Lyndsey

LyndseyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Do not buy this product

published

I am so disappointed with this monitor but it was so expensive I can't justify buying another one. It is the most unreliable piece of equipment imaginable. It constantly goes black and says it can't locate the camera, or the picture freezes. When I bought it, it said it needed a software update that would take 3-5 minutes. I've had it for 10 months and it's still going! So it flashes during the night which is not helping my son sleep. Even covering the lights with duct tape hasn't helped. I bought 2 cameras, and the other one won't pan properly - it gets stuck at the same spot and gies back and forth trying to get past.
Save your money (and sanity) and avoid this product!

Purchased in July 2019 at Baby Bunting.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
Kimberley

KimberleySouthwest, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Do not waste your money

published

We've had the monitor to 7 weeks and it's been useless since we connected it, but we have been persevering. I've had enough though and will purchase a different monitor. Where to begin... the battery life is shocking, it constantly freezes and needs restarting. Audio and video footage is not accurate with what is happening. My husband will have picked up our baby and be in the room with me and the monitor will show him still tending to our son in his room! There are pop up messages constantly and the camera flashes a lot waking our son. I would have expected a room temp for the price it charges. Waste of money and wouldn't buy from this brand again.

Purchased in October 2019 for A$280.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers

Not worth the money

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Baby Bunting for A$280.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
Baby Monitors

Find out how Vtech VM9900 compares to other Baby Monitors

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cam L

Cam LGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Terrible

published

Crap signal, terrible battery life and charger cable is rubbish. An absolute embarrassment. Will not buy gains and will make sure that nobody I know ever buys VTech again. Pathetic!

Purchased in May 2019 at Baby Bunting for A$329.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
Samantha H.

Samantha H.Perth, WA

Sub-par product

published

This is a terrible product. Hands down the worst thing we've purchased on our baby journey. Horrible battery life, we may get two hours out of it, freezes a lot and has sub-par features (e.g. no room temperature gage). Really wish we hadnt purchased this product. Huge disappointment. Astonishing they can charge what they do for this product. AVOID.

Purchased in May 2019 at Baby Bunting Physical store for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers

Not worth the money at all!

published

We have been using camera for nearly 12 months. We are on to our second one as our first died and got replaced. We have had issues since the beginning ( on both cameras we had). It cuts out of wifi all the time ( even when right next to internet router), freezes constantly, always needs to be reset and the camera quality in night mode is horrible. So annoyed I spent the money on this camera ( as it was not cheap). Definitely would not recommend

Purchased at Baby Bunting Online store.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money

Expensive and disappointing!

published

After having it for around 6-7mnths the monitor screen will not go past the loading signal & when I use my phone as the monitor screen it freezes or just turns off by its self through the night and I have woken to my daughter screaming because I haven’t responded to her waking like I usually would. Very disappointed in VTech as I had the teddy bear monitor and it also stopped working after not very long. Expensive and not worth it!! Very disappointed!!

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
Lisa H.

Lisa H.Perth, WA

Terrible product!

published

Screen lags, the notifications are frustrating as they don’t clear automatically so every movement of the baby requires you to clear the screen. Battery life is shocking, lasting only a few hours so we keep it plugged in all the time.

Purchased in June 2019 at Baby Bunting.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
Simone

SimoneGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Don't waste your money!

published

Very disappointing product. We have had it for roughly 12 months & it's been nothing but issues. The screen constantly freezes so you can't actually tell if baby is OK or not. It disconnects from WiFi almost daily so we have to rebook the monitor. Very frustrating & not worth the money.

Purchased in October 2018 at Baby Bunting for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
Baby Monitors

Find out how Vtech VM9900 compares to other Baby Monitors

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Yamuuna M.

Yamuuna M.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Unreliable

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Baby Bunting.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
Jane

JaneSydney, NSW

Terrible, do not buy

published

Bought this as the camera only model to use with app. You had to constantly keep the app open which isn't really practical.
So we upgraded to the model with the screen. Terrible connection, constantly resetting, huge lag, freezes. So we upgraded our WiFi. No difference. We normally hear him crying before the monitor let's us know. That's when it actually connects! Battery life is also awful, we generally have to keep it constantly plugged in. Biggest waste of money ever!!

Purchased in January 2019 at Baby Bunting Physical store for A$369.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
Crishi

CrishiSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Not worth the high price!

published

Picture is ok but I'm sure you will find just as good picture for cheaper. We are having to reset the Wi-Fi connection everytime we use it and some days it just won't connect at all. Has been a massice waste of money for us and we wouldn't recommend this product to anyone!

Purchased in May 2019 at Baby Bunting for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
Harvey Wilson

Harvey WilsonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 100 reviews

Fully featured, but a bit pricey

published

A very impressive monitor. The display is an android os. The night vision is amazing even when pitch black. Connection was so simple. The quality of the product is outstanding as well as the display.

It's a bit laggy when viewing remotely but still great quality. Two way talking between camera and display and remote connection is great. Notifications for motion detection can be set in each viewing device. I can have them on the display but not in my phone. Move the camera by swiping, zoom in and out with a pinch just like your smartphone. Works remotely too.

Perhaps the only con is that it's a bit pricey, but I got mine in a sale more than $100 off RRP. Recommended.

1 comment
Harvey Wilson
Harvey Wilson
wendlle

wendlleAU

  • 23 reviews
  • 1 like

Loved it at first - not after 6 months

published

Purchased in October 2018 at Baby Bunting Online store for A$369.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers

Questions & Answers

KrystalH

KrystalHasked

Have you had issues with this model losing presets and occasionally losing signal? Our wifi is very reliable but we have had some hiccups. I think ill phone their support number first.

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.