1 photo
Dometic Waeco CoolPro TC-14FL (14L)

Dometic Waeco CoolPro TC-14FL (14L)

3.8 from 20 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (4)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (4)
  • Ease of Use
    4.8 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (4)
Previous
Next
steve.lindz
steve.lindzmacksville
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Uses heaps of power, barely cools anything.

published

When I have used this for trips, I have put ice in it the night before leaving, then packed the fridge with a fresh ice brick and the food / drinks in the morning, this is the only way it will keep things cool. Better of with a good techni ice eski really. Don't leave running whilst car is off, 100% chance of getting a flat battery. Happened twice now, there won't be a third! But maby if you are doing long trips in the car and not to worried about things not been cold just cool, and happy for things to be warm after the car has been off for a little while then you'll probably love it.

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Works quite well 2%

published

Power usage is fair gets cold works well I would suggest that if you have one and its not working properly that you may have an issue with your plug - I changed mine for some thing more heavy duty

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Alex D
Alex DBarkly, NT
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Seems reliable

published

Good value, I've been using non stop for 2 months now and works well. Doesn't cool as good as a fridge but you get what you pay for. Recommended product.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Dometic Waeco CoolPro TC-14FL (14L) compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Hardball
HardballSydney, NSW
  • 9 reviews
  • 93 likes

Great "Dry Cooler"

published

Purchased in August 2009 at Supercheap Auto for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Hardball
Hardball

What a lemon.

published

Bought some time ago and it was kept in the box unopened until we needed it. Worked OK on 240V on trial and packed away. Used once on a road trip Brisbane-cairns where it lived on the back seat and used 12v DC. I would say it "cooled" things and never chilled. It never achieved the claims spruiked by Waeco/Dometic on the box. Went to use it on second trip and now does now cool or heat on either voltage. And of course out of warranty and try getting assistant from Waeco. I have been on hold for the service centre twice for a half hour. A very expensive single use esky! I will check Engell i think

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next

Great little cooler

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Ramjet59
Ramjet59Canberra
  • 21 reviews
  • 18 likes

Power hungry, poor performance

published

I already have a car fridge and thought this might be a useful midpoint unit for when I dont have an esky at hand.
However as a short term, short transit device it is useless. It takes many hours to get any useful temperature reduction and in that time draws a huge amount of power. If your vehicle is running no problem, but leave this on an haux battery and it will eat all the amps for breakfast and still nothing will be cold.
If you want useful cold that doesn't chew your battery, get a proper fridge unit.
This thing is just a wildly overpriced esky with a noisy fan that doesn't stop.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Chris V
Chris VSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great little cooler

published

I bought this cooler for my ute as I do a lot of travelling & love having a cold drink (& not paying $5 for a bottle of water on the Nullabor).
I have it running off my second battery & has been on since Sept 16. It keeps my drinks & food cooler than I expected even on 40 degree days it keeps everything chilly.
The only issue I've had with mine was the internal fan was making a clicking noise & it was due to a bit of ice (lowered the temp & it thawed) so note, don't have it on the highest setting for 7 months straight.

Date PurchasedSept 2016

Wprks great.

published

Keeps drinks nice and cool. Sits in the truck with me and cant complain. Kept my drinks cold today (was 39 degrees)
Fites 6 water bottles and ny sangas nice and cool. Will recomend to all our friends. The boss is even buying some for the other trucks in the fleet.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Dometic Waeco CoolPro TC-14FL (14L) compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great little unit should have bought one sooner

published

Works great icey cold drinks when you need them couldn't do without it now sits on truck seat beside me forever ready cool suggested to friends and family to buy one nice and easy to handle and light too which helps in the truck even my sandwiches stay nice and cool on a hot day bonus.

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Great little cooler for the cost

published

I have had the 14l in my truck for 3 years getting bashed around and beaten. Works great for keeping lunch and drinks cool. I think People expect too pay $200 for a cooler and want it too do the same job as a $1200 Engel. It's light weight, easy too carry and better than an esky with an iceblock

KirstyB
KirstyBSouth Australia, 5540
  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Better than expected

published

Temperature sits near 3 Celcius and large enough for a few drinks and containers of food. Light enough to lift easily into back of my 4x4. Can't fault this little TC-14FL, price was very good from BCF. Great on 240V excellent on 12V, big enough to hold a couple of longer bottles if needed.

Paulc98
Paulc98Mount Druitt
  • 20 reviews
  • 25 likes

Excellent Cooler

published

I purchased this unit as a cooler for a 4wd. It performs admirably it is light enough to be lifted easily and will hold 4 bottles of water and 2 sandwiches and 2 apples easily. The temperature is down to about 3 degrees on a 34 degree day. It is quiet and I cant fault it in any way.

Cheryl
CherylMurray Region, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Better than expected

published

Bought Waeco Cool Pro 14 litre and lent it to my truck driver son while his truck fridge was being repaid. He said apart from size was it was as good as his truck fridge/freezer. Kept drinks and food at a good temperature. Doesn't use much batter to keep it running.

lynian
lynian
  • 2 reviews

We would not be without it.

published

We have had ours for two years and would not be without it. We plug this in the 240 power point the night before we want to use it, and it is always ready to use in the morning. It keeps our drinks cold for us the next day. When we put the thermometer in it we always get it to 0-5 degrees, have also kept butter, milk and meat in it and they have kept cold enough.

Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Dometic Waeco CoolPro TC-14FL (14L) compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2
See all Dometic Waeco TropiCool Series reviews

Questions & Answers

Graham P
Graham Pasked
Waeco CoolPro TC-14FL (14L)

Hi there.
Can you please tell me if the internal fan runs constantly with the external fan.
Ive got my cooler hooked up to 240volt and the external fan is going but getting nothing from the internal one.
Thanks

2 answers
Hardball
Hardball

It's supposed to.
Internal power supply has two low voltage components I believe. 1 x 5v & 1 x 10. Or something in that range. How those fans are connected up to those power supplies I do not know. Maybe a case of no power to one of the fans or a seized fan. If it's just a fan I used to salvage one of similar voltage from an old computer and screw them into place. These days it's even easier. You just look up the dimensions of the fan on mebay or amazon and source one with the appropriate voltage. All this is presuming you're Peltier unit is still operational....

Graham P
Graham P

Thanks mate. I have been down and purchased a new internal fan and hooked it up with no joy.
Will keep looking.

jimmy
jimmyasked
Waeco CoolPro TC-14FL (14L)

my waeco 14 lt wont go cold om 240 volt and 12 volt checked both fans and they work perfect is there any thing i can do to fix the problem?

2 answers
Sacha W
Sacha W

I have the same probleme, do you resolved this ?

Hardball
Hardball

Refer to answer above for DIY testing of the Peltier unit.

Jack
Jackasked
Waeco CoolPro TC-14FL (14L)

My 14ltr has just stopped working on 12v, it works fine on 240v and was working on 12v Prior to connecting to 240v
Can I have some suggestions please?

No answers
See all Dometic Waeco CoolPro TC-14FL (14L) questions

Get an answer from our members

Dometic Waeco CoolPro TC-14FL (14L)

Details

Compare all 3 Dometic Waeco TropiCool Series
CategoryPortable Fridges / Freezers
Price (RRP) $249.00
Type Fridge Only
Capacity14L
Power SourceCar (Cigarette Lighter) and Wall Outlet
FeaturesDigital Display Panel and Interior Light
Weight5.5 kg
Dimensions 328 x 303 x 450 mm
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Construction MaterialPlastic
Compare all 3 Dometic Waeco TropiCool Series
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.