??!
1 photo
Dometic Waeco CoolPro TC-14FL (14L)

Dometic Waeco CoolPro TC-14FL (14L)

3.8 from 20 reviews

Reviews

(9)
(5)
(1)
(2)
(3)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (4)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (4)
  • Ease of Use
    4.8 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (4)


steve.lindz

steve.lindzmacksville

  • 3 reviews

Uses heaps of power, barely cools anything.

published

When I have used this for trips, I have put ice in it the night before leaving, then packed the fridge with a fresh ice brick and the food / drinks in the morning, this is the only way it will keep things cool. Better of with a good techni ice eski really. Don't leave running whilst car is off, 100% chance of getting a flat battery. Happened twice now, there won't be a third! But maby if you are doing long trips in the car and not to worried about things not been cold just cool, and happy for things to be warm after the car has been off for a little while then you'll probably love it.

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Works quite well 2%

published

Power usage is fair gets cold works well I would suggest that if you have one and its not working properly that you may have an issue with your plug - I changed mine for some thing more heavy duty

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Alex D

Alex DBarkly, NT

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Seems reliable

published

Good value, I've been using non stop for 2 months now and works well. Doesn't cool as good as a fridge but you get what you pay for. Recommended product.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Hardball

HardballSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 34 likes

Great "Dry Cooler"

published

Purchased in August 2009 at Supercheap Auto for $150.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hardball
Hardball

What a lemon.

published

Bought some time ago and it was kept in the box unopened until we needed it. Worked OK on 240V on trial and packed away. Used once on a road trip Brisbane-cairns where it lived on the back seat and used 12v DC. I would say it "cooled" things and never chilled. It never achieved the claims spruiked by Waeco/Dometic on the box. Went to use it on second trip and now does now cool or heat on either voltage. And of course out of warranty and try getting assistant from Waeco. I have been on hold for the service centre twice for a half hour. A very expensive single use esky! I will check Engell i think

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Great little cooler

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Ramjet59

Ramjet59Canberra

  • 18 reviews

Power hungry, poor performance

published

I already have a car fridge and thought this might be a useful midpoint unit for when I dont have an esky at hand.
However as a short term, short transit device it is useless. It takes many hours to get any useful temperature reduction and in that time draws a huge amount of power. If your vehicle is running no problem, but leave this on an haux battery and it will eat all the amps for breakfast and still nothing will be cold.
If you want useful cold that doesn't chew your battery, get a proper fridge unit.
This thing is just a wildly overpriced esky with a noisy fan that doesn't stop.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Great little cooler

published

I bought this cooler for my ute as I do a lot of travelling & love having a cold drink (& not paying $5 for a bottle of water on the Nullabor).
I have it running off my second battery & has been on since Sept 16. It keeps my drinks & food cooler than I expected even on 40 degree days it keeps everything chilly.
The only issue I've had with mine was the internal fan was making a clicking noise & it was due to a bit of ice (lowered the temp & it thawed) so note, don't have it on the highest setting for 7 months straight.

Date PurchasedSep 2016

Wprks great.

published

Keeps drinks nice and cool. Sits in the truck with me and cant complain. Kept my drinks cold today (was 39 degrees)
Fites 6 water bottles and ny sangas nice and cool. Will recomend to all our friends. The boss is even buying some for the other trucks in the fleet.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Great little unit should have bought one sooner

published

Works great icey cold drinks when you need them couldn't do without it now sits on truck seat beside me forever ready cool suggested to friends and family to buy one nice and easy to handle and light too which helps in the truck even my sandwiches stay nice and cool on a hot day bonus.

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Great little cooler for the cost

published

I have had the 14l in my truck for 3 years getting bashed around and beaten. Works great for keeping lunch and drinks cool. I think People expect too pay $200 for a cooler and want it too do the same job as a $1200 Engel. It's light weight, easy too carry and better than an esky with an iceblock


KirstyB

KirstyBSouth Australia, 5540

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Better than expected

published

Temperature sits near 3 Celcius and large enough for a few drinks and containers of food. Light enough to lift easily into back of my 4x4. Can't fault this little TC-14FL, price was very good from BCF. Great on 240V excellent on 12V, big enough to hold a couple of longer bottles if needed.


Paulc98

Paulc98Mount Druitt

  • 17 reviews

Excellent Cooler

published

I purchased this unit as a cooler for a 4wd. It performs admirably it is light enough to be lifted easily and will hold 4 bottles of water and 2 sandwiches and 2 apples easily. The temperature is down to about 3 degrees on a 34 degree day. It is quiet and I cant fault it in any way.


Cheryl

CherylMurray Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Better than expected

published

Bought Waeco Cool Pro 14 litre and lent it to my truck driver son while his truck fridge was being repaid. He said apart from size was it was as good as his truck fridge/freezer. Kept drinks and food at a good temperature. Doesn't use much batter to keep it running.

lynian

lynian

  • 2 reviews

We would not be without it.

published

We have had ours for two years and would not be without it. We plug this in the 240 power point the night before we want to use it, and it is always ready to use in the morning. It keeps our drinks cold for us the next day. When we put the thermometer in it we always get it to 0-5 degrees, have also kept butter, milk and meat in it and they have kept cold enough.

Marcus

Marcus

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Garbage

published

absalute garbage, it takes at least 12hrs running to cool down. Don't waste your money and buy a fridge/freezer. Disappointed Waeco has created this rubbish.


Neil.W59

Neil.W59AU

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Save your Money - get a real fridge/freezer

published

This Waeco is a waste of space. It doesn't cool as much as stated and struggled to keep things even chilled in the back of a vehicle in winter. Save the money and spend it on a small fridge/freezer as even in winter if it doesn't chill to 4 degrees it is a health hazard for anything other than cans of drink.

Didn't cope in the back of a car in winter.


Excellent product

published

I really wasn't sure to buy one because there's a lot of negative reviews on the net. I end up buying one of waeco seconds site for $120, best choice I made. It sits in my truck to keep drinks and lunch cold. I run it for about 14hrs a day. I put a thermometer inside and always reads between 0-5 degres cold. Recommend it to any one in a truck or tractor
Very cheap $120
Could of have a digital temperature.


sturtdesert

sturtdesertsydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Waeco TC-14FL thermoelectric cooler

published

Does exactly what it is supposed to - cools food close to 30deg C below ambient temperature. I have tested it half-full at +22.5 deg C, and it pulled the temp down to +5 deg C. It will without a doubt struggle at an ambient temp upwards of +30. This test was conducted at maximum cooling setting. Great for keeping your beer cool, or sandwiches for a picnic etc, but will not be suitable to use for camping for keeping milk/meat etc at a safe temp. Otherwise, a fantastic little cooler. Note also this will drain your car battery far more readily than a compressor portable fridge.
Compact, cools effectively in moderate ambient temperatures, quality construction.
Not effective in high ambient temperatures besides cooling beer/drink/sandwiches etc.


hopalong

hopalong

  • 2 reviews

OK

published
1 comment
claire ensor
claire ensor

See all Dometic Waeco TropiCool Series reviews

Questions & Answers

Graham P

Graham Pasked

Hi there.
Can you please tell me if the internal fan runs constantly with the external fan.
Ive got my cooler hooked up to 240volt and the external fan is going but getting nothing from the internal one.
Thanks

2 answers
Hardball
Hardball

It's supposed to.
Internal power supply has two low voltage components I believe. 1 x 5v & 1 x 10. Or something in that range. How those fans are connected up to those power supplies I do not know. Maybe a case of no power to one of the fans or a seized fan. If it's just a fan I used to salvage one of similar voltage from an old computer and screw them into place. These days it's even easier. You just look up the dimensions of the fan on mebay or amazon and source one with the appropriate voltage. All this is presuming you're Peltier unit is still operational....

Graham P
Graham P

Thanks mate. I have been down and purchased a new internal fan and hooked it up with no joy.
Will keep looking.


jimmy

jimmyasked

my waeco 14 lt wont go cold om 240 volt and 12 volt checked both fans and they work perfect is there any thing i can do to fix the problem?

2 answers
Sacha W
Sacha W

I have the same probleme, do you resolved this ?

Hardball
Hardball

Refer to answer above for DIY testing of the Peltier unit.


Jack

Jackasked

My 14ltr has just stopped working on 12v, it works fine on 240v and was working on 12v Prior to connecting to 240v
Can I have some suggestions please?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Dometic representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.