??!
8 photos
Weber Baby Q Series
4.5 from 449 reviews · View Statistics

Gas BBQs Buying Guide

A gas bbq can help you get sizzling. But would you prefer a portable bbq or a freestanding one? What about LPG or natural gas? This buying guide will help answer your burning questions.

Read now

Pros

  • Compact and portable

  • Long lasting and durable

  • More affordable than other BBQs

Cons

  • Larger Weber BBQs may be more effective

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.8 (81)
  • Value for Money
    4.6 (77)
  • Ease of Use
    4.8 (82)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (80)
  • Preheating Speed
    4.5 (75)
  • Even Heat DistributionYes (76) · No (5)
  • Safety
    4.6 (77)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Sally

SallySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 17 reviews
  • 10 likes

love it

published

We love our little weber so much, in fact we hardly even use our big bbq these days as we love our weber. We purchased the stand too its great for picnics and the food tastes amazing.

Purchased in March 2018 for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Fantastic to hear Sally, thanks for your review!

Mr Mike

Mr MikePerth

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great portable BBQ

published

Have had the baby Q for a few years now, bought it as a replacement for my stainless boat BBQ which was honstly useless. Highly recommended them. From roasts to frying with the optional pans it's great!

Purchased in July 2010 at Barbeques Galore for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
John.c

John.cSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent

published

We have a baby Q which we take when travelling in the motorhome excellent barbecue we cook breakfast lunch and dinner sometimes on it as portable barbecues go you cannot get better I would recommend the baby Q

Purchased in September 2016 at The Good Guys for A$290.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Gas BBQs

Find out how Weber Baby Q Series compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sharelle S.

Sharelle S.North Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it!

published

This is such an easy bbq to use, we often take it to the beach for a bbq, and have it set up for most dinners, steak, sausages and roast! Couldn’t live without.

Purchased in December 2019 at BCF for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Denis

DenisFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic

published

Wind not a problem yet. A cyclone might change that !!! Food tastes great and way better than an oven or fry pan!, and so easy to use. It's new, so I haven't needed to clean it yet,

Purchased in February 2020 for A$349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Chickie

ChickieSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 23 reviews
  • 9 likes

Love it

published

The meats & roasts are so tender.Brought the thermometer later & there’s no guessing.Love it.
We have even lent it to friends who have also brought one after trying it out.Its so portable too.

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
MegaPtera

MegaPteraGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Got converted to the Australian BBQ culture!

published

Love our Weber Baby Q. Perfect for 2, occasionally for 4 or more when having a little gathering. Warms up to 150 Celsius degrees in just 2 minutes. So convenient! Watch for not spending too much on useless accessories... As prices are crazy on those! We got the pizza stone, which we've never used!

Purchased in September 2018 for A$339.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Chris

ChrisSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

I've always been a weber man, so I bought the baby q for camping and I am extremely impressed with the quality and performance of this great bbq, very impressed

Purchased in April 2019 at David Jones for A$305.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Jacqui C.

Jacqui C.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

So portable, so easy to use!

published

This bbq is so light and portable, easily cooks a whole pack of sausages, perfect for small houses and camping. It's very easy to clean and a great price point.

Purchased in November 2019 at The Good Guys for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Gas BBQs

Find out how Weber Baby Q Series compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tracy T

Tracy TSouthwest, VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 10 likes

Delicious!!

published

Best steaks and very easy to clean and then pack it up and store it away, great for camping we have ours in the van, it's good value, love it.

Purchased in December 2019 at BFC for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
James S.

James S.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Love it

published

Bought it for for Christmas and absolutely loves it such a tiny barbecue but with big potential it's good for those a little road trips God knows we all need them

Purchased in December 2019 at Barbeques Galore for A$260.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Mark

MarkSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great bbq

published

Very happy can cook anything very good and very easy to clean
As I only have a small hatchback car it’s very light and fits in the boot great for camping and day trips

Purchased in July 2019 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers

"Portability"

published

I know that Weber Baby Q requires a 4.5kg to 9kg gas cylinder. However, is it still possible for me to use one that is smaller than 4.5kg? For portability, I would think a smaller gas cylinder is more appropriate. For example Bunnings only sells gas cylinders weighing 3.7kg and 8.5kg. I am a bit disappointed that I need to buy a heavier gas cylinder as this compromises the portability of the Weber Baby Q.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber
Veronica

VeronicaArmidale

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Most over rated BBQ

published

We purchased our Weber based on reviews from other people for our caravan. I would say DON'T it is the most over rated BBQ ever.
We also own any other brand BBQ for home that does a much better job.

The trivet tray does not do what it claims even after following directions as instructed by Weber.

Purchased in March 2018 for A$329.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionNo
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Veronica, thanks for taking the time to leave a review, and we're sorry to hear that you're not satisfied with your product. Can we ask what issues you've had specifically with the trivet? We'd love to help you get the best from your purchase.

Emma

Emma

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent bbq

published

Roasts just taste amazing on this bbq - far superior to being cooked in the oven. Bacon is amazing and even tastes great cold (much better than cold after being cooked in a frying pan). This size is perfect for camping for our family of 4. Convenient, easy to use. Love our Weber.

Purchased in December 2019 at BCF for A$309.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Gas BBQs

Find out how Weber Baby Q Series compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Molly C.

Molly C.Perth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect and compact.

published

We have had our babyq for nearly two years. We take it everywhere with us, perfect for camping trips, bbq by the beach or at the park. Our food comes out perfect every time, even big roasts. Easy to clean and use and the carry bag makes it easy to travel with. It’s great for the two of us or even for a small family.

Purchased in December 2017 at BCF for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
JohnB

JohnBSouth East Queensland, QLD

Beware: Plastic frames melt

published

I have owned 2 of these Webers now (one familyQ and one BabyQ) , they are a good BBQ other than the dangerous fault of the steel frame melting the plastic stands when roasting. This has happened to me twice now, yesterday being the latest incident. Its a bad fault for an expensive BBQ so they need to built with a steel stand. Contacted company and hoping for a full refund on both BBQ's...but won't hold my breath.

  • +2
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
2 comments
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber
JohnB
JohnB
Graham K.

Graham K.Richmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

I love it.

published

I can cook almost anything on here takes a little time to work out the best heat setting for different meats , take out the grills and pop them in dishwasher and good to go , I keep undercover

Purchased in December 2018 at Barbeques Galore.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Chris G

Chris G

  • 9 reviews
  • 14 likes

Absolutely useless and overpriced.

published

The Baby Q is good for a lot of things - great even cooking as a BBQ. But for Pizza - using the overpriced accessory - it is absolutely useless - not hot enough and stews it to death.

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionNo
See all answers
5 comments
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber
Chris G
Chris G

Preheated for 20mins. The second pizza went in about 40mins after the bbq was first turned on and still took forever to cook. Yes used the foil tray with trivet over and stone on top.

Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Was the stone in the barbecue when you were pre-heating? and what setting was the barbecue on while you were cooking the pizza?

Not happy

Not happyCentral Queensland, QLD

Accessory pricing

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Preheating Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber
Page 2 of 23
See all Weber Baby Q Series reviews

Questions & Answers

Ian

Ianasked

Baby Q Q100

Are you guys going to bring out a retrofit for the Baby Q for a flame out sensor.? There are a lot of us who have this model and use off a bayonet fitting from the van / motor home.
Now with new Australian regulations, this is no longer legal and I will be mightily annoyed if I have to replace the Que with another brand that does comply.
Thanks Ian

No answers
Cossie

Cossieasked

Baby Q Series

We have a weber baby q and the temp on low setting is still around 180 how can you get it lower

No answers
Marko

Markoasked

Baby Q Premium (Q1200)

Can this be used with the small screw on non-refillable gas cylinders like Coleman Lightweight 1 lb LPG Bottle in Australia?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Weber representatives

Details

The popular Weber Baby Q Series is recommended for outdoor areas with limited space. This is a portable BBQ that you can take on holidays without it weighing you down.

Features:

  • Compact BBQ designed for travel but still large enough to roast a whole chicken
  • More affordable than other Weber BBQs, which are usually around $100 more expensive
  • Stainless steel burner tubes provide an even distribution of heat
  • Available in red, black and cream

Points of praise for the Weber Baby Q Series:

  • Winner of the ProductReview Award for the BBQ category for multiple years in a row, proving to be a reliable and trustworthy choice for consumers
  • Longevity was a point of praise amongst reviewers - with one reviewer claiming that they had been using their Weber Baby Q for the past 13 years
  • Many reviewers loved to take their BBQ camping, reporting that it was the perfect size.
Compare all 4 Weber Baby Q Series
Weber Baby Q Standard (Q1000)
  • Award Winner 2020
  • 2019
  • 2017

Weber Baby Q Standard (Q1000)

4.6
(211)
Weber Baby Q Premium (Q1200)
  • Award Winner 2020
  • 2019
  • 2017

Weber Baby Q Premium (Q1200)

4.6
(119)
Weber Baby Q Q100
  • Discontinued
  • Award Winner 2020
  • 2019
  • 2017

Weber Baby Q Q100

4.5
(48)
Weber Baby Q Q120
  • Discontinued
  • Award Winner 2020
  • 2019
  • 2017

Weber Baby Q Q120

4.6
(10)
CategoryGas BBQsGas BBQsGas BBQsGas BBQs
Price (RRP) A$339.00A$349.00
TypePortablePortable
Cooking Plate / Grill MaterialCast IronCast Iron
FeaturesGrillGrill and Temperature Gauge
Colour / FinishBlack, TitaniumBlack, Red, Titanium
Dimensions 600 x 690 x 520 mm620 x 690 x 520 mm
Weight10.8 kg11.25 kg
Gas TypeLPGLPG
Number of Burners/Zones 11
Gas Rate 9 mJ/hr9 mJ/hr
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateSep 2006Sep 2006
Replaced byWeber Baby Q Standard (Q1000)Weber Baby Q Premium (Q1200)
Compare all 4 Weber Baby Q Series

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.