9 photos
Weber Family Q Series
4.5 from 359 reviews · View Statistics

Gas BBQs Buying Guide

A gas bbq can help you get sizzling. But would you prefer a portable bbq or a freestanding one? What about LPG or natural gas? This buying guide will help answer your burning questions.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Pros

  • Choice of LPG or natural gas

  • Easy to use

  • Stainless steel burners

  • Extensive 5-year warranty

Cons

  • Sourcing a Weber Family Q stockist can be difficult

Reviews

4.7

59 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (59)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (59)
  • Ease of Use
    4.8 (59)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (59)
  • Preheating Speed
    4.7 (55)
  • Even Heat DistributionYes (59) · No
  • Safety
    4.8 (56)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Andrew N.
Andrew N.Sydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

The Perfect BBQ

published

We are using it all the time and loving it... roast, pizza, fish and general BBQ. Heats up quickly, cooks evenly and to perfection. last in all weather, easy to clean after use, it’s great that we can use it as oven as well as bbq.
the best outdoor BBQ I ever had.

Purchased in December 2019 at Mitre 10 for $819.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Andrew, thank you for your great review. We're so glad to hear that you're loving your Family Q!

Brian
BrianGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

No Gauge

published

I bought the family Q online from the Good Guys, it was the most expensive they sold, almost $800 for the unit and by the time I bought all the accessories I required I wouldn’t have got much change from $1000.
When it arrived I discovered that it doesn’t come with a gauge. I think this is an absolute disgrace, almost $1000 spent and no temp gauge.
Contacted a Weber franchise and was told there is in fact a premium model that comes with a gauge but this model can only be purchased through a franchise shop.
I cannot be the only customer who feels really upset by this, now I’m being told that a new lid has to be purchased if I want a gauge.
To say this has left a bad taste but would an understatement.

Purchased in April 2019 for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber
Other Gas BBQs

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Ahmed
AhmedGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Disappointed and a cleaning nightmare.

published

Not straight forward to set up from instructions. Looks attractive. So far have cooked steaks, prawns, salmon, chicken and whilst the results are ok, the taste doesn't justify the cost of the BBQ. The real problem is cleaning after use. This is a total nightmare which involves a lot of recommended cleaning product, scrubbing and exorbitant amount of time. Regretful buy.

Purchased in November 2020 for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
2 comments
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber
Ahmed
Ahmed
Gas BBQs

Find out how Weber Family Q Series compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
triks_melb
triks_melbGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 18 reviews
  • 9 likes

Good but should be better at this price

published

- Made in China
- No Window to see inside
- Gril Plate not included (another AUD $70.00)
- Drip Pan not included
- Assembly instructions are not straight forward (2 friends also didn't understand tray must be inserted before adding legs).
- Assembly will require 2 hours.
- Some writing on knobs has rubbed off after wiping the knob with tea towel.

Purchased in December 2020 for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
J Harper
J Harper
  • 4 reviews

Excellent looks stylish under the alfresco

published

Cooked Christmas turkey, roasted pork and so good for a breakfast fry up.
Easy to clean using all accessories that are available to purchase.
No problem as it has an excellent lid.

Purchased in August 2019 for $750.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
2 comments
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi J Harper, thanks for your review! So glad to hear that you're enjoying your Family Q. Happy barbecuing!

J Harper
J Harper

Thank you Weber for the thought.

Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next

Bloody love it

published

Lamb chops are great, cooked really well without being dry. Don’t get me started on baked spuds and pumpkin and onions ect. Easiest bbq I have ever kept clean. Mine lives out of the covered area with only a Weber cover( which was in pretty crappy condition) when I got it and is still going after2.5 years.

Purchased for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber
Barry C.
Barry C.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Good but limited use

published

The family q is great for steaks and cooks great veggies! I find it too limited in its height (can't do beer can chicken) and doesnt have a wok burner which i use a lot.
Roasts aren't as good as the old school kettle weber using coals!
I wouldn't replace my 4 burner or kettle with it but it's a good addition to my BBQ collection!

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
Wilson
WilsonACT
  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Weber family q (perfect steak)

published

Porterhouse, sirloin all cooked with beautiful bbq flavour on the Weber family Q. Roasting is made easy, perfect for lamb or pork roasts. The nonstick on the grill plates are super easy to clean, especially if done straight after cooking when plates are still hot. With the optional extra cover, that has Velcro fasteners the Weber family q is safely kept out of the weather. Since having the bbq we wouldn’t be without it.

Purchased in June 2020 at Appliances Online for $655.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Glad to hear you're loving your Family Q Wilson! Thanks for the review. Happy Barbecuing!

Other Gas BBQs

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Clay
Clay
  • 3 reviews

Excellent

published

Love this !
1st Webber I've owned and have found d it so much more efficient than my previous 4 and 6 burner standard barbies. Great even cook and easy as to clean plus looks aesthetic on the balcony
Tops

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2019 at The Good Guys for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Clay, thanks for the review! Your Family Q looks great on the balcony and we're glad to hear you're loving your barbecue!

Gas BBQs

Find out how Weber Family Q Series compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Flik P.
Flik P.Central Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews

Fabulous product

published

Got it for our son for his birthday he loves it. He has been cooking up a storm. Now he wants all of the bits and bobs to go with it

Purchased in March 2020 at BCF Physical Store for $469.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Flik, thanks for your review we're so glad to hear your son is loving his Family Q! There are some great accessories to go with the Family Q which you can find here https://www.weber.com/AU/en/accessories/. Happy Barbecuing!

David R.
David R.
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Easy cooking

published

Easy to turn on
Easy to move around
Easy to cook with
Easy to clean
This is a great and simple product which makes it easy to cook on every night and unlike other products which begin to fall apart or wear and tear after regular bbq, this one is out performing all its competitors

Purchased in October 2019 at Barbeques Galore for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
Kylie
KylieSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 18 reviews
  • 2 likes

Can't beat it!

published

Simplicity at its best.
Easy to put together and fool proof for anyone straight from the box. Quickly heats. Cooks food to perfection and so evenly. Bbq is easy to clean and is hassle free. Awkward to move around unless your great with a shuffle to avoid stabbing your toes. Looks the part too, very sleak.
Worth every cent to save that stove top from all the fat and oil splatter.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased at Appliances online for $649.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Kylie, thanks for your review! Great to see you are loving your Family Q! Happy Barbecuing!

John L.
John L.
  • 2 reviews

So Easy to Use

published

We purchased our first Weber Q about 8 years ago and now all our children own one. Read the simple instructions, follow them and you will have no issues with your Webber.

If the starter rusts out, contact Weber and they send you a new one - free of charge.

Honestly, this is the best BBQ you could ever want.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi John, thanks for your review! Awesome to hear you are loving your Family Q. Happy Barbecuing!

Ted
TedGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great BBQ does the job - every time

published

I cook chicken, burgers roasts, sausages, onions on my Weber Q. It's always up to the job, and I get perfectly cooked meat. Best BBQ I've owned. It's fast to cook - and I've never burnt anything. Was on sale - including the cart - I couldn't resist. I love it.

Purchased in January 2017 at Myer for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Ted, thanks for the review! Fantastic to hear you're enjoying your Family Q. Happy barbecuing!

Other Gas BBQs

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Josh
JoshPerth, WA
  • 9 reviews
  • 13 likes

Best bbq I've owned

published

Best bbq i have ever brought.
Can cook everything on this bbq. Comes with a cook book using the bbq. Great for cooking roasts with the temperature gauge. And can cook the best steaks.
Easy to clean just have to change the drip tray regularly or it starts to smell other then that best thing ever this bbq

Purchased in November 2019 for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Josh, thanks for your review. Fantastic to hear you are loving your family Q! Happy barbecuing!

Gas BBQs

Find out how Weber Family Q Series compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 4
See all Weber Family Q Series reviews

Questions & Answers

Joe A
Joe Aasked
Family Q Series

I have weber q 2200 I think it is....the one in between baby and family and no temp gauge on lid.....I was coming a boneless roast pork tonight with both grill on a trivet and disposable tray under it with the holes in it.....now it was cooking for about 35 minutes on high...now I was inside chopping vegetables to also go on weber....i went back outside and there was more smoke then usual....I opened the lid and there was fat fire....inside lid was black and the plastic on frame in couple places had melted is this covered under warranty or an I up for another weber at my expense .....it is only 7 months old any information is greatly appreciated....I'm located in Melbourne Victoria Australia TIA

1 answer
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Joe, we're sorry to hear of you experience and we will be able to work through with you to determine what has happened and how we can best help you under warranty.

Could you please send us an email via social@weberbbq.com.au with some images of your barbecue and the serial number and we can look into this for you.

Thanks.

Tony
Tonyasked
Family Q Standard (Q3100)

I have just assembled my new Weber 3100 Q BBQ. I am unable to install a battery. Instructions state a AAA battery. Clearly this will not fit. Tried the smaller battery but couldn't get it in as springload would not allow it to close. Am I missing something??

1 answer
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Tony, if you have a Q3100, there is no need for a battery in your ignition system. The instruction manual covers both models (Q3100 & Q3200)- the 3200 requires a battery behind the ignition button.

Michelle
Michelle asked
Family Q Standard (Q3100)

Hi we have just bought this bbq and we noticed that the screws inside the bbq from the lid have started to melt. I questioned hubby maybe he didn’t set it up right but there would be no other way I could see for lid to be positioned without the screws in the inside of the bbq. Please let me know what we should do
Thanks Michelle

1 answer
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Michelle, did you still need a hand here?

My question would be, are you talking about the screws themselves, or are you talking about the spacers that come with the screws? As these are meant to be on the outside of the lid, not inside.

If it's easier, please feel free to send some photos to social@weberbbq.com.au and we can figure out the issue there.

See all Weber Family Q Series questions

Get an answer from our members and Weber representatives

Weber Family Q Series

Details

Features:

  • There are two types of BBQs to choose from. One type is fuelled by LPG bottles (liquid petroleum gas), with one bottle lasting over 20 hours. The other is powered by natural gas, which is incompatible with any gas bottles
  • There’s a standard range and premium range but the price difference isn’t significant. For example, the Weber Family Q Standard LPG BBQ costs $789, while the Premium version of the LPG BBQ is $799, making it only $10 more expensive. Unlike the standard range, the premium range features an electronic ignition and built-in thermometer.
  • The BBQs have a large surface area for cooking on, with two removable folding side tables, which make it easier to prepare food
  • Stainless steel burners prevent rusting and ensure longevity

Points of praise for the Weber Family Q:

  • Reviewers found this range of BBQs to be versatile. They’re optimum for cooking a variety of foods, such as meats or vegetables
  • They’re decent size BBQs that are large enough for cooking for family and friends, yet portable as well, allowing them to be taken on holidays or camping trips
  • The BBQs are easy to dismantle, making cleaning a simple process
  • A reliable warranty means that many reviewers reporting getting their BBQ fixed or replaced without a fuss.

2021 ProductReview Awards logo

With a solid 4.6-star rating and consistent winning streak, it’s not surprising that the Weber Family Q has won the award for Best Gas BBQ in 2021, taking out the top position two years in a row. Reviewers lauded the range of BBQ’s ease of use and outstanding build quality.

Compare all 7 Weber Family Q Series
Weber Family Q Standard (Q3100) LPG
  • Award Winner 2021
  • 2020
  • 2018
  • 2017

Weber Family Q Standard (Q3100) LPG

3.0
(2)
Weber Family Q Standard (Q3100) Natural Gas
  • Award Winner 2021
  • 2020
  • 2018
  • 2017

Weber Family Q Standard (Q3100) Natural Gas

3.0
(2)
Weber Family Q Premium (Q3200) LPG
  • Award Winner 2021
  • 2020
  • 2018
  • 2017

Weber Family Q Premium (Q3200) LPG

2.7
(3)
Weber Family Q Premium (Q3200) Natural Gas
  • Award Winner 2021
  • 2020
  • 2018
  • 2017

Weber Family Q Premium (Q3200) Natural Gas

5.0
(1)
CategoryGas BBQsGas BBQsGas BBQsGas BBQs
Price (RRP) $789.00$819.00$799.00$829.00
TypeFreestandingFreestandingFreestandingFreestanding
Cooking Plate / Grill MaterialCast IronCast IronCast IronCast Iron
FeaturesGrill, Hooded and On WheelsGrill, Hooded and On WheelsGrill, Hooded, On Wheels and Temperature GaugeGrill, Hooded, On Wheels and Temperature Gauge
Dimensions 1090 x 1400 x 740 mm1090 x 1400 x 740 mm1105 x 1276 x 534 mm1105 x 1276 x 534 mm
Weight34 kg34 kg35 kg35 kg
Gas TypeLPGNatural GasLPGNatural Gas
Number of Burners/Zones 2222
Gas Rate 22.9 mJ/hr22.9 mJ/hr22.9 mJ/hr22.9 mJ/hr
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Colour / FinishBlack, TitaniumBlack, TitaniumBlack, Red, TitaniumBlack, Titanium
Compare all 7 Weber Family Q Series
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.