9 photos
Weber Family Q Series
4.5 from 359 reviews · View Statistics

Gas BBQs Buying Guide

A gas bbq can help you get sizzling. But would you prefer a portable bbq or a freestanding one? What about LPG or natural gas? This buying guide will help answer your burning questions.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Pros

  • Choice of LPG or natural gas

  • Easy to use

  • Stainless steel burners

  • Extensive 5-year warranty

Cons

  • Sourcing a Weber Family Q stockist can be difficult

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (4)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (4)
  • Ease of Use
    3.0 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (4)
  • Preheating Speed
    4.7 (3)
  • Even Heat DistributionYes (3) · No (1)
  • Safety
    4.0 (3)
Previous
Next
triks_melb
triks_melbGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 18 reviews
  • 9 likes

Good but should be better at this price

published

- Made in China
- No Window to see inside
- Gril Plate not included (another AUD $70.00)
- Drip Pan not included
- Assembly instructions are not straight forward (2 friends also didn't understand tray must be inserted before adding legs).
- Assembly will require 2 hours.
- Some writing on knobs has rubbed off after wiping the knob with tea towel.

Purchased in December 2020 for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Barry C.
Barry C.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Good but limited use

published

The family q is great for steaks and cooks great veggies! I find it too limited in its height (can't do beer can chicken) and doesnt have a wok burner which i use a lot.
Roasts aren't as good as the old school kettle weber using coals!
I wouldn't replace my 4 burner or kettle with it but it's a good addition to my BBQ collection!

Build Quality
Value for Money
Other Gas BBQs

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Paul
PaulGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Operating the Family Q

published

Not totally excited about my new Weber Family Premium Q especially when cooking pizza. I have purchased all the Weber “stuff” ( trivet, tray & stone) and tried homemade dough ( mother in-law is Italian) and pre- purchased pizza bases from a local guy but no real success. Aske Weber Aus/NZ fir advise but nobody responded!
Q: it appears you have to light both burners to start with then you can turn the center one off?

Purchased in September 2020 at Weber for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Gas BBQs

Find out how Weber Family Q Series compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter
PeterSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good BBQ, terrible patio cart

published

The BBQ works fine, although the patio cart makes it very difficult to move around without risk of damaging your back and/or feet. The location of where you lift the cart from is too far from your body and is directly above the legs of the trolley, meaning you have to do the "Weber shuffle" to move it. I have been in contact with their customer service area who said lift it higher, and that it was not meant to be moved with the gas bottle in it. Both are poor responses, as lifting it higher does not help, and selling a patio cart that houses the gas bottle which you have to remove each time you want to move it seems unrealistic. This is a fundamental design flaw, beware.

Purchased in December 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
2 comments
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber
Peter
Peter
brumac01
brumac01
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

not happy

published

i received a webber q family for xmas, very disappointed that it doesn't come with a ,tempreture gauge. you would think for the price you pay it would come a gauge. i was looking at other bbq brands similar to wwbber and they come with tempreture gauge. luck for webber my wife purchased it other wise i would have choisen another brand.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next

Cannot understand why I keep burning everything after following instructions carefully.

published

Tried doing steaks on the open plate and didn't like the burnt taste so purchased a solid one. OK lets try a roast. Got the trivet etc and followed the instructions only to find everything burning. What am I doing wrong never had such a problem before. Maybe it is just trial and error who knows. Also found assembling instructions a bit confusing.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber
maxpick
maxpickGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

cleaning

published

after bringing my bbq home i assembled it and found that it really is made of cheap plastic and is very flimsy the cooking part of the bbg is fine but the trolley is rubbish and the wheels even worse
i cooked a roast leg of pork which turned out fantastic so i give it about 8 out of 10 for cooking the trolly about a 3
then to clean it what a pain in the backside used a large plastic container of really hot soapy water the cooking grates
took about 20 minutes to clean i tryed webers own bbq cleaner that did not help so i give cleaning 3 out of 10

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Michael
MichaelSydney
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Grill plates falling off due to warped BBQ cook box

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Other Gas BBQs

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
RAM
RAMDromana
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good but gas knobs turn on with cover

published

Of real concern twice now i have found the gas on due to cover turning knobs. Happened to my fathers also. The knobs are too easy to depress. Recommend always turning your gas shut off valve off every time...
The BBq is very good though but wonder if anyone else has had this concern. Could cause a real issue with gas accumulation under the cover.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Gas BBQs

Find out how Weber Family Q Series compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ihunger
ihungerSYDNEY
  • 4 reviews

Only basic BBQ can be done

published

I believed in the Weber brand and hence bought this, however would have thought there would have been more thought into it. Yes, design wise, and ease of use, it both scores very well. This only caters to the quick and fast bbq styles, however there is no way to have different temperatures on the two sides of the grill plate, ie one high heat and one low eat. The temperature also varied quite a bit across the grill plate. Would only recommend if you are not doing any slow bbq.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber
Mel
MelPERTH
  • 83 reviews
  • 53 likes

Wish it was a bit bigger

published

Bought the famous Weber Family Q after years of trying other BBQs of different sizes and models. It's a great little unit that cooks evenly and keeps the moisture in the meat. We use it a lot in summer for bbq dinners. I only wish it was big enough to do our turkey and roast beef at Christmas time for the whole extended family.
Other than that, it's a great buy that I'd recommend to anyone. Weber has stood the test of time so you can't really go wrong.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber
LoudLloyd
LoudLloydHorsham
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Hard to go wrong with a barbie

published

Pretty hard to go wrong with a decent barbie we have stainless steel plates at our home barbie and it's built into the deck (with a beer fridge beneath it) and got one of these jobs for our beach house which was a little different but has a few burners and all the bells and whistles. Hate to say it because to me the only factor for barbies was the number of burners really, they all turn on and cook but this one just doesn't seem to compete for me. The grill is the same heat all over, normally it's hotter up top to get a rarer steak I don't know does the trick but could be better.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

same - burn out !!!

published

Dave.1 - the same thing happened to me. I was preheating the weber while I was preparing the food. When I came out to attend to the Weber about 10 minutes later it was suffering major heat stress - the external coating on the casting (the bottom half) was burning and peeling off. I managed to save it before the trolley started to melt but it was close.

Date PurchasedAug 2013
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Jono, thanks for your review. Can you please call us on 1300 301 290 if you still have this issue? Thanks

topbloke
topbloke
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Reasonably satisified

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber
Other Gas BBQs

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Michael S
Michael SMelbourne
  • 12 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good cooking once jets unclogged

published

Happy overall with the cooking results but the gas burner holes are on top so the fat dripping from cooking clogs these holes. Pre-heating the BBQ for some time may unclog some holes but find we need to clear with a pin regularly. The BBQ is used with a gas bottle.

Date PurchasedJuly 2015
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi, thanks for your review. Happy barbecuing!

Gas BBQs

Find out how Weber Family Q Series compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2
See all Weber Family Q Series reviews

Questions & Answers

Joe A
Joe Aasked
Family Q Series

I have weber q 2200 I think it is....the one in between baby and family and no temp gauge on lid.....I was coming a boneless roast pork tonight with both grill on a trivet and disposable tray under it with the holes in it.....now it was cooking for about 35 minutes on high...now I was inside chopping vegetables to also go on weber....i went back outside and there was more smoke then usual....I opened the lid and there was fat fire....inside lid was black and the plastic on frame in couple places had melted is this covered under warranty or an I up for another weber at my expense .....it is only 7 months old any information is greatly appreciated....I'm located in Melbourne Victoria Australia TIA

1 answer
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Joe, we're sorry to hear of you experience and we will be able to work through with you to determine what has happened and how we can best help you under warranty.

Could you please send us an email via social@weberbbq.com.au with some images of your barbecue and the serial number and we can look into this for you.

Thanks.

Tony
Tonyasked
Family Q Standard (Q3100)

I have just assembled my new Weber 3100 Q BBQ. I am unable to install a battery. Instructions state a AAA battery. Clearly this will not fit. Tried the smaller battery but couldn't get it in as springload would not allow it to close. Am I missing something??

1 answer
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Tony, if you have a Q3100, there is no need for a battery in your ignition system. The instruction manual covers both models (Q3100 & Q3200)- the 3200 requires a battery behind the ignition button.

Michelle
Michelle asked
Family Q Standard (Q3100)

Hi we have just bought this bbq and we noticed that the screws inside the bbq from the lid have started to melt. I questioned hubby maybe he didn’t set it up right but there would be no other way I could see for lid to be positioned without the screws in the inside of the bbq. Please let me know what we should do
Thanks Michelle

1 answer
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Michelle, did you still need a hand here?

My question would be, are you talking about the screws themselves, or are you talking about the spacers that come with the screws? As these are meant to be on the outside of the lid, not inside.

If it's easier, please feel free to send some photos to social@weberbbq.com.au and we can figure out the issue there.

See all Weber Family Q Series questions

Get an answer from our members and Weber representatives

Weber Family Q Series

Details

Features:

  • There are two types of BBQs to choose from. One type is fuelled by LPG bottles (liquid petroleum gas), with one bottle lasting over 20 hours. The other is powered by natural gas, which is incompatible with any gas bottles
  • There’s a standard range and premium range but the price difference isn’t significant. For example, the Weber Family Q Standard LPG BBQ costs $789, while the Premium version of the LPG BBQ is $799, making it only $10 more expensive. Unlike the standard range, the premium range features an electronic ignition and built-in thermometer.
  • The BBQs have a large surface area for cooking on, with two removable folding side tables, which make it easier to prepare food
  • Stainless steel burners prevent rusting and ensure longevity

Points of praise for the Weber Family Q:

  • Reviewers found this range of BBQs to be versatile. They’re optimum for cooking a variety of foods, such as meats or vegetables
  • They’re decent size BBQs that are large enough for cooking for family and friends, yet portable as well, allowing them to be taken on holidays or camping trips
  • The BBQs are easy to dismantle, making cleaning a simple process
  • A reliable warranty means that many reviewers reporting getting their BBQ fixed or replaced without a fuss.

2021 ProductReview Awards logo

With a solid 4.6-star rating and consistent winning streak, it’s not surprising that the Weber Family Q has won the award for Best Gas BBQ in 2021, taking out the top position two years in a row. Reviewers lauded the range of BBQ’s ease of use and outstanding build quality.

Compare all 7 Weber Family Q Series
Weber Family Q Standard (Q3100) LPG
  • Award Winner 2021
  • 2020
  • 2018
  • 2017

Weber Family Q Standard (Q3100) LPG

3.0
(2)
Weber Family Q Standard (Q3100) Natural Gas
  • Award Winner 2021
  • 2020
  • 2018
  • 2017

Weber Family Q Standard (Q3100) Natural Gas

3.0
(2)
Weber Family Q Premium (Q3200) LPG
  • Award Winner 2021
  • 2020
  • 2018
  • 2017

Weber Family Q Premium (Q3200) LPG

2.7
(3)
Weber Family Q Premium (Q3200) Natural Gas
  • Award Winner 2021
  • 2020
  • 2018
  • 2017

Weber Family Q Premium (Q3200) Natural Gas

5.0
(1)
CategoryGas BBQsGas BBQsGas BBQsGas BBQs
Price (RRP) $789.00$819.00$799.00$829.00
TypeFreestandingFreestandingFreestandingFreestanding
Cooking Plate / Grill MaterialCast IronCast IronCast IronCast Iron
FeaturesGrill, Hooded and On WheelsGrill, Hooded and On WheelsGrill, Hooded, On Wheels and Temperature GaugeGrill, Hooded, On Wheels and Temperature Gauge
Dimensions 1090 x 1400 x 740 mm1090 x 1400 x 740 mm1105 x 1276 x 534 mm1105 x 1276 x 534 mm
Weight34 kg34 kg35 kg35 kg
Gas TypeLPGNatural GasLPGNatural Gas
Number of Burners/Zones 2222
Gas Rate 22.9 mJ/hr22.9 mJ/hr22.9 mJ/hr22.9 mJ/hr
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Colour / FinishBlack, TitaniumBlack, TitaniumBlack, Red, TitaniumBlack, Titanium
Compare all 7 Weber Family Q Series
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.