??!
1 photo
Weber Q 220
4.5 from 68 reviews · View Details

Gas BBQs Buying Guide

There’s nothing quite like an Aussie summer barbie, and a gas bbq can help you get sizzling. But do you know whether you want a portable bbq or a freestanding model? Would you prefer an LPG gas bottle or natural gas? This buying guide is here to help answer all your burning questions.

Read now

Reviews

4.5

68 reviews
5
(52)
4
(8)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(3)
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (4)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (4)
  • Ease of Use
    4.8 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (4)
  • Preheating Speed
    3.7 (3)
  • Even Heat DistributionYes (2) · No (1)
  • Safety
    4.8 (4)
Previous
Next
KGro

KGroSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Fantastic customer service

published

Weber's service is exceptional, my igniter had stopped working I called weber customer service and explained I had tried multiple fixes they immediately agreed to send a replacement part. It arrived the next morning and everything is working perfectly. This is how customer service should be and why people are loyal to the brand. Thanks Weber

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers
Bill

BillCentral Queensland, QLD

Best barbeque I have ever owned.

published

Had for 5 years loved it, wife bought me a zigler and brown, had it for a year now nowhere near as good as the weber, will be buying another weber very soon.

Purchased in March 2014 for A$400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Preheating Speed
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Gemma Heatley

Gemma HeatleySouthwest, VIC

Used to love it, not now

published

I bought this three years ago as an investment BBQ in red for my husband. Its been used carefully but despite this, the paint has started falling off. I would expect a reputable brand such as Weber to stand normal use. Disappointed to say the least. Would not recommend Weber again.

Purchased in November 2016 for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Preheating Speed
Even Heat DistributionNo
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Gemma, we're sorry to hear that you're having some issues with your Q lid. Can you please send us an email at social@weberbbq.com.au with some photos and we can look into this issue for you?

Gas BBQs

Find out how Weber Q 220 compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jed F.

Jed F.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Webber Q. Awesome all rounder

published

Bought this from the Good guys. Should probably do a review from them as well. This BBQ is awesome. It roasts, smokes, slow cooks. Have made some of the best roast pork with the best crackle ever.

Purchased in January 2018 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Preheating Speed
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
JB

JBRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent customer service!

published

I have a Weber Q & the grill broke in half. I called the Weber 1300 number & got a lovely man & they are going to replace it for me. This is a great bbq & great customer service. It is well worth the initial outlay. It’s also good for making pizzas in

Date PurchasedDec 2013
Lisa

Lisa

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic BBQ!!

published

I purchased the BBQ as a birthday present for my husband a few years ago. We got the high top for cooking roast and it also has the thermometer. It is able to cook steaks so they remain full of flavour without drying out or burning. Roasts are cooked to perfection and the vegetables can be placed to the sides, saving washing up. We were so impressed with the way it cooks, we now cook practically everything on it from damper to crabs!! It has good even heating.The BBQ is very easy to clean with the wire cleaning brush and also very economical on gas. We have ended up buying one for our son, our daughter and another for camping.

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
quen131

quen131

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

the on brand of BBQ i would own

published

Had for 4 year now , easy to keep clean, cooks and roast perfectly, robust Except the side tables but still strong enough to put a tray of meat on them, will only buy a weber from now on , Wife threw out grill plate in packaging Weber replace free of charge , Customer service 2nd to none ,

Date PurchasedJan 2014
Summerz

SummerzCanberra

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

tough bbq

published

It's been on the balcony for over 3yrs now, and still looks great. The electronic ignition starts the flames perfectly every time. I've found it easy to clean with simply turning up to maximum for 15mins and allowing all the grease to smoke, cleaning the charcoal residue after. Easy to clean

Date PurchasedOct 2014
Aaron

Aaronbrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great product but even better customer service

published

We all know Weber make a great product. It is rather expensive but is reliable and well made. My parents moved home recently and lost the electronic ignition button on their Q220. I rang Weber and they sent me a replacement part for no charge. Didn't ask for a receipt, serial number, where I bought it. Nothing. Was in the letterbox in 3 days. This company is leading the way for customer service. I will not even look at another brand when I go looking for a new BBQ.

Date PurchasedFeb 2007
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Aaron, thanks for your review. We're so glad to hear that you're loving your barbecue. Enjoy, and happy barbecuing!

Gas BBQs

Find out how Weber Q 220 compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
DisneyDancerFan

DisneyDancerFanWauchope

  • 14 reviews
  • 3 likes

Nice little BBQ, I love it for various reasons.

published

It is super easy to use, I frequently cook Korean Bulgogi and BBQ any meats to cook on this. It cooks them perfectly all the way though, and slightly chars it causing lovely flavor to any dish/meat. I highly recommend this product, as it has served me very well over the years!

Date PurchasedJul 2010
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi, thanks for your review and support. Happy barbecuing!

Brettski

BrettskiNSW, 2035

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

10 years on and still going strong!

published
Date PurchasedAug 2007
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi, thanks for your review and support. Happy barbecuing!

Charlie

CharlieBrisbane

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great build quality

published

Its a great BBQ with good build quality. Got the Q220 (higher lid and thermometre) with stand and cover for $900 in 2009 and didn't like it as I felt it didn't get hot enough. After reading how to cook on it properly having other bbq's i still pull out the weber. Its built quality is amazing. Its important to know that you cook with the lid down and pre heat prior to use. I would recommend this BBQ to everyone.

I have used a rack ontop of the burners and used coal before with no issue.

Date PurchasedMar 2009
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Charlie, thanks for your support. It's great to hear you're enjoying your Weber Q. Happy barbecuing!

Robbo

RobboSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Dangerous. Plastic caught fire.

published
Date PurchasedAug 2014
3 comments
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber
Robbo
Robbo
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber
Mim

MimSydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic BBQ

published

Great little BBQ for use at home or to take camping. Easy to clean if you follow instructions and use the Webber brush straight after use. Doesn't take much room and easy to move around the yard. Cooks beautifully and plenty of room to feed a family. Food tastes fabulous and nice to have grill plus the hot plate. Expensive accessories however worth the cost.

Date PurchasedDec 2015
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Mim, thanks for your review! Happy barbecuing.

danielson

danielsonNorth-East, TAS

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

Never failing and dependable.

published

I have had this bbq for a few years now and it has been thrashed , still going strong. I use it 3-4 times a week for both grilling and roasting. It uses virtually no gas and is so easy to clean. Dont be fooled by the size as this cooks as much food as my old stainless large bbq but without the fuss. I have 5 webers and love them all....the quality is absolutely faultless.

Date PurchasedJul 2012
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi danielson, thanks for your review. Happy to hear you're enjoying your Weber Q. Happy barbecuing!

Gas BBQs

Find out how Weber Q 220 compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sammyb

SammybNSW, 2020

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

As old as my kids

published

I've had mine for over 10 years, it's the absolute best and is great for grilling meats. I bought a gas bbq and it just doesn't compare to the weber q with lump charcoal.
I've recently started using it to smoke meats as well so have started using it in winter. My kids love it!

Date PurchasedJan 2000
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Thank you for your kind words Sammy! We appreciate you taking the time to leave a positive review. Happy barbecuing!

Glam

GlamMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Easy cooking with great results

published

Have been very happy with our Weber Q220 and have used it weekly for 12 months. Definitely uses less gas than your conventional bbq but it does take a bit of time to get use to cooking with the lid on without being able to eyeball the meat, however the results are well worth it. Have to remember to clean out the inside of the Weber once in a while to prevent flare ups from built up gunk. Size is big enough for a family of 4, however I have struggled to manage with the Q220 for group BBQ's of more than 6. Highly recommended.

Date PurchasedJul 2016
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Glam, thanks for your review. Happy to hear you're enjoying the results from your Q.

queenofsheba

queenofshebaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 23 reviews
  • 13 likes

Can't believe it is discontinued

published
Date PurchasedDec 2015
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi queenofsheba, thanks for your review. Happy to hear that you're loving your Weber Q, and are pleased with the results. Enjoy!

Stewart's handyman servi

Stewart's handyman serviFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love my Webber

published

I use my Webber most days and it performs brilliantly. Lights easily is very efficient on the gas and once you work out the times for cooking you'll be cooking like a pro. I got the light that goes on the handle as well and it makes life a lot easier.
Buy one now and you'll never regret it

Date PurchasedAug 2016
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi thanks for your review. Happy to hear that you're loving your Weber Q, and are pleased with the results. Enjoy!

AW2212

AW2212Rockhampton

  • 15 reviews
  • 13 likes

Very helpful with replacement grill!

published

Grill was very rusty after 2 yrs (in humid Central Qld). Am very happy with the service people who provided me with a replacement grill plate at NO charge! We use the grill approx. once per month, and clean it as per Weber instructions, but it did get rusty. Very happy with their response in replacing the grill plate.

Date PurchasedOct 2014
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi, thanks for your review. Happy to hear that you're loving your Weber Q, and are pleased with the results and customer service. Enjoy!

Page 1 of 4
See all Weber Q reviews

Questions & Answers

Bear

Bearasked

Q 220

Where can I purchase a replacement lid for a Weber Q 200? Or replace with the newer high version.

1 answer
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Bear, give our team a call on 1300 301 290 and we will be able to help you out.

Leah

Leahasked

Q 220

Can I buy a full plate for my Weber Q2200
If so what is the right one

1 answer
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Leah, we have half-hotplate options available online here: https://www.weber.com/AU/en/accessories/cooking/griddles/

We don't recommend a full hotplate for the grill as we believe you get better results with half grill, half hotplate. Hope that helps!

Florence

Florenceasked

Q 220

Can I purchase a new ignition unit from Webber?

1 answer
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Florence, we can replace your igniter for the life of the barbecue. Please call our customer service team on 1300 301 290 and we can help you :)

Get an answer from our members and Weber representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.