??!
2 photos
Westinghouse WRM2400 (240L, Upright)

Westinghouse WRM2400 (240L, Upright)

WRM2400WD (White), WRM2400SC (Stainless Steel) and WRM2400WC (White)
1.5 from 37 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
1
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
3
1 star
29

Kim

KimWestern District, VIC

Lost cooling.

published

Fridge repaired due to leaky compressor under warranty. Now freezing up on the wall in the back yet not maintaining temps below 8C despite max cooling. 7 years old. Disappointed.

Purchased in January 2012 at Harvey Norman.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers

AlexandraW

AlexandraWEdensor Park

  • 4 reviews

Bad temperature control

published

It is very difficult to maintain a constant temperature throughout the machine. Food at the front doesn't cool very well or stay cool. Food at the back freezes. Food at the bottom doesn't stay cool. Food at the top freezes. The crisper doesn't keep fruit and vegetables fresh for very long.

Date PurchasedNov 2014
min40fc

min40fcPerth, WA

  • 53 reviews
  • 27 likes

Good second fridge(only)

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
upset customer

upset customerBrisbane

  • 2 reviews

Faulty Unit - Still waiting for a response from Electrolux

published

We purchased this model fridge in September last year and from the moment we switched it on it was pooling droplets of water inside at the back of the fridge. At first, I thought it was a case of finding the right setting on the dial but when we turned it down to as low as possible, this continued to happen. After reading some of these reviews I decided to email Electrolux directly and did not receive a response. Five days later I re-sent the email, still with no response. Electrolux, so far, you have demonstrated negative customer service. I would like the item we have paid for working correctly. Electrolux please contact me, this model fridge we have purchased is faulty and we require by law that it is working correctly.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
2 comments
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
upset customer
upset customer

Yes I can however, I don't understand why it's taken me to write a review on Product Review for action to be taken. Its brand new. Why would it need a service. Ok I'll play that game.


geej

geej

  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Nice unit at a good price

published

Our old 'second' fridge died and we started searching for a replacement. There were 3 criteria - not too big, not heavy on power usage and not too expensive. This model fitted the criteria, especially size in that it had to fit into an alcove.

We've now had it for around 4 months and are very happy with it. Shelves are strong and layout is flexible. You can set up the shelves to cater for standing wine bottles upright, storing beer 6 packs upright or on their side, or any other storage need you may have. Door storage also flexible - you can set them in quite a number of configurations to cater for tall and short items.

It runs very quietly - sometimes you wonder if it's running at all.


Gas leak! Broken down after just 3 years

published
Date PurchasedJun 2014

cdbc385

cdbc385Melbourne

  • 2 reviews

Very pleased, lots of room

published

Great space, plenty of shelf options, quiet operation. Shelving configurable depending on needs. Have had two other brand fridges this size, this one is better in terms of shelf and door storage options. Took a couple of days to work out best temperature setting but am more than happy with how well items are now chilled.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Nik

NikSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Useful as a storage cupboard. Too warm to be a fridge

published

Admittedly purchased for its external dimensions rather than its star rating approximately 36 to 40 months ago it is another tragic reminder that consumerism is driven by manufacturers such as Electrolux are producing products that are designed to fail as soon after warranty expiration as they can legally can.
I am left speechless after reading I'm not alone.

Date PurchasedSep 2013
5 comments
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Nik
Nik
Nik
Nik
MetalGodz

MetalGodzHunter Region, NSW

  • 44 reviews
  • 25 likes

Good fridge for the price

published

A good basic fridge, that we needed to purchase to replace an Fridge/Freezer that had died, (but the Freezer was still working). I found second hand ones to be not much cheaper, and the Stirling one from Aldi, was not available at the time. Plenty of room for a small fridge, quiet, and the shelves seem fairly rugged. Great for a small family, however we have since purchased a deep chest freezer.

Date PurchasedJul 2016
paddy

paddymorgan south australia

Not worth your money

published

3yrs old and had it not worth money, nothing good to say about this product. Live in a rural area, no refrigeration repair near here. Would not buy anything from Westinghouse ever again. $700 of pension money gone in a blink and [name removed] wants to cut us back.

Date PurchasedMar 2014
7 comments
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
paddy
paddy

yes ben would like very much to discuss this with you if you can please give me your contact number I have sent you mine via email yours in anticipation paddy

paddy
paddy

They don't make 'em like they used to!

published
Date PurchasedSep 2010

Edwin

EdwinRoyal Park

Absolute shocking fridge

published

Terrible fridge. Only had it for about 3-4 years, already called out a repairman during the warranty period and now probably a couple of years later there's another problem. Over the last few months, there was water leaking at the bottom and now there's a mysterious freeze developing. The coils are not dusty and nothing is blocking the fan. Then again, it could be related to the equally weird crack that slowly developed at the inside back panel for the last year or so.

And no, I won't be calling a tech so that I can be flogged for more money because of a substandard Westinghouse product.

Date PurchasedApr 2013
1 comment
Edwin
Edwin

Should have lasted longer

published

Bought September 2013 - stopped cooling couple of days ago. Electrolux Service man been this morning and part of problem is compressor damage. Replacement parts are covered under warranty but the fridge has to be taken away to be repaired and customer has to pay for pick-up and return delivery, labour to repair fridge and this morning's service call - total will be about same as price paid for fridge. Freezer purchased at same time as fridge broke down in January - not covered by warranty - and that cost a few hundred dollars to get fixed. I certainly would not rush out and buy another Westinghouse product.

Date PurchasedSep 2013
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse

Was about to buy....

published

I was about to buy the WRM2400WD, as I have other (older) Westinghouse fridge freezers.
This was to be a second fridge, after giving away the Westinghouse bar fridge (19 yrs old).
I won't now, after reading the comments on this board.
What a pity, one of our Westinghouse's lasted 17 yrs too.
Our freezer is still going after 22 yrs.
Phew!

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Lemon

published

Purchased on the 3/3/2013, failed on 15/8/2016. Unit has a slow gas leak and so does not cool anymore. Called Electrolux service, not helpful. Need to pay $140 for a service call so that a tech can tell me its broken and not worth fixing. He will then give me an $80 voucher for another Electrolux product. She also mentioned that the tech may offer a pro rata price for a replacement fridge. So lets see. $535-$140=$395. So if he offers me a replacement fridge for $395 or less then may be its worth it.

Bottom line: Electrolux just do not stand behind their products anymore. This model is a lemon, walk away.

Date PurchasedMar 2013
2 comments
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
chenny042
chenny042
Graybells

GraybellsMt. Martha

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Dead at 45 months

published

Worked well for 45 months then froze up. Tried to adjust temp. but had to turn off to get rid of ice at back panel. Turned on but didn't cool contents at all. A DUD fridge if only lasts this very short time. While working properly we had no issues with its operation but 45 months is not good enough.

Date PurchasedNov 2012
3 comments
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Graybells
Graybells
Graybells
Graybells

Still haven't heard a thing yet. Do Westinghouse really care for their customers. Will be informing Choice of this situation. Regards, Grabells.


What a terrible disappointment!!

published

I bought this fridge for my mother...thinking I was buying a quality product...was I wrong!!! The fridge hasn't been able to maintain temperature for the last 12 months...what a pleasure (not) of having to clean up smashed bottles all the time!!! We will NOT be buying a Westinghouse EVER AGAIN!

1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse

Eeny

EenyTownsville

What? about 4.5 years and cracked already?

published

The entire back wall, 20-30cms above the crisper has a crack from side to side. What's the go? Bet we don't get any satisfaction. As i read reviews, it seems this is another time-based obsolescence. Not happy Westinghouse. You're lucky to be given 1 star. Do you do negative stars?

2 comments
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Eeny
Eeny

I dumped it and purchased something else. Thanks.


Graham

GrahamBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Buy this fridge at your own peril - read the bad reviews - wish I had before I parted with my money!

published

I purchased this Fridge wrm 2400 six years ago. The fridge does not maintain a good temperature in any compartments.
It used to freeze everything, then when I tried to adjust it it stopped cooling altogether.
I have persevered with this fridge for some years; now the motor and fan run but the fridge wont cool at all.

2012

5 comments
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Graham
Graham
Graham
Graham

Piece of junk- 3. 1/2 years old

published

Similar to other reviews, this fridge does not respond to thermostat changes.
Can't get colder than 7 degrees and rear panel is iced up around the small centre fan.
Based on other reviews , I am hesitant to get a repair man to look at it and be told that it's not repairable and pay his call out fee on top of it all.
Westinghouse or Electrolux as it appears now should be accountable and stand by their products, it is pathetic that they only offer a two year warranty on fridges, older fridges go for 40 years. not happy Electrolux !

1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

CJ Tas

CJ Tasasked

WRM2400WC (White)

Westinghouse fridge WRM2400WC icing up around fan. Runs continually. Seal looks OK. Drain clear. Turned off to deice but after 30 mins panel top left starting creaking and bowing into the fridge. Turned fridge back on and rear panel went back into place. Still icing up. Have checked rear is clear of fluff etc. Is there anything I can do? Or is a case of new fridge? I live in a rural area so it will be expensive to get technician and looking at comments, likely that it will be a new fridge required. It's not that old either.

3 answers
LCM
LCM

Hi mate,

If it's already out of warranty, bad luck, get a new one. Not worth fixing at all. It will come back after you get it fix anyway.

Cheers

Nik
Nik

My saga would take too long to type but, errmm, buy a new fridge.

I paid for the service call to determine the fridge was buggered, it was a year out of warranty. Too'd and fro' and accepted a replacement unit for a tad under $300, plus $130 service call. Same week Aldi had 240ltr fridge identical to old Westinghouse (new one isn't the same and isn't as useful) for the disgusting price of ******, and a hundred or so less than the total I paid out to Electrolux.

The point of the exercise is not service or response times, it's the fact that a cheap product that is highlighted as having a light, great lol, will only last a very short time. A product that, and I quote from an Electrolux representative that costs thousands cannot be expected to last long either because of all the bells and whistles included means that it will guarantee that it will fail within or without the warranty period and nobody is surprised in either case.

CJ Tas
CJ Tas

Yes, seems like new fridge is the only answer. Sigh! Have six year warranty. Fingers crossed!


Alanksmith

Alanksmithasked

WRM2400WC (White)

Hi
Our fridge is creating a build up of ice on the back wall around the fan. Would you please advise the likely cause and best option for resolving the problem. The fridge is around 3 years old.
Regards Alan

1 answer
Wayne
Wayne

Hi Alan, My Mums Westinghouse WRM2400WC White fridge had the same issue with the back wall icing up around the Fan area.I think their is nothing you can do about it, thats just the normal operation of this fridge. My Mums Westighouse WRM2400WC fridge only lasted just over 2 years and 2 months so you doing well getting past 2 years with your Westinghouse WRM2400WC fridge


graham.bayly.1

graham.bayly.1asked

WRM2400WC (White)

Purchased 2012 not a problem, until now have been away fro 4 weeks came back to find Fozen back panel near Fan assembly compressor hasn't turned off tried turning power of for it to melt ice of back wall, have turned power back on after ice melt and left temp gauge lowest setting compressor will not turn off. After hours turned on...?????? Not Defrosting

5 answers
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse

Hi Graham,
Nicole from Electrolux here.
Electrolux will be able to assist you with this query. Can you please email me your contact details at customercare@electrolux.com.au attention Nicole. We look forward to hearing from you soon.
Thanks
Nicole
Electrolux Customer Care

kev
kev

How did you go with Electrolux Graham, any luck? My fridge is doing the same thing!

graham.bayly.1
graham.bayly.1

Hello Nicole... I had to replace it after service check found the pipes were blocked, as i had extra cover I had to purchase a new Fridge due to the model was dicontinued. I have now purchased a Fisher & paykel... not happy due to the price difference and i did have a perfectly running fridge until i came back ... thanks anyways. regards Graham Bayly


Get an answer from our members and Westinghouse representatives

Details

Westinghouse WRM2400WD (240L, White)

Westinghouse WRM2400WD (240L, White)

2.1
(12)
Westinghouse WRM2400WC (240L, White)
  • Discontinued

Westinghouse WRM2400WC (240L, White)

1.1
(18)
Westinghouse WRM2400SC (240L, Stainless Steel)
  • Discontinued

Westinghouse WRM2400SC (240L, Stainless Steel)

1.0
(1)
CategoryUpright Fridges / RefrigeratorsUpright Fridges / RefrigeratorsUpright Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) $739
Dimensions 1444 x 550 x 555 mm
Energy Rating2.5 star(s)
Household Size 1-2 people1-2 people1-2 people
Colour / Finish White
Handle Type Recessed
Smart Fridge No
Shelf MaterialMetal
Number of Shelves5
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins 1
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Capacity
Total Capacity 240 L240 L240 L
Fridge Capacity 240 L240 L240 L
Freezer Capacity 0 L
Release dateOct 2009
Replaced byWestinghouse WRM2400WD (240L, White)

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.