??!
1 photo
Westinghouse WTB5400WA (540L, White)

Westinghouse WTB5400WA (540L, White)

MPNs: WTB5400WA-R and WTB5400WAL
3.5 from 36 reviews

Reviews

(12)
(9)
(6)
(3)
(6)
  • Build Quality
    1.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    2.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (3)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (3)
  • Internal Layout
    4.0 (2)
wabster

wabsterWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Worked OK until 2 years and 5 months old. Then died.

published

This fridge worked OK for the time we have had it with the usual caveat about the crisper drawer that drives most people who owns nuts. Then at 2 years 5 months old the compressor has died. After I've dealt with an essentially useless 3rd party extended warranty provider I'm making a complaint to the ACCC/Consumer Affairs on the basis that a fridge should have an expected life of greater than this pathetic period of time.

Purchased in August 2017 at Betta Home Living for $1,049.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
Diana

DianaSouth East Queensland, QLD

Crisper drawer is totally useless !

published

Purchased in August 2016 at Harvey Norman Furniture Physical Store for $1,099.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers
svm

svmIllawarra, NSW

  • Verified purchase

Crisper needs re-designing

published

I bought this fridge in 2016. It works perfectly except for the crisper. It does not remain on the track and becomes most frustrating to pull out and push back. A serviceman advised that it is a design fault, he regularly replaces them and cannot guarantee that it won't happen again. It was replaced under warranty a yr ago and now has the same problem. Westinghouse is about to replace the WHOLE fridge under warranty. What a waste for the sake of such a basic function in a fridge. Trouble is.. what brand to choose?

Purchased in October 2016 at Harvey Norman for $1,255.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Westinghouse WTB5400WA (540L, White) compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
AliciaMarieV

AliciaMarieVMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Love it, very quiet and spacious

published

Easy to clean, non spill shelving, interchangeable shelving and a great veggie draw which keeps produce very fresh. Spacious freezer and very quiet. Has an ice tray which you turn to fill a tray which is handy for summer. Has a draw in the fridge which is great for the cheese and other dairy. Can’t fault this fridge

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Garden gnome

Garden gnomeBelmont

  • 2 reviews

Bad design cheap materials

published

Having just finished a fight with Westinghouse re a stainless steel fridge that rusted they proved that after sales service doesn't exist and they could care after blaming everything except the standard of the material. Consumer affairs managed to get us a small discount on a new fridge and we bought the above quickly as they only gave us 30 days to take up their miserable offer. We discovered after purchase the crisper drawer is not on rollers but gets dragged across a bumpy plastic track. Needless to say a serviceman said it was a design fault and couldn't be fixed. BUY A WESTINGHOUSE PRODUCT AT YOUR OWN RISK, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
HeatherBelle

HeatherBelleSandstone Point

  • 6 reviews

Great product

published

This fridge is a great size for 2 people. Very roomy. The freezer is a good size as long as you don’t buy in bulk. The crisper is annoying pushing it in and out. Quite awkward in motion. Very easy to keep clean and it’s not noisy. It keeps the temperature well balanced.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
anonymous32

anonymous32Sydney, NSW

  • 32 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

Can’t complain

published

The reason I went for this model was value for money....it’s the best size from the brand I like in the money I wanted...it’s massive in size has better power rating from my 7 year old 370L Westinghouse...I still think best is if we have freezers down and refrigerator up....that’s no doubt a much convenient option....the problem is in this money I could get one of those but smaller in size....trade off is you go for bigger size or freezer at bottom...I wanted a bigger size so went for it...

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Denny

Denny

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Big capacity - being tall rather than wide is great for a small kitchen

published

We retired our old Westinghouse after 25 years of reliable service, hope the new one does as well.
I love the click in door shelves and the variety of layout options. There is some noise though not half as bad as the old one. With glass shelving it is easy to clean and with good lighting in fridge easy to see what is stored inside. Freezer compartment works well and holds plenty. The door storage in the freezer is well designed and see through so I don't lose things in there. The crisper drawer is driving me insane, but hoping I'll get the knack of it soon. Overall I am very pleased with this fridge/freezer.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Benny

Benny

  • 2 reviews

Worst crisper draw I have ever used

published

This fridge's crisper draw is extremely bad. It doesn't slide open at all and has to be lifted off the rails to make it move. It doesn't even appear wide enough to properly fit. It's never properly sealed which makes humidity control completely useless. It's unbelievable this got past any kind of quality assurance. It actually looks like they just got a draw from a different model and tried to make it fit.

It is also a very loud fridge. Build quality is nowhere near as good as the older Australian made Westinghouse fridge we had, which unfortunately was replaced under warranty with this inferior model.

On the positive side it does a good job of staying cold even during the hotter months.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Westinghouse WTB5400WA (540L, White) compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cindy

CindySydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Westinghouse is my forever choice fridge

published

I always trust westinghouse for fridge, I never have problems with this brand.That is why,couple months ago when i wanted to buy a fridge,Westinghouse is till my first choice

It always maintain the good temperature in all the compartments,making all my fruit and vegies fresh all the time

It is easy to clean the inside and the outside.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Sock

SockSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Fantastic Fridge from a bulletproof brand.

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Serge

SergePearce 2607, ACT

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Nothing but trouble, breaks constantly, very low quality. Dissapointed in Westinghouse.

published

Bought for very cheap in Harvey Norman Fyshwick on 18/11/2017 for just over $900, seemed like a great purchase, however problems started right away. The crisper would constantly slide off the railings and is really hard to close/open. Placed warranty call, the technician came and fixed, the crisper worked for two days, then became difficult to open/close again. On the weekend the fridge stopped working and the food wouldn't get chilled. All my food went off. Placed a warranty call again, the technician comes to have a look today. Also, the fridge is super loud at night, everything vibrating. I woke up a few times from the noise the fridge was making. Here is the details to verify my purchase: 18/11/17 11:13:25 61 6098737, serial #: 71773510

Date PurchasedNov 2017
1 comment
Serge
Serge

Economical purchase but good quality

published

This fridge has a good temperature control even in a hottest time in summer this year. Also it is quiet while then compressor is working. In terms of cleaning it is easy to clean mainly as it is frost-free. The freezer is pretty big to have all my purchase.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Gaye

GayeGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Nice big fridge

published

I am very happy with this fridge. It is spacious, has a good sized freezer for 2 people and lots of inner drawers and shelves in the fridge part. It looks good and is efficient. The little freezer drawers are very useful for small ice packs for our little esky.

Date PurchasedAug 2014
opal88

opal88Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Awesome family fridge!

published

I purchased this fridge to replace a power hungry double door unit which hasn't fit into any kitchen in the past 4 years. Easy to see things,heaps of space and extremely quiet. The freezer would be better if it had a light and the crisper does stick and is sometimes hard to pull out. Overall a great product for a great price!

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Westinghouse WTB5400WA (540L, White) compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lischa Cohen

Lischa Cohen

  • 7 reviews

Excellent

published

It is easy to clean
Easy to pack things into
Heaps quite
And keeps really good temperature
I'm so impressed with this fridge freezer the last one I had lasted 10 yrs and been moved around from house to house and still never missed a beat but after ten years the old thing gave up just like that

Date PurchasedMay 2007
mick

mickSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Crisper Draw

published

The crisper draw is impossible to operate , had we realised this before purchasing the refrigerator we would not have bought it. We had the previous model for 14 years with out any problems. On going back to the store( the next day) we purchased it from I asked the owner to try opening the crisper on the floor model. He couldn't do it successfully. As a result he has offered to replace the refrigerator with another of our choice.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
nickster

nicksterMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 10 reviews

Pretty good

published
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Philip

PhilipCanberra

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Apparently will not operate in colder areas of Australia

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Johnny

JohnnySouth Australia

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

It's ok, but that door........!

published

This replaced the previous model which lasted for ten years. It seems a bit quieter which is good. Electronic controls are ok. Door open alarm is good & required because the door needs a good shove to close. Otherwise it springs back. Then the beeping starts! No light in freezer but good lighting in fridge part. Seems to cool evenly unlike last model which froze things near the bottom. Very thin skin & easy to dent.

Date PurchasedSep 2016
Page 1 of 2
See all Westinghouse 460L Top Mount reviews

Questions & Answers

donald

donaldasked

How to you set the temperature of the fridge? Pressing the button on the side does not work.

No answers
Marianne

Marianneasked

Why is my fridge bipping continuously

2 answers
wabster
wabster

If the door isn't open then that might be the clicking sound we heard on and off for a few days before we realised that the compressor had failed on our 29 month old fridge. If there is a fan running but the fridge isn't chilling that may be what is happening. We were furious that our fridge died 4 months out of warranty in January, and when we finally went to organise a new Westinghouse fridge on February 11th our local Betta store couldn't get us one before the middle of March. And that was before the corona virus dramas in China!

Ingolf
Ingolf

Is it cooling? is it running? without any information nobody can answer this!! Ask Westinghouse ---bought by Electrolux

Cynthia H

Cynthia Hasked

Does anyone have the parts list for this fridge? I need to order a new crisper plastic as our old one is cracked from the door slamming

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Westinghouse representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.