??!
2 photos
Westpac Low Rate

Westpac Low Rate (page 2 of 3)

3.6 from 59 reviews

Pros

  • 0% p.a on Balance Transfers for 16 months & No Balance Transfer Fee

  • Low $59 Annual Fee & Low Interest Rate of 13.74% p.a. on purchases

  • One additional cardholder at no extra cost

Cons

  • 3% Foreign Transaction Fee

Reviews

3.6

59 reviews
5
(15)
4
(22)
3
(12)
2
(6)
1
(4)
Previous
Next
Jack

JackMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Nothing special

published

Took out this card based on their deal of free cash.

Application process was painful. Application form told me I had to go into the branch to verify my ID. I went to my local branch in Richmond with my reference number and they had no idea what to do with it.

Took ages to get my ID verified and the guy from Westpac called me several times. Very frustrating and not worth it.

Their app and website is dated, it's hard to know how much you need to repay each month.

I'm sure there are better cards out there.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
stacey_jade80

stacey_jade80South East Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews
  • 3 likes

Affordable Credit Card

published

What I like most about my Westpac Low Rate Card is that it only has a $59 annual fee. Although I do like cards that offer rewards, I cancelled my other card that offered these because it was taking me ages to build up the points to be able to earn a gift card. This is a simple credit card without silly gimmicks. I like it.

Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
Gokhan D.

Gokhan D.Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Long time banking customer

published

My whole family has been with Westpac for many years and especially with their credit card, there is low annual fees.
This is my everyday credit card and only have a limit of 2k

Card Start DateJanuary 2017
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Low Rate Credit Cards

Find out how Westpac Low Rate compares to other Low Rate Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
deepak.me1980

deepak.me1980

  • 4 reviews

Awesome

published

It was good to use oversea without hassle and also balance transfer is cheaper so i would suggest this card to everyone. The best this is that I got 300 cashback as well

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateDecember 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

bunyip

bunyipsydney

  • 3 reviews

Never had a problem

published

I have a low-rate credit card which linked to my debit card.Never have had any problems.I lost it once and it took very little time to arrange a replacement.I am a rusted-on Westpac customer for many years.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Molly

MollyNew South Wales, 2750

  • 12 reviews

Great for my needs

published

I applied for a westpac credit card , it was quick and easy to apply, I got a responce within minutes, I've been using it ever since, I found the card that was right for me , they have a good selection , you'll find all your transaction on the West Pac website with all your other accounts you may have with them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Ashif

AshifSydney, NSW

This is perfect.

published

I have been using this card for 10 years. Absolutely best card with low fees. Go Westpac Go. I have used it overseas as well and it charges minuscule transaction fees.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateNovember 2009
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Dani and Harri

Dani and HarriSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified customer

Not the lowest rate out there but easy to use.

published

Easy application to apply for the card.
The app is also easy to use once set up, unfortunately Westpacs everyday account has fees so I will only every get a credit card with them. Haven't used the card overseas yet and I probably never will due to fees but its good to have in case of an emergency. No reward schemes in place which is a shame through.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Dev

DevSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Is fine. Have used it for many years

published

Have had it for many years. its good. Can see all transactions on the westpac website. The website also displays my savings account and superannuation account. so its all in one place.
They have a good call centre and all queries handled well.
Early on , I used to ask for temporary increase in my credit limit and they would always do it. But now I just use it for small purchases and flights .
Have been able to pay overseas travel agency using this westpac card. can also get cash advance with a fee.They do have a fee if you miss the minimum payment. think its $15, but I usually pay it before.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2010
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Low Rate Credit Cards

Find out how Westpac Low Rate compares to other Low Rate Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Liz

LizMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified customer

Simple application process & speedy approval!

published

Quick and simple to apply, with a speedy approval processing time. As a single mum, this low rate CC provides me with a great sense of security so that if needed, I’ve the funds available to cover the cost of an emergency.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
warren g

warren gHunter Region, NSW

  • 15 reviews

good card

published

Had this card for over ten years its good don't pay any charges if you pay it in 30 day no monthly fees rates not to bad all in all good card.

Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Application Process
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
J60913

J60913South East Queensland, QLD

  • 30 reviews
  • 3 likes

Easy to use, I don't pay any interest, no reward program

published

I have a small limit on this credit card ($2000) which I use for online, I don't incur any fees or charges as I pay it off within 30 days, there is no monthly fee or yearly fee, however, there are now reward points for this card.

Rates and Fees
Online Experience

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Blicka

BlickaSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified customer

Decent Card But Annual Fee Could Be Less - Annoying Foreign Transaction Fees

published

The Westpac Low Rate Card is a pretty good card and the rates are quite OK. Gets a decent interest free period on the closing balance and this works quite well if you pay the monthly balance in full each time.

The annual fee could be a bit lower, don't see why at almost $5.00 per month they couldn't have an even slightly lower interest rate. After all, they're already making money from the annual fee itself.

The one thing that is quite annoying is the fact that most overseas purchases cop a Foreign Transaction Fee on top of a not brilliant exchange rate.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
Ramon

Ramon

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

No problems

published

Paying the credit card is simple and the app is great for keeping up to date with purchases. I've never had any problems with the card or the service from Westpac.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateNovember 2017
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Courtney

CourtneyPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews

Tap till you drop

published

Transferable balance is easily done and efficient. It was easy to apply for the card and I use it daily. This was my first credit card with westpac and I am not disappointed.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Low Rate Credit Cards

Find out how Westpac Low Rate compares to other Low Rate Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
TheRealQuade

TheRealQuadeGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified customer

After a few hitches, I now have no complaints

published

I applied for this credit card (my first with westpac) to take advantage of the 26 months interest free on a balance transfer. Initially after it had been approved, it appeared they'd only given me 20 months interest free. They rectified it immediately after I made them aware of it and ever since i've just been making the minimum monthly payments to hopefully pay off the whole thing before the 26 months is up. The app is easy to use, I've used a few of the rewards (cheap movie tickets mostly). It's worth mentioning that this was the first credit card that accepted my balance transfer, after getting rejected by 2 others previously. Thanks Westpac!

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Mili

MiliSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Easy to apply

published

I applied for this credit card to get the 18 months interest free balance transfer to pay off my other credit card. The process was easy to apply but then I had to jump through hoops with all the extra information I had to provide and then when I was approved I can only transfer 80% of the approved credit to my old credit card which I don't understand. So not too happy.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Application Process
Card Start DateJune 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Bel

BelPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified customer

Cant go wrong

published

Saw the awesome cash back bonus on signing up for this card, $500 spend with $200 cash back, can’t go wrong. The online banking is easy to navigate as well.

October 10th 2019 Update: Good low rate credit card

Good low rate credit card, great incentive for getting new customers in the door. Customer service was fantastic. Had the card for almost 6 months and used it several times

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Yuly

Yuly

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified customer

Not bad

published

Got this card due to its cashback promotion ($200 back after $600) spent. Other than the cashback, it's a typical low rate card with not much benefit. No problems so far.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Fr33kSh0w2012

Fr33kSh0w2012Hunter Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Great for Xmas shopping and a little bit to fall back on

published

I was down on my luck and didn't have anything fro Christmas (Not eating vegemite sandwiches again) So I went down and picked this one up for $1000 credit (also handy for buying things online) am happy with it no explosive fees and charges I just pay what I can when I can and it sorts itself out pretty happy with it, No real problems at all.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateOctober 2015
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
Page 2 of 3
See all Westpac Low Rate reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.