??!
3 photos
White Knight Tile

White Knight Tile

3.0 from 31 reviews

Reviews

3.0

31 reviews
5
(5)
4
(9)
3
(5)
2
(5)
1
(7)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (2)
  • Painted Surface
  • Finish Quality
    2.3 (4)
  • Ease of Application
    3.3 (3)
  • Coverage
    3.0 (3)
  • Longevity
    1.0 (1)
Previous
Next
cami

camiPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Not a smooth finish

published

I followed all the instructions with all the info provided. I have now applied the last coat and it looks very motley and not a smooth finish. I sanded and wiped down between coats, can I do another coat.

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse.

Painted SurfaceConcrete
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Miroku

MirokuADELAIDE

  • 15 reviews
  • 12 likes

Tiles now look perfect......

published

Done all the prep work which actually takes more time than the actual painting.
Used Dulux Dulux Precision Maximum Strength Adhesion Primer as primer as advised by professional painter and worked out fantastic.
Better than doing a full re tiling job and cost alot less dollars.

Purchased in May 2020.

Value for Money
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage
VivKay

VivKaySoutheast, SA

not too impressive

published

I painted tiles in the bathroom. Not terribly impressed. Doesn't cover well, and some came off. I used white followed all instructions. There was seemingly colour underneath. I applied about 3 coats. No doubt cheaper than re-tiling.

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$55.00.

Usage
Finish Quality
Coverage
Paints & Varnishes

Find out how White Knight Tile compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Adam

Adam

  • 2 reviews

Terrible product. Shouldn't exist!

published

Used White Knight tile paint to get a glossy finish on kitchen cabinet doors. Followed all the instructions, used the White Knight cleaner and primer. On the final coat the paint either bubbled up or cracked and peeled off. Called the helpline, didn't get any help. Now the cabinets look worse than before and I've lost 3 days that I'll never get back. My advice is don't cut corners. If your not happy with cabinets, get new doors. Not happy with a benchtop, get a new one! These products look great on reno shows in the right lighting and at the right angles. If it really worked as well as advertised then there wouldn't be companies selling new cabinets and doors, or cabinet makers.
Don't be fooled like we were, get it right the first time!

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$60.00.

Value for Money
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage
Longevity

Waste of time and money

published

After reading these reviews I perfectly followed the instructions and it peels of everywhere. It probably depends on tiles too. Were good quality but ugly tiles and now even uglier. Waste of money...

Mirage

MirageMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Still going after 8 years!

published

Painted a main bathroom inld showers , laundry and ensuit which had tiles from floor to ceiling, did 2 coats and still looks like new 8 years later on. The prep is the key, don't rush your work and results will be amazing . I still have people commenting on how nice my new tiles are!

Yellows.

published

Goes on easy enough and looks ok when first done but yellows very quickly, now looks horrible only a few months later and needs to be replaced.
Don’t waste your money

2004 and still a stand up

published
Date PurchasedMar 2004
Genie

Genie

  • 2 reviews

Prepped per instructions but primer peeled.

published

Cleaned with Tile & Laminate Cleaner then with damp clean wipe.
Sanded and wiped with damp wipe per instructions.
Applied Primer allowed to dry 5 hrs then light sand.
Wiped over with clean damp cloth and primer peeled off in some areas.
It was like the moisture from wipe appeared to dissolve some of the primer paint.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Paints & Varnishes

Find out how White Knight Tile compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
KateS

KateS

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Its all about the prep work

published

I have used White knight tile paint on many occasions. It works really well if you prep properly. Just because its a cheap fix doesn't mean you can do it in a day..you need to follow the instructions and be patient with drying times. I am not convinced the cleaner is worth buying but certainly I use their H2o primer and the oil based paint. I only use it on wall tiles and they last really well.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
not happy

not happySouth West Rocks

Just wasted a week and $150

published

Very disappointed, today I removed all the painted tiles and will be purchasing new tiles tomorrow.
I followed all instructions with a lot of care , I recommend spend a bit more and re tile as it is no harder to do than attempting to paint. No good, as I said it just wasted a week.
.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
BeeCee

BeeCeeAdelaide

  • 13 reviews
  • 5 likes

Love it

published

I found white knight tile paint to be really good. I made sure to prep the tiles well first and lightly sanded between each coat. You honestly cant tell the difference between real tiles and the painted ones. Would definitely recommend if you are prepared to prep well. Hopefully it will stand the test of time. And in hindsight I would have removed the silicone and redone it after I’d painted.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Rocket

Rocket

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Would not recommend!

published

Would not recommend.
The paint reacted with selleys white wet area silicone. I had to redo a lot of the shower as it went yellow. Also after a bit of time the paint goes a yellowish white.
Well, lessons learnt the hard way. What I learnt was there is usually no cheap and easier alternative. Worth doing it right the first time.
Just simply re tile! Less headache in the long run.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
shootingstar

shootingstarWOULDN'T U LIKE 2KNOW, Nsw

  • 58 reviews
  • 46 likes

Looks Better Than It Did

published

I've just completed painting bathroom tiles they look good. Would I paint bathroom tiles again? Not a chance!
Worked out the $$ i could have purchased tiles for the price I paid for paint & primer.
$150 cost for paint & primer, fairly time consuming & reading some of the other reviews if it only lasts a few years why bother. The tiles looked very average after first coat of paint second coat put the icing on the cake.
Keep in mind you can see almost all imperfections in the grout & tile after it's painted.
Hope it lasts longer than a few years!!

Date PurchasedAug 2017

paint peeling

published

Used this paint on my kitchen and bathroom tiles did all the right things primed etc the kitchen is fine the bathroom paint is peeling off now I have a huge mess to try and fix it
very disappointed how can I remove the paint now will paint stripper work my bathroom looks terrible

Date PurchasedDec 2014
Paints & Varnishes

Find out how White Knight Tile compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
RonnyCraven

RonnyCravenSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 44 reviews
  • 24 likes

GOOD, BUT MOULD ON THE GROUTING

published
Date PurchasedMay 2014

MOULD!!!!!

published

We recently purcahsed an old renovator which we are living in while renovating. The previous owners decided to freshen the original bathroom up before sale. At first glance all appeared OK, it was livable, however, after 6months we now have disgusting grout that can not be cleaned without the paint being scratched or peeling. The tiles (white) are starring to discolour and I can not get them to look clean. A great cheap fix for an instant short term solution but if you want a long term fix, do the job properly to being with.

Date PurchasedJun 2016
Lizzie

LizzieSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

9 years and just starting to go a bit yellow.

published

I painted a horrible green bathroom with white in 2007 then put a row of small grey mosaics around the edge. It's only just starting to go a bit off colour around the basin but still white in the shower. Preparation is the key to this paint. Just needing to touch up around the basin and it will be good to go. Someone also told me I couldn't paint the floor tiles, but I used outdoor paving paint after sanding them back and I'm just going to give them a fresh coat and I will have a brand new bathroom again. All up for my bathroom Reno $250 who can complain at that every 8-9years?
I'm a 59 year old woman if I can do it anyone can.

Date PurchasedNov 2007
Peter

PeterMid North Coast, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Yellows and peels after 3 months

published

Followed the directions to the letter . Applied and did not use for 4 weeks to allow to cure, then sealed perimeters with silicone . After 3 months we noticed the product started to yellow then it just peeled from the middle. We would not use again and now have to stip and use another product. Would not recommend.

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Only works if you prepare surface properly

published

I used in rental bathroom - 10 years ago and still good.... so if you do it properly ie. you have to have to have prepare the surfaces properly and put the primer on and have to be exceptionally clean prior to doing. I did it and was a waste of time. My painter did it and its still on 10 years later.

Date PurchasedDec 2009
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Sue

Sueasked

Do you need to remove the old silicone before painting?

4 answers
Miroku
Miroku

Hi Sue, yes i removed the old silicone from tiles and bath and then painted tiles and re silicone.
Prep work is very imporant as to the end result of the finish
Cheers Rick

Sue
Sue

But was that a requirement as there's no instructions that you have to and all the YouTube videos don't have people doing it as part of the prep. Whereas the Dulux tile paint specifically states you have to and all the YouTube videos using the Dulux paint has it as part of the prep

Miroku
Miroku

Sue if you like call call me 04215215684 anytime

Peter

Peterasked

How long to leave before we can shower as we painted the wall tiles in our only bathroom.

1 answer
VivKay
VivKay

I left it for more than 2 months. I don't know the recommended time.

Mal

Malasked

Can you put another coat on the bath several weeks after the epoxy has dried, we have a couple of streaky patches we would like to take care of.

1 answer
VivKay
VivKay

Yes, I did just that. However, the result was still not perfect. I shouldn't have used white, probably a pale colour would have been better, more similar to the original colour. (pale pink)l

Get an answer from our members and White Knight representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.