??!

Car Insurance Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of car insurance would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

2.6

753 reviews
5
(252)
4
(44)
3
(23)
2
(33)
1
(401)
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (236)
  • Customer Service
    2.5 (242)
  • Timeliness
    2.5 (138)
  • Job Satisfaction
    2.9 (102)
  • Transparency
    2.5 (188)
Previous
Next
mike

mikeWANNIASSA

  • 36 reviews

They dont respond to questions from customers

published

I lost my policy documents and went on line and on the phone to get new ones, i was promised i would get another copy on line, nothing, i am still waiting, trying to chat on line is no good as you cant get on, the virtual person comes up with the wrong answers, how hard can it be to send me another copy

Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelMercedes-Benz CLK-Class
See all answers
jri77564

jri77564Mid North Coast, NSW

Woolworths Car Insurance - better than I ever expected !

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelHyundai i40 VF
See all answers
Not

NotGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

This is good

published

For car insurance I hand not experienced any thing like claim etc but it seems to me your service was good. I hope it would be even better. I only have been with the car insurance only couple of months. Your charge is not expensive.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelMazda 3
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how Woolworths Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Trent M.

Trent M.Hunter Region, NSW

Terrible

published

Terrible criminal they dont pay claims please contact middletonfinance7@gmail.com to be a part of a class action.
They don't pay claims extremely rude worst company i have seen or heard of. I was involved in my worst accident and after no customer serviced ridiculous requests and referring it to an outside company to be investigated it was denied for lack of cooperation.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
SM

SMGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Not transparent and poor customer service

published

I cancelled by insurance on 4 July. I was paying monthly and it was paid till 31 July. They are not refunding for the balance 25 days. They said this condition is written on page 38 of the pds. They should have stayed it upfront rather than hiding it there.
It takes ages through recorded messages to speak to someone.
Wouldn’t recommend.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive, Compulsory Third Party, Third Party Property Damage and Third Party, Fire and Theft
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelFord Focus LW Mk2
See all answers
Lee C

Lee CPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Smooth as silk experience

published

Placed an online claim. Received a very prompt reply with panel beater details. Booked in and completed without any drama. Happy customer though sorry to have had to make a claim.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelKia Sportage
See all answers
Gary H.

Gary H.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Good pricing. Responsive and proactive claims

published

Policy was good value. Been with them for 10+ years.

Have lodged 4 claims over the time. Each time has been an easy process and worked well with my cars being repaired. The last resulted in a write off due to hail damage and was handled professionally.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelFord Territory SY
See all answers
Eugenia H.

Eugenia H.South East Queensland, QLD

Worst insurance company ever!!!!

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelVolvo S40 MK.2 (2004-2012)
See all answers
Kasper Maat

Kasper MaatCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

The worst possible insurer in Australia

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how Woolworths Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sam

Sam

  • 2 reviews

Won’t issue partial refund

published

Obtained insurance through Woolworths. It accidentally overlapped with my previous insurance so I asked for a partial refund. They confirmed if I had an accident I would only be able to claim once rendering the insurance worthless asked for a partial refund or extension of policy. They refused both. Like most of the other feedback here they have cheap premiums but they will try and get money elsewhere. I would avoid them at all costs and pay a bit more. I should never have switched my insurance to them and will never use them again.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelMitsubishi Lancer
See all answers
Phoenix

PhoenixMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Appalling customer service and unable to get a refund on cancelled policy

published

I asked for my policy to be cancelled before the renewal date, however they still charged my credit card after the policy had been cancelled. Now after repeated emails, online chats and calling them, they still won't refund me. Fraudulent company and poor staff behaviour, they either don't care or don't know what they are doing (or both). I pity those who have to make an insurance claim with them.

Customer Service
Transparency
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Giles P.

Giles P.Perth, WA

Cheap Premiums but truely shocking service if you ever make a claim

published

Tried and gave up dealing with Woolworths claims department and paid for windscreen replacement myself. Left holding for hours and phone goes dead and no reply to emails and letters..I’m going back to GIO!

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Car insurance

published

The worst insurance company ever , You will be investigated and a minimum of 4Months before your claim is finalised so they can reduce their bottom line where ever possible, cheers

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes

Excellent customer service but excess a little high

published

Easy to lodge a claim very friendly staff (Milo) was just lovely it was my first claim for twenty years so I’m hoping my insurer will drop my excess a little

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelMini 3-Door Hatch F56 Cooper S Automatic
See all answers

No communication, lack of response after a hail damaged vehicle

published

Hail damaged vehicle.
I had a hire car option on policy, like for like vehicle told over the phone when signing up
I had to organise everything for the replacement vehicle, then i ended having to pay the hire car company myself and I'm still waiting for reimbursement despite numerous calls and Emails.
Tried ringing 10 minutes on the phone before being either put on hold or told office closed.
Poor Poor Poor

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelNissan Navara D40
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how Woolworths Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jomon

JomonGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Terrible . Don't Trust their online quote.

published

Terrible experience. I have been quoted $575 online with price beat and I went ahead with purchasing. However when they sent the policy document it showed $973 will be debited from my account. After 2 hours on phone and sending them proof of their quote, woolworths advised me they will not honour their quote and have no explanation why this huge difference without advising me. If i didn't check my policy document they will have taken money.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Car Insurance
Elisabeth L.Woolworths Car Insurance
Anty Curzag

Anty CurzagGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Insurance auto-renew does not equal a lawful contract

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelToyota Aurion
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Car Insurance
Elisabeth L.Woolworths Car Insurance
Sebastianus

SebastianusSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Misleading welcome letter

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Car Insurance
Elisabeth L.Woolworths Car Insurance
Justine M

Justine MSydney Surrounds, NSW

APPALLING INSURANCE COMPANY

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
IG

IGVictoria

  • 4 reviews

Around 20% increase for renewal in 2020 when no cars on roads due to COVID

published

After the first year of car insurance (Honda Civic), I've expected the same price or even slightly reduced due to pandemic and decreasing number of cars on roads and lockdown. Unfortunately, the company doesn't appreciate loyalty and manages to increase prices by 20% even in the pandemic year when the number of cars, traffics, and risks failed dramatically due to lockdowns.
Happy to switch back for the previous insurer.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelHonda Civic 10th Gen (Hatchback) VTi-L
See all answers
Page 1 of 38

Questions & Answers

Trent M.

Trent M.asked

Comprehensive Car Insurance

I have has the same experience as other people on this site. This is beyond disgusting. I need to find 6 people to start a class action. Would you be interested in joining so it adds more weight and gets media attention? Anyone please private message me.

No answers
Steve

Steveasked

Woolworths Car Insurance

Do drive less pay less unused kilometers rollover to the next year. Example if i choose 10,000 kms usage for the year & i only do 8,000 do the unused 2,000 km's give me 12,000 km's in year 2 of my policy.

2 answers
Woolworths Car Insurance
Brock B.Woolworths Car Insurance

Hi Steve, thanks for reaching out. You are absolutely correct; any unused kilometres will roll over onto your next policy period. Ensure you are adhering to the end odometer reading on your renewal document. We hope this helps in answering your question.

Steve
Steve

Thanks

sukh

sukhasked

Woolworths Car Insurance

I have the international valid licence. Will i be able to get insurance for my car?

1 answer
Woolworths Car Insurance
Brock B.Woolworths Car Insurance

Hi Sukh, if your international license allows you to drive within Australia, you are able to purchase Insurance for your vehicle assuming you meet our criteria. We hope this helps in answering your question.

Get an answer from our members and Woolworths Car Insurance representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.