See the Best Car Insurance in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Woolworths Car Insurance

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    3.5 (11)
  • Customer Service
    3.4 (12)
  • Timeliness
    2.3 (9)
  • Job Satisfaction
    3.6 (5)
  • Transparency
    3.2 (11)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (1)
    • 2-4 weeks (10)
    • 3+ months (1)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (12) · No
Previous
Next
Sarah T.
Sarah T.Mid North Coast, NSW

Worst insurance claim experience of my life

published
Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
3/5
Timeliness
3/5
Job Satisfaction
3/5
Transparency
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateAugust 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Woolworths Car Insurance
Nick H.Woolworths Car Insurance
Sarah T.
Sarah T.

I will send you a private message but I have complained multiple times this week and no one at your company seems to pay it any mind.

CATHY
CATHYGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Good service and good value but can be improved in someway

published

Good in general and good value. Quick respond and friendly service. But should be able to do most of process online and less of human handling like other big leading insurers. [name removed] handling via phone is not the modem way to conduct this sort of process for this digital age.

Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Timeliness
4/5
Job Satisfaction
4/5
Transparency
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Woolworths Car Insurance
Amanda P.Woolworths Car Insurance

Hi CATHY, we are so pleased to hear you're okay and we were able to help you in a time of need. We'd like to take the time to thank you once again for choosing Woolworths Insurance and sharing your feedback. Stay safe and wishing you all the best.

Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Brayden S.
Brayden S.Central Queensland, QLD

Claim Processed reasonably fast but my request was ignored

published

My vehicle was deemed uneconomic to repair. I was advised that it was going to be listed as a repairable write off and I was going to be paid out on my policy. The vehicle in question had a deep sentimental value to me. I offered to buy the vehicle back for a fair price but was told this wasn’t possible and I would have to purchase the e vehicle through an auction. Otherwise reasonably happy with communication and service provided

Value for Money
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Timeliness
5/5
Transparency
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelFoton Tunland
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Woolworths Car Insurance
Amanda P.Woolworths Car Insurance
Raymond
RaymondNorth Western Region, NSW

took too long to process claim

published

The policy is value for money, but slow to pay. The claim weas paid 3 weeks after the vehicle was written off it was moved 128km away, but they did agree to an additional payment due to the circumstances. Please remember to add additional value for items added to the vehicle, especially if it is agreed value.

Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Timeliness
2/5
Transparency
2/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelSubaru Forester
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Woolworths Car Insurance
Amanda P.Woolworths Car Insurance
Car Insurance

Find out how Woolworths Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gezza
GezzaSydney, NSW
  • 16 reviews
  • 15 likes

Demand your own repairer

published
Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
5/5
Transparency
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelNissan X-Trail
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Woolworths Car Insurance
Zubair W.Woolworths Car Insurance
Gezza
Gezza

It's ok Zubair. The second repairer did a great job and I am still with Woolworths Insurance. The learning curve for your company perhaps is that the big repairers, who maybe quote a little cheaper, are too busy.

Kylie
KylieCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Competitive priced insurance, easy monthly installments

published

Easy to set up and monthly installments made it easy to pay. Unfortunately had to make a claim which took them 2 weeks to sort out the location of the car even after giving them the exact location and contact details. After this it took another 10 days to finalise and pay my claim. If you need to claim prepare to be without a car for at least 3 weeks at your own expense.

Value for Money
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Timeliness
1/5
Transparency
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelFord Fairlane NL
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Woolworths Car Insurance
Zubair W.Woolworths Car Insurance

Hi Kylie, thank you for the review. We are glad to hear of your positive experience with our payment options. We do apologise for the delay in processing your claim but are happy to hear this has now been settled. Thank you.

WCCI Review

published

The Policy was great value. However the claim took over 3 months to be processed. Unfortunately, the company decided to cancel my insurance, but did not inform me until some time after. I'm still waiting for payment of the balance of my premium, and balance of the registration.

Value for Money
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Timeliness
1/5
Transparency
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Woolworths Car Insurance
Ryan A.Woolworths Car Insurance

Related Articles

Previous
Super Funds Awards 2020!

A good super fund can make a substanial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the top-rated super funds of 2020!

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.7 Nov 2019
super-funds-awards-2020
Credit Card Awards 2020

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the top-rated credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
credit-card-awards-2020
We compared reviews on the Top 5 Most Popular Car Insurance Providers

If you’re looking for cheap car insurance that's also reliable, ProductReview.com.au can help. We’ve sifted through 1000s of car insurance reviews on Budget Direct, AAMI, youi, Woolworths and Australian Seniors. Simply read on for a summary of what drivers liked the most and least about these top five most viewed providers.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.1 June 2020
we-compared-reviews-on-the-top-5-most-popular-car-insurance-providers
Next
Tassa
TassaSydney, NSW

Simple road side assistance Snowballs out of control!

published
Value for Money
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
2/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota Corolla
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Woolworths Car Insurance
Ryan A.Woolworths Car Insurance

Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Maria and Michael
Maria and MichaelSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Fair and easy process and I had a good reliable repairer

published

Fair and easy process to claim just the claim team need more proactive to inform customer, communication is counting.
The Repairer was excellent with everything in any ways thank you. Great choice

Value for Money
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Timeliness
3/5
Job Satisfaction
5/5
Transparency
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHonda Oddysey
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Woolworths Car Insurance
Emily S.Woolworths Car Insurance
Car Insurance

Find out how Woolworths Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Description of claim handling

published

Lodging of claim by phone. Was OK
Handling of claim was good with good help via email as phone contact practically impossible because of excessive waiting time
Payment of claim relatively expedite but deduction calculation questionable
Still waiting for official letter of write off to give to RMS for refund of green slip
I did NOT insure the new used car I bought with them, guess why.

Customer Service
4/5
Transparency
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedYes
Woolworths Car Insurance
Sharon G.Woolworths Car Insurance
Joe
JoeSydney, NSW

I need my car for helping my 7 grandkids about town and other special needs.

published
Value for Money
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Transparency
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota Camry Sportivo
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Woolworths Car Insurance
WW Customer ServiceWoolworths Car Insurance
Joe
Joe

Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Alex C
Alex CSouth East Queensland, QLD

Well... We got there in end...

published

Nil Communication... I literally had to keep calling to push the process... No one should wait 30 days for a simple claim to be processed like this. It was a no-brainer as well... But, points for getting there I guess... The staff were polite and tried to help in their way I suppose. :-/

Value for Money
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Woolworths Car Insurance
Si Fei H.Woolworths Car Insurance
Alex C
Alex C

Not worth my time

Car Insurance

Find out how Woolworths Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Yousef
Yousefasked
Woolworths Car Insurance

Has anyone started their online journey on compare the market and then went thru to woolies and informations was changed ? Also do you know if they upgrade their online system ? Example change of questions?

2 answers
Woolworths Car Insurance
Nick H.Woolworths Car Insurance

Hi Yousef,

Thank you for your query.

When quoting for a Woolworths Insurance Policy via Compare the Market; you may notice some areas of difference to the Woolworths Insurance website, such as different qualifying questions.

Before finalising a quote with us, you will notice that we ask detailed questions regarding the sum insured, excess, drivers, driver history, claims history etc.

These additional details, as well as the selections you make. may increase or decrease the originally quoted premium, (All quotes are indicative and subject to change)

If you would like to discuss the quote process further, please contact 1300 10 1234 and our friendly team would be happy to assist.

Kind regards,
Nick
​Customer Resolution Specialist
Woolworths Insurance

Yousef
Yousef

I can’t discuss anything with dishonest people who continue to tell lies

JohnL
JohnLasked
Woolworths Car Insurance

Policy number. MOT112105464. I wish to cancel this policy effective 30/9/2021. The vehicle has been sold. What do I need to do?

1 answer
Woolworths Car Insurance
Nick H.Woolworths Car Insurance

Hi John,

Thank you for your question.

You are able to cancel your policy by following one of the below steps:

Get in touch with us via phone 1300 10 1234 or our Online Chat by using this link https://insurance.woolworths.com.au/contact-us.html

Email us at customerservice@woolworthsinsurance.com.au

Kind regards,

Nick
Customer Resolution Specialist
Woolworths Insurance

Shane G.
Shane G.asked
Comprehensive Car Insurance

How long between determining a rite-off and recieving a pay out

4 answers
Moe S.
Moe S.

4-5 months ar least

The Reviewer
The Reviewer

Do you mean write-off and receiving ?

Shane G.
Shane G.

Yes

See all Woolworths Car Insurance questions

Get an answer from our members and Woolworths Car Insurance representatives

Woolworths Car Insurance

Details

Woolworths, underwritten by the Hollard Insurance Company, sells three car insurance policies: Comprehensive, Third Party Property Damage Only and Third Party Fire and Theft.

Points of praise for Woolworths Car Insurance

Reviewers noted that Woolworths' policies were easy to set up, with polite customer service. Another point worthy of mention is that reviewers observed their claims were resolved quickly and easily, with minimal delays when it came to Woolworths responding to claims.

As one reviewer put it, ‘I say thank you Woolworths for your prompt service, and the speed you operate at.’

Pain points with Woolworths Car Insurance

Unfortunately, the higher number of 1-star reviews agreed that while they experienced polite service at the start of the claims journey or when signing up, they encountered less friendly and helpful service when processing claims in Woolworths' call centre post-claim lodgement. Generally more evasive customer service was cited, including being put on hold for an extended period of time.

Reviewers also mentioned that while Woolworths offered cheap premiums initially, there were steep price increases in consecutive years. Another pain point involved frustration with Woolworths’ exclusive car repair centres. The nature of these frustrations involved smash repairers being too far away from people’s homes to be convenient, or that drivers were left waiting for months for their cars to be ready for pick-up.

Compare all 3 Woolworths Car Insurance
CategoryRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Funeral, Home and Contents, Landlord, Life, Pet and TravelFuneral, Home and Contents, Landlord, Life, Pet and TravelFuneral, Home and Contents, Landlord, Life, Pet and Travel
Coverage TypeComprehensiveThird Party Property DamageThird Party, Fire and Theft
UnderwriterHollardHollardHollard
Legal Liability Cover Included up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 million
Roadside Assistance Optional ExtraOptional ExtraOptional Extra
Reduced or Zero Excess Windscreen CoverZero Excess Optional ExtraNot OfferedZero Excess Optional Extra
Choice of RepairerNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
After Accident Care
Hire Car after an Incident

Optional Extra for up to $50 per day for up to 14 days.

Not Included

Optional Extra for up to $50 per day for up to 14 days.

Emergency Transport & AccommodationUp to $500 if you are more than 200kms from home and your car cannot be driven.Not IncludedUp to $500 if you are more than 200kms from home and your car cannot be driven.
Towing Costs IncludedNot IncludedIncluded
Hire Car after a No Fault Accident

Optional Extra for up to $50 per day for up to 14 days.

Not Included

Optional Extra for up to $50 per day for up to 14 days.

Essential / Emergency RepairsIncluded up to $500Not IncludedIncluded up to $500
Benefits
Pay As You Drive / Fixed Kilometre DiscountOptionalNot OfferedNot Offered
Hire Car after Theft

Optional Extra for up to $50 per day for up to 14 days.

Not Included

Optional Extra for up to $50 per day for up to 14 days.

Lock and Key ReplacementIncluded up to $1,000Not IncludedIncluded up to $1,000
Transit Cover IncludedNot IncludedIncluded
Trailer & Caravan CoverIncluded up to $1,000Not IncludedIncluded up to $1,000
Child Safety Seats and PramsIncluded up to $500Not IncludedIncluded up to $500
New-for-old Car Replacement

Must be within 24 months of first registration, and you are the first registered owner.

Not Included

Not Included

Personal Property CoverIncluded up to $500Not IncludedIncluded up to $500
Uninsured Motorist Benefit Not ApplicableIncluded up to $3,000Included up to $3,000
Accidental Loss or Damage
Malicious Damage / VandalismIncludedNot IncludedIncluded
FireIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
CollisionIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Natural EventsIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Theft or Attempted TheftIncludedNot IncludedIncluded
Compare all 3 Woolworths Car Insurance
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.