??!
1 photo
Woolworths Comprehensive Car Insurance

Woolworths Comprehensive Car Insurance

2.3 from 291 reviews · View Statistics

How to compare car insurance to find the best policy for you

With so many car insurance providers and policies on the market, dipping into the policy pool can be confusing. Use this guide for tips on how to find the car insurance that's ideal for you.

Read now

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    2.7 (249)
  • Customer Service
    2.5 (258)
  • Timeliness
    2.5 (161)
  • Job Satisfaction
    2.9 (117)
  • Transparency
    2.5 (206)
  • Claim Resolution Time1-2 months (53), 2-4 weeks (47), 3+ months (32), <1 week (28) and 1-2 weeks (16)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (155) · No (32)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
donna

donnaIllawarra, NSW

Efficient, empathic, professional claim service

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelPorsche Cayenne
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Nellie

NellieSouth East Queensland, QLD

Unbelievable hassle from start to finish!

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Paul F.

Paul F.Perth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Woolworths have lost a loyal customer!!!

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
2 comments
Woolworths Car Insurance
Amanda P.Woolworths Car Insurance
Paul F.
Paul F.
Car Insurance

Find out how Woolworths Comprehensive Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Branlen

BranlenSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Check your renewal and 'Agreed' Insured amount

published

Renewal price was $60 more than online price. Agreed value dropped by 30% and is 1/2 of market value. Woolworths offers agreed value which is far below market value, check your policy very carefully whether first time or renewal. I had 3 policies with Woolworths, I will be taking all of them elsewhere on their expiry. You may pay a little extra elsewhere but at least you will have your car insured for a reasonable replacement value!

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Car Insurance
Amanda P.Woolworths Car Insurance
Ted

Ted

  • 22 reviews
  • 41 likes

My car is ruined!

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJanuary 2020
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Car Insurance
Amanda P.Woolworths Car Insurance
Renee

ReneeCanberra Central 2601, ACT

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Terrible communication still have no idea the outcome of locating the driver even though a photo of the plate was given.

published

Cheap . No return calls no information provided. Terrible service still waiting for a result. Or a call back from the team. Wont ever use woolworths again for insurance or shopping

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHyundai i30
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Car Insurance
Amanda P.Woolworths Car Insurance
Frank A.

Frank A.Sydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Terrible Service

published

Lodged a claim and got a quote done where they sent me. They said they would contact me in 3 to 5 business days but sent me an sms after 12 business days (2.5 weeks) saying they would update me in another 5 business days. I sent an sms reply but got no answer. The whole thing is just bad service

Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelBMW 3 Series
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Car Insurance
Amanda P.Woolworths Car Insurance

Not very professional on phone

published

I had ppq plates on car and was told I had to travel to pick them up myself instead of simply mailing them back to me, I asked to be re-inbursed for my travel and time to pick my plates up, that's when they tried to sort it out, hope I see my plates again, otherwise they have stolen my plates.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Car Insurance
Amanda P.Woolworths Car Insurance

Terrible

published

Terrible service.
Spent months trying to sort out a claim when my car was stolen and another claim a year earlier for burglary.
In WA the hours don’t suit, so waiting 1/2 hr on hold took up every lunch break and got me nowhere.
Whenever I did get through, no one had a clue what was going on. Incredibly frustrating experience.

Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Car Insurance
Amanda P.Woolworths Car Insurance
Car Insurance

Find out how Woolworths Comprehensive Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
boz1970

boz1970Ballarat

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Quick approval of accident

published
  • +1
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelVolkswagen Golf 7.5 Wagon
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
2 comments
Woolworths Car Insurance
Amanda P.Woolworths Car Insurance

Hi boz1970, One of our key objectives is that every customer has an enjoyable experience, every time, and when we get feedback like this it enables us to thank our team members when they do their jobs well.

Woolworths Car Insurance
Amanda P.Woolworths Car Insurance

Hi boyz1970, we are so pleased to hear you're okay and we were able to help you in a time of need. We'd like to take the time to thank you once again for choosing Woolworths Insurance and sharing your feedback. Stay safe and wishing you all the best.

NickD

NickDCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 14 likes

Woolworths is fraudulent!!! Beware

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Car Insurance
Amanda P.Woolworths Car Insurance

A+ Insurance company that really looks after their customers.

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMazda 3
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Car Insurance
Amanda P.Woolworths Car Insurance

Hi Ursula, we are so pleased to hear you're okay and we were able to help you in a time of need. We'd like to take the time to thank you once again for choosing Woolworths Insurance and sharing your feedback. Stay safe and wishing you all the best.

vin

vin

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

Not reliable.

published

Not a reliable insurance provider. Lack of transparency. Not telling the complete picture when it comes to repair. Deciding what needs to be done on the car without fully inspecting the car.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMazda CX-5
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateSeptember 2020
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Car Insurance
Elisabeth L.Woolworths Car Insurance
Melissa

MelissaSydney, NSW

This is a disgrace they ripped me and took my car

published

They don’t answer phones lie to u and don’t join unless u wanna end up car less they are all liers and terrible people I will never shop there again I’m stuck no car on dialysis

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Car Insurance
Elisabeth L.Woolworths Car Insurance
Kinh

KinhGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

This is perfect.

published

Your service is excellent. Last night I made a claim, the next morning an Auto body repair nominated by your insurance company contacted me and then they sent someone to pick up my car at my workplace to have a repair. It is actually quick and convenient for the insuree.

Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Car Insurance
Elisabeth L.Woolworths Car Insurance

Hi Kinh, we are so pleased to hear we were able to help swiftly with your claim. We'd like to take the time to thank you for choosing Woolworths Insurance and sharing your feedback. Stay safe and wishing you all the best.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Car Insurance

Find out how Woolworths Comprehensive Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chang L.

Chang L.Sydney, NSW

Holding a call more than 30 mins.

published

My first call was holded for over 25 mins and I had to hang up due to other incoming calls.
My second call was holded for over 20 mins again and had to hang up again due to a same reason.
I am calling this insurance company again now and my call has been holding over 20 mins.
I had exactly a same issue when I call to them one month ago.
This is absolutely ridiculous.
I will find a new comprehensive car insuracne company.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelBMW x6m
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Car Insurance
Elisabeth L.Woolworths Car Insurance
Heather

HeatherAdelaide

  • 2 reviews

Very pleased

published

Put in a no fault claim over the phone and told them my preferred repairer and they told me it would be an expedited claim. Within an hour my crash repairer called to tell me they had received the claim and could proceed with repairs. Very pleasantly surprised it was that quick. I've made at least three other claims in the past and have always been well informed and never had any issues. I also enjoy getting 10% off groceries once a month for being with them for insurance.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Car Insurance
Amanda P.Woolworths Car Insurance

Hi Heather, we are so pleased to hear you're okay and we were able to help you in a time of need. We'd like to take the time to thank you once again for choosing Woolworths Insurance and sharing your feedback. Stay safe and wishing you all the best.

Tiga

TigaSydney, NSW

Excellent service for my car repair

published

I found the service very efficient. The staff were all polite and caring. The claims portal was very easy to use and the staff were prompt at getting back to me. I always felt informed and my repair was excellent. Very happy with all aspects of my claim.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMazda 3 BL
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Car Insurance
Amanda P.Woolworths Car Insurance

Hi Tiga, we are so pleased to hear you're okay and we were able to help you in a time of need. We'd like to take the time to thank you once again for choosing Woolworths Insurance and sharing your feedback. Stay safe and wishing you all the best.

Young

Young

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Wonderful and fantastic claiming experience

published

I have got a fantastic consultation from Ghadah.
I have informed everything and next steps, and I have been touch from the repairer just once I finished the claim. Every step has been processed very smooth and fast. Wow! Thanks

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota Corolla
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
2 comments
Woolworths Car Insurance
Amanda P.Woolworths Car Insurance

Hi Young, we are so pleased to hear you're okay and we were able to help you in a time of need. We'd like to take the time to thank you once again for choosing Woolworths Insurance and sharing your feedback. Stay safe and wishing you all the best.

Young
Young

I have to say "Thank you".

PETA

PETA

  • 2 reviews

Worst insurance company ever !!

published

Worst insurance company when you have to make a claim. Get you on technicalities but still take your money monthly. Reject your claim but pay you out the years worth of money you pay what. Absolute crap. Cheap cover yes but not worth it. Do not insure through these people.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHolden Cruze JH (Sedan) Equipe
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Car Insurance
Amanda P.Woolworths Car Insurance
Page 1 of 15
See all Woolworths Car Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Terry

Terryasked

Comprehensive Car Insurance

Got a quote, and it was better than 5 other insurers. However, looking at all the negative reviews, I would have to have rocks in my head if I went with them.

2 answers
Elliott R.
Elliott R.

The pricing is so attractive but the cover just isn't worth it in my experience. Any issue with the claims and it takes days to get a reply and they dont seem to want to help. Suncorp insurance seems to be the best cover although its a little pricey

Terry
Terry

I've been with Youi for quite a few years now and have always had good customer service when I go about renewing my policy. We go through the same dance each year where they send me a policy with the premium increased, I negotiate and get it down a bit and come away feeling like they have done me a favour!
I am sure that many people would be devastated to find out how much their vehicle is NOT worth, mainly because people have a love affair with their vehicle. To find that my Ford Territory Ghia is only worth 4.5K (165K on the clock) and they are asking 11% of that for a premium is a bit of a shock.

Trent M.

Trent M.asked

Comprehensive Car Insurance

I have has the same experience as other people on this site. This is beyond disgusting. I need to find 6 people to start a class action. Would you be interested in joining so it adds more weight and gets media attention? Anyone please private message me.

No answers
Natalia J.

Natalia J.asked

Comprehensive Car Insurance

How much is a 1000k's cost when you go over your quota of kilometers?

4 answers
wombarra
wombarra

Not sure. I think it was something like $95.83 for 5000km extra or $127 for unlimited extra

Fired Up
Fired Up

Can you ring them ?

Natalia J.
Natalia J.

They wouldn't tell me

Get an answer from our members and Woolworths Car Insurance representatives

Details

Compare all 3 Woolworths Car Insurance
CategoryRoadside Assistance Providers and Car Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Funeral, Home and Contents, Landlord, Life, Pet and Travel
Coverage TypeComprehensive
UnderwriterHollard
Legal Liability Cover Included up to $20 million
Roadside Assistance Optional Extra
Reduced or Zero Excess Windscreen CoverZero Excess Optional Extra
Choice of RepairerNot Allowed
After Accident Care
Hire Car after an Incident

Optional Extra for up to $70 per day for up to 14 days.

Emergency Transport & AccommodationUp to $500 if you are more than 200kms from home and your car cannot be driven.
Towing Costs Included
Hire Car after a No Fault Accident

Optional Extra for up to $70 per day for up to 14 days.

Essential / Emergency RepairsIncluded up to $500
Benefits
Pay As You Drive / Fixed Kilometre DiscountOptional
Hire Car after Theft

Optional Extra for up to $70 per day for up to 14 days.

Lock and Key ReplacementIncluded up to $1,000
Transit Cover Included
Trailer & Caravan CoverIncluded up to $1,000
Child Safety Seats and PramsIncluded up to $500
New-for-old Car Replacement

Must be within 24 months of first registration, and you are the first registered owner.

Personal Property CoverIncluded up to $500
Uninsured Motorist Benefit Not Applicable
Accidental Loss or Damage
Malicious Damage / VandalismIncluded
FireIncluded
CollisionIncluded
Natural EventsIncluded
Theft or Attempted TheftIncluded
Compare all 3 Woolworths Car Insurance

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.