??!
1 photo
Woolworths Comprehensive Travel Insurance

Woolworths Comprehensive Travel Insurance

Overseas, Domestic
3.3 from 32 reviews

Reviews

3.3

32 reviews
5
(16)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(11)
  • Value for Money
    3.2 (19)
  • Transparency
    2.8 (17)
  • Customer Service
    3.0 (19)
Previous
Next
Dylan

Dylan

  • 3 reviews

Fair outcome

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNew Zealand
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Karen P.

Karen P.

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Unexpected result but very welcome one!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Pam Keily

Pam KeilyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Worst Travel Insurance

published

I felt our policy was good value. We returned from our holiday on 26th Oct and have not had our claim resolved yet. Only used Woolworths once and never again.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Travel Insurance
AKM TAHREERUR R.Woolworths Travel Insurance
Travel Insurance

Find out how Woolworths Comprehensive Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
B. O'Connor

B. O'Connor

  • 2 reviews

Should have gone to a proper insurer instead of a supermarket!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
2 comments
Woolworths Travel Insurance
AKM TAHREERUR R.Woolworths Travel Insurance
B. O'Connor
B. O'Connor
beverley

beverleyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews

Very let down

published

As will many others, we booked our travel insurance months in advance of the corona virus becoming a known event...but there in the small print Woolworths insurance excludes a pandemic. It is tragic and devastating enough for people losing their dream holidays, but to find out you are not covered for such an unforeseeable event is just awful. The whole point of having insurance is to protect yourself - so many are suffering but woolworths insurance are happily announcing on their website that they have excluded themselves so don't even bother trying. This was the first time and definitely the last time I will ever get insurance with Woolworths. We should all boycott such cold and unhelpful businesses

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNew Zealand
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult, Child and Teenager
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Travel Insurance
AKM TAHREERUR R.Woolworths Travel Insurance
Laslo Z.

Laslo Z.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Very disappointed

published

My wife and I booked our holiday flights and accomodation well in advance. This was prior to any news regarding the coronavirus. I've just found out we're not covered for pandemics or epidemics. Be very careful when taking up insurance. All these companies are keen to take your money, but then won't look after you when something like this happens. It's no fault of our own yet we're likely to lose over $5k due to this virus and not be able to go on our holiday.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
2 comments
Woolworths Travel Insurance
AKM TAHREERUR R.Woolworths Travel Insurance
Laslo Z.
Laslo Z.

My review will hopefully help some people and prompt them to read the terms and conditions before signing up. I think pandemics should be covered just like natural disasters.

FredBloggs

FredBloggsacity

  • 3 reviews

Ex-gratia payment to cover costs even though not eligible

published

The claim did not meet the policy rules however WW made an ex-gratia payment which covered most of the loss. Policy is excellent value. Submitting the claim was easy. Processing of claim was fairly quick. Staff were easy to work with.

DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Haych Dizzelle

Haych DizzelleAustralian Capital Territory

No cover for Coronavirus

published

I confirmed with their customer support. When you need this policy to protect you most, it will let you down. If you are travelling and you get ill with Coronavirus they will not cover you, even if you’ve been travelling before Coronavirus started. They have no interest in protecting you. Do not trust them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
2 comments
Woolworths Travel Insurance
AKM TAHREERUR R.Woolworths Travel Insurance
Haych Dizzelle
Haych Dizzelle
Roberta

RobertaDarling Downs, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Thanks for nothing Woolworths

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea) and North America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Travel Insurance

Find out how Woolworths Comprehensive Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Negative experience

published

Used the service twice.
On the second occasion had a terrible experience the company.
The loss of my goods was bad enough however dealing with Woolworths insurance was even more stressful. They tried every trick int he book to not pay out. They quoted incorrect dates (hopefully by accident), accused me of lying and refused to reply to emails for weeks at a time.
Just spend the extra amount and use a reputable insurance company. Save yourself the hassle and stress.

DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Woolworths Travel Insurance
Ryan A.Woolworths Travel Insurance
Christine Smith

Christine SmithSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

I couldn't be happier!

published

My husband became ill and could not travel. I was sceptical that the claim would be paid out. However, it was paid in full within 20 days. You could have knocked me over with a feather!
You hear so many stories about insurance companies not paying out on claims (maybe with good reasons we don’t get to hear of). In all my years of travel, I have never had to make a claim on insurance and was unsure how this would go!
I’m very grateful to Woolworths Travel and have said so on my facebook page. I will never use any other insurance company (although you may not want us to use you again)!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Travel Insurance
Ryan A.Woolworths Travel Insurance
Saints58

Saints58Sydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Above and beyond.

published

Policy was good value and I had to make a claim which initially a significant portion of the claim was declined. I made contact with Woolworth's Insurance to discuss. They were very helpful and explained in detail why part of my claim was declined but subsequently granted an ex-gratia payment for the amount originally declined which was a terrific outcome and very much appreciated.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Travel Insurance
Ryan A.Woolworths Travel Insurance
Clive Boddington

Clive BoddingtonHunter Region, NSW

Exceptional service and outcome

published

When my wife became ill whilst holidaying in Thailand, I phoned the WTI helpline and was immediately put through to an operator who was able to give me clear and concise advice, telling me to get my wife to a certain hospital immediately. His advice, in the long-run, has most probably saved her life.
Upon returning home, WTL provided me with all the information required to make a claim which was settled within a surprisingly short space of time.
WTL not only handled our unfortunate situation (having to cut a month-long trip to one week) with expediency and proffessionalism but also with compassion.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical and Travel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Travel Insurance
Ryan A.Woolworths Travel Insurance
JimD

JimDMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Woolworths Travel Insurance came to our rescue.

published

The policy was simple to set up. We did it on line with ease. We lodged a claim while overseas because my wife broke her ankle and required surgery in an overseas hospital. Once we were able to contact the emergency number we could tell we were in good hands from the emergency team to the nurse Kate R and also the claims team. They helped us out immensely taking a lot of the stress of the moment from us. While this is our second policy with Woolworths Insurance we will use them again for sure and have recommended them to our friends of which two are to travel soon and have Woolworths Travel Insurance. Thankyou travel insurance people in Woolworths Travel, really appreciated your efforts.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
3 comments
Woolworths Travel Insurance
Ryan A.Woolworths Travel Insurance
JimD
JimD
Woolworths Travel Insurance
Ryan A.Woolworths Travel Insurance

Hello Jim, You can take a quote and a policy at any time through our website or you are able to contact our sales team and they will be able to discuss the situation for you. You can contact the sales team on 1300 10 1234.

Gail

GailGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Awesome travel insurance, peace of mind and easy claim process

published

I normally used TID for my travel insurance but when my daughter was overseas she used Woolworths and had a medical issue and they were wonderful; even calling me the next day to ask how she was. We used them last trip to Bali and had a small claim which was sorted within a week. Not only are they great value and coverage but very easy to join and smooth claims process. Woolworths will be our new go to Travel Insurance as we go overseas every year +++++

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Travel Insurance

Find out how Woolworths Comprehensive Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Josh

JoshSydney, NSW

A very positive experience

published

My daughter became ill during our trip. I immediately emailed Woolworths Travel Assistance and was surprised to receive a reply within 30mins detailing that everything was covered, what I needed to do and even included medical facilities located in the area. Over the course of the trip, they contacted me to see how everything was going and if there was anything further they could do.
When I made my claim upon my return which was straightforward online, I was reimbursed within 5 working days. I was very impressed and will continue to use Woolworths Travel Insurance for future trips, especially as the policy provided good coverage with a very competitive price.

Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Child
See all answers
Clementine Brakenridge

Clementine BrakenridgeIllawarra, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Couldn't get anywhere, trying to get travel insurance

published

Rang call centre, was kept on hold for over 40minutes with no response. Emailed customer service centre, received a reply that they would get back to me, no response from them either. No customer service at all. If this is the way they treat their customers I would rather go elsewhere, which is exactly what I did. I wonder how one would go if they had to make a claim. I'd rather not find out.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
Tony Iorfino

Tony IorfinoSydney, NSW

Save your money

published
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope and North America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Unhappy Customer

Unhappy Customer

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Poor Service

published

The website seems to have intermittent issues where it'll take payment but not issue any policy. The call centre staff seem unable or unwilling to provide assistance. Every call promised the world but they've yet to deliver on anything promised.

Perhaps it's worth reviewing your business contingency plans to ensure when problems occur with the website, that the business can handle the backlog of applications in a suitable timeframe.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Travel Insurance
Zoe H.Woolworths Travel Insurance
Lynne

LynneDarwin

  • 4 reviews

Don't bother

published

I purchased travel insurance money came out of the bank but I didn't get a policy. After 2 days and heaps of calls I finally managed to actually get to talk to someone. I decided not to risk it so asked for my money back. I will now wait to see how long that takes. They don't answer their phone or give policies after paying for it.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Travel Insurance
Zoe H.Woolworths Travel Insurance
Page 1 of 2
See all Woolworths Travel Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Woolworths Comprehensive Travel Insurance but you can read 51 questions about Woolworths Travel Insurance.

Get an answer from our members and Woolworths Travel Insurance representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.