??!
1 photo
Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance

Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance

1.8 from 327 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    2.5 (32)
  • Transparency
    2.2 (27)
  • Customer Service
    2.0 (32)
  • Claim Resolution Time<1 week (1), 1-2 weeks (4), 2-4 weeks (2), 1-2 months (8) and 3+ months (15)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (36) · No
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
UnhappyCustomer

UnhappyCustomerGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified customer

Just frustrating and unprofessional

published

Takes ages to do anything, when it comes to claims or refund. Extremely unprofessional and somehow if the client doesn't follow up, the whole things goes un-noticed. May be it's a deliberate attempt by the insurer to make $$$. However when it comes to grabbing the money from the client, they are spot on with their timing !!

Am definitely switching in my next renewal.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Shybairn

ShybairnSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Hail Storm Recovery

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes

Worst Insurance Company/Service

published

One Star is being too generous. I experienced Storm Damage (fence came down) Shade Sail (Professionally installed, in good condition prior to the storm) was ripped, pool cover blown away. They are offering me $160.00 towards the repairs. It's a joke. This has been going on since late May. It took over a month to respond to emails or not at all. I had to find invoices of the install to prove it was done by a professional company, which I did finally manage to email them copies. Phoning them means a 10min+ wait time, then they offer to call back. Still waiting. I've asked them to refund my last renewal and will go with my original insurer. Changing to Woolworths Insurance was the biggest mistake.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim ApprovedYes
4 comments
Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Amanda P.Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Marilyn
Marilyn
Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Amanda P.Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Johnpaul

JohnpaulSouth East Queensland, QLD

Fantastic Service

published

I'd highly recommend Woolworths Insurance as they covered all contents impacted in my claim and my claim was looked into promptly and repairs performed on time.
They were quite accomodative during Covid19 pandemic and mine was completed in a month.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Type of ClaimImpact at Home
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Elisabeth L.Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance

Hi Johnpaul, thanks for sharing your feedback, we are so pleased to hear your claim was settled promptly and when we get feedback like this it enables us to thank our team members for a job well done. Thank you for choosing Woolworths Insurance.

Volkan

VolkanSydney, NSW

Disgrace Of An Insurance Company

published

Loyal Customer of Several Years
Paid Annual Premium Upfront.
Made A Claim.
Paid Excess
No Work Actioned Or Any Communication In 6 Months
Tried Calling x 5 , Emailing x 2, Online Chat x 3 - No Call Backs, No Communication.
Just A Cash Grab.
Disgrace Of An Insurance Company

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
2 comments
Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Zubair W.Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Volkan
Volkan
Gary H.

Gary H.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified customer

Unresponsive. Farms out claim processing to a company that can only handle part of the claim.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
3 comments
Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Zubair W.Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Gary H.
Gary H.

Update: Responded to an email from many months ago not long after this review, then nothing else in the last two months.

Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Farheen A.Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
jcodey24

jcodey24South East Queensland, QLD

Excellent

published

We have almost completed a storm damage claim and I have to say the service from Woolworths Insurance has been nothing short of amazing from start to finish. Claim Central organised the repair which involved carpentry, painting and finally floor polishing. Yes it was a process but I would highly recommend based on our experience.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Zubair W.Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance

Hi jcodey24, thank you for the review. We aim to provide an excellent experience for all our customers, and we’re happy to hear your claims experience was positive. Thank you.

Steve

StevePerth, WA

Storm insurance claim

published

The claim process was slow and cumbersome. I had to follow up several times to find out the status of my claim. I asked to escalate my grievance. I did not receive a reply. The amount offered was woefully short of the amount required to fix the fence. It took 10 days to receive an approval to pay out my claim. In comparison my neighbours insurance payed out within 48 hours. You only know how good your insurance is when you actually have to make a claim. It would appear you get what you pay for including insurance.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
2 comments
Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Zubair W.Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Steve
Steve

I have sent in my policy number and mob phone. This reply is typical to how I feel about Woolworths Insurance. The report was submitted over 2 months ago and you have only just got back to me yesterday.

Waiting2020

Waiting2020Perth, WA

Worst Insurance Company Ever

published

Initially they are cheap but the following year they were back up to the same as any other company. We lodged a claim on our house prior to Christmas and it took until February before the claim was rejected. The independent claims tribunal overturned the decision in March and it is now May with very little progress at all. As soon as the claim is finalized we will be switching companies as I couldn't go through the +1 hour waits on the phone to speak to someone again. Absolutely pathetic.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Zubair W.Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kenny

Kenny

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified customer

Great customer service

published

We had some damage to our patio and external wall due to storm damage in October of last year. We contacted Woolworth home insurance and they gave me a direct contact of my claim assessor and the claim was made a lot easier. A lot of the contact was online via me sending photos of the damage, and it was a smooth process. They process the claim in a very timely manner and were really helpful to deal with. I have just renewed my home and contents with them based on the service they gave me.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Elisabeth L.Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Marianne17

Marianne17South East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 9 likes

Worst insurance Ever!!!!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
3 comments
Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Zubair W.Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Marianne17
Marianne17

And it only took 3 months for you to respond???? Really poor service!

Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Farheen A.Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance

Horrible Customer Service

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
AKM TAHREERUR R.Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance

Not even a hint of customer service.

published

While the policy was cheap, and the payout eventually happened, it took 10 weeks, and me having to call them every step of the way to prompt them about the next step. I honestly believe that if I did not call them every week, nothing would ever have happened. All in all, I spent around 40 hours on hold with this company. And every time I got through to someone, they are like "How can I help you today?" - Maybe just do your job!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeApartment/Unit
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimFire
Claim ApprovedYes
2 comments
Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
AKM TAHREERUR R.Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Alan I.
Alan I.

I don't have a spare 3 hours to call you to continue to complain.

m8

m8Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 14 reviews
  • 20 likes

Call Centre takes over an hour to get through every time ...BUT since improved

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Zubair W.Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Leah Donovan

Leah DonovanPerth, WA

Hopeless communication, fobbed off to a third party who basically told lies

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimImpact at Home
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Customer Service RepWoolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dabs

DabsSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very friendly staff who don't tell you the truth.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Zubair W.Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance

Don't waste your time

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Type of ClaimFire
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Zubair W.Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Melissa

Melissa

  • 3 reviews

SLOW, SLOW, SLOW!!!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Type of ClaimFire
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Zubair W.Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Honest01

Honest01South East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best insurance no hassle

published

Insurance is good value and my claim was settled in just a few weeks. I will not be going anywhere.
Air conditioner stopped and after getting a quote it was fix. So happy.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Type of ClaimLightning
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Ryan A.Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance

Effortless claims process.

published

Following an unfortunate incident, our claim was responded to quickly and within our expectations. It was effortless and offered complete transparency with the claim. Swift payment was also arranged. Highly recommended.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Ryan A.Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Page 1 of 2
See all Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Diana

Dianaasked

Are solar panels covered under Woolworths House and Content Insurance?

1 answer
Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Elisabeth L.Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance

Hi Diana, thank you for reaching out to us and we would like to apologise for the delay in response. Solar panels are covered under our policy cover, If they are installed on your home the value can be included in the overall Building Sum Insured amount. If you need any assistance please reach out to us through our Live Chat service on our website https://insurance.woolworths.com.au/ where one of our Customer Service Representatives are available via web chat from 8.30am - 7.30pm weekdays and 9.30am to 4.30pm on weekends.

Lutz

Lutzasked

How come no one is answering when I call about my insurance claim
Trying to call since last Wednesday every time I’m waiting for over an hour today I’ve been waiting for 2 hours and no one takes the call!!!!
This is absolutely unacceptable!!!
How do I get to talk to anyone???
HELP!!!!!!!!

3 answers
Helen Platkowski
Helen Platkowski

I had the same problem, finally spoke to a lovely girl her name is Anisy....was very helpful....I hope our issue will be resolved this week...

Jay P.
Jay P.

Hello All,

customers of this insurance company know how unprofessional and useless it is.
for those interested let us start a class action with ACCC

Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Customer Service RepWoolworths Home and Contents Insurance

Hey Lutz,
Thank you for getting in contact.
We are sorry for any inconvenience this process may have caused.
As you are probably aware with everything thats going on, our claims department is in high demand at the moment. The correct number to get in contact with the claims department is 1300 10 12 34 and follow the correct prompts that will take you through to the correct claims team.

john

johnasked

just got text home ins policy hom105892856 what is this for been waiting on phone for 30 minutes

3 answers
Amanda B.
Amanda B.

Why are you asking me you moron

Fired Up
Fired Up

I don’t understand your question

Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance
Ryan A.Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance

Hey John, thank you for your question and we do apologize for the delay in getting back to you. Unfortunately we are not able to discuss personal policy details here so please contact our friendly customer service team via the phone at 1300 10 1234 or via live web chat through our website.

Get an answer from our members and Woolworths Home and Contents Insurance representatives

Details

CategoryHome and Contents Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Car, Funeral, Home and Contents, Landlord, Life, Pet and Travel

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.