??!
1 photo
Woolworths Pet Insurance - Comprehensive Cover

Woolworths Pet Insurance - Comprehensive Cover

2.2 from 43 reviews

Pet Insurance Buying Guide

If you're a pet owner, you probably agree there’s nothing worse than your dog or cat getting sick or hurt. But what happens when vet bills are sky high? Pet insurance can grant you peace of mind, helping your pet get the treatment they deserve, without sending you broke.

Read now

Reviews

2.2

43 reviews
5
(11)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(28)
  • Value for Money
    2.1 (37)
  • Transparency
    2.1 (35)
  • Customer Service
    2.3 (37)
Previous
Next
Wayne H.

Wayne H.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

The worst possible service and website ever.

published
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
Sarah M.

Sarah M.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Waste of time/money

published

My pup has hip dysplasia (was not pre existing) and even with letter from vet stating that it wasnt they refuse to cover her. Appealed and they still say its pre existing even though all her records say not!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
parnian

parnianbruce

  • 7 reviews
  • 16 likes

Scam Alert: They lie about the policy start date

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
See all answers
Pet Insurance

Find out how Woolworths Pet Insurance - Comprehensive Cover compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mak

MakSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

The Worst Possible Cover you can ever get for your pet

published

They don't cover necessities (being a comprehensive cover). Any disease that they classify as BREADING they won't cover. Any Holiday Accommodation is not covered. If you want to cancel and they've already paid you once for a regular per visit or vaccine, they will force you to pay the full year.
Run away from it, it's not worth paying the premium

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
Charles

CharlesSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love your money but nothing in return

published

My experience seems to reflect that of many on this review site. Everything is either pre-existing or things that are normal preventative things that are not covered. Since when was cleaning a dog's teeth normal? Sure, I can understand how vaccinations are normal preventative but seriously I wonder what has to be the problem for insurance to cover the outlays.

Lousy value for money without doubt and I am cancelling and would not give them any stars if allowed

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
josh d.

josh d.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Very poor service

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers

terrible

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
Stuart Davies

Stuart DaviesHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Dreadful Customer service!

published

Cancelled my policy but still continued to take money out of my account and refused to reimburse. Complete lack of understanding by their customer service officer . Would not recommend at all!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
See all answers

Don’t buy this policy if you want peace of mind.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
Pet Insurance

Find out how Woolworths Pet Insurance - Comprehensive Cover compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sally

SallyRichmond-Tweed, NSW

5 stars

published

We took out comprehensive pet insurance (with $0 excess) when our rescue pup joined our family at 8 months. Over the years we only really needed it for the occasional vet visit and routine check up benefits, which can be frustrating when the policy increases annually and you're not using it to its full potential - Fast forward 9 years and Benign Lipomas appeared and then intervertebral disc disease which eventually resulted in euthanasia. Woolworths honoured every claim over the course of our policy efficiently and without question, and showed sympathy and compassion at the loss of our beloved family member. We cannot rate them highly enough from our experience .

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
Adam

AdamSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolutely atrocious rip off merchants

published

Absolutely atrocious, they kept making new claims for the same medical condition on follow up visits for the same condition so I would need to pay extra excesses. Said they are part of the no gap program with Greencross but they hadn't implemented it yet, even though they advertised it. Not worth the price, changed to Pet INsurance Australia, half the price.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
See all answers

OUTSTANDING SERVICE

published

Twice in the last two months our Golden Retriever has had an operation and has since sadly passed away. We have had the policy 5 years. Claiming costs was extremely easy and very prompt. Payments were made in under a week with very clear settlement details. All our dealings with Woolworths Pet Insurance have been more than excellent. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
See all answers

Pet insurance top quartile service

published

Recent and ongoing service very high. Portal an excellent tool portal is easy to use allows tracking of correspondence I highly recommend Woolworths pet insurance our experience has been positive

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
Misa

MisaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Easy claim, easy to use web portal!

published

The web portal made it very easy to lodge my claim. The service was okay, quick and easy. Though claiming routine checks were easy. Claiming for accident is quite a struggle since it asked my VET back and fort for documents and verification.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Pet Insurance
Elisabeth L.Woolworths Pet Insurance

Don’t waste your money

published

Woolworths Pet Insurance ended up being a nightmare to deal with. Their communication is terrible and they only pay out on a very small amount of issues. I cancelled my policy due to being dissatisfied and I was still required to pay monthly instalments after this as I had made claims within the last 12 months OR I was provided the option to pay back the money that was paid out from claims. I paid them almost $1000 in the year to cover my dog and received $445 in claims. Got less than half my money back yet they wanted me to pay it back for cancelling. No insurance company I have ever used has been this bad. Wasted my money!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
See all answers
Pet Insurance

Find out how Woolworths Pet Insurance - Comprehensive Cover compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nerissa

NerissaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolutely terrible insurance

published

No benefits paid/unable to claim any money back from them. Absolutely terrible insurance. I never received any benefit from using them. Absolute waste of money! Not worth your money. Chose another pet insurance.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
lcpr5249

lcpr5249Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

On their website .... We'll beat any comparable quote .... Price beat.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Pet Insurance
Elisabeth L.Woolworths Pet Insurance

Fantastic Service

published

Couldn’t of been happier with the service having been with Woolworths for 6 years my dog Layla spent 4 nights in an emergency vets over Easter with a very expensive bill. I was so relieved Woolworths covered the 80 percent as promised and were prompt with the payment .

Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
Andrew R.

Andrew R.

  • 2 reviews

Amazing service and coverage

published

Had insurance for my 10 month old puppy for 3 months when we discovered he had severe hip dysplasia and degenerative arthritis.
They have been exceptional. Covered his initial xrays, medication, consultation etc (80%), and have pre authorised his surgeries, the first of which is this week.
Best insurance I’ve ever taken out. Was expecting them to argue any claims etc but the complete opposite. I’m so happy and surprised.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
Billa

BillaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

AVOID AVOID AVOID unless you like being ripped off!

published

I've Been with Woollies pet insurance for many years - thought it was reasonable. Never really claimed much over the years. I Just received my annual premium increase - 25% more! Yup! 25% more.

How they try and justify this 25% increase is a joke.
Nice try at ripping off your long standing customers woollies pet insurance!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Pet Insurance
Brock B.Woolworths Pet Insurance
Page 1 of 3
See all Woolworths Pet Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Kyliem

Kyliemasked

Comprehensive Cover

Do you cover IVDD, just a bit confused

1 answer
Woolworths Pet Insurance
Elisabeth L.Woolworths Pet Insurance

Hi Kyliem, thanks for your question and we apologise for the delay. We do cover Intervertebral Disc Disease (IVDD) under Illness Cover on our policies. For more information, to compaire cover options or obtain a quote please visit our website https://insurance.woolworths.com.au/pet-insurance.html. Thank you.

Frank Raymond

Frank Raymondasked

Comprehensive Cover

Does Woolworths Pet insurance cover Poisoning and Ingestion of foreign objects

2 answers
Fired Up
Fired Up

Contacting them directly would be my only logical suggestion

Woolworths Pet Insurance
Ryan A.Woolworths Pet Insurance

Hello Frank Raymond, thank you for your question and for enquiring about our policy. Generally yes we do cover for Poisoning and Ingestion of objects however bear in mind that every claim is taken on a case by case basis and there are exclusions which can be found on page 30 of the PDS. If you wish to discuss this further please either call us on 1300 10 1234 or go to our website and we offer Live Chat. I hope you have a great remainder of your week.

Get an answer from our members and Woolworths Pet Insurance representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.