??!
1 photo
Woolworths Travel Insurance

Reviews

3.8

226 reviews
5
(147)
4
(13)
3
(3)
2
(7)
1
(56)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (43)
  • Transparency
    3.0 (31)
  • Customer Service
    3.3 (42)
Previous
Next
Dylan

Dylan

  • 3 reviews

Fair outcome

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNew Zealand
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Paul F.

Paul F.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Terrible Customer Service

published

Due to Virgin collapse and refusing refunds. Turned to Woolworths Travel Insurance for our claim and encountered two very, very incompetent employees, I now have a cancelled policy with no further response from customer service staff. Very scripted rejection of policy
Definitely would not recommend this service

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Bunbury couple

Bunbury coupleSouth West, WA

  • 2 reviews

Customer can't win.

published

I purchased an annual multi-trip insurance in the hope of being covered.
The insurance and airfares we payed 4 months before any sign of the 100 year flu.
Needless to say when virgin cancelled our flight due to border closing we claimed the replacement
Qantas flights on our insurance,no luck.Had another go and again no.
When I tried to cancel the remaining insurance to recoup some losses,guess what,no go.They can,t lose.
So if I was you I would ask Woolies what they do cover rather than what they don't.It will be a very short list.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
Bunbury couple
Bunbury couple

AKM even could'nt be bothered to give us an automated reply for their win and our loss.

Travel Insurance

Find out how Woolworths Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Overseas experience with company Very satisfied with assistance when I had a heart attack

published

When suffering a heart attack in Thailand the assistance and phone calls were of much help and comfort The claims department were equally helpful as it was a substantial amount

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Travel Insurance
Elisabeth L.Woolworths Travel Insurance

Hi P Jennings, we are so pleased to hear you're okay and we were able to help you in a time of need. We'd like to take the time to thank you for choosing Woolworths Insurance and sharing your feedback. Stay safe and wishing you all the best.

Karen P.

Karen P.

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Unexpected result but very welcome one!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Lissa J.

Lissa J.

  • 2 reviews

Don't bother...

published

If you want a company that will suppprt you in time of need when travel gets cancelled DON'T bother with Woolworth's travel insurance. Such a waste of money buying the insurance.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationPacific Islands (e.g. Fiji, Vanuatu)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Pam Keily

Pam KeilyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Worst Travel Insurance

published

I felt our policy was good value. We returned from our holiday on 26th Oct and have not had our claim resolved yet. Only used Woolworths once and never again.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Travel Insurance
AKM TAHREERUR R.Woolworths Travel Insurance
B. O'Connor

B. O'Connor

  • 2 reviews

Should have gone to a proper insurer instead of a supermarket!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
2 comments
Woolworths Travel Insurance
AKM TAHREERUR R.Woolworths Travel Insurance
B. O'Connor
B. O'Connor
beverley

beverleyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews

Very let down

published

As will many others, we booked our travel insurance months in advance of the corona virus becoming a known event...but there in the small print Woolworths insurance excludes a pandemic. It is tragic and devastating enough for people losing their dream holidays, but to find out you are not covered for such an unforeseeable event is just awful. The whole point of having insurance is to protect yourself - so many are suffering but woolworths insurance are happily announcing on their website that they have excluded themselves so don't even bother trying. This was the first time and definitely the last time I will ever get insurance with Woolworths. We should all boycott such cold and unhelpful businesses

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNew Zealand
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult, Child and Teenager
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Travel Insurance
AKM TAHREERUR R.Woolworths Travel Insurance
Travel Insurance

Find out how Woolworths Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Laslo Z.

Laslo Z.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Very disappointed

published

My wife and I booked our holiday flights and accomodation well in advance. This was prior to any news regarding the coronavirus. I've just found out we're not covered for pandemics or epidemics. Be very careful when taking up insurance. All these companies are keen to take your money, but then won't look after you when something like this happens. It's no fault of our own yet we're likely to lose over $5k due to this virus and not be able to go on our holiday.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
2 comments
Woolworths Travel Insurance
AKM TAHREERUR R.Woolworths Travel Insurance
Laslo Z.
Laslo Z.

My review will hopefully help some people and prompt them to read the terms and conditions before signing up. I think pandemics should be covered just like natural disasters.

FredBloggs

FredBloggsacity

  • 3 reviews

Ex-gratia payment to cover costs even though not eligible

published

The claim did not meet the policy rules however WW made an ex-gratia payment which covered most of the loss. Policy is excellent value. Submitting the claim was easy. Processing of claim was fairly quick. Staff were easy to work with.

DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Haych Dizzelle

Haych DizzelleAustralian Capital Territory

No cover for Coronavirus

published

I confirmed with their customer support. When you need this policy to protect you most, it will let you down. If you are travelling and you get ill with Coronavirus they will not cover you, even if you’ve been travelling before Coronavirus started. They have no interest in protecting you. Do not trust them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
2 comments
Woolworths Travel Insurance
AKM TAHREERUR R.Woolworths Travel Insurance
Haych Dizzelle
Haych Dizzelle
Roberta

RobertaDarling Downs, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Thanks for nothing Woolworths

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea) and North America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Danny W.

Danny W.Perth, WA

Softened the blow of having items stolen.

published

Purchased insurance primarily for medical and car excess coverage but grateful our baggage loss was mostly compensated by Woolworth insurance. It was a fair claims process without too much hassle.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers

Negative experience

published

Used the service twice.
On the second occasion had a terrible experience the company.
The loss of my goods was bad enough however dealing with Woolworths insurance was even more stressful. They tried every trick int he book to not pay out. They quoted incorrect dates (hopefully by accident), accused me of lying and refused to reply to emails for weeks at a time.
Just spend the extra amount and use a reputable insurance company. Save yourself the hassle and stress.

DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Woolworths Travel Insurance
Ryan A.Woolworths Travel Insurance
Travel Insurance

Find out how Woolworths Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Christine Smith

Christine SmithSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

I couldn't be happier!

published

My husband became ill and could not travel. I was sceptical that the claim would be paid out. However, it was paid in full within 20 days. You could have knocked me over with a feather!
You hear so many stories about insurance companies not paying out on claims (maybe with good reasons we don’t get to hear of). In all my years of travel, I have never had to make a claim on insurance and was unsure how this would go!
I’m very grateful to Woolworths Travel and have said so on my facebook page. I will never use any other insurance company (although you may not want us to use you again)!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Travel Insurance
Ryan A.Woolworths Travel Insurance
Tony

TonyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Not worth and a junk policy

published

Be careful with exclusions. I bought annual multi trip cover and this was my first claiming experience due to unexpected flight cancellation.
This policy doesn't cover cancellations due to technical fault by the airline & it doesn't state anywhere.
It is false advertising when selling this policy.
What is the point buying a travel insurance when it doesn't cover a common cause of flight cancellations??
Fresh food people should not sell "bad apples"

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
4 comments
Woolworths Travel Insurance
Ryan A.Woolworths Travel Insurance
Tony
Tony

Hi Ryan,
thanks for the message and my policy number is TRVA-1910-347299505
Victoria.
Woolworth policy should have all my contact details.

Woolworths Travel Insurance
Ryan A.Woolworths Travel Insurance

Hello Tony, thank you for your response, unfortunately we will need you to give us the above-requested information through private message for us to contact you. Please private message us with that and we will contact you about this.

Saints58

Saints58Sydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Above and beyond.

published

Policy was good value and I had to make a claim which initially a significant portion of the claim was declined. I made contact with Woolworth's Insurance to discuss. They were very helpful and explained in detail why part of my claim was declined but subsequently granted an ex-gratia payment for the amount originally declined which was a terrific outcome and very much appreciated.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Travel Insurance
Ryan A.Woolworths Travel Insurance
Clive Boddington

Clive BoddingtonHunter Region, NSW

Exceptional service and outcome

published

When my wife became ill whilst holidaying in Thailand, I phoned the WTI helpline and was immediately put through to an operator who was able to give me clear and concise advice, telling me to get my wife to a certain hospital immediately. His advice, in the long-run, has most probably saved her life.
Upon returning home, WTL provided me with all the information required to make a claim which was settled within a surprisingly short space of time.
WTL not only handled our unfortunate situation (having to cut a month-long trip to one week) with expediency and proffessionalism but also with compassion.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical and Travel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
Woolworths Travel Insurance
Ryan A.Woolworths Travel Insurance
JimD

JimDMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Woolworths Travel Insurance came to our rescue.

published

The policy was simple to set up. We did it on line with ease. We lodged a claim while overseas because my wife broke her ankle and required surgery in an overseas hospital. Once we were able to contact the emergency number we could tell we were in good hands from the emergency team to the nurse Kate R and also the claims team. They helped us out immensely taking a lot of the stress of the moment from us. While this is our second policy with Woolworths Insurance we will use them again for sure and have recommended them to our friends of which two are to travel soon and have Woolworths Travel Insurance. Thankyou travel insurance people in Woolworths Travel, really appreciated your efforts.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
3 comments
Woolworths Travel Insurance
Ryan A.Woolworths Travel Insurance
JimD
JimD
Woolworths Travel Insurance
Ryan A.Woolworths Travel Insurance

Hello Jim, You can take a quote and a policy at any time through our website or you are able to contact our sales team and they will be able to discuss the situation for you. You can contact the sales team on 1300 10 1234.

Page 1 of 12

Questions & Answers

Vanessa

Vanessaasked

Woolworths Travel Insurance

Due to travel restrictions are we able to change the dates of the insurance policy?

2 answers
Bunbury couple
Bunbury couple

Sorry Vanessa,you'll have to ask woolies insurance.

Woolworths Travel Insurance
Brock B.Woolworths Travel Insurance

Hi Vanessa, thanks for reaching out. Due to current circumstances surrounding COVID-19, we are offering our customers the option to have their policy refunded. Unfortunately, we will not be able to change the dates of your policy. Kindly contact our customer service team on 1300 10 12 34 to have this resolved.

Vanessa

Vanessaasked

Woolworths Travel Insurance

I have a standard policy for an upcoming trip in June 2020. This covered me for 6 months travel so it was quite expensive for me as a 20 year old. Can I change the dates at all or get a refund/credit for future use?

No answers
Judith

Judithasked

Woolworths Travel Insurance

Does my free travel insurance with woolworths credit card provide for cancellation of accommodation due to pandemic - Covid 19?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Woolworths Travel Insurance representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.