??!
1 photo
ALDI Work Zone Titanium Inverter Generator 3500W (Mar 2016, Apr 2017)

ALDI Work Zone Titanium Inverter Generator 3500W (Mar 2016, Apr 2017)

2.3 from 17 reviews

Reviews

(2)
(4)
(0)
(2)
(9)
Dave C.

Dave C.South East Queensland, QLD

Aldi Generator

published

Generator ran great for a few months then all of a sudden stalled and would not start again. I was told it wasn't covered under warranty because the 2 month old fuel was too old (which is a load of rubbish).
I ended up stripping the carby and eventually got it going again but it is not reliable. It has happened again since and with fresh fuel.
27/2/2020 - Update.......bought a 3.5kVA generator from 4wd Supercentre for $389.00. Has been working great for almost 12 months.

Purchased in April 2017 for $399.00.

jimi

jimiSouth East Queensland, QLD

Never missed a beat for 3 years now over revs

published

3 1/2 kilowatt version has been fantastic and never missed a beat in three years or more but now is over revving all the time from what I gather from this forum is that there's a switch which need to pull the generator apart to access reset great for safety very inconvenient for the everyday user.

I got a 2200 what version to get me through recently.
Don't waste your time with it.
I knew I should have bought two of them four years ago

Date PurchasedJun 2015

Great genny

published

Brought this to run aircon and electrics in caravan. Over the 4 days of march long weekend we sweltered through 42+ degrees. This unit ran my aircon between 14 to 16 hours every day through this period. When hot running aircon will run jug or toaster. Never a problem. Used it over easter without an issue.
Very happy

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Generators

Find out how ALDI Work Zone Titanium Inverter Generator 3500W (Mar 2016, Apr 2017) compares to other Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Firegobie

FiregobieKatunga, VIC

Work Zone (Aldi) Titanium Inverter Generator 3500W FAIL!

published

The first time I used it this generator ran for about 10 hours and the inverter started to fail. With the LED light its was running starting to flash. We tried everything and then the inverter stopped completely. Found the receipt and will be taking it back asap. For $400, I expected it to last a lot longer than that. Made the camping trip so much more difficult and the kids miserable. Very disappointed Aldi!!!

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Worked ok at first then failed when it was needed

published

We noticed it was noisy from the start but didn’t worry too much about the noise as long as it supplied power for our a/c unit on our boat. First hot day out, bang, failed. No power. Couldn’t even see if there was a reset button or switch. No reliability. Don’t bother.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Tom H.

Tom H.Brisbane

Ran once flawlessly...

published

Generator ran once flawlessly, on the second run power cut out after a couple of hours and it started billowing noxious white smoke.
Restarting the generator after it was left to cool caused a bang to be heard form the inverter and something white ejected form that area of the generator.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
steve

steveEyre Peninsula, SA

  • 9 reviews

Just dont get sucked in by price.

published

We live of grid and have done for ten years . We have tried many cheap genies over that time all being rubbish.A friend of ours got sucked in by the price on a workzone geny although we told him its a gamble the price won him .The thing ran for a total of 8 hrs and now wont produce power he has tried everyone to try and get help but guess what know one wants to help so of to consumer affairs what a drama 3 months and still no joy.Just go out and buy a honda or a yamaha dont get sucked in to a cheap geny or like all of us that have tried you will end up throwing your hard earned in the bin.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Stopped putting power out

published

I have used my generator 3 times and it has stopped putting out power.I have checked all the power outlets and the cords. The green light is on indicating that power is there but when I put appliance in no power. I have done all the trouble shooting process also.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
andrew

andrew

  • 2 reviews

great gear at fantastic prices

published

Have had no problems so far 3 year warranty good, used it at easter camping ran my coffee maker ok 1900 watts auto revs cut in. I am happy with it and didn't plan to useit up its capacity just for fridges and tv when the power goes out which it should handle.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Generators

Find out how ALDI Work Zone Titanium Inverter Generator 3500W (Mar 2016, Apr 2017) compares to other Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
pd56

pd56AU

  • 7 reviews

Gutless unit

published

The box says it can run air conditioners...Well I plugged in my air conditioner and the unit had a meltdown. It can't handle the compressor kicking in. Had to unplug before it stuffed the compressor. Next test-inverter welder. Just enough power to draw a spark and that's all. Yet I can run both with a "smaller" Honda unit. I estimate it puts out 1500 watts max. Typical Chinese garbage.
Morale of the story is stick with the brand leaders-Honda / Yamaha etc.

Back to the store it goes! Never again!!

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Suss

Suss

  • 10 reviews
  • 12 likes

Waste of time and effort. Bought in Qld NEW! Ran ROUGH for 90 seconds then never again!

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Great Buy, More than happy with the performance

published

Purchased today from Aldi. As an electrician the first thing i did once assembled, filled with oil (Premium SAE 30w Mineral oil) and fuel (premium) was to give it a good test. I used a Kettle to give it a 10a load while i checked output. I was happy with 240V output with the Hertz sitting stable at 50HZ with the change in load. I am more than happy with my purchase that has a 3 year warranty. Its rated at 3200w (max) but i suggest keeping the load to around 2400w or so it not working its but off permanently, savvy.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Tony E

Tony Eadelaide

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Exactly what I was expecting

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Its a woman's world

published

This has inverter written in add and on right hand side of it the reviews from Australia are good it's the overseas ones and they are very humid places maybe that is the reason. Noise is a good level for being in a open area easy to use as being female

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Frustrated and Disappointed!

published

Hello everyone, we also purchased a Work Zone (Aldi) Titanium Inverter Generator 3500W in March. Sent it to Fiji after Cyclone Winston. Followed the instructions. Used only from 7pm to 11pm, 5 evenings later it stopped. Got it going again, however motor continued to run but no power supply! Called the Aust. customer support line 1800 909 909 a number of times, still waiting for a call back! We are frustrated and disappointed. As consumers we buy products and expect some use.... in particular in this case. Our families and friends have lost and suffered so much, we try to ease their life a little bit! Thank you Matt for the trouble shooting ideas!

Generators

Find out how ALDI Work Zone Titanium Inverter Generator 3500W (Mar 2016, Apr 2017) compares to other Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Sucked in by Aldi again

published
Matt

MattBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 10 likes

Good value product

published
See all ALDI Inverter Generator reviews

Questions & Answers

Manoj K.

Manoj K.asked

No answers
Manoj K.

Manoj K.asked

Work Zone Titanium Inverter Generator 3500W (Mar 2016, Apr 2017)

My inverter got damaged looking for New one

1 answer
Dave C.
Dave C.

Buy a 3.5 kVA generator from 4wd Supercentre for $389.00. Mine has been working great. Anything you spend on the aldi unit is wasted money.

Karunesh D.

Karunesh D.asked

Work Zone Titanium Inverter Generator 3500W (Mar 2016, Apr 2017)

Engine runs but power cut off after 5 mins. Any help?

2 answers
Manoj K.
Manoj K.

Inverter is the main problem packing in the side not.gud enough open n pack it so it does not contact the body resulting in power failure. I have the same problem so i want to change the inverter

Dave C.
Dave C.

Buy a 3.5 kVA generator from 4wd Supercentre for $389.00. Mine has been working great. Anything you spend on the aldi unit is wasted money.

Get an answer from our members and ALDI representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.