?
? !
1 photo
World Nomads Travel Insurance

World Nomads Travel Insurance

Explorer Plan, Standard Plan
2.7 from 276 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

1.3

12 reviews
5
(1)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(11)
  • Value for Money
    1.1 (10)
  • Transparency
    1.0 (8)
  • Customer Service
    1.0 (10)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (1)
    • 1-2 weeks (1)
    • 2-4 weeks (2)
    • 1-2 months (3)
    • 3+ months (2)
  • Claim ApprovedYes · No (12)
Previous
Next

The pandemic is their excuse not to pay your claim

published

They simply declined our claim, stating that the incident we had happened during a pandemic. We had extra expenses because of an unforseen change of plans and there was nothing we could do about it. When we submitted the claim, their negative answer was justified by "it happened during a pandemic and pandemics are not covered".

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimOther
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedNo

Orrible Experience

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo

Scam travel insurance. Avoid at all costs.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim ApprovedNo
Travel Insurance

Find out how World Nomads Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Scam, do not use this company

published

Can't access to their claiming portal, they have not given me access despite reiterated intends.
I have six pendant claims which resolution I have waited more than 4 months, they have not refunded anything.
Do not use this company or you will be in medical debt.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea) and South-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property and Medical
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Jade Facey

Jade FaceySydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Scam insurer

published

Scam company. The policy wording and agreement documents are misleading and should be illegal. I am making a formal complaint. This is the second time i have booked the first time i had no issue and i'm lucky because I was doing Everest. Had anything happened to me i'd probably be dead they wouldn't pay out and i now know that. The second time they refused to pay me for items lost in checked luggage despite it being locked. Travel insurance is supposed to protect you!! DO NOT BOOK WITH THIS SCAM COMPANY. They will find any way not to pay you. My items were taken from my locked bag on a Qantas flight and somehow thats not covered??

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationNew Zealand
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim ApprovedNo
Related Articles
Previous

Best Super Funds in 2020!

A good super fund can make a substanial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the best super funds of 2020!

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.7 Nov 2019
best-super-funds-in-2020

Best Credit Cards in 2020!

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the best credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
best-credit-cards-in-2020

What Is Peer-To-Peer Lending?

Peer-to-peer lending is quickly gaining popularity among Australian borrowers and investors. If you've never heard of it before, this 2 minute read will give you a quick rundown so you can decide if P2P lending is right for you.

Nathan S.
Nathan S.14 Nov 2019
what-is-peer-to-peer-lending
Next

One star just because zero is not an option

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedNo

Bad choice

published

As they are a recommendation of Lonely Planet I purchased travel insurance for years with them, did not need it until my last trip. I had problems with my visa in Africa when crossing the border from South Africa to Namibia, so I needed to organize another mean of transportation, but they refused to pay for it.
On the same trip my brand new bag got damaged, I filled out the claim, it took a while untill they reacted, finally I got a compensation of 5 USD for it, sent them a message if it was a joke but they did not bother to reply.
Big disappointment, so I will check other insurance companies in the future.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationAfrica
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim ApprovedNo
Steveh

StevehSouth East Queensland, QLD

Already recommend to anyone travellIng, so glad I had it

published

The staff at the emergency response are amazing, after doing ligament damage to my knee in Bali they organised everything to fly home and sort out medical stuff from home, they helped immediately and answered all of my questions and checked to see how I was. No complications yet just waiting for medical reimbursement now.

Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo

Avoid using this travel insurance...complete scam.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationAustralia and South-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Travel Insurance

Find out how World Nomads Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jana Urban

Jana UrbanCasey 2913, ACT

Don’t buy this insurance.

published

I’ve got the highest travel insurance so I’d be covered if I miss one of my trips. Because of a flooding the buses couldn’t drive and that’s why I couldn’t take part on a whitsundays trip (sailing trip on Australias east coast) I booked. I didn’t get any money back, because “this is not a case for the insurance”.
Seriously don’t go for this insurance

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateFebruary 2019
Claim ApprovedNo

Terrible service.

published

Slow at responding. Will try anything to do you out of a claim. Would avoid at all costs. I purchased extra "gadget insurance" from these guys but I might aswel not have as when i lost my drone. I know now why this company has so many good reviews from travel bloggers, because these bloggers are paid to write the reviews. Just avoid them.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim DateFebruary 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Jde

JdeGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Insurance claim-not

published

Lost a whole lot of stuff overseas trusting that I had insurance. Took them 2 weeks to respond saying I hadn’t notified the right authorities in time to attempt a claim. They weren’t very helpful at all. Can see where they get a bad rep from. Would not recommend.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim ApprovedNo
See all World Nomads Travel Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Lisa N

Lisa Nasked

World Nomads Travel Insurance

I notice that all the 4 and 5 star reviews are from 2+ years ago, but recently, all the reviews are 1 star. What's happened to the claims process in that time for this to be so consistent?

No answers
Hanum

Hanumasked

World Nomads Travel Insurance

Hi I'm Hanum, a Malaysian. I'm going to Australia for holiday while pregnant. My question is am I eligible to buy World Nomads travel insurance? Does the World Nomads cover pregnancy complication? Thank you.

No answers
Barbara Moore

Barbara Mooreasked

World Nomads Travel Insurance

I need to file a claim, and I need a password tom proceed. Will you please notify me with a password?
Barbara Moore ID 622070

1 answer
World Nomads
Sarah T.World Nomads

Hi Barbara,

Just to make sure I'm resetting the correct password on the correct account, could you please send me a quick email on help@worldnomads.com?

Looking forward to hearing from you,

Sarah
World Nomads

See all World Nomads Travel Insurance questions

Get an answer from our members and World Nomads representatives

World Nomads Travel Insurance

Details

Compare both World Nomads Travel Insurance
CategoryTravel InsuranceTravel Insurance
UnderwriterAXAAXA
Maximum Age Covered 70 years old70 years old
Medical Coverage
Overseas Emergency Assistance $5,000,000Unlimited
Accidental Death$1,000,000$12,500
Emergency Dental$500$500
Pregnancy (max weeks) Not IncludedNot Included
Resumption of Journey $1,500$1,500
Hospital Cash AllowanceNot Included$50 per day, up to $5,000
Overseas Emergency Medical & Hospital Expenses$5,000,000Unlimited
Loss of IncomeNot IncludedNot Included
Permanent DisabilityNot Included$12,500
Luggage & Personal Effects
Theft of Cash Not Included$250
Delayed Luggage $300 after 12 hours$450 after 12 hours
Credit Card Fraud$1,500 as part of Travel Documents cover$1,000 as part of Travel Documents cover
Travel Documents / Passport $1,500$1,000
Maximum Single Item Limit $500 (Laptops or Cameras)$2,000 (Laptops or Cameras)
Luggage & Personal Effects $2,000$10,000
Ancillary
Personal Liability $1,000,000$2,500,000
Rental Vehicle Excess Not Included$3,000
Motorbike / Moped Coverage Not IncludedNot Included
Domestic Pet Care Not IncludedNot Included
Special Activities Packages
GolfIncludedIncluded
CruiseNot IncludedNot Included
Adventure IncludedIncluded
Snow / SkiOptional ExtraOptional Extra
Compare both World Nomads Travel Insurance
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.